(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hello, mummies..
Busy working day for me and can only catch a breather now. My cough still bad and sat went to see TCM also the same. TCM physician even asked me to buy WOODS cough mixture and try! Hahaha, my hubby blur when heard the comments. LOOks like all docs are giving up on my cough liao. My kids still sick leh... Both of them has starting to recover from flu but y'day night heard them coughing again. And then girl's voice also changed liao... Haiz... Hope this sick streak can end soon before my trip to Genting.

Kam,
Welcome back! Sounds like you enjoyed the trip. Still long queue at the Expo huh? I heard that Super Junior was there and there was a fight to get tix to watch them. And then 1 girl accidentally fell to her death from the bldg... scary. 13th Jun, my SMAP is going there... hope such incidents don't happen.

Ya loh your kids are always well behaved so no worries. So kids of our age are still not suitable for food overseas? Hmmm... I also think my girl don't eat much in Genting too coz distracted from all the fun... So I think better to prepare more milk.

Jacelyn,
Hope Javin gets well soon. Any idea where he caught it again?

Luvv, Luca, Steph.
Think most of you agreed that Virgo are not the shui bian type right? In TW, they called it 龟毛. Which means tortise already don't have hair and yet still expects to find hair on them...

hello mummies
also now then have time to pop in. today decided not to cook lunch n went to foodcourt for fish porridge. but x took a lot n I only slurped up the remaining few mouthful. not full so went to mac for fries. today break all rules

but happy thing is x eats all by himself; enjoys the ketchup with fries. also, we bought toilet seat for him and he peed into a pail that we put underneath the seat cover. ok. mission successful. but he still cannot control urine. can tok to me halfway then pee onto the floor. nvm bah. take it slow

during these 4 days he really learnt so much. just few zoophonics lessons till now he oredi can match letters & recognize them plus phonics. I'm sure lots of kids here already know their abcs but I'm very pleased that x is finally gaining speed too. also taught him to ask permission before opening d fridge

ok reporting over. sorlie v long winded

kam
xie xie! dun like d west but got more excuses to visit zoo, birdpark, sci centre liao hor
btw happy belated bday

krystle, i think we coughed about the same time hor? i recovered liao leh. take care ok!! drink more water especially honey, or pi pa gao, take more vit C. Eh the TCM u went so funny, i tot usually sinseh will prescribe their own's herbs. Anyway, i hope you can recover soon then can have a fun trip to Genting.

jacelyn, i think for kids hfmd is not as painful as adult, hope javin recovers soon!

pixie, ur rules is not to eat fries ah? hey why put the seat cover above a pail and not your toilet bowl?

Pauline,
Sory for the late reply. Had meeting all the way from morning till late afternoon. So no chance to login.

Flying up to KL. Initially wanted to take the coach up but hubby is not keen. 3 kids altogether (incl my sister's, so quite chia lak if got to go up and down the coach etc). We did a few enquiries, wanted a pte van to take us from Singapore to KL and Genting. The coast was exhorbitant wor and found that taking airplane is slightly cheaper (I booked everything in late early April). Plus point is that travelling time shaved by half. Hubby had arranged for transport to take us from airport to KL, then KL to Genting and Genting to airport.

Actually, my MIL side wanted to do something more adventurous. SIL tried to get bungalow for Cameron, wanted to bring about 20 persons up (her extended family and my in laws). Eventually she found that the coach travelling time is 10 hours, plus did not manged to ballot for chalet. So whole thing aborted. Now they are going to another hill, really salute her. I think it's tough. Arranging for 10 pax already quite siong for me, let alone 20.

Now also planning my year end trip. Thinking of bringing my kids to Sydney or Melbourne or Gold Coast. Havent decided on the state yet but most likely will go Australia. Will opt for self drive cos less hectic. Cannot imagine being late all the time if I go on a group tour.

Kitsune,
all the best with hunting he ideal trip for your family!

