(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Pixie,
Hugz! Don't worry too much.

Like kitsune said, remember, I have gone through this too! You misunderstood the OSCAR test. It's nothing to do with the blood you produced, but that the test detected some particular proteins in your blood. And this test has very low sensitivity (~70%) and high false positive (~5%). And it only calculates the risk, but not a definite test. It just indicating that with the ratio calculated, you are as high risk as a 37-38 woman. Meaning women at 37-38 already has a risk as high as yours before doing any test. So most women (that's me next year) at this age would fail the OSCAR, cos before adding in the test results and the scanning results, they are already at very high risk. Giving that you are only 31, you really shouldn't worry too much.

kam
thanks for the consolation
the gynae didnt specifically explained what was wrong with maternal blood, but now after reading online i know more liao....
one silver lining was that the measurement of the baby eg nuchal thickness was all right...baby's measurement i am in low risk
but nonetheless, still feel very sianz to hear such news... told my hb liao he oso very sianz...
now my emotion kept going up and down. cant help worrying and thinking even though i know i shouldnt

Pixie,
I understand how you feel. XY's nuchal thickness is also in the excellent range, the specialist even joked that she has a very high up nose bridge :) We thought it would be all good. Then my gynae called me one day, I knew there was something not so good, cos usually it's the sister who called, if she has to talk to me personally, there sure is something. Though I have know the test very well, I was still worried, even more so of my hub, and he has to console me also. And I went on to read more and more of these stuff and got myself more worry, silly me (don't repeat my mistake!). Turned out all good. Don't worry.

congrats prataqueen!

I used to rent the UV light machine and do it at home for Xavier. But the effect is not that good, cos I am not professional so only managed to be able to shine on him when he is asleep. When he is awake, he would be screaming away with the blind fold. The nurses at hospital can do a better job. End up I rented for quite a number of days, think if over at hospital, he would have recover earlier.. and not to talk abt the constant trip to polyclinic to check the blood count.

pixie,
You should be fine. Do you know what is the exact result? Anyway the test is only 70 percent accuracy. Can talk to your gynae to find out more?

kam
still....there is a possibility....hah
my gynae, i had to admit he's very diplomatic. he said something like, there are young women before 30yo, their oscar scan was all right (low risk), but they had down syndrome babies. because the accuracy of test is only 90%....
he said he kena before such cases. and he said theres always 2 ends to a stick.

trying to console me lah

pixie,
To be honest, yes, there is still a possibility. We can't deny on that. That's the part I was worrying about too. Older women have higher risk, but it can happen to anyone. I don't know how to console you leh. The test is not accurate, and >99% of failed OSCAR passed the amniocentesis. Just try your best not to think about it too much, try to stay calm as much as you can, talk to your baby, and then go do the amniocentesis and you can have a peace of mind then.

Though Down's Syndrome is a genetic disease, it's definitely not a inherited disease. Nothing to do with the parents. What happen is when the cells divide, from 1 to 2 to 4 to 8 to 16...... it involves a very very complicated process that can divide everything equally into two, DNA included, so the cells multiply exponentially. Somehow for some women (old age being a factor as their body system starts to age), the cell division doesn't go on as well, and so those chromosome/DNA doesn't get to divide equally and hence will lead to diseases like trisomy 21 or Down's (meaning 3 copies of chromosome #18 instead of the normal 2), trisomy 18, etc. Most of these abnormalities would have been detected by our body naturally, and expelled it (that's why miscarriage is very high, between 30-40% in the first trimester, and why these kind of diseases are very rare in real life). The fact that you are still young and that you are already in second trimester now meaning your body doesn't detect any major abnormalities of your bb, and so really don't have to worry too much.

Pixie
Hugz ! Pray tat everything will turn out fine for u. Possible to do another blood test ? I will ask for test again cos only 31 shd consider as low risk. Y not ask your gynae ?

i'm back home from the hospital. I delivered baby last Sat. Quite unexpected early delivery at 38wks. Friday was my last day in office & my ML was just beginning.

Started feeling sharp back pain and pelvic pain since the morning after i woke up. Went about usual activities like breakfast, lunch, visit my mom until I was at NTUC with hubby and #1 doing weekly grocery shopping at 2pm & started feeling irregular cramps. Begun to suspect these are early signs of labor. I called the doc's hotline and gynae told me to go to the hospital to do a CTG scan (since her clinic is closed on Sat afternoon). Hubby drove quickly to drop off my #1 at my mom's house and we went home to bathe. Grabbed last minute toiletries, clothes & scooted off to Parkway East with the hospital bag.

