(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

pixie, i was a bad mummy yesterday night. I apologized to him after i calmed down. well, just hope i can survive my sahm days la.haha

Tongtong, Pixie.
I could not agree more too. I also feel the same for my girl. Seeing how much other kids of her same age learning in school, I also feel that my girl could have learnt more as she is also a fast learner too. But MIL is not very educated so I cannot expect much too. Now I am trying to do my part by going thru 1 activity each day when I fetch her home. Eg: Colouring, sticker, puzzle (she is very bad at this..), online games, her music activity book etc... I think it is the best I can do at this moment.

Re: the trial class at Kids Performing

1. vereneting
2. steph77
3. tongtong
4. lyn78
5. janbb

Venue: Popstars City
11 Unity Street #02-01 Robertson Walk Singapore 237995

I had booked the slot on 11 Apr at 10 am this Sunday for the trial lesson. They allow parents to join the kids during the lesson, the coordinator cant confirm if both parents can join. The kids need to remove their shoes so they need to wear socks.

Mummies, please confirm whether u can make it to the trial lesson. It is free when I produce the flyer so need to confirm the headcount. I have only 4 flyers currently. If there is more pple interested, I will call and negotiate with them. So appreciate you can confirm your availability soon. Thank you.

Hi Verene,

I have juz changed my boy's shichida sat class to sun 12.15pm. Don't think i can join the sun trial class now. Btw, is there any sat trial class? Thks ;)

J attended his first day of 2hrs playgroup this morning. As expected, he cried & cried after i left him in the class. So heartpain when i peeped outside & saw him telling the teacher he wants mummy. And started to cry & vomit. It was a long wait for me outside though only 2hrs. Haha, me like very silly, feel like crying upon seeing him in such pity state. Had a quick bite in fact not much appetite too. So worry & keep thinking abt the happenings in class. Was told by his teacher that he cried "on" & "off" for the first 1 hr. And then fell alseep. Can even hear him snoring. Then woke up, changed to mandarin teacher, start his crying game again.

Aiyo, praying hard that he can manage his tears tmr. I even bot a cake with a toy car on top today & "bribed" him that tmr same cake will be waiting for him after the class, haha ;) Good luck to me ;p

Krystle,
Re: LV bag
I need to take a closer look at Eva Clutch again before I confirm with u. The handle seem to be too long for me when i last tried few mths ago. When are you leaving for the trip? Will let u know again oki ;)

pixie/tongtong/krystle,
Don't feel bad lah. We are all doing our best that we can. We are all great mum, k!

For throwing tantrum, trust me, it soon will pass, very soon! HR's one lasted like 2 months or so, and he never had any (major one, minor ones cannot avoid lah) since then. I know we all have very different parenting style, but in my opinion and what I have gone through, kids this age don't really need disciplining. What they really need are love, attention and trust, it gonna work both ways. Once he is sure that he is so important to you and that you trust him, and he can trust you, he will change his behaviour in no time. And it's also about confident. It's very important to help kids build up thier confident level.

About learning. I am an advocate of learning through play, and it works well for us. Whenever possible, I do things and I play together with them, positioned myself as a kid :) And create the environment for them. For example, now that HR is so hooked on colouring, we brought him to choose the colouring book that he likes, and bought a new set of colouring pencils and a train sharpener for him. Give him lots and lots of praises. He has like almost 10 colouring books now and all within easy reach for him.

Don't think too much and too far away, appreciate the very moment now, 活在当下, appreaciate who he is and love who he is!

Be positive, be positive, be positive!!!

Verene,
me too, confirmed. Tks

Janbb,

The trial lessons can be set on weekdays too if you and some other SAHM are interested. I am not sure if i can make it on sat. I need to check with hubby. see if the rest on the mummies ok with the current schedule.

STeph, how was your tasik chini trip? pls share with us!

Pixie, does your sis have the CB bug repellant ready stock? if yes, does she come to RP these few weeks?

Verene,
Nope. Parent are advised not to stay in the class with them. In fact, i hv a/c him in the toddler 2hrs playgp for 3mths already. Thot same environment & teacher will be better for him but still cry leh.

