(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

grumpus,

Phil maids need day off which I will not grant. They prefer handphones too which I will not give. Tt's y they are never in my consideration.

luca,

the agent already told me b4hand they will not counsel the maid. at most is thro phone. but that is an option i have yet to explore.. thanks for the "tips"

kitsune,

me back from lunch but dozing off at my workstation haha

tongtong,

if yr child is prone to allergies, we, as parent would want the house to be sparkling clean. but to be sparkling clean, we need to sacrifice our time/ energy or $.

tongtong
u can tell him that if u don't do the housechores, there's no fairy that comes at night to settle stuff. And keeping things clean is for kids health. See krystle's bed bugs which dun cause harm to adults but wreck havoc on her girl's skin. Kids may hv some allergic reaction to dust, dust mites etc.. better to be clean than dirty.

Kam
i also hv PT cleaner who comes once a week.. but sometimes she play us out and skips 1 week. then husband grumble grumble and roughly vacuum the floor.

Tongtong, yup had microwaved lunch again, Cajun Chicken baked rice. Yesterday, it was chicken ham carbonara spagetti. Cheers and 7-11 becoming my favourite places to shop. :p Not very healthy but it tastes good.

Mylvera, my agent said I'm referred by her boss (playgroup parent), the boss say must carefully find a good maid for me. Haha. I joked with her that ya your boss (Colin) scared every morning, when I go to playgroup, I'll complain to him about my maid. ;P

Wendy, yup very true. Main reason why I decided to hire maid. I can close both eyes to a dirty house if it's just me and hubby staying. Just wear room slippers, everywhere dirty, dusty also don't care. But with RaeAnne's sensitive skin (eczema, cough due to allergens?) and love of picking things up from the floor to eat, I can't afford to let the house be dirty lor. Still debating whether to 'magic mop' the floor since PT cleaner didn't come on Sunday nor yesterday.

Grumpus/mylvera, seems like only those straight from Philippines will agree to no off day and no HP. But then, because their peers all have it. The agent also warned me that if I don't allow everything, the maid will also be 心理不平衡 before she even start work with me. Not the right foot to start off a employer-employee relationship lor. So, I'm also willing to make a compromise. Maybe off day after half a year or 1 year and hp between 1030 - 11pm at night. :p

i also wanna slim down

dunno why my weight keep escalating when everything remain the same...makan everything as per normal ma

kitsune,

remind u hor..even if u get a maid, it will never be sparkling clean. for us, we will move the furnitures ard to clean the floor (eg, fans, sofa) but they are too pampered. they will not move the fans or sofa for u. some maids will jz clean the surface. i have seen my kitchen cupboard in 2 tones! cos the top part cannot reach, dun bother to clean!!

oso the floor ard the fan n under the sofa is full of dust n toys yet nothing is done. cannot bend down to see one hor..

can someone tell us what's wrong

i already tell my hubby...

no more durians
no more bubble tea

now i try to eat low carbo high protein

Pauline, you preggie now must eat more nutritious food leh. R has eczema ah? When I was preggie I still do housework leh like vacuuming and mopping floor.

mylvera, hehe, I also don't move furniture to clean floors. Standing fans provided got wheels underneath then I'll move it. Hiaz. But think once got maid, expectations will increase. Still wondering if I should get maid to handwash children's clothes next time. Currently, I dump all into washing machine. :p

Tongtong, when I preggie with no. 1, I feel less tired, every night sleep 5-6 hours still ok. But with this one, I need an afternoon nap, if not, I'll knock out at 11pm with RaeAnne. Getting old liao bah... :p Lazy to go marketing and cook then wash up for 1 person lor. Unless it's weekend, I'm more motivated to cook. :p

kitsune,

we used to let #2 maid to handwash .. but she has no strength hence all the "STAINS" still there. no choice i switch to machine wash for her. but #3 maid got strength, we told her handwash except big items.