My next project is planning my girl's 1st birthday in 2.5 months! Yes, it's that fast! I so want to do it at kl.

Krystle,
the food in china in particular is tooooo salty, even for Adults, we also found it way too salty. Think the food in genting/malaysia should be ok? But yes, bring more FM, I already brought more than their normal consumption, but both drank up to the very last drop, even have to give 2x fresh milk to HR. sometimes they drank it for comfort and may be the colder weather made them wanna drink more.

Pixie,
great to hear X is progressing so well. Looks like it is事事顺意for you!

Tongtong,
shook leh, so near to your freedom!!!

hi blackbatz,

can go to pavilion and midvalley in KL,a lot of restaurants there,crystal jade etc,very similar to sporevery good for shopping,how to take the transport from airport to KL, then KL to Genting and Genting to airport?how much to pay from KL to genting?

hi pauline,

u can also consider cruise to KL,penang got any shopping centres and playcentres for kids?

Blackbatz, oic for the transport from airport to KL and KL to Genting, how much does it cost? Is it direct or with many stops? How many seater transport?

Kam, haha, yours just 3 months ago, not fast liao. I'm also thinking of Raelynn's 1st birthday celebration cos it will clash with our Dec holiday plans. But since I did it for cheh cheh, I don't want to skip Mei Mei's party or else not fair. :p

Pixie, congrats!
RaeAnne is also doing well on toilet training, she can hold her pee at night sometimes. We bring forward her last milk feed and let her pee before sleeping. But bad thing is she will wake up in the middle of the night, grouchy when I 'persuade' her to shh shh.

Also good that we are toilet training her now, can bring less diapers to Penang now.

Goodbbb, Penang has a few shopping malls but I've only been to Gurney plaza, beside my hotel (G Hotel) and Queensbay mall (my friend drove me there last time).

Pauline,
About RM780. I think if u have friends there to check and book. Could be even cheaper. Transport is purely transporting people, no sight seeing. With such a huge entourage, some insists that I must have a tour guide, which will push up the cost.

Cruise is a very good option actually. No worries about the lack of activities to keep the young occupied. No need to worry about food. Can eat as and when u like. Only thing, no movie theatre!

mylvera,
Nope, not planning for 1 in Sg. Though I would love to invite you all! I want to use this opportunity to meet up with lots of my friends and families who lives in KL and who I haven't met for years.

Hello mommies

anything I've missed? What's the current topic now?

Kitsune
concentrate in toilet training raeanne during the day first. It's a little too early for kids to be toilet trained during the night too.

Tongtong
Rylee also got cough wih phlegm and runny nose now. Thankfully she has learned to blow her nose and also cough out the phlegm. I saw her phlegm is green liao. I'm reluctant to let her take antibiotics. Do u have any recommendations for natural treatment for her?
thanks in advance!

Kam
I totally agree about china's food! Even for me (a person who LOVES salty food) I feel the food in china is extra salty AND oily!!!

kam, i agree that the food in china is very saltish. you know what i did last time, i dip the veg into the water to wash off the saltishness, keke. hey yea! waiting for my last day in office hehe, although i will miss all of them!

krystle, the food in genting is OK. not as bad as compared to CHina la hehe. Shaun had no problem eating there when i brought him there last few weeks.

Pauline, Raeanne is doing good on toilet training! although shaun is already fully trained when he is awake, he still cant hold pee when he is sleeping hehe.