Reached hosp at 3pm, did a CTG and was found to have irregular cramps, which was exactly what i was feeling. The nurse said these were mild cramps and that i was in early stage of labor. Did a VE (very uncomfy) and was 3-4cm dilated. Cervix was still thick. She gave me a choice whther to admit on the spot or to go home and monitor cos early labor could last for a few days.

Because of the strep b infection which reqd the 4 hr drip, and i was almost on the verge of screaming whenever the contractions came (no matter how mild and irregular they were according to the machine) (mayb i have a low pain threshhold), we decided to admit after CTG scan at 4pm.

so when the CTG scan was completed at 4pm, we moved to the delivery suite. When i stood up to walk from CTG room to delivery suite, the contractions intensified, mayb cos baby's head was pressing on my pelvic. The walk seemed to take eternity.

Reached delivery suite, changed into hospital gown, and contractions seemed to be more frequently after the short stroll. Began feeling pain & nurse suggested epidural when she saw i was in pain & starting to practise my vocals.

At 5pm, epi was administered and antibiotics drip for strep B was also started. Interestingly, the epi guy was the same as my first labor. I mentally counted & prayed i wouldn't deliver before 9pm so that the antibiotics drip can take effect for 4hrs. Did a VE and was 5 cm dilated but cervix was already much thinner. Nurse said labor was progressing well and fast.

After epi was administered at 5pm, contractions intensified but i could hardly feel anything despite that i requested for epi to be on low dosage. Nurse did another VE. This time, i was 8cm dilated. Nurse decided to call gynae in. Gynae arrived very quickly and when she came and did another VE, i was fully dilated. Gynae started asking me to push. After a few attempts, midwife offered to push my tummy for me. Baby was born at 7pm

I was very happy it was a short labor yet my first thought was that it was not yet 9pm, and worried abt baby being infected. Gynae assured me saying baby will be closely monitored for signs of infection but otherwise, will be treated same as other newborns.

For this second labor, epi was administered only for 2 hrs and its effect wore off very quickly. I delivered at 7pm and by 1am, i was able to come down the bed to use the toilet. Quite a stark contrast to my first labor which was longer.

Prata queen
Congrats on your #2! what a wonderful birth story!

Pixie
My hearts goes out to u. At 36yrs old, I'm also worried about DS. Sigh. I pray yours will turn out well. Actually if its me I'd also be at a loss...

Prata queen,
What a smooth delivery you had! Good to hear that.
So is the baby back with you or stay at hospital for phototherapy?

hi krystle, i was discharged on Monday & baby went to pd for review on Thurs AM. Blood test result was out on Thurs PM & luckily, baby does not have to be hospitalised.

I called a few other pds to enquire about other options (other than hospitalisation) bcos i had a feeling baby was jaundiced, based on his appearance and what pd said. But luckily the blood test result says that baby does not need the phototherapy.

thanks mommies for your advise.

parat queen
wah such a short delivery, congrats!!

mylife
aiyah life is really unpredictable. im 31 but my maternal blood is high risk like a 37-38yo woman. just a stroke of bad luck. i try not to think of it. i am sure my bb is healthy (super confident hor?); cannot murphy's law

thanks pixie. i read somewhere before when doing reading abt oscar that there is an option to know the results of amnio earlier but costs more. But my memory fails me & i can't recall the details.

prata_queen,
Congrats on yr fast n smooth delivery!
Have a gd confinement n be a happy moo moo:p

pixie,
hugz...i oso dunno how to console u leh but i pray your amniocentesis test turn out well ok.

Hmm...today USS tickets all SOLD OUT!!

pixie,
I hope everything turns out well for you and baby. I will be at a loss if I were you so I really don't know what to say.

Re: 1 Oct Gathering
I don't really know where most of the suggested venues are located so please confirm based on majority then I see if it's convenient for me

prata queen
yes...if you want an expedite version of the amniocentesis, its 4 days wait for the results, but costs another errr 500-600 more
the normal test for the amniocentesis is a 21 days wait, and its 800....
so the expedited version is 1300 thereabouts

....so ex....can use the $$ for delivery liao wor!

pixie, i duno wat to say to comfort u, but i hope ur baby is well, at this crucial time, do try to keep uself positive.
at the same time, u also mus tink of the 'what if' the results is nt go, analyse and discuss with ur hubby .

me older than u, i am also worried abt being an older second time mummy, seem like so much MORE RISKs are involved, so discouraging... esp wat happen to mylife, i truly feel sad for her.

mylife: pls take care and i hope u stand strong again, jiayou

aqua
i dunno leh. i think me and hb dun dare to discuss the big qn of "what if".....i oso dunno what i would want by then...

today u in office??