Mylvera, I got an 'socialite wannabe' auntie who used to stay in a semi D and has 1 maid. The maid has to clean the whole house, and my aunt make the maid handwash all the clothes (6 adults: parents + 4 grown daughters) even though she has a washing machine. Cos she said machine wash, the clothes will spoil easily. The maid everyday work from early morning to night. End up buay tahan, tried to poison my aunt by putting many panadols pills into her tonic brew. My auntie discovered cos she had palpitations shortly after taking her tonic and discovered the white powdery stuff then confronted the maid. Even had to make police report and send the maid away immediately. But damage done. :p

Hiaz, that's why sometimes, I also don't know what kind of expectations I should set for the maid. :p

wendy,

I thought you are a superwoman leh :) But honestly, it's good to get some help, esp those cleaning jobs.

kitsune,

It all depends on what's your standard of cleaniness. How dirty can the house be if it's only 2 adults and kids living in? With or without a part time helper, we only sweep/clean the floor once a week, and it's good enough for our standard, as long as I feel comfortable living in (btw, my house is always tidy and clean :))

Tongtong,

For family like mine, we don't have a choice. We don't have parents or ILs help for sure. And maid will never be an option. So it all falls on us to how to juggle our time and how to make compromises. I am pretty sure we can handle the 2 kids without any big problem, though surely will be tuff to start with.

kitsune,

the following is my expectation of maid.

1) strictly no politics. once start, off she goes. no room for discussion.
2) dun mind ironing, washing piled up, if no time or rain. (but current maid scared. rain oso wash n end up no place to hang clothes n kena scolded by MIL cos she hanged all the clothes in toilet!)
3) dun mind duno how to cook. we can teach.
4) if in doubt, please ask n ask. we will not scold if u ask but if u keep saying "yes m'am" n do wrong things, ahem.. u get the consequence.
5) baby's poo must immed throw away. cannot keep in the house as my house is not a garbage bin and virus is easily breed if poo stays too long (current maid has tendency to leave the poo in the house for FEW HOURS b4 throwing)
6) dun mind machine wash if she really "anyhow" wash the laundry.
7) must sweep floor at least 2 times a day (current maid dun do tat lor)
8) cannot go on diet n end up gastric pain (previous maid can have gastric pain for 1 week plus n we have to serve her instead)
9) use abit of initiative lah (if u play with my sons n their skin feels hot, query!)
10) no black face

abit demanding hor? hahaa

hee, mylvera, to be honest, I think I'll fail if I work as your maid. :p But I know there are 2 schools of thoughts, some employers too nice then end up the maid take advantage, super slack never finish their work, take naps all the time etc.

Kam, ya my standards quite similar to yours, PT cleaner sweep or mop only once a week. But the floor gets dirty and dusty by mid week. Maybe because I have a open balcony with grilles and a service balcony. And I don't close the balcony door even when I go out. Plus when we feed RaeAnne, she leave crumbs all over the place and eat up the crumbs as snacks the next day. :p

Kam, my family like yours too, no parents or Ils to help so got to do all ourselves. I must learn from you cuz you are alwys so positive hehe. Ya maid is definitely not an option for me too.

kitsune,

We found that by closing all the windows when we leave the house, it helps to cut down on the dust accummulated. Having said that, we never close the service balcony windows. After my boy eats, I will definitely do a quick clean up around his high chair/dinning area. Good thing is he only eats in his high chair and not running around the house.

Tongtong,

Don't think so much. When you have to do it, you just have to and you will do it!

Actually cannot blame maids for doing sub-standards quality. Even myself, sometimes I lazy also don't bother to clean areas which I cannot reach or move some furniture.

Although I will be employing maid end of this year, actually I don't know what is my expectation of her too. Maybe some of the following?

