(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Morning, mummies.

I am waiting for the clock to strike 9am.

Mylvera,
JIA YOU! Hope you can maintain your sanity by then. :p

This morning, my girl surprised us by counting 1 to 10 using her cookery toys!!! She was taking out the items one by one and count at the same time! To me, I am very proud of her. Firstly, we thought she knows how to say 1 to 10 but not count them. Secondly, she never missed a count. Even when she took out 2 items at the same time, she counted them as 2 separate items (like 5,6). Very happy and made my day! I think no one taught her how to count yet.

gd morning all....

so sianz lei. yest received letter from J's CC that there are 6 cases of chickenpox.

so nw have to monitor him closely... so scared

Tongtong,
cannot leh, the link you gave me, returned with companies in sg, not kl :-(

Mylife,
that's our problem loh, we seldom stay home one leh. We rather him and meimei to have more fun running at the park/zoo, then staying indoor. 5 full days staying indoor is enough already. With his maturity, think he knows what we are/he is doing. So we just let him be. I talked to his teacher, she is also on the frequency as I am, so just gonna wait a little bit longer :)

krystle,
Why 9am? Waiting for something? Well done, you girl does a great job on counting!

Jess,
J not vaccinated against chicken pox? Can bring him for the jab now?

Icy, S also started off telling me that he had finished his business by saying “ng ng”. Then I told him to tell me before he wanted to poo. I forgot how long it took and eventually he got the idea and told me when he has the urge. Think sooner it’s Xavier’s turn liao.

Grumpus, hey thanks for being so helpful to offer to make the pillow. NO need mafan u la, my friend told me that the wet market aunty is selling. So I’m going to get from there! Thanks!

Mylife, so good that Rylee still wants ur breast, haha. S rejected mine long time ago, so sad leh, he wanted bottle!!

Jess, yea monitor first. The 6 cases got vaccinated or not? If yes, then their condition shouldn’t be very serious one. I read one of our jan bb here got chicken pox before right? Or dec thread, cant remember..

Kam, which link ah? They showed one kidszone at sunway pyramid.

Pixie/enemum , wah! so touched that you all wanna give me your beansprout pillow! My little nephew really has lots of merits(fu2 bao4) leh!! Ok will pm u .

Jess,
Not necessary too late. Last time my friend also brought her son for chicken pox vaccination AFTER his son got contact with his little friends who were having chicken pox. The PD said if he was really infected, then it will become milder after the vaccination. The choice is yours :)

morning mummies
my hb sick, pass to my boy, now my boy oso sick...viral fever again
haizzzzzzzzzzzzz
yesterday constantly 39+ deg fever, today is only D2 of the fever, another 3 days to go....
my hb is looking after him tomorrow and fri (mil not free) so let this be some "training" for my hb bah
as for me, i will be a FTWM! hah!

jess
J never took chicken pox vaccine? mine did and luckily, my nephew got chickenpox last yr and my boy didnt get it (still got 1 or 2% chance of getting i think). the jab was just in time

tongtong
yah i'm not worrying.
x is running around as usual. just now call back , he tried to say good morning, and he said "bye!" and gave me french kiss. i only heard a loud sound thru the phone but my mil said it was a french kiss from him
aiyahhhhhhhhhh miss him ah!!

Krystle, issey so clever, I taught mine to count but she is still a bit confused, only 5 items but she still insisted to count to ten. sometimes good mood she will count to 20 but inaccuracy drops after 14. Haha.

To bring some laughter to the mummies, try out this game!!

Here's what you do in this game:
Write the sentence according to your date of birth and the color of your blouse/shirt.

Month you were born:
January - I jumped on one leg with
February - I loved
March - I squashed
April - I played with
May - I choked on
June - I smothered
July - I sang to
August - I had lunch with
September - I danced with
October - I got chased by
November - I yelled at
December - I ran after

Day you were born:
1 - a paperclip
2 - a monster
3 - an iphone
4 - a fork
5 - a giant tomato
6 - a ferrari
7 - my cell phone
8 - my neighbor's curry plant
9 - your new shoes
10 - a brinjal
11 - an ipod
12 - a banana
13 - a marinated tofu
14 - a handsome pilot
15 - a gigantic dwarf
16 - a pickle
17 - my socks
18 - a spoon
19 - myself
20 - a model
21 - a ninja
22 - Jamie Oliver
23 - soba noodles
24 - Tofutti
25 - a baseball
26 - my hair
27 - a silver ring
28 - my laptop
29 - a permanent marker
30 - a giant broccoli
31 - a monster truck

