(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Steph,
In this case, maybe it is a good idea to seek for a 2nd opinion. Or maybe seeing an anal specialist could be a good idea too, instead of a PD. But see what the PD say tmr first. Try asking if R can take fibergel at his age or not? R skips a step and can jump instead? Quite power leh. Hahaha. My #1 also started walking late @ 18 mths, but luckily was before #2 came out. Now I am curious when will #2 start walking. But I don't see it coming until he reaches 1 yr bah. He just learning to sit @ 9 mths only. Not like XY, can cruise so well.

1. who can recommend me a good mover company?
aka cheap and reliable

2. who can still remember the curtains/blinds contact that was passed around?

pixie,
just came in and saw yr post...hehhe
try this mover Soon Hup Transportation 96256489. My family has been using them for house moving. Cheap and good, plus very fast. A hb and wife team.
ok, back to my super busy work again..

Does anyone know whether does iron causes constipation? My boy at times only poo once evry 2 days since he started on cereal. Does eating more fruits help?

<font color="ff0000">HOW TO CHOOSE A PRE-SCHOOL</font>

Chanced upon this blog. Think the tips are very useful!
http://www.edunloaded.com/parenting/choosing-a-pre-school/

1. What are some factors to consider when looking for a pre-school?

Choosing the right pre-school for your child can be challenging for parents. Here are few tips that can help you and your child feel confident you have made the right choice.

Decide what location you prefer and what your budget is. It is important that the school you choose will comfortably fit into your family’s lifestyle.

Once you have narrowed down the possibilities, make arrangements to visit the schools. Many schools will have a similar sounding philosophy so it is important you know what to look for so you can see if it will work for you and your child.

On your visit ask yourself –
Do the children seem happy, are they actively engaged in a variety of activities, is the environment bright, cheerful and filled with children’s art work, is the equipment plentiful, varied and in good condition?

Do the teachers seem happy, are they engaged with the children, are they good language models and are they observant and aware of all the children in their care, are the children comfortable and affectionate with the teachers?

If you are happy with your first impression then make an appointment to meet the principal. You may consider asking the following questions:

· What are the teachers’ experience and qualifications?

· How important is the child’s social and emotional development as opposed to the more academic development?

· How does the school ensure the children are prepared for Primary One?

· How does the school deal with children testing boundaries and conflict? This is a normal aspect of young children’s development but it is important that you agree with the schools approach to discipline.

· How does the school ensure safety during pick-up times, outdoor play and field trips?

· How well is the curriculum suited to meet individual learning styles and personalities?

· How involved are parents? What channels of communication between home and school are encouraged?

2. What is the most appropriate age to send a child for pre-school?

Generally the most appropriate age to send children to preschool is between 2 and 3.

This is when children will generally have developed the language needed to express needs and wants, the physical development to be able to go to the toilet independently and the cognitive understanding to become familiar with the routines within the school setting. All of these stages of development are good indicators of whether or not a child will be able to make the transition to independent schooling without too much separation anxiety and distress.

3. What is the difference between a childcare/pre-school that is MCYS endorsed and MOE endorsed?

A childcare operated by the MCYS offers childcare for working parents as well as an MOE approved curriculum. Childcare centres must operate from 7:00a.m. to 7:00p.m., throughout the year.

Fees are paid monthly and a subsidy of $300 per month for full day is given to Singaporean parents.

MOE kindergartens run during the school term times of 40 weeks a year. They generally run for 3 hours a day and are not eligible for subsidy. Many kindergartens offer additional enrichment programmes for additional cost.

4. What are some factors that we can compromise if parents cannot afford the top premium schools.

Get ready for a list of “Do Not’s” here:

Do not compromise on providing your child what is necessary for a happy day at school.

Do not compromise on a cheerful, bright environment which is well kept and clean.

Do not compromise on kind, caring staff who genuinely love their job and enjoy spending time with your child.

Do not compromise on senior staff members who understand the needs of young children and can balance that with the needs of the Singaporean school system.