Mylife, eh, i tot Rylee and you have recovered? You mean Rylee has flu after her HFMD episode? Shaun had flu for almost a week already ( it will take at least 1 week to recover on his own, eventhough he has recovered, but still got sticky mucus, not runny nose though. yea he will blow his mucus out too. I just let him be since they are not bothering him. Rylee's phlegm is green means got infection. If it's really necessary to take antibiotics, then just give her, but replenish her good bacteria in her guts with more prebiotic rich food or yoghurt. But i think antibiotics might not be necessary because flu is caused by virus. Anyway you monitor her and decide la. For runny nose, half a lemon(juice it) plus manuka honey active +12 and above. To boost her immune to fight virus now, can prepare miso soup for her. 3g organic miso, 1 stalk of scallion. cut scallion into small pieces, add into 250cc of water, boil with miso over high heat. then cook them over slow heat for 20 minutes. remedies 2, 80g of brown rice, washed. cut 5 red dates and remove seeds. boil them in pot with 500cc of water. filter the residue and consume the soup.

mylife,
Only my dad enjoyed the salty food. The rest of us really cannot tahan. Not to mention about the oil as well.........

krystle,
The queue at Expo is horrible! Only a few exhibits no need to queue. Even the Singapore and the Malaysia ones have very long queue! You know, it's all those uncles aunties lor. Think they are only concern about the quantity, not the quality of the visitors. I was so dead tired that day. Gave up in the late afternoon. Went back to hotel with the kids and the old folks (ya, me alone with 2 kids and 4 old folks!). My hub and my cousin continued exploring the expo till late night. My hub was very happy with that.

tongtong
i put the toilet seat cover ontop of our normal toilet bowl cover, he dun like to sit on top high high...
so i had to diy my own toilet bowl by using a face basin and putting the kiddy toilet seat cover ontop of the basin. so its like a potty that comes with a toilet seat cover

yah, fries he dont take...i think we let him eat like 3times till now

tongtong,
The queue is to get in to the buildings, where they have different kind of display. Some offers freebies, those queues are even worse!

Thanks Tongtong, still got accidents lar ESP when we go out n her milk feed is too late then she will sleep shortly after milk. Panties, shirt all wet she still continue to sleep. :p

Mylife, raeanne refuse to wear diapers for night, will cry if I force her so I dun want to do that. Dun want her to confuse her since she is already not wearing diapers in the day even when we go out. Accidents r inevitable for night, so just change lor. just now she drank a lot of water, n told me twice before nap that she wants to shh shh.

Kam,
Luckily you brought extra milk. HR still ok coz at least can drink fresh milk. For XY, it will be tougher and I think the baby milk in CHN is not safe (after the shocking incident 2 yrs back). Yes, you and tongtong are right that Genting food should be quite close to SGP ones so should be fine.

Queues are bad hoh. I saw on the news about SJ.. A few thousands girls just ran into the KOrea pavilion and knocking down all those securities loh. Scary.

Tongtong,
Glad that you recovered liao. I am still coughing leh. The TCM physician is a joker hoh. But I really listen and try WOODS y'day since her med did not work. And I did cough lesser today leh.

Pixie,
Glad that X is catching up. My girl is still not very good at recognising ABCs and colours leh... Scratching my head how to teach her.

Kitsune,
Good progress on RaeAnne on her toilet training. You are a hardworking mum, still can bring the portable toilet seat out. I don't think I will do that. :p

Krystle, I bought the Cushie Traveller potty seat from BP http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3905606.html?1272204071, very convenient and comes in a bag.
Hee, if I don't bring it out and she doesn't pee or pee in her pants, it'll be even more messy and troublesome for me cos I'll have to rush home to change her. The traveller seat will be very useful for travelling cos I don't think the plane/Malaysia's toilet seat got kiddy seat and some toilets are quite dirty. :p

I also bought the contoured step up potty seat for home use but that one stock not in yet. :p

tongtong
the runny nose and cough is a product of the HFMD virus. Apparently, HFMD can camouflaged itself as a flu cos it's got the same symptoms like a flu (but more, like diarrhoea, vomiting, ulcers, etc). U think i shud let her take antibiotics too? Thanks for the tips...but err...whats a scallion? *blur*