Colour of the blouse/shirt you are wearing now:
White - because I was confused.
Black - because it makes me happy.
Pink - because my grandma wanted me to.
Red - because the voices told me to.
Blue - because I'm sexy and do what I want.
Green - because I love myself.
Purple - because I'm cool.
Gray - because I can't control myself.
Yellow - because someone offered me 1,000,000 dollars.
Orange - because I love you.
Other - because this is how we do it!

tongtong, my girl still coughing badly after several doc visit. do u know of any chinese medicne tht cure pelgm n cough?

aqua,
my daughter also coughed very badly. had phlegm and even vomited every night after coughing. She took PD's medicine for 1++ week. Since western medicine didn't work so my mum brought her to see a chinese doctor. the very night she took the medicine, she didnt vomit that night. about 3-4 days later, her cough cleared up and now ok already.

I think you can go to any chinese doctor nearby coz they normally don't give many days of medicine.

aqua, huh, still coughing.. heard that she coughed quite some time liao. if you want fast result, can try hou2 zao3 san3. personally i dont know what's the ingredient inside as it has been packed in bottle. For me I wont try as I think those med is equal to western medicine? just that they are chinese herbs. I know the results were pretty fast and good. BUt you know me, I always want to DIY n prefer more natural ways, so i buy the ingredients and boil myself. results are slower but i'm absolutely ok with it la! will pm u my blog for more remedies.
meanwhile you can try the prepack herbs from medical hall, and give manuka honey + lemon. It worked for mine, maybe his cough/flu are not serious or he is a very good fighter). It doesnt work for some kids though, maybe the virus is too strong n need to boost the immune)

Kam,

I waited for 9am so that I can book concert tickets for Jay Chou's concert!!!

Wah, the SISTIC website just hanged totally for 1 hr and the tickets are snatched up like crazy. In one min, like you can see 1 CAT seats turned into unavailable!!! Very kan cheong!!! I managed to get my tickets at last! But I can't help my other friends coz she wanted balcony and it is full liao!!!

Thanks, mummies! I am just silly to be so proud of her achieving the counting. Another thing is that she slept with her pacifier last night after I told her I threw it away. She cried for like 20 mins and kept repeating that her pacifier is no more... Poor thing, nearly want to give her back... But I did not. Later she just slept. :p This morning, she told hubby that she does not have pacifier liao.

aqua, like what mcfluffy says, bring to TCM if you dont want to get anything from chinese medical hall. Faster result also!

mcfluffy, my girl juz finish antibiotics las week, juz went she was abt to recover, the cough worsen n kana flu. prob coz the cc also some sick kids too? and virus too strong for her?

tongtong, yes, i tried manuka honey on n off, but without lemon.yes, she cough second week in sch till now...5 weeks+.las nite so severe, till she couldnt sleep!!!

aqua, usually the immune will become lower after taking antibiotics because it destroy all the bacteria in the body including good ones. so got to replenish with prebiotics. that's why she kena flu from the other kids again when immune is lower.

try lemon, see whether it works for her or not. drip the eucalyptus oil on tissue and place near her at night. If got phlegms, i heard many ppl say, avoid chicken and eggs. and oranges.

tongtong, yes. i hav been avoiding those food u mentioned, and also stop fruits.ok, will get some lemon to try. shld hav plenty of vit C.

when i down with flu, i drank 1 bottles of C1000,lemon, cures my flu instantly. japanese products are wonderful!

tongtong / Aqua,
Dr Keoy said avoid all citrus fruits if coughing. Lemon also citrus fruits woh.

About antibiotics. Depending on the type of antibiotics. Narrow range ones only targeted certain types of bacteria. Only broader range ones target more bacteria. None of the antibiotics available in the market can kill all bacteria strains. Over-use of antibiotic may cause the bacteria in our body becomes resistance (they mutate and change the genetic codes, yes, bacteria is smart) and hence not reactive to that particular antibiotic. Flu is often caused by virus. So most often taking antibiotics does not help at all. Antibiotic has no effect on virus at all.

Aqua, no need to stop fruits other than orange or perhaps grapes. Pls continue to eat apples, preferably an apple a day.

Kam, yea I also know lemon is citrus fruits, but somehow lemon is also one of the natural remedies for cough leh. I think it should have its reason lor for adding honey to the lemon – it says to sooth the throat irritation. So I just try la, and it works wor. But I know it might not work for other kids. That’s why I ask aqua to try ma.

morning all!

