(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Chaye,
Haha, you are describing MY type of life pretty precisely! Except that my part time cleaner comes on weekday and we haven't gone into tingkat yet :)

chaye
thinking of having no maid??
it can be done...my colleagues with their spouses been doing that all along leh.
the most important (imho) is that both mummy n daddy must share this same vision and must share the workload and be good partners for each other.
teamwork solves problems and get things (chores, baths, feeds) done fast.
if hb not supportive then after work stone etc then you alone doing all the rushing like mad woman, it will wear you down.

i observed those couples with such arrangements mostly the hbs are very very hands on kind.

Chaye,
I used to before we have XY. For now, we are eating out. Will have to start again for HR's sake. The best thing about my current job is I don't (never) have to stay late and I don't (never) have to bring work home :)

kam
havent knock off yet?
i dunno if this works but if you dabao dinner so often at some place, you can get friendly with the stall aunties and get them to cook their stuff but in a more healthy way - your way.
i do that with the fish slice soup stall at my place. they know my special order is for my boy

Steph,

Yeah. Drove in w 2 cars to eat durians and eat in Muar.

pixie,
Thanks for sharing. But won't work for me, cos I seldom go to a single place to dabao, and with my 2 kids in tow (hubby won't be able to knock off on time very often liao with his new job), even daboo is a challenging task. Think cook at home is easier :)

Oh yeah Pixie u r right. We work late. I knock off 6.15 and I'll dily daly a bit and by time I reach home is 7.30pm. My hubby even worst he comes back after 8pm !!! Tho he says he can change his working hours but I doubt so. So I am still very skeptical of ourselves being able to be in time to fetch kids back fr cc

Hmmm. Just now I wondered what will it be like if we r childless. Wat will we be doing now ? Enjoying each other company ? Or miss having a child badly ? Worry nobody take care if us when old age ? Or we may have parted our ways !!

But whatever it is one can never turn back the clock. Hey those in my era will know who is Johnny Hates Jazz in the 80s - Turn Back The Clock. Keke

Chaye, haha, you made me start thinking. If I am not a SAHM anymore, with 2 kids, what am I going to do?

Will we put both gals at ILs place plus the maid or put both gals at CC? First option is definitely cheaper, second option, they will learn more but much more exp. Free time will be spent doing housechores = no quality time with the kids. :p

Steph/pixie: Shaun since last 3 days have been telling me that he wanted to go PG in the morning! Same like today, he is so happy going to the PG, I was pretty amazed with his attitude change because he could switch from hate to love so easily. The PG starts 9am but he wanted to get changed and go PG liao before 830. So today he is the first to reach the PG :p

STeph, I want to homeschool Shaun, so might not send him to nursery or kindy. Big project for me! I already started bringing him outdoor everyday to the nature and he loves it and i'm very happy to do it together with him too, i felt very touched in fact, and be convinced that i wont go back to workforce liao.

How about z? Ok with CC already?

tongtong
wah congrats!! what a big change hor??

about homeschooling S - go for it. its holistic.
i so so so wish that im sahm - so that i can nurture my kids to my best

i think x oso cant wait to go to school. whenever he pass by a real school (pri or sec school) he wants to go in! and start chanting "school, school"...

can i ask you mummies, are your kids doing this?
x goes up to anyone and says "hi", "hello" etc.
especially young kids, or adults who smiled at him...even the bangala...everywhere. MRT, shopping malls etc
very paiseh lei

tongtong,
Go for it! It's a very challenging task, but it's worth the effort. If I were to be a SAHM, most likely I will be homeschooling my kids too (just dreaming).

pixie,
HR did that when he was very young, he didn't do this for a long time already. Only when he is at the very good mood, then upon our request, he will say hello, good morning or byebye to those sharing the lift.

The Walking with Dinosaurs show suitable for our tod? HR doesn't show interest in dinosaurs (except the toy dinosaurs in Toy Story movie), and I actually quite scare of them :-( So probably will give this a miss.

