(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Janbb, all along ever since he was undergoing toilet training , he stands while peeing. At first he pees on the bathroom floor. Then later on he pees into the hole on the toilet floor. Now since he accepted the potty , he pees into his potty. Oh yea before that, he wnts to pee on our toilet bowl, so I got to carry him while he pees.

Let Jayden aim into the potty la, don’t need to bring the potty near his didi. I never train S how to aim, he knows how leh. So never wet the floor. Maybe because he was trained to pee on the floor/hole for many months already? So he is good at aiming?? Why not you start him off letting him pee on the toilet floor? Then sooner he can aim accurately at the potty liao.

Janbb,
i dun hv a boy so i dunno, but i ask my mum before how she potty train my bro she say boy lagi easy to potty train. she just encourage my bro to pee anywhere, either outside at the garden or in the toilet shower area. so something similar to tongtong bah.
then after he is very used to peeing on command, she just ask him to use the toilet bowl lor...

hi mommies

been reading on and off too with my iphone..jus too troublesome to post using it.

Pixie
my insomnia didnt really go away. Its always here...i just never update my FB status about it.

Potty training
Rylee is also potty trained liao. Surprisingly fast cos one day she told us she wants to go poopoo, then we decided to go ahead with training her to peepee as well and it took only 2 days before she can recognise the peeing feeling, hold it and waited until she goes to the toilet. We're lucky, plus girls usually are faster than boys in this. My PD said he'd advise to wait till 2.5 yrs old, cos physically, even if they can, they are developmentally ready to pull down their own pants, pee, wipe and pull up pants again. He said u can train, but at the end of the day, YOU (aka the mommy or the carer) will be the xinku one. Makes sense. Anyway, i didnt really potty train Rylee, i'd say i "toilet trained" her cos i didnt use potty at all. I've heard some kids need another round of "training" to eventually use the actual toilet cos they are either scared of refuse to pee in the toilet bowl. One of my frens 2 kids, will cry when sitting on the toilet bowl but is otherwise "trained" on the potty. Maybe too attached to the potty? Probably similar to the bottle to cup theory..So i skipped the potty and trained Rylee straight away on the toilet bowl with her own seat. I figured since she skipped the bottle (straight from breast to cup) so she can skip potty and go straight from diapers to toilet bowl! kekekekeke

OIC, thanks tongtong & grumpus. Will let him pee on the toilet floor first then. So diff to train boy. For poo is easy, as he will tell me he wants to poo & pass me the potty. But "pee" is so frequent in a day, a bit diff to train. Plus late morning in class then nap time liao. Only left less than half a day to go diaperless in the noon/evening before he slp at nite.

Mylife, Wow,Rylee skipped bottle so advanced! Hehe. S is still very attached to his bottle. I told him to have his milk in cup he will complain and wants his bottle. I think maybe I should buy the toilet seat for S too, then I can save more water leh!! Hehe

Janbb, J is opposite from S, S was trained to pee first then only poo. Hehe.

child care says that shouldnt train using the potty ...should train straight in the toilet =)

my number 1 trained in CC

number 2 if i can catch his signs of pooing...he can poo in toilet...but pee ah...long way to go still

mylife,
Agree. We have no rush in potty/toilet trained HR, unless he still can't do this when he is 3 yo, then I start to get worry. He knows how to pee standing, he knows how to say pee/poo in languages. We let him go diaperless if we are at home. So, he's almost there. We are just waiting patiently for that 1 day. Meanwhile, just gonna fork out a bit of money to buy diaper for him lor :)

Pauline,
I didn't buy those training pants for my boys. Are they quite thick? Maybe it's thick and warm, that's why she doesn't like it.

I got Zach to wear briefs..Wet, just change brief.. He doesn't like thick and warm stuff around his errmmm..He likes to wear gor gor's brief cos it's bigger. whenever my maid gives him the small brief,he will go to gor gor's drawer and put on gor gor's brief by himself. I guess he will wear boxer shorts in future liao

Steph, I din get sambucol because I think not necessary for S yet since I always DIY wholefood for him ma. If I think there’s a need, I will get la. But if you got no time, can get sambucol to boost his immune too. It’s just a supplement like cod liver oil you know.

pixie, your friend looking? what kind of rocker? traditional kind?

Potty Training (for poo)
How do u all get the toddler to tell you that they are going to poo? I can tell by Xavier position but when I fetch the potty, he refuse to sit or else he sit and cant shit inside, seemed like used to stand and shit.. what should I do?

For Pee
Removing the diaper directly will help? Must get daddy to show how to pee? lol

Hi pexie & steph,

Oh yeah! I also ordered 2 sets. Sure, drop by any weekends for a swim la...
Hee hee

Btw, steph. Thks for the cameron highlands iterinary. Looks great! Let me know once u need any confirmation on the trip. Any other mummies keen?

Pixie, I have the traditional type(net) leh, not the modern type with cushion one. it’s the traditional rocker using the sarong (yao lan) type of cotton cloth. Not sure whether you know what I mean.