Do not compromise on a curriculum which means children learn through active, hands-on experiences NOT teacher directed rote learning.

Do not compromise on open communication with the school.

The most premium schools generally have small class sizes, expensive, imported equipment and very well qualified staff. Of course that is all wonderful but children can often flourish in a larger group with interesting, age appropriate resources as long as the teachers understand them, the lessons are well planned and involve active learning.

tong tong: dis fri? datz fast, so u can countdown for being sahm...
mi too but my last day in july.

krystle; As for Universal Studios i been to the one in Osaka and i really enjoyed it very much. Hope Sin is as gd too.

For Genting, u taking coach there? my boy cant sit for hrs, so i need to plan a short trip by air.. at least he can walk ard on plane.

SY: my 2 boys r Friso baby so far no prob at all. Althot i heard fr frz some other brand of formula better but I'm a lazy mummy, afraid if change bb will hav constipation, bb dont drink etc..

Kam: u back fr shanghai? how's e expo? is it bb friendly there?

Kam,
tks for the link/tips, very gd le

pixie,
so what's for lunch since u r so hungry just now?
I had NewYork NewYork seafood platter &amp; Nachos...my pants are so tight now...bursting:p

krystle,
ok noted, will check with PD

yea in fact he skips many step. You know pple always say 7mths sit, 8mths crawl, 9mths sprout teeth (in hokkien) but is not true for R. He only managed to sit up at 9mths+ (w/o support). He didn't crawl on all fours or do the leopard crawl nor the army style crawl but he sit up &amp; crawl by using his legs to push around...somehow like a frog...very awkward movement. Luckily he is a boy &amp; not gal else cannot imagine he move(crawl) around with his legs open big big! He only managed to cruise unassisted around 13mths le. I am also worried if he is lagging behind his development milestones for a 16mths. His speech (now still babbling) &amp; fine motor skills also abit weak compare to Z. Z can crawl very well on all fours at 7mths, walk steadily at 11mths old &amp; utter 2 syllabus word at 16mths. Alas, i told myself to relax cos every child developed at different pace, i hope R can catch up with his peers soon

Lynn,
Z taking Friso since birth till now without any problem too. I started R on Friso &amp; he's okay but once he's off my BM totally, he start to constipate so i've to switch to Mamil &amp; it was okay for awhile until mamil 3, his constipation persisted. I am really at a loss sometimes...also wonder what went wrong, how come Z is ok while R is not.

steph
i had mee hoon kuey but i asked for yew mee; less mee more vege; cum a huge dollop of chilli inside; egg must be "broken and scattered"; no fried onion of spring onion...
i have too much requirements on food, alot of ppl say haha
my pants very tight now but later sure hungry again...got dumpling to eat later yay!

pixie,
my favourite is mee hoon kuey (soup but i oso add alot of chilli inside) yours is dry or soup?
i must have the crispy ikan bilis..shiok!
actually fried onion can make the soup smell extra fragrant le.
oh i was at West Coast Plaza NYNY

Lynn,
Yes, back from Shanghai. My advise is unless you really really die die must see the Shanghai Expo, if not, don't go, esp with kids, the site itself is okay to move around with stroller etc, but the queue is terrible! Some pavillions have special queue for babies, not with those popular European ones loh. If you can go without the kids, have to plan for more than 1 day at Expo, maybe 3 days, to really see everything.

Steph,
You are welcome :)

Ya, don't worry too much on R's development. He will do just fine. I know it's hard to say than do - don't compare with the sibling. I always compare XY with HR, only after doing that, then I realised I shouldn't compare them. Then I did it again, and again :)

Lynn,
I have been to Universal studios at Osaka and did not like it. So since you like there, then you should be able to enjoy the SGP one.

Yes, taking coach coz cheaper. If by plane, still got to transfer to coach and quite ma fan. I think my girl is quite well behave so coach should be ok for her. I just hope she falls asleep while on board as she normally does when sitting in our car.