How about this event - http://www.ufamily.org.sg/baby/event_details.asp - anyone's keen?

chaye
we have a weirdo old uncle, he lives in my blk but likes to lie down on the benches at the void deck. he dont even pee at home, he pee in a small pail in public kind!! just....old uncle lah. he likes to stare at us (me, my boy, my hb)
so yest we had lunch and was walking back.suay suay the uncle was standing beside us while waiting for green man at traffic junction.
then we started to cross, he kept telling x "call gonggong, call gonggong. i am gonggong". then x wanted to play with him and all. i had to drag x away without making it too obvious....

scaryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

kam
seems like more for babies below 12mths kind leh

btw, when i say x is friendly, i mean he is VERY friendly. he will just run up and hold that fella's hand - especially if the other party is a kid (anyone pri school n below, x will take in)...imagine him running off to grab someone's hands and then started talk and smile very wide and offer his own toy (held in his hand) to the other fella

Chaye, yea !!

pixie, yea drastic change which surprised me too. everyday when i picked him up he even told me that he is 乖,没有哭。aiyo, they are really so cute.

PIxie/kam, thanks thanks for your support. Since my hubby still objects me putting him at waldorf cc and asked me to do it my own, so okla, i will do it myself -homeschooling. X will be going to school soon! this coming weeks??

pixie, my boy doesnt not say hi to everyone leh, unless i ask him to hehe. X is very friendly!!
yea he is so special wor, not like other kids leh, he is not shy at all!

Kam, dont dream leh, make your dream come true! hehe.

pixie,

I started working yesterday. MC ended last friday.

tongtong,
Great to hear S is adapting so well to PG

Same to Z!

Yesterday FIL told me Z did not cry at all. He even bid gdbye to YeYe(FIL) & walked happily into the class. When he saw his teacher, he greeted her Gd Morning! We were so surprised but happy for him lah

Today the CC will be celebrating racial harmony day & the cc request all children to put on any ethnic costumes to school BUT i was only informed by letter yesterday while the letter was dated 13th July! I gonna write an email to the principal abt this & some other issues

Anyway yesterday during lunch, MIL went & peep again, she saw Z eating together with his classmates but he didn't eat the rice, only picked the 料! I wasn't surprised cos during the 1st 3 days when i sit in, i saw the meals prepared were not appetizing & the rice looked clumpy, no gravy/sauce, only soup perhaps. Well still, i am happy he can 合群 (sit together & have his meal with other kids) & self feed independently considered this is the 1st time he is all alone w/o us outside

hey homeschool is really a challenging task! Way to go mummy!

i'm hopping mad since morning, my maid finished one whole pack of fresh milk and when i questioned her, she lied that they expired and she say she only drank a little...so angry, i just checked yesterday, left a little, i was quite annoyed already cos i know i didn't touch it and hubby didn't touch and my girl drink only a little with her cereals ONCE, i even note that the expiry date is 2 days later.

luvv
huh really ah
actually u not angry abt her finishing the milk but abt her lying issit

btw chaye, ur maid lai liao rite....update us leh

steph
glad that Z is adapting well....sigh of relief rite...
what some other issues you not happy abt? dunno the little wings in Jan for X also very screwed up or not leh. i scared scared

Steph,
What's the issue? Share share leh. Haha, Z so clever, just pick the liao to eat :) Don't think the food will be fantastic loh, as long as they are willing to eat, it's good enough already hor.

Luvv,
Cool cool.....

Pixie,
After you move to JE, would the maid stay with you or continue stay with your MIL?

pixie,
i was telling my hubby that if i don't have to work part time, i'd sack my maid already, besides being able to handle my girl, she has serious problem following instructions (she will follow thru at 1st and thereafter use her method..and her method = shortcuts, caught her a lot of times already), always "stealing" food...etc...and then acting blur thereafter..