1. Obedient and don't talk back.
2. Has basic personal hygiene and keep her own room clean (of course must keep the whole house clean too).
3. Willing to learn new dishes to cook.
4. Don't lie, no smoking, don't steal, don't bring anyone to the house and no boyfriend!
5. She not auto is ok (coz never seen any auto maids too anyway). But must do according to what we tell her.
6. Don't mind her use machine wash. But must wash clothes everyday. Kids/baby and adults clothes must separate.
7. Sweep floor and clean furniture daily. Mop floor once a week. Clean toilet once a week.
8. Should not handle my kids without any adult supervision. If best, don't handle unless MIL or me request.
9. Don't mind giving her 1 off day every month. She can go church with my ILs.
10. Come to my house to clean when I request (coz maid will actually stay @ IL's place).

*Note: This list is not exhausive. Hahahaha.

krystle,

for yr pt 10... some smart maid will report u to MOM cos they are not suppose to work in 2 household leh.

for yr pt 2, some maids will keep their personal very clean n neat. but not the employers one. i have heard my sis maid went overseas with my sis family...came back 1st thing wash her own clothes n leave the employers clothes till her clothes dried! or worse, hang hers on the outside so that sun can shine but not the employers clothes.

kitsune, Kam,

actually i dun tink mine is tat harsh leh .. haha cos alot of "i dun mind" leh. but those i mind, i do MIND lor.

I also failed to be a maid! Hahaha. Out of those things I listed, I also never did some of them.

1. Obedient and don't talk back.
<font color="ff0000">Me not obedient and talk back to hubby</font>
2. Has basic personal hygiene and keep her own room clean (of course must keep the whole house clean too).
<font color="0000ff">Me kept personal hygiene</font> <font color="ff0000">I don't dare to say my house is clean leh. That's why I kena bed bugs</font>
<font color="ff0000">I cannot cook at all!</font>
4. Don't lie, no smoking, don't steal, don't bring anyone to the house and no boyfriend!
<font color="ff0000">Cannot say never lie before</font> <font color="0000ff">I don't smoke</font> <font color="ff0000">Got bring friends home</font>
5. She not auto is ok (coz never seen any auto maids too anyway). But must do according to what we tell her.
<font color="ff0000">my automation is depending on mood</font>
6. Don't mind her use machine wash. But must wash clothes everyday. Kids/baby and adults clothes must separate.
<font color="0000ff">I machine wash everyday and will separate clothing</font>
7. Sweep floor and clean furniture daily. Mop floor once a week. Clean toilet once a week.
<font color="ff0000">Sorry, never done....:p</font>
8. Should not handle my kids without any adult supervision. If best, don't handle unless MIL or me request.
<font color="0000ff">Not applicable to me bah...</font>
9. Don't mind giving her 1 off day every month. She can go church with my ILs.
<font color="ff0000">I got off day every 2 weeks when go my mum's place</font>
10. Come to my house to clean when I request (coz maid will actually stay @ IL's place).
<font color="ff0000">I myself never clean IL's hse before</font>

So I failed more hoh.... Hahahaha

Kam, yeah, we close our windows most of the time but not the balcony doors cos I don't like the stuffy feeling of closed balconies. I love my balconies, that's why I chose this flat. Though in hindsight, should have chosen a place with a bigger MBR. hehe.

Krystle, I like some of your rules, will adapt them for own use.
1. No black face and don't talk back. Must greet elders when she sees them.
2. Has basic personal hygiene, must bathe and wash hair everyday and keep her own room clean
6. Don't mind her use machine wash. Wash clothes every few days. (I think wash everyday waste water and electricity leh esp if using washing machine. :p)
7. Must eat regular meals, no starving and binging on tidbits, snacks then fall sick or end up with toothache.
8. Sweep floor everyday, mop twice a week. Wash toilets twice a week. Clean kitchen after every cooking. Clean children's toys (the frequently used and exposed ones) everyday. Wash bedsheets every 2-3 weeks.