How about penang? Kitsune is bringing her kids there. I thot of BKK but not sure if the place is ok now after the unrest. Can try phuket too. All these places are under 2hrs' flight. If you think your boy can take up to 4 hrs' flight, then can try HK or Perth.

Lyn,
Hb went there last mth and told me it is more for older kids. He went there during weekday (non school holiday).. not crowded and all short queues. Perhaps u can wait until the june holiday is over.

Icy,
We also went last month (end May), also on a weekday. Your hubby very lucky. My hub stayed till late evening, the queue got shorted, but the popular ones still as long queue as ever. But yes, it's not meant for kids to start with.

Javin had been coughing for almost a most. Seen PD downgrade to GP also still coughing.... How huh???? Gave him the chinese cough remedy nan xing bei xing also no use. Now not much phelgm but still coughing....Jasmyn also coughing. Haiz....

Kam &amp; Icy: thks for ur info on Expo, tink will giv it a miss.. althot really luv to go, now must tink of bb friendly countries.

krystle; itz gd dat ur girl can tak coach, for mi must wait a few more yrs b4 i can tak coach wif my boy. we went hk wen he was 1yr old and he was very cranky during e flight, tink now he is older will b much better ba "hopefully". Phuket is fun! can snorkel, drive ATV,jet ski but wif a toddler all out. Penang reminds mi of Yummy food.
Enjoy ur trip!
i will discuss wif my hb tonight and start planning or dreamin...

shannonbaby, of course giving fruits help ease constipation, try !

Lynn, yeh, so you will be sahm to take care of ur 2 kids?

pixie, i like mi hun kuey, homemade by my mum's one! hehe

<font color="ff0000">Probiotics and prebiotics</font>
Read this article on Young Parents during lunch time. The take-home message is - without prebiotics, probiotics do not survive well in the gut. And dead probiotics won't help to build up the immume system. So have to take both pro- and pre-biotics to get the maximum benefits of good bacteria.

Probiotics - found in fermented food, eg, yogurt, miso soup, cheese, and drinks like yogurt smoothies, Yakult and Vitagen. Probiotics should be consumed cold cos they can't survive in heat.

Prebiotics - come in the form of inulin, a type of indigestible dietary fibre naturally found in food. Prebiotics help to regulate bowel movement cos it's indigestible. Prebiotics are found in fibrous foods like asparagus, leek, onions, bananas, flax, barley, berries, legumes and wholegrains.

So we have to take both probiotics and prebiotics to keep a troop of army in our gut to fight with the bacteria.

But then, this couldn't protect us from the viral infection. So flu is still difficult to avoid.

Kam, thanks for sharing the article!

Although flu is difficult to avoid, but strong immune system that the body has can help fight virus quick, so the recovery rate is quick!

When you have a strong immune system, it doesnt matter whether you fall sick or not because you can recover fast, also without medicine.that's most important.

any idea what to do/go if it rains tomorrow morning for our trip to bird park? aka backup plan

sci centre - out. i think x is too young to appreciate the stuff

no gardens, parks, outdoor areas...haiz...

i can only think of movies

anything else?

Pixie,
Can't think of much indoor places in the West. SGP so boring hoh. How about Snow City?

Wah, I can heard someone singing 我问天 super loud!!!

krystle
u working from home today?
never heard of 我问天 song before wahahhah

no need specifically west. anywhere oso can lar, since hb driving. just thinking of indoor things to do if it rains. dont want to in the end ended up shopping in a mall. waste our precious time

Pixie,
Yes, today onwards working from home until 22 Jun. Coz moving office, so mgmt asked us to pack our stuff early so that they can take out our power sockets and use them in new site. Very "env friendly" hoh. Can't even buy new ones for us. So a lot of us just packed and started working from home.

You never heard the song before? Kekeke, it is the theme song of the hokkien serial on every weekend evenings one. All elderly loves that song.

