(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

i have a qs...
wat does ur toddler eats for breakfast now?
losing ideas liao. i only got give javier either bread, bao, cereal, cheese cake, or pancake... any other things i can give?

jess
that day sunday i went to ntuc again, to buy some stuff and saw got new stock of enfa on the shelves...so i grabbed 2 tins...
grand total 5 tins

hi mommies

back and settled down in HK liao. Still missing 717's durians!

Maids
My one is Indo from HK. I think she's a fast learner. She can speak Canto, plus a bit of English. But lately i think she picked up some Mandarin from us too cos i heard her telling my girl "come in" in Mandarin! Anyway, she's consider ok now aft one whole year of training (and scolding) from me. She got initiative BUT sometimes initiate all wrong timing. Some things dont need her to do, she will do. Those need initiative she will do. When i bad mood, these things will really trigger me off. She's also very forgetful or is it on purpose? I also dunno. My DVD player recently i saw got one thick layer of dust, this one i got tell her to wipe EVERYDAY. Thick layer means it's not there overnight rite? I asked her and she said she doesnt wipe everyday but every OTHER day. Show her the dust and ask even if alternate days also wont gather such thick layer and she nods her head sheepishly. It's this kind of thing that really sets me off. She will DECIDE on her own like machiam it's her own house which one to do and which one not to. When caught and questioned why she arrives to her own conclusion wat can be skipped and wat cannot, she will give no answer. And kept saying sorry. My mom told me small matters dont be so picky cos she consider good cos never show black face and some sort reliable (didnt steal, etc) and not big eater, but i'm still quite upset with her cos these are trust issues as well. Tats why i still never let her handle Rylee. To me, even if she's genuinely forgetful, what if she forgets crucial stuffs concerning Rylee? Already, i think her workload is not that much cos like shannonbaby's maid, still take care of baby's, still wash car, cook baby's dinner..for me, i take care of Rylee myself, cook her lunch/dinner, bathe and dress up Rylee myself. I just treat my helper as a permanent household helper, to help with housework and i still want to be fully hands-on with my baby. That's why also dunno if can manage if got #2 or not. My mom says i stubborn :p

Weight
Mine too! Didnt escalate but cant come down! I think my appetite like permanently increased! and they say after BF stop will escalate further! Aiyoh! Cannot imagine. I've to ask hubby everytime take pic of Rylee to censor me out....cant bear to look at myself! So FAT! Keep wanting to go diet or Marie France but hubby say if preggie #2 then how? All wasted! Hahahahaha

Breakfast
Rylee ONLY eats Cheerios and nothing else (except for maybe scramble eggs and french toast) for bfast. Headache leh. Keep trying to give her new things but she will taste it tentatively with her tongue and then "decides" she doesnt like it and shakes her head. Even for bread, if i put anything on it like sardines, butter, kaya, she will refuse to eat it! I wonder when will she ever start eating and enjoy food??

pixie
great! u managed to get some more!!

grumpus
thanks for the suggestion.. will get them this weekend... hehee

gd morning everyone~

morning everyone!
pop in for a short while, before all the big shots come in and monitor my internet usage again...

hey mylife, remember to send me the pictures to my email that your hb took...no resizing ok? i want them as originals

Jess, for breakfast, shaun had boring breakfast too :p he has oatmilk first, then all kinds of breads, flavoured bread or wholemeal bread with butter spread/jam. Think he sian with bread cuz he doesn’t seem to be interested. And after 1 hour plus fed him cereal with fruits.

Mylife, for scramble egg did you use oil to fry ?

Pixie, wah monitor internet usage, so stressed..

tongtong
ya.. i also introduced all kinds of bread. but without any spread... haha.. boring mummy rite... hehee. maybe i slowly introduce spread nw too

Re: breakfast

My gal also have boring breakfast. She only likes plain bread (wholemeal/multigrain) without any spread (like butter/jam etc). For cereals, she also takes them without milk. I tried to put milk but she spit them out. Sometimes, i will give her oats or hard boiled eggs as breakfast too. At times, she still take Healthy Times baby cereals as breakfast.
Come to think abt it, actually I have a boring breakfast too. Bread every morning. So I also dunno what to intro to my gal.

Re: Breakfast
All our breakfast menu are about the same. My boy likes cereal (cheerios, honey stars, etc) with milk and bread with cheese and jam. Can also give them oats with a teaspoon of jam added in. I also buy those read bean bread from bakeries which he loves too.

Jess, actually I don’t want to intro spread cuz jam can be very sweet and with preservatives. But then I saw organic jams which is free from sugar or other additives so I just bot and give la. cuz sometimes the bread alone very dry ma. this morning he had black sesame bread.