Pixie,
ALAMAKKKKKK!!!! Forgot to pass to MY, AGAIN! You want me to post to you, probably faster :)

Prata_queen,
Enjoy your baby!

Aqua,
Don't have to worry too much lah, you definitely are not older than me right? I have very smooth pregnancy and labour, and I am thinking of #3 leh :)

Chaye,
Yes, Fennie is mylife. I was so sad reading her post on FB, hope she can get pass this soon.

chay n pixie , the titles:
Beauty Knows No Pain 女人最痛
Suspects In Love 搜下留情
You're Hired 绝代商骄

kam, yes. i was very inspired to try no.2 after i hear all u mummies here, but then, i worry alot too... mebe will juz 'shun qi zi ran'.
afterall, i am very happy with my only girl, everyday, she will tell me she love me alot , reali v sweet

pixie, yep.. tht show u can choose chinese or cantonese.. all these hk drama v addictive, strain ur eyes, u preggie mummy dun watch too long hor ;p

morning all,

jz wondering...anyone has the contact for rebecarrios or smtg like tat (for eclairs)? I nid to order eclairs for my gal's bday.

morning all!

prata queen,
congrats.

mylife,
sorry abt ur loss. really must count my blessings, n not grumble when my boys r naughty. :S

Kam,
wow so when is ur #3 coming?

pixie,
Know me very well already, ya. Ya lor, last Friday we have guests with us, too busy talking and forgot everything else :) One of the DVDs I have is the 绝代商骄 too. See you can get from Jess faster or me, keke.

Aqua,
HR also says he loves me and gives me lots of kisses everyday. My girl started to know how to kiss me on my lips :) But I have to say, actually it's true that if we only have 1 kid, we could have been a lot more patience and enjoy him a lot more, cos can spare all our time and energy on him (as long as we don't make him a spoilt brat!). With 2 kids, my temper is running almost everyday, and I felt that one day I might develop high blood pressure, unsurprisingly :p Though it's really touching to see the siblings play together. So it's pros and cons bah.

Luca,
#3? When it's time to make a dragon baby :) And when my hub is, hopefully, agreeing to it in these few months.

mylvera,
Eh, I know my tummy is big, but I am definitely not pregnant now, I am just FAT. That day one aunty at the foodcourt at my workplace asked me when is my due date, then I said I am not pregnant, she was more embarassed than I am cos I have got used to this already :p

Luca,
Ya, he loves to have more children. But at the same time, he is also scared of taking care of them.

steph,
why? why?? why???
#3 made in MBS? :)

aqua,
Have more kids have all pros and cons. haha like Kam, it is so cute and funny to see 2 of them interact. And I am also glad that in future, my kids are not alone and they have each other to rely on.

Now, I only can REN. Like my FB says, I keep screaming everyday and I am trying hard not to. Sacrifice time and freedom now, Things should get better when they are older.

steph,

another complimentary stay in MBS?

ahaha u making us "curious"

icy,

thanks for the recommendation. called them but they dun deliver if orders below $120 and quite tough for me to hit $120 orders. thinking of trying partytime.

hi mommies, tis is wk 2 of maternity leave & i'm bored to tears at home. Wishing to go shopping but my CL is around to 'watch' me keke.

To beat the boredom, i called sph hotline to subscribe to straits times for 4 mths. I must be desperate for adult company cos i chit chatted so happily with the sph person while placing my newspaper order haha.

by the way, my CL is GREAT, really GREAT. She's hardworking & has been helping loads with the daily housework. Her cooking is not bad & her personality is ok, not too chatty kind & quite quiet. Most impt, i can get along with her so not awkward. And she's only charging me $1800. Immensely grateful to her for making this confinement period a good one for me. Just that in the first few days after delivery, i had not much milk (only colustrum) and she kept asking me to supplement with FM. I felt she was genuinely worried abt baby being dehydrated cos he wasn't peeing much. Luckily I was steadfast & refused to supplement altho i was also worried abt the lack of urine.

Glad to pass on her contacts to whoever needs a CL.

re attention given to #1 and #2
alamak, i have done terribly in this aspect. Ever since #2 was born, i've been concentrating on #2 since only i can BF. Hubby concentrates on #1 who is now in one of the terrible 2s/3s stage. I find myself with less love to give to #1, less patience to deal with her tantrums & generally just find her a bother. Just wks ago, she was still the person i loved most. I dunno why my feelings have changed so drastically. Haiz.

prataqueen
Same here.

I think we could only adjust slowly once we get the smaller one in schedule.

My #2 is stuck to my breasts and refuse to take bottle. I also not sure what to do with her but at least she is older now and can kind of interact more with Xavier. So I can spend time with both together.