How about museum? Maybe can go indoor playground like gogo bambini? Really not much places to go.

krystle, so syiok to work from home leh!! yea i know that song haha.

pixie, if it rains, I will stay at home of course, maybe making bread together with him, or cook together with him.

any good confinement food catering that u've tried? thinking of ordering catering for #2 instead of hiring a CL since my confinement will cross cny AGAIN...

Tongtong,
OK lah, anyway I normally work from home 3,4 days a week. No mood to go office. Hahaha.

Pixie,
Have you heard of Museum of Toys? Located opp Bras Brasah Complex (it is inside one of those shophouses). I always pass by it every weekend when my hubby drives us to my girl's school. Always thot of going there but never went in. :p

krystle
yes i know where...its near raffles hotel
but hor its all vintage toys kind, i doubt x will appreciate...

grumpus
wendyg said one very nice rite? sunrise or sun-something?

Flying off to Penang tom morning but the whole family is sick. Even I started to have phelgmy throat and runny nose today. So many med to bring. Faintz! Hope everyone gets well soon esp Raelynn. So heart pain to hear her breathe, so much phelgm inside. :p

Looks like many babies have tried cereal, puree and fruits. Will start Raelynn on cereals when I come back from Penang next Monday.

Back from my trip from Genting. Quite enjoyable cos there's something for everyone. Kids get entertained by all the things at the amusement park. Old folks get to try their luck at jackpot. Nice and cool weather for a change. Hubbies all happy cos dont have to drive, worry about overheated car, petrol, servicing etc.

Must thank the mummies who recommended the indoor theme park. Definitely more suitable for the kids. Imagine my elder boy cried caused he was 1 cm taller and was bumped off the train ride. They loved the bumper car and bowling alley. No change to visit the splash pool.

For me, I'm super tired. Took me a 2 days to recover from the lack of sleep. Luckily, did some shopping in KLCC, Pavilion. Otherwise, buay kam wan.

Pauline, take care and enjoy ur trip. Drink lots of fluid.

My gal fever had subsided last night. Yesterday morning took leave and brought my gal to see Dr Keoy as her fever still recorded at 39C yesterday morning. Dr Keoy checked her through (nose, throat, hand, tummy, etc) but couldn't find anything. So sent her for a blood test for whole blood count. Results came back half an hour later showing it is NOT bacteria infection (cos all the white blood cells counts are normal) and it's NOT dengue. So conclusion is either an viral infection or could be false measle. No medicine can be given for this. So we left without any medicine precribed. I asked Dr Keoy if it's necessary to give my gal paracetamol since she is still having high fever (about 39C), he said huh, your gal so active and look so happy, no need lah, since she is feeding and sleeping well. Glad that Dr Keoy is also one who supports not to admininster med unless is necesssary.

Krystle / Pixie - RE: TOY Museum

A blogger friend of mine commented that this museum is not suitable for young children (her son was 3+ when they went). First is that most of the toys are locked up in the glass cabinet for display only. Second is that the glass cabinet was too high, as in young kids cannot see the toys cos the glass cabinet is above their eye levels. They have to tilt their toes to see or cannot see at all. Her son went during a school outing, and all kids were bored to daeth, almost.

tongtong,
Ya. One of favourite doctors :) Think false measle is different from roseola. Don't know yet, cos the rashes will only break out 2-3 days after the fever subsided. We continue to observe loh.

I was on MC yest and went Universal Studio yest.. hahhaaa! itz fun! esp Ray enjoyed himself so much, althot some rides he was scared but wen finished he said "Mummy, so fast? can play again?"
some rides we Q for 30-45mins.

Is much smaller than e one in osaka so spend one whole day is enuf to play all rides.

Pauline; Enjoy ur trip!

Grumpus: no.2 on e way?
is it a prince or princess?

pixie: Indoor~ how abt Kids explorer?

kam, for roseola, the rashes also outbreak after fever subsided, seems same as fake measle leh.