Kam,
if virus cant be cured by antibiotics, then how to kill the virus? my boy has been having green mucus for more than 2 weeks oredy, will be bringing him to see doc tonite again. i suppose green mucus is virus rite?

Aqua, in fact u also point out that you take high vit C can cure your flu wor. so shd even give fruits to ur gal when she is flu ma. The high C juices are very good, it consists of grapes and another fruits ( forgot what issit)

so now your gal is cough only or cough +flu?

luca & kam, i also read tht antibiotics wouldnt 'kill' virus' directly, but most GPs will prescribe after ur second or third visit or when the child has greenery muscus or inflammation.
that why, sometime also dunno shld giv or not.

luca/aqua,
Antibiotics definitely cannot kill virus. I am very sure. The reason why the GP/PD still prescribes antibiotics for non-bacteria illness is for the protection, cos antibiotics is the boast up, temporarily, the immunity against bacteria, so just in case the patient might have bacteria infection also.

Anti-viral med is available. But very few and to certain viruses only. Vaccination also available, but again, for certain types of virus only. For viral infection/virus flu, usually has to leave to your body to fight it off. Drinking plenty of water helps. And other natural remedies like fruits, honey etc. Basically no med for viral flu.

Over-use of antibiotics reduces their effectiveness by encouraging the growth of antibiotic-resistant bacteria, which is a serious and increasing problem globally.

Me and my hubby don't take antibiotics unless I am seriously ill. I also don't let my kids take antibiotics unless the doc told me it's not a virus infection.

Luca, green mucus is the final stage liao, where the virus is having its final full blast of attack. Yea there’s one at Yishun Central, but forgot what is the name leh. It’s just a small outlet at the corner of the stretch of shop lots.

Luca - color of mucus:

Generally nasal mucus is clear and thin, serving to filter air during inhalation. During times of infection, mucus can change colour to yellow or green either as a result of trapped bacteria, or due to the body's reaction to viral infection.

In the case of bacterial infection, the bacterium becomes trapped in already clogged sinuses, breeding in the moist, nutrient-rich environment. Antibiotics may be used to treat the secondary infection in these cases, but will generally not help with the original cause.

In the case of a viral infection such as cold or flu, the first stage and also the last stage of the infection causes the production of a clear, thin mucus in the nose or back of the throat. As the body begins to react to the virus (generally one to three days), mucus thickens and may turn yellow or green. In viral infections, antibiotics will not be useful, and are a major avenue for misuse. Treatment is generally symptom-based; often it is sufficient to allow the immune system to fight off the virus over time.

So mucus should be clear (beginning), turn to yellow/green (when body reacts to the virus) and back to clear (recovering).

im really lost. but my boy got green mucus for few weeks oredy, if its the final stage, then how long is it gona take for the mucus 2 clear?

kam is absolutely right!! I remembered my boy started off with clear runny mucus in the beginning, few days later became thick yellowish mucus, then few days later became clear runny mucus again!! that time i tot how come he still havent recovered? The whole course of his flu took about 1.5 to 2 weeks, without any medicine. and only fruits, extra fruits, lemon and honey.

luca, cuz he is still fighting ma, as what kam mentioned, body reacted ot the virus. Think it will clear in no time liao. just give him more fruits or juices la. but remember, not juices added with sugar one hor. best to extract juices yourself.

Luca,
I may be right or may be wrong.

I think your boy is still fighting with the virus, either because 1) this virus is very potent, not easy for his body to fight off, or 2) your boy's immune system is not strong enough, so take very long time to fight off.

Last time when HR was having phlegmy cough, I cooked the pre-packed cough remedy, those contains 南杏,北杏 one from the chinese medical hall. It helped. Antibiotics definitely not going to help if it's a viral infection.

Luca,
Just thought of this. If your boy finished 1 course of antibiotics and his cough still persists, most likely means it's viral infection. If the cough is cured after the course of antibiotics, means it's bacteria infection. Make sense?

agree, give more fruits n veggie to our kids. i am blessed to have 2 healthy kids. -)

a website to share if you want to have home-cooked for ur kids:
www.gofor2and5.com.au

I have tried some of recipes, and it turned out nice and our family enjoy the food. ;-))

Steph & other mummies who are keen on labels for kids to school.
If we can gather 4 or more order, I can get additional 10% providing to send to one address in sg (cheaper that way so mummies can share the cost of the shipping). If you really want, PM me, I can co-ordinate for you.

Kam, can cough caused by bacteria ?? I always tot cough is caused by virus leh.

Kam, have you tried to look for kidszone at sunway pyramid>?