No problem, u all con't the sun trial. I mean i can't join u all ;p Could u give me the trial class tel no? Maybe i will juz call & enquire? we are only available on sat. Weekday need to attend daily class then nap in the noon. So dun wan to tax him too much ;) Thks.

Yesterday me and hb also on this topic - terrible uncontrollable Toddler.

Hb even asked me if I want to send Xavier to CC to learn something, cos he is always "on the move" at home. He refuse to sit down to just listen to a story. He refuse to be toilet trained. He is running all over, climbing up and down, most of the time refuse to listen to anyone.

Actually I thought it is normal for toddler to be like that. MIL keep telling us to teach him properly and keep a close look at him. My bro had Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD), but i think Xavier shouldnt have it since he can atend classes for 1 hr, sitting down.. he just cant be the same at home.

Really hate to see hb sighing away and tell me he don't know how to teach Xavier things.. then give me the shag look and say he wont stop and listen. And then tell me to do the job.

Hb taught my boy do puzzle before, he had great interest, can do 20-30 pcs puzzle. So i suppose all just need to sit down and teach and Xavier prefer "action" type of activity.

tongtong and pixie
I think generally boys are slower (excluding HR). lol Seemed like most of them not toilet trained and slower at speech.

Janbb,
Sure, no problem. I am leaving on 25 Apr so you try to give me info latest by 23 Apr? I also need to check the actual bag too.

Think it is inevitable to have this crying stage. I can very well foresee the same will happen to my girl too. Can understand your feelings... Very "Bu She De"... I would have cry outside the classroom too. :p

icy, s also prefers action type of activities so i signed him up at mygym. He likes to jump, he can jump on the trampoline for 30 minutes. can you imagine that??! even the teacher asked me to get a small trampoline for him to jump at home . *faint*

for quiet type of activities, he likes it when i read to him. he will never pick up the book and reads himself. for drawing , he will only do it when i do it with him. he always want my company.

tongtong
Xavier is the same. He will do it if mummy do it with him. But he don't like colouring, he prefer to throw the crayons around or stack them up.

I wonder if he had some reading difficulties as he had been reading numbers and letters from right to left. And he like to turn J upside down and say it is F.

icy, at least X can read! hehe. mine not reading yet, only listen to what i read to him, like got gold inside his mouth leh, just refuse to say it.

Icy,
Actually it's true. Dr Keoy kept telling me girls generally develop faster than boys (he said that whenever he sees my girl). HR still not toilet trained yet. We don't feel the rush for it though, just wait until he is ready, which we know will be soon :) But yes, he is very good in speech.

Xavier is definitely not ADHD lah, if he is willing to quiet down and do puzzle. 20-30 pieces is very good leh. How about dough play? Colouring? Sticker? Train set? Pretend play set? Bring him to kiddy palace or toy r us and let him pick up something he likes, or you observe and see what are the things he likes? Your hub still not gaining any confident in playing with X after so many months, like he is still having phobia hor, why?

Tongtong,
Then why don't you accompany him? Or how about your hub reads to him? This age not that advance lah, can already read a book on himself meh?

Can a trampoline be used at a typical HDB flat? Won't the kids jump and hit the roof? I always want to have a trampoline. HR never tried it though. How much is one? Where can we get it?

tongtong,
about my trip ah...u got see my pics in FB? Nice? i mean the scenary pics! Well my hubby love this driving route. He only said looking after Z more tiring..haha
We had lotsa fun but i think the convoy is too big a group to travel together. Footworks should set a max target like maybe 15cars max as we felt too little crew members to jaga us, some skillful drivers drive (like 140km/hr) so much ahead of us while some really slow drivers (like 90km/hr) of course depends on road traffic condition too. The marshal were very fast that we couldn't catch up too but we are not the slow driver, we are average
Anyway they did provide us with detailed note instruction on the route & a sweeper car to follow last in line of the convoy so no one should get lost/left out! I am surprised to see many toddlers & kids on this convoy & alot are repeated convoy drivers but to other parts of Malaysia!
We are looking to venture the North South Highway convoy (if any) as it was highly recommended by 2 families with kids
Are u keen? If yes, will keep u in the loop for their next convoy & see if the destination suits us & the kids

Kam,
Hahaha... Ya, a trampoline should be rather dangerous bah... I don't really recommend one at home... Coz we have so many furnitures lying nearby, what if HR jumps and lose balance and landed on the floor or the table? Very disasterous one... Coz I witnessed my elder bro who jumped on our coffee table when young and the whole table just gave way. He was singing and entertaining me and just imagined how shock I was to see my dear bro injured.. He got very bad cuts which left him scares until this day. Luckily it was on his feet... But the hitting the roof is quite funny... I can imagine your neighbour upstairs will complain!