Lynn, wow took MC to go USS ah haha!

kam, dr koey say 39 deg cel no need to give paracetomol? wat if fever rises?

my personal threshold for taking paracetomol is at 38.2. ibrufen will be 39 and above but will sponge to bring down temp so tat can avoid ibrufen as far as possible. rather give paracetomol.

grumpus,
I have tried natal essentials for my confinement last year Feb. It was not bad, portion was big (enuff for 2pax) &amp; their tonic soup taste not too salty nor too bland which i like. wendgy tried NewBaby, pretty gd according to her &amp; is much cheaper than natal essentials.

kam,
Both Z &amp; R had fake measles, also known as roseola.
oh yesterday brought R see family clinic, doc said his anal ok, no internal tear &amp; scar (bleeding) has heal. Gave us stool softener &amp; advise a spoonful of concentrated prune juice everyday till we can see him pass out soft stool.
The doc also discourage giving soy milk le, she said cow's milk is less heaty &amp; more nutritious than soy milk woh. R also gaining pretty gd weight, abt 11.5kg..almost catching up to Z's weight at 12kg.

Morning, mummies.

Kam, thanks for sharing info about the toy museum. Luckily I have not went there yet. Glad to hear that XY is better.

Prata queen,
Wah, Kam and your threshold are pretty high. Mine is 37.5 then I give paracetomol liao. :p I am the type who give med straight away.

Lynn,
Power leh, MC go USS. Good to hear you had fun lah. So you think worth the entrance fee?

Steph,
Positive comments on R's pooing problem, at least don't have to be so worry. Think he must have really lack of fluids... haiz. Do boys generally hate water? My boy also leh, don't drink juices, water or anything else except for his milk. His poo also hard ones...

prata_queen,
We don't give med to our kids unless it's absolutely necessary, we would want them to fight with the bugs first before any intervention. But having said that, we monitor our kids very closely. We can do away with the fever med only if the fever going up and down and the kid is still active, feeding well and sleeping well. If the fever is on the raise without dropping, and if the fever is bothering the kid, yes, we will definitely bring her to see the PD and feed med as advise.

By definitely, paracetamol is for fever <38.5C and ibu is for >38.5C.

lynn,
yup, #2 on the way
dunno boy/girl yet

steph,
thanks! yup seems natal essentials and newbaby are the 2 most popular. newbaby quite a bit cheaper but some say oily i guess personal taste bah. natal essentials portion really that big? cos i read some ppl order the single meal and then save half for dinner. dunno whether to do that or go with double meals.

krystle,
many factor affect constipation no just fluids. my girl drinks a lot of water but still poo hard ones...

kam,

agree. many times, a 37.5 low grade fever will go away by itself after the child has bathed &amp; rested/slept for 2 hours. So medicine need not be taken at all.

Para takes abt an hour to take effect. If I feed para at low 38, I feel there is still some time and leeway to let the medicine take effect before it rises too high.

Regarding ibufen, can wait till 39 before giving. If 38.5, can still give para. I mentioned before that an experienced gp told me ibu causes side effects of loss in appetite, possible internal stomach bleeding so we should use sponging and para to lower the temp &amp; use ibu as a last resort. All about balancing the various ‘tools’ to bring down the fever.

Grumpus

I saw the newbaby booth at the recent motherhood fair but didn’t stop to browse cos I engaged CL for #1 and will do so for #2. but my colleague due to deliver in July has already paid a deposit &amp; confirm engaging them.

krystle,
nope doc didn't say R lack of fluids. Doc mentioned that it's mainly due to his constitution. She quoted some pple poo everyday, some poo once every 3 days, some poo only once every week. Maybe R follow my gene cos i usually don't poo everyday:p But still like grumpus said, many factors affect constipation. As long as the child can pass motion w/o complication, frequency of having lesser bowel movement is ok/normal.

grumpus,
yup my gal frd also feedback Newbaby abit oily for some dishes but u can make special request/requirement (like less oil or no ginger/less vinegar etc) when order (a form to fill up online) for their catering.
I opt for the double meals cos my hb &amp; MIL also sharing with me sometimes
And also i need extra portion of their red dates tea (lunch+dinner) otherwise not enuff since bfing.