Icy, mine will tell me “ng ng”. Mine used to stand and shit too, but at least he tells me that he wants to do his business, so bring him to shit on the toilet floor lor.

tongtong
Mine wont say he is going to shit until the shit is in diaper then he shouted "pang sai!" ~~faint~~ And all of them in the family finds it funny. He learned those hokkien from my mil.

elmo,

i am dropping the cameron highlands convoy as we find the itinerary quite ordinary & overpriced le. We think we certainly can do it on our own. But me & hubby still contemplating on the next 3D2N convoy to Ipoh, Kellie's Castle and Lata Kinjang Waterfall. This trip is not suitable for the kids cos there will be river rafting activity. It will be on 1st to 3rd May. If u keen, i can forward u the itinerary

Icy, oh yea, before he was trained, he will tell us that he has done his business in his diaper. From there on we started to train! So maybe ur boy is ready to be trained too. Hey, he says bang sai so cute!! Haha!!

Pixie, np

tongtong
u still using beansprout pillow for S?

btw, if i ask my boy if he sai sai he will say yes or no, usually is accurate. but he will not tell us
cheyyyy

Pixie, no la. I am trying to source for my cousin who just delivered. I actually asked S whether he can lend cousin bb his beansprout pillow, which he din use for long time. He said cannot leh!! He still dunno how to share yet wor.

Kam, you want restaurant environment or a place like Gymboree? KL has a Gymboree which host event too I think.

Kam, there is actually a place like gogobambini or the kid's playground at turf city at One utama too. You can check whether they host party. Next time when i go one utama shopping can deposit S there :p

tongtong,
the beansprout pillow u looking for is with what filling? green bean and rice or the bean sprout husk? if bean sprout husk is quite tedious cos hv to collect the husks from the market veg seller, then hv to sort the husks from the dirty stuff, then sun the husks until very dry, sort again for any rotten ones, before can use...so hor, those BP one actually u r paying for the labour....

anyway, i can make one for u if u want lor...

tongtong
i have leh
i dunno is husk or beansprout but either 1 lor; can gibe u lah
since cannot "wash" and return back to me
i just place on my boy's chest when infant time
keen?
clean one lar, never dirtied with milk or soiled it before

tongtong,
i made the bean sprout pillow that my girl used when she was born
after she outgrow the pillow i opened it up, reused the husks, add in more husks and converted it to a bolster which she is still using....

i usually dun make for sale cos it's tedious but if u want i help u make just one lor....

tongtong,
How to u make urs say b4 shitting? I tried to tell Xavier so, but so far he don't do it.

I ordered online for the beanspout pillow and casing $22 and $10 for extra casing. For ex becos it comes with personalised name and can choose pix.

http://www.beansprout-pillow.com/

icy
it's like that one...Rylee also started doing this wayyyyyy back before we trained her. The key point is not to stress him up. Soon, he will slowly know the sensation of pooing and will tell u beforehand. For rylee, she was very curious, so when i go toilet for peeing, i will let her see. Oh, when we changed her soiled diaper last time, we will also let her see and "smell" her poo so she will know cos she's always curious and asked "看?“ and she will follow us wrinkled her nose and say "eee..!" Soon, she knows to identify when she wants to poo lo.

Kam
Your way is slow and steady. That time i was just happy rylee can tell me she wants to go poopoo and i was telling her teacher in school about it and i was pondering how to go about training her to pee. But the teacher in school told me there's actually 1001 ways to potty train babies, but her fav way is to go "all the way" when it starts. Cos she finds it confusing for some kids, sometimes got wear diaper, sometimes cannot. So i also go daring way and just gung ho let her wear training pants and proceed on with the pee training, at the back of my mind if really cannot, then i will know she's not ready and i will stop. But she surprised us all by "getting it" only 2days later.
If ur already letting HR go diaperless at home, it's good to let him go diaperless outside too so as to be consistent to prevent confusion for him. Or if ur afraid of mess, then for 2 weeks of training, just stay at home and dont go out.

tongtong
haha, skipped bottle not by my choice, she just didnt want the bottle, prefer the breast. So what to do? Bo pian lo. Wasted so much money buying so many types of bottles. Sigh. On the upside of it, like i said, i dont need to wean her off bottle to the cup lo.
And i never had to lug with me the bottles, warmer, fridge-on-the-go with me when i go out. Only a nursing cover which can be folded nicely and put into the bag. Hehe. Positivity can go a loooong way hiak hiak hiak

Icy,
Must do it consistently.every day make poo poo sound, after sometime will get it. Dont give up. I have a friend who had to take pictures of the poo on the diaper to show the son.

Mylife,
Agree with you. Go outside, must remember to bring them to the toilet every 20 to 30 minutes if without diaper. Cos air conditioner makes them want to pee faster. My boy simply loves those kiddy toilets/urinal. So I bring him there to pee.

So Plaza Singapura, Vivo, J8, Paragon are places with kiddy urinal. Makes it easier for us.

Blackbatz, yup they are quite thick. I got 3 layer as well as the 4 layer ones from Nissen and Disney. She likes these but doesn't like the bright bots ones that I bought cos there is a plastic rustling sound at the crotch area. Sigh, and they were the most exp ones. :p

Mylife, yup, that's what the Gina ford book said too. To successfully potty train, cannot regress to diapers so cannot feed milk before bedtime, cannot let them wear diapers when they go out, if can't do that then should not go out for the week of potty training at all. For me, as a SAHM, that's the toughest cos after 5 days of being at home, I long to go out and 'see the world' on weekends. I also like bringing RaeAnne out when hubby is around (extra pair of hands) and use of the car. :p

Talking about it..Rreally appreciate my parents' help. My mum will wake up around mid-night and bring my boy to the toilet and let him pee druing the toilet training period. Although Z will make noise but still pee in darkness.

They also put up with his middle of the night pee, which happened often then.

Steph,
The brightstarkids label spree moving rather fast now.