Yvonne, red bean bread sold outside very sweet leh, very high in sugar and oil content, so I haven’t given yet. Im still finding time to make red bean paste myself (which my parents used to make)

maid SOS
hey mommies, since u guys are chatting about maids. my maid's been with us coming 4months, 2 more months before the 6-month 'bond' is over. when she came over, the maid agency 'locked up' her valuables like cash n jewelery. maid asked me 2 months ago if she can go redeem her belongings. i called agency, they say can, but advised me not to, quoting that she will chut pattern and say dun wan to work anymore after she gets her belongings. HUH? why huh? i dont get it. i asked the agency and they say "Oh is like that wan lah.. they are all like that.." REALLY? i dont understand this part.

last evening, hubby casually asked maid hows her family. maid broke down and say 2 months no money so her parents have been living without water and electricity.. looks genuine lah. so i'm gonna call agency and redeem her money to mail back.

can anyone advise if has met similar problem? and consequences? maid quite poor thing lah.. also i dont wan her to take out any anger on my daughter, so i tot bring her to redeem her things better for all parties?

I think I might be the worse mummy. My girl's breakfast is her 240ml Friso milk only. Then when I take some light breakfast like cereal, she will share some with me. If not, then we will head to Mac at 10am+ for her hotcakes (which is her brunch).

windy,

RE: maid
not sure about property held by agent. my agent never hold the property but asked maid to declare it on the day of arrival n b4 going to my house.
but VERY CONFIRM about Chut pattern after loan completed. even my hb's cousin maid came up with her patterns when her loans cleared n now they are sending her back without her knowledge, ie, give 1 hr notice n pack n send to airport.

i agree. once their loan completed.. which is about 9 months... they will come out pattern liao. my maid also like tat... more and more 'you xin ge' (character)... hahaaa

Pixie/Yvonne
erm...can give me ur emails here :p

tongtong
I use unsalted butter to fry the scramble egg, that gives the egg a nice aroma and taste. I'm not so strict in the salt and oil thing cos my girl is oredi eating outside food cos she very fussy, as long as she eats!

pixie,

she will chut pattern when it is near the end of her contract cos she misses home n bor sim work for u .. haha eg, the mop/ broom can leave in yr room after cleaning yr room. the cloth to wipe the cupboards will put on top of your belongings after cleaning yr room etc etc

windy,
same as mylvera, never hear of agent hold on to maid property b4. but my mum always keep track of how much money and jewellery they have. usually my mum encourage them to remit almost all their money back to phil so they have less money here with them and less likely to buy hp, go out and get into trouble etc etc

also, beware of the break down and cry abt back home mother/father/cousin/sister/brother/uncle etc etc who have money prob cos usually this is a prelude to borrowing or asking for advance salary.

i think redeem her things is ok lah, just make sure u check what is in the 'belongings'. if got large sums of cash ask her to remit back or put into the bank, the jewellery also u can 'offer' to lock up for her for safekeeping..u get what i mean?

pixie,
not all maid will chut pattern at the end of contract lah...those that really want to go back and not continue may chut pattern lah but usually the more responsible ones won't.
but hor, usually they will go back on home leave b4 coming back for their 2nd contract, then that's when u may get prob. either they go back home leave already dun want to come back or come back already regret it then chut pattern lor. but again not all will lah.

pixie,

oso, dun grant them their home leave so much earlier b4 their contract ends cos some will come back n tell u dun wana extend contract liao n all $ remit back to home country n u LL, no choice, but to buy them another air tix (at yr own exp) to send her back.

my maid oso dont have the agent locking her stuff up. my mil kept it safe for her.

grumpus
yah i heard about it. some home visit liao miss family too much say dont want to come back and re-new even though they confirmed re-new prior travelling back. understanable lah...

mylvera
wah! ok new tip, will keep that in mind
thanks leh, never thought of this. so only after the contract ends liao then let he go back home rite? usually home leave is 2 weeks rite?

my maid likes my boy leh, so i was thinking if i have #2, i will get her to stay with me during weekends while she stays weekdays at my mil place.

Krystle, you mean you have mac everyday ah?

Windy, yalor. But it’s hardwork la. after we made our own paste we realize how much sugar and oil that the manufacturer puts into the bean to make it smooth and sweet. Can faint!

Mylife, ok thanks for the tips! I will use butter to fry too. Haven’t made scrambled egg for ds yet, initially tot of using olive oil. But you are right butter very nice taste!