Hi steph,

The pictures posted in FB are very nice. I can see that all of u are having a lot of fun. For the price u paid, it is really worth it. I was telling my hubby about it n he is keen to join the next one.

Kam, yea I accompany him lor, but cannot be all the time right? I cant even use PC or watch TV. Even watch TV also must be his babytv channel. Ok lah, sometimes when he was busy doing something else, then we got the chance to watch out channel. Quite ba4 dao4 leh. Also, I got to cook also ma. So everytime when I need to cook, he will open the fridge and take out the veggies, cutting board and cutter and start cutting the veg. After making a mess, he will walk away, wanting me to do something else with him liao.

As for reading, what I mean is he doesn’t bother to go and get a book and flip himself like what other kids do? yea he only wants me to read, not the daddy. Problem hor?

Trampoline – yeah, there’s small size one for household – according to the teacher . Oh, hit the roof? Cant be that high la if the size is small. You can bring HR to play with trampoline when there’s open house at mygym, cuz it’s free! Hehe. S really likes the trampoline. After he was being introduced this, he started to jump even more on my bed! I think the Dunlop mattress will spoil very soon liao.

Steph – yea your trip pic looks great! But din see anything on the lake ma ,. LOL . Yeah, I’m keen in such trip!

Krsytle,
So your Europe trip is confirmed? Wah, congrates! So nice!

I am planning for a Shanghai/Suzhou trip in end May, will be going with our 2 kids and my parents. Very the challenging ah. Gonna start panning/preparing now, really no kidding to bring 2 kids and 2 elderly along, but it's something I want to do.

Cannot jump till hit the roof meh? Cos sometime when my hub tossed my girl above, I was already so worried she might get hit by the ceiling fan! Ok, ok, I forgot HR is not that tall yet :) Oh yes, he likes to jump also, on our bed, luckily we never bought an expensive mattress.

HR also never flipped a book for a long time already. We brought him to library, he also more keen to keep taking the books from the shelves for me than sitting down to flip/read the books. Never mind, as long as he is happy :)

Kam,
I havent try dough play, u tried using play-doh? Colouring - he prefer to stack the crayons and he scribble, not realy colour, stickers - he hates them, perhaps becos reminds him of the plaster that doc paste on him after vaccine. I notice that he would play a while and start to throw everything all over. He would of course pay more attention if someone ie mummy play with him.

My hb no patience, he only play if Xavier shows great interest like puzzle, flash cards. Now when his terrible 2 get worse, my hb will just keep sighing when Xavier don't response and do what he say. He don't know how to hoax him leh. The phobia only get worse recently after i pregnant and when he need to take care more of Xavier. Actually feel quite disappointed with him.

tongtong
Xavier also always only want to watch Disney Channel. When daddy, mummy and mil switch channel, he would complain and nag and even cry. BUT when sil do it, he don't dare to complain.. cos sil never gives in to him b4. So kids know how they can bully.

And yes, whatever I do, especially when using PC, he would come and pull me away. He would want us to do something with him.. its the same.

kam, your kids are very well behaved, shouldn’t have problem since your parents are going too!! At least can help to take care of the kids too. Trampoline – maybe for adult will hit the roof, but not for kids, unless he really jumps hard and high. Cuz the trampoline material at the gym is very solid, so they can jump very high one lor. Not sure about household type though. My mattress is not expensive too, but if continues jumping the spring will spoil ma.