Steph,
your boy's good, my girl is screaming her way into the cc this morning, in fact, started crying and even tried to grab the lift door this morning, refuse to go to cc.

luvv

your maid is greedy leh ! sometimes it's very difficult to tell her off if she denied drinking it. Why cant this ppl be truthful har ??!!

pixie
my maid lai le.. and she's hardworking and likes to clean the house spick and span instead of taking care of my kiddos. can tell from the beginning that she doesnt really like children. But since this is her job she just have to do it kind u know what I mean ? Not so enthu kind.

She can leave my TT to do his own things and she can continue to do her chores or duno what she do in the toilet. I can see all these in the camera. She seldom talk to him also. sigh.. at this age he needs a lot of communications ! I better talk to her tonite.

Another thing is she appears lazy as she always want to sit or even lie down when playing card games with my kids. This is very bad example leh. When she with my TT for lunch or dinner she will scope and let TT feed himself while she slouch on the chair. I am ok tat TT learn to feed himself but for goodness sake sit properly la ! I have not told her this yet as I saw it thru camera and even if I see it with my own eyes I wouldnt know how to tell her. "eh can u sit properly pls?"

Chaye,
i told her off "don't lie to me, nobody touches the milk and the expiry date is 2 days later!" she kept quiet lor.

kam
i am thinking of what to do/how to arrange for my #1 & #2's daily life leh....headache
my maid is a shared maid - shared by my hb, his 2 siblings. it would not be fair to get her to stay with us even if we move to JE because the maid is to primary take care of the bedridden ah mah and do housework, cook - so that my mil is "free" to look after the kids at her place

i only have few choices:
1. hire another maid, then daytime put her at mil place, help to look after #2 or assist our original maid. at night bring all of them home
pros: cheap, my mil can train her too
cons: afterall she's an outsider, i dont like the idea of a domestic help staying with us 24/7....and get complacent n reliant on her (aka lazy to do housework in future)

2. put X to full day CC, and #2 let mil take care
pros: good for #2 (but not good for x)
cons: i'm afraid that X feels like an "outsider" - everyone can enjoy at home while he needs to stay the whole day in a cc. not to mention being sick blah blah

and most importantly, i heard my hb's sister is preggy (oredi into her 2nd trim i think) and definitely she will ask her mother to take care of her baby.
which means in JE there will be 5 kids - 2 babies + 2 toddlers + 1 pri sch child

i doubt my mil can take care of 2 babies by herself.
my bil said his wife (sil) loves babies and can take care - but i will not trust her to do that to my #2....for this to happen i will fight my way thru even if hb insists on it

luvv
*ouch* i think quite a lot of maids have this prob - teach them our way then slowly and gradually they use their own way = shortcuts n all
my maid when cooking, also does that leh. my mil said, she very "gey kiang" liao coz she knows how to cook a lot of things. so this dish for frying, she steam; or this dish for steaming, she go n bake etc
wonderful rite?

chaye
so ur maid is good in hsework but not enthu with kids? but in her cv or interview she got say ok or not ok to take care of kids?
i think lie on the floor to play cards....errrr quite bad leh. unless been with me for 10, 20 years liao then i dun mind lah

pixie,
i like your option 3...

my maid shortcuts are horrible, imagine she fill up the whole detergent compartment of the washer so that she don't have to put in detergent everytime. Imagine she put tap water into the water thumbler...etc etc

pixie

wah have to start planning now liao hor.. headache er...

take option 1 and leave your maid at your mil place. Dont bring her back except weekends to do chores. kekekeke

chaye
cannot lah, my mil will complain. she everytime say her house very cramped
hello?? HUDC leh?? u know how BIG the flat is or not? still got steps kind lor!
else she will complain she need to monitor 2 maids, very mah fan. she very "kiasi" scared to die so dun dare to take on more kind

luvv
ah!!! if she fills up the whole detergent compartment, then the washing machine will finish all the detergent in 1 wash and it will overload the machine. bubbles come out kind wor!!