kitsune
Yah, i rem back when Rylee was going thru the toilet training process, she was like that too, cos blame us for telling her, oh, ur a big girl now, wear training pants, dont wear diapers. What i did was, i bought this Potty Training book by Karen Katz (or u can try to find other potty training books which has the same contents) and in the book, the little girl said altho she uses the potty in the days, when its night time, she will STILL wears the diapers. Rylee loves that book, she'd read it with me when she's seated on the toilet bowl (with her toilet seat of cos) and recite with me A Potty For Me (that's the book title). So when she was cranky and refused to wear diaper, i'd remind her that rem the jiejie in the Potty For Me book, she wears a diaper at night too. try this out cos physically, they're totally not ready for night weaning of diapers so u'll have a hard and long time of washing. Let alone sleep disturbing too. Or, it might even have psychological effect on her next time (bed wetting issues)

mylife,
HFMD is caused by a virus. Antibiotic won't cure it. Last time when HR got HFMD, his PD precribed anti-viral med, not antibiotic.

Rylee reacted to the virus by having running nose and cough, it's a good sign showing that her immunity is strong enough to fight with the nasty virus.

krystle
slowly lah. i only feel like it then i sing the zoophonics to him, or the leapfrog style of phonics to him. only when i got the energy - which is not very often lah, haha
but one thing i discovered yest nite, i show him the zoophonics thingy (action, sounds etc), he can do quite a lot of it! im surprised coz he attended GUG for like only 6 lessons or so, and each time the teachers started the zoophonics thingy, he is not very keen and run around the classroom.
so infact he got listen to teachers while running around wor

Mylife, thanks for sharing. We have potty for girls n Gina ford's potty training in 1 week. But yes, will trial n error, play by ear n let her take the lead. Surprisingly, now that she is not wearing diapers, some nights she will sleep through oblivious of her wet clothes. Makes me wonder why she wakes up previously while on diapers. :p

Morning, mummies.

I hope that my girl will pick up learning soon when she starts on sch next yr. For now, I just try my best to teach her... But normally by end of each day, already very tired to teach. Then still got to take care of #2... not easy.

Pixie,
ya lor, this thread not as fun as before anymore hor. Haven't heard from Yvonne, Jess, grumpus, etc for a long time already.......

harnor kam, its been dead quiet for few weeks liao. which prompted me to think:
we've joined this thread at different stages and usually during preggy time.
for those really old birds, it means 9mths + 2yr & 4 mths = 3 years of "online friendship"!
isnt that a long long time?

pixie, yea, miso got organic ones! standard one also can la, but some got alcohol or more saltish ok

mylife, i will see whether the kid needs antibiotic by observing leh, what did the doc say ah? as mentioned before, hfmd is caused by virus leh. oh scallion is spring onion . right now you just need to strengthen her immune so that she can fight off the virus earlier. no med is required if her condition is mild i think. but you see for yourself la.

pauline, cant you try to wear diaper for her after she falls asleep?

kam, jess is busy at work ma, haha

pixie,
just rec'd the flashcards, i realised u were staying near to where i used to stay! so qiao but too bad i'd moved..

tongtong
i always make miso soup for my boy but he doesnt like that taste leh. he makes a face. its not salty coz i make a mild version for him....somemore he is a soup person so its rare that he'll turn away from soup...
in the end i make for myself when im hungry at night...heehee

pixie, my boy, finished the whole bowl of miso soup when we had jap food last week. i think becuase it was saltish leh. miso got acquired taste, nevermind la, slowly. hehe

i'm now trying hard to get him to eat raw veg, which he doesnt like. so i got to cut cut cut into very small piece and mix into his sandwich hehe

tongtong
my boy subjective one. he likes rice - raw...aka grains. everytime i cook rice and take out the tub of rice, he will beg for some to chew on...
same goes for brocolli, leafy vege. weird boy hor

pixie, haha, your boy so cute. my boy also chewed on some grains before. but hey if he likes broccoli raw, why not?? good for him! lots of enzyme ma. but hor, get organic one better hor.

kam,

thanks!! still very early lah only 6wks plus nia, just saw the beanie and flickering heartbeat today so feel a bit safer to report here...

so i get another jan bb hehehe.....