Icy, seems pretty same hor our kids. He even wants me to accompany him go pee and poo, not others. I told him to go toilet himself but he refused. There was once I want to shower, I put him on a chair outside my bathroom and he sees me shower. He just cant let me close the door too. When I do big business, I will also have to open the door and let him see I’m inside. Then he will close the door for me, a little while later he will open the door again and peep me. Sometimes also quite funny lor.

I had a small victory just now. told my mil that the Pcf accept kids over 30mths instead if 36myhs for n1 but my hb don't wan. she say she will tok to my hb. she said x always accomapany my niece to school (she's in n2 same pcf) n he always sit in the classroom refuse to come out!! signs that he is more ready than ever.
hope my hb is keen in this coz we quarrelled few weeks ago abt putting him in n1 at 30 or 36 mths.

tongtong
I check with my sis but she is no longer at RP. if u want u have to meet my younger sis who works in RP.
n abt s needing u to be by his side, IMHO got good n bad but best I feel he has to learn independence liao at this age

icy
ur boy shouldn't be having ADHD but if he is active then give lots of active activities for him eg role play, gym. role play can be very fun n thru this he can learn a lot. eg march like soldier, be a bus driver. or whatever. I also advocate learning thru play like kam. X should learn a lot from role playing. the slow activities just go slow on him bah

actually today after being fierce to x, I went to the playroom to tidy up and I saw the animals he's keen in at the moment all lined up in a straight line, as though ready to race. felt so touched and happy.
kids imagination is boundless lo

Pixie, ok ! I can meet ur sis at RP. Give me more details can? Thanks. As for S, yea, I don’t know how to let him let go of me leh.. I think it’s not about independence, but more of the separation anxiety. As he wants to do everything himself now, just that he wants me to be at his side. But strange, he is ok to go to nanny house everyday cuz I told him I’m going to work. So how ah?

Since he is so good in imitating us, i dont understand why he doesnt wnat to imitate us when we read leh..lol

pixie
Cant feeling worried since like mil kind of hinting it to me.. since my bro had it.. etc etc.. sigh. He is so shy when he is outside, hug me and close eyes and refuse to talk to the teachers. Yet he call hi and hello to the strangers in the lift.

Hope ur mil can convince ur hubby. Show him that it is x being interested to get involved and socialised.

Icy,
Does Xavier have a sudden burst of energy? Is it hard to get him to move from one activity to another? Watch him at the playground closely when he plays with the other children.

As for reading to Xavier, just have to keep trying. First 5 minutes, then extend it..Is it a book he likes? Thomas/Barney/ Bob etc..

My elder boy used to be like this. Go JG, everyone can sit still to listen to the story. He will be looking out at the window cos can see the playground. Now he is alright. I tend to worry for him a lot more as premature babies has a tendency to get ADHD.

Autism about 2 years old or so can tell. ADHD may take a little longer to surface.

morning everyone!!

jess
i brought the mask to work liao, can pass to your maid or what ah? lazyyy to walk to your place but i'll do it coz need to go NTUC anyway. sms me ur addr again?

tongtong
hokays, you not in a rush right? my elder sis trf the loot to my younger sis takes some time even though they both stays in sbwng

yest hor, i quarrelled with my mom again
i really dont understand why she is so unhappy about everything and anything. and her temper is so explosive. every minute she is screaming/shouting/nagging at my dad or my sis. yest i got home and she got me included, say this and that until i got fedup. wat de....??
she is stressed yes but if she keep this up i think she will be berserk. her anger feeds on anger; her unhappiness snowballed; her moods get worse; her mouth gets more uncouth....
i am the first in the family to shout back at her yesterday. for more than 30yrs, my dad has been silent and so are we. enough is enough lor. she even smacked my niece and handled her roughly just coz my niece didnt want to drink milk. terrible leh

my parting words were: please reflect on your attitude

hohoho
unhappy lar, but what to do? she is still my mom. you all got mums who scold bad words at you since young (pri sch) till now kind? thats my dear ole mom...haizzzzzzzzzzz

Morning all

elmo, mcfluffy,
Thanks! Will keep u in the loop for the next convoy

tongtong,
my FB pics got show lake chini...we saw alot of lotus flowers leh

<font color="ff0000">Paging for Verene,</font>
i sms-ed u this morning but no reply. I can't join this Sunday trial cos my domestic aunty coming for hse-cleaning at 11AM. So sorry i forgotton all about it until my hubby reminded me this morning! If there is a Sat slot trial, let me know. Thanks!
<font color="0000ff">P/S: Janbb</font>, we can go together on Sat if there is a free trial conducted, jio me hor! Thanks!

pixie pixie
no maid liao leh.. hahaha.. only my ILs at home. i didnt pass them the $.. tmr can anot? heehee...