Re:eating outside food.
Yesterday I let him eat outside food which i tapao for dinner (from a stall which doesn’t put msg, only use healthy oil like olive oil, and sea salt) he ate so much and sat on the high chair for more than 30 minutes!!!!!! Although the food is healthier but is saltish also lor. When I gave home cooked porridge he can sit for 5 mins only and wanted to come down liao. maybe time for me not to restrict his intake of outside food liao but also must be selective.

pixie,
depends, home leave can be one week only. can negotiate one.
the other way to ensure the maid come back after home leave is to 'hold' on to some of their money for them (e.g. the last month's salary). just tell them u safe keep for them blah blah if not they bring all the money back home wait they come back the first month got no money to use etc etc. this way they LL hv to come back right? if everything they bring back then no incentive for them to come back esp when they see their family, their friends tell them dun go back, they feel very rich once they're back home...

Tongtong,
I am not so fortunate to have Mac everyday. I am FTWM so my girl is under MIL's care from Mon to Fri. What she gave for breakfast, lunch, dinner, I never questioned. As long as my girl is healthy and no signs of illness, I have no issue what she eat. But sometimes heard my MIL saying bringing my girl to market to buy kuay kuay (not sure what kuay also). Sometimes, she gave my girl cakes too.

My earlier comments are applicable only on weekends mornings when I take care of my girl.

pixie,
can help me, i want to view NRWZD page in FB, how to keep it in my profile, so that i dun need to always use the search button?

luca
NRWZD page in FB? how? you mean you can browse the mag in fb? i didnt know leh. only got a NRWZD group nia

krystle
kuay kuay means pancake lah, malay kuey lah, soon kueh, chuew kuay etc etc
my son have these at my mil place oso

I also think it is one of those kueys which pixie and tongtong mentioned. I also gave chuew kuey but tried to clean away as much oil as possible.

Think now 18mths can eat most things bah.. Introducing more food so that they will not be picking when comes to eating... right?

krystle
yest my boy wanted to eat some of my dinner and my mil cooked curry chix, i gave him some of it be never complained oso
got food, he sure eat. open mouth big big

tat day my FIL bday we went coffee shop de zichar... then only all the chilli came.. and my boy was screaming for food.. end up my hubby angry.. let him eat sambal chilli.. (a little bit) put on his tongue.. he immediately quiet..... so bad hor

Pixie,
Wah curry leh, Your boy can take it? Think Kam also fed her boy with curry too.
MIL tried once to let my girl eat real chilli (as in the whole chilli)... Me and hubby nearly fainted. He scolded MIL siao. I also think chilli a bit too much lah. I myself don't take chilli even. Sometimes, my MIL will do funny things...

luca
cannot read the mag in that group one lah. only meant for topics discussion and sprees
if you want to read them online, you email me, i teach you how to (via another way)

Mylvera and Windy,
Agree with you about the home leave..Don't grant too early..Leave only when contract about to end and ask them to leave some $$ behind.

I ever heard of maid promise to come back but on the day of arrival, employer waited in vain at Changi Airport for her. Only after they called Indonesia, then realised she changed her mind.

My first maid chu a lot of pattern after she comes back the second round..More pattern to come after you extended their contract cos they felt more "important"..

First time, I hear of maid "redeeming" their property from agent. Maybe she is an experienced maid, so has more cash with her.

blackbatz,
haha, it happened to one of our indo maid also. went back for home leave promise to come back. on the day she was supposed to come back we wait and wait didn't appear. call airline etc etc then found out she never boarded the plane.

she called us after one month asking to come back cos money run out already.

HUH..... thanks for replying me leh... aiyoh damn vexed. cos she cry to hubby, so hubby told me. and yes, of cos i will xin luan lah.. i also human mah.. prelude to borrowing money or advance pay ahhh... argh..

but if i choose to ignore, then my kayla kenna. i donno will kenna wad also.. re the agent 'locking' up her belongings. when we picked her up, agent (JPB lor!!! lee nanxing all.. so wad.. agent also another long story..) did tell me they have locked up some of her belongings, money n jewellery. cos they feel these things she does not need before the loan period is completed. i think wan the maid to guai guai dont chut pattern bah.. ANYWAY now another problem. agent claims when they make maid surrender property, they will make them sign a receipt.. but now my maid claim no receipt and keeps telling me her belongings are with a MAM MAM MAM.. which mam? donno. ahhhhhh..

back to mr spokesperson lee nan xing maid agency.. or issit chen li ping agency.. when the agent spoke to maid, i think he was harsh n maybe she feels cornered. so now she say dun wan to take belongings liao. wahlao eh.. so leaves me hanging lor.. will she torture my kid cos emotionally unbalanced?! gawd...............