chaye
convert to private estate with no facilities but must pay maintenance fee. crap one. the street lamps in the compound is so faint. very dark kind. and still must pay to maintain them!
security guard smokes and chit chat kind
bo liao one

my mil forever waiting. last time say build hospital. then say wait, then can upz the property price. hosp never materialise.
then now say build hotel. then say wait, then can upz the property price.
u wait until 100 years, sure got better and better development on lor. kept harping very ex to upkeep such a big unit, but just want to wait for the earth to collapse
u get wat i mean?

pixie,
X in little wings kindy, i think wont have much problem since is not a cc enviroment. Dun scare yrself lah.

pixie, kam,
many issues...but u must be thinking why am i still letting Z continue? Well cos i hope the principal can look into parents/our feedback & room for improvement loh. Of course who wouldn't want to give their children the best, including the enviroment & learning curriculum but that also means paying more $ loh. Afterall is a pcf centre so can't expect too much unlike branded cc.

Here's the issues:
1) Aircon temp too cold. My FIL saw the temp setting at 20deg (in the noon when the children are about to take their noon nap) leh!
2) Teachers are not attentive enough to help the kids wipe off their mucus from their nose. I saw it alot of times from peeping outside that children almost eating their own mucus!Erkss...hygiene an issue...mucus can pass bugs/germs around in the room from children to children, yes/no?
3) no toilet training being observed when the teacher promised me that they will start training.
4) lack of proper communication to parents(no advance notice of special/festive celebration days etc)

luvv,

according to my frd, maids love bubble bath
so the more bubble it is .. the better it is ahah or mayb the cleaner it is?

did i tell u a joke abt maid? 1 of the agent's stories... the employer complained that the maid doesnt know how to sweep floor clean using vacuum cleaner.. so the employer brot the maid back to the agency. agent asked the maid to use vacuum cleaner on the spot. the maid plug in the vacuum cleaner (without turning on the swtich) n start to "sweep" the whole office. the agent nearly fainted ;)

we can never underestimate their knowledge ;)

Luvv,
i thought C was doing ok in CC last week & Mon?
Something trigger her to behave in this way, rejecting school? In the end, she cried her way in CC & u left her? Or she managed to calm down & coax her into cc? Give her some time, afterall is just her 1st week in cc?

hey, thanks for the link for the EC's books

pixie,
i see. But yours is not a new centre right? If existing cc then not so bad, as in the teachers are not newly employed = more experience?
For the 1st 3days when u sit in, you'll be able to tell/judge the teachers.

anyone been to phuket recently?
are the amenities ok? i scared i didnt pack enough for x, wonder if i can buy on the spot there etc

Steph,
For the issues you mentioned,
1) yes, can feedback to them, 20degree seems to low woh. see what they say.
2) can feedback, but most likely you will get some default reply and at the end nothing will be done, it's all gonna do with the teacher:student ratio.
3) Again they can only start when they have enough manpower. Maybe now they are still trying to help all the new students to settle down nicely before they can have a bit of extra time? You may want to wait 1-2 more months for this to happen?
4) yes, see how they explain this case. But do they keep a notebook for Z to note down what he's doing in school?

chaye,
Z in Little Wings under pcf, NTUC first campus.

Re: Mummies with boys: need to teach them to hold their birdy when they pee?
I am not sure if anyone asked this Qn before...errr...recently Z managed to hold his pee & release in the toilet. But he was standing with his legs open big big when he pee. So, do we need to teach them to hold their penis & aim at the toilet bowl huh?

steph

yes my hubby trained my boy to hold his penis and aim at the toilet bowl. sometimes he will explore by moving his hands then his urine will be all over the bowl. hahaa

Maybe it's the teachers at cc taught Z to do it??

Steph,

i think the teachers are not very engaging and loving...they are controlling and maybe they bluff her that they are going to bring her to the playground again....