Kam
alrite lor.. not much comments. hahaha...

hi Steph,

I am rushing out to send Javier to playgroup just now and I forgot to reply you. Sorry huh. I am checking with my BIL on his flight schedule on Sat. Hubby wants to go fetch them. If it is not in the morning or early afternoon, I hope to change to Sat too.

Pixie, yeap no hurry, thanks! Wah, I thought she menopause leh, but you said this has started since you were young? Does she have any problems or worries that made her this? My mum saying us very much and never scold us one, only scolds my bro cuz he is naughty :p

Steph, I am using mobile FB , so maybe not able to see all. Wah!! good leh you all saw lotus flower.

oh jess i forgot no maid liao *smacks forehead*
very de forgetful

tongtong
she not menopause. her menopause is forever one leh....she has explosive temper since when i can start to walk....my dad + 3 of us sisters has been living in this "life" for so long, so used to it liao...
my mom loves us very much but she has anger issues and we cannot talk back no matter how bad her temper is, so no one talks back when young. now, i grow up liao, got own family liao, matured liao then i realised that our silence she take it for granted and just kept abusing us.
i dont like it. my 2 other sis are more "peaceful" type like my dad, while i inherit her temper and im always the one in the family to clash with her. she needs to learn to love us all in the right way lor

words of wisdom she will never understand :p :p

Pixie,
Ya lor, no matter what, she is still your mum. Don't talk back when she is angry? Talk when she is in good mood? Possible?

My mum has very good temper, and she never scolded us since we were teenager till now.

kam
for 30yrs, i never talk back when she is angry
but she is taking that for granted. she yayapapaya knows we dun dare to talk back when she starts her "explosion" so she keep going on all the time, 1 explosion after another...
we (whole family) go counselling before. the psychologist say if she is unreasonable must voice out. but we never dare to do that. then she is spinning out of control coz no one curb her lor...so i think its time for her to stop

i am born to do this!! MUUHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHA *evil laffs*

Morning, mummies.

Kam,
Yes, my trip is confirmed and I am getting scared coz like will spend a big bomb on this!!! Haiz.. I just got to count myself lucky that exchange rate is good now so better go since got chance. I am doing up the itinery and expense and the sign of my $$$ getting lesser makes me a bit scared.

Then in jun, I will be bringing Issyen and hubby to Genting with my bro's family and my parents coz my dad wants to celebrate his birthday there. Very happening, my dad... normal dinner is not enough to satisfy him liao. But ok lah, coz it will be Issyen's 1st overseas trip! Issey will stay at MIL's place.

SH/SZ should be nice. I have a coll from there too and she is working here now. But if end May, I think you should be making booking now right? Going by package tours?

Pixie,
Ya loh like what Kam said, she is your mum.. Understand you are hot this time... Sometimes an occasionally scolding to them is inevitable (to knock some sense out of them)... But try to reason with them loh.

Actually something happened last Sun when I was at my mum's place. The light on the kitchen ceiling just came crashing down on the floor, with my mum just standing inches away only as she was doing laundry... It was really a scary moment and I am soooo glad that my mum is not hurt. I cannot imagine the consequences if the light hits her or anyone else in the family... haiz... so lucky...

Pixie,
Then it's good for someone to point it out the her? Maybe later when there is a chance, try to talk to her calmly, or can get help from psychologist again?

krystle,
Don't worry about $$. Enjoy while you can, $$ can always earn back :)

I have a coll studied in Shanghai and still have relatives living there who can help me with the room booking etc and recommend good places to eat :) Then I have a very close friend now living at SZ (that's the reason I choose to go SZ also besides that it's nice). No, not by package tour, DIY :)