By the way, I got maid guidelines http://singaporemaid.blogspot.com/2007/07/how-to-manage-maid.html when I was checking out SMH maid posts a few months ago.

mylvera,

I like cleaning, esp mopping the floor, to be honest. It's only now I can't and I don't have enough time to do it. I fail your points 5, 6 and 7, to be exact.

Point 5 - I am one lazy mum leh, I don't throw away my boy's poop immediately, only do it when I remember to or when it stinks the whole room :p

Point 6 - I don't do hand wash for ages already, and I am not particular when comes to laundry, just through in everything, not clean also never mind :p

Point 7 - I don't sweep floor at least 2x a day. Even if my "m'dam" asks me to do, probably I will just put up a show lor.

But I still pass 7 out of 10, 70% leh, consider good or not?

Mylvera,

PT#10, ya I know they cannot work 2 households. So that is why I wrote when I request. If really tired, then ask them to help loh. But their priority is still my IL's place. Coz IL's more messy than me ( I know their patterns..) and since my kids are taken care by MIL, cleaniless priority goes to them.

PT#2, what I heard is opposite leh. Got friend's hse is ok, tidy but the maid's room is super untidy and she kept lots of unwanted stuff (which brought uninvited guests like pests etc).

mylvera, I small fry so can take instructions from middle or top management. hehe.

But mainly I'll fail because of your sweep floor twice a day cos I hate sweeping floor. Dusty and messy. Yucks! That's why I only magic mop, hehe.

And sometimes, I don't throw away soiled diapers until I go out cos my rubbish chute is located outside the house. Hubby always complain though. Oops! :p

Oh ya, lastly, I don't even buy clothes that need to be hand washed. But of course, I've got to handwash those one or 2 pieces of my clothes or RaeAnne's clothes that kenna urine or poo lar cos not comfortable to throw those into washing machine. :p

I only passed 3 out of 10 for my own guidelines. Hahahah... Does not matter coz that is why I employ the maid for!!! To cover those things I don't do!!! Just got to tell myself that cannot expect too much from maid lah.

kitsune,

Pt 8 for toys, remove tat from expectation lah.. WILL NOT DO one. none of my maid did tat. only upon request n certain toys nia.

Kam,

Pt 5 is for hygiene purpose. Poos can breed virus if left too long in our house lor (tat's wat my MIL told us)

Pt 6... i mention dun mind mah ;) i can throw all my clothes n bb clothes together n wash hehe since now i use kodomo bb laundry detergent :p

Pt 7, if yr kids got allergies like mine, n they are at home almost 24 hrs/7 days, u will try to do it.

Kam, HR is such a good boy that he can sit in his highchair n eat. Mine cant, after about 10 mins eating on the highchair he wants to get down already , though havnt finished.

Mylvera, haha, ok clean the toys twice a week then. Those that are kept in a toyogo box, no need to clean. That's why I only wanted her to clean the frequently used (aka 'mouthed') toys. But then I'm a SAHM, I can make sure that she does it, so she got no excuse. haha. :p

Tongtong, mine used to be able to do that when I first quit my job. But after the last few months of looked after by my ILS and walking all over the rooms while she eat. Back to not sitting still at high chair anymore, it's all about bad habits. :p

The good thing is, she can finally indicate to me that she wants to wee wee by pointing to the potty. I put her on the kiddy potty seat over our toilet bowl every morning but she still prefers the potty for small business. Only likes to use the toilet bowl for big business. :p

mylvera,

Agree on throwing the poo more frequently. Maybe to at least wrap and tight up inside a plastic bag.

For the sweeping, if your kids are at home, isn't more sweeping will provoke more allergy? Cos when the maid sweeps the floor, all the dust will "fly" around the house and your kids get to breath in? Unless you lock them inside a room? Best is to do it once early in the morning when the air is still misty so the dust won't fly around so much, and when your kids are still sleeping. It won't be that dusty lah.

Kam,

erm .. sweeping is done once in the am n once at nite. the rest is adhoc "sweeping" ie, got dust, crumbs, pick up n throw (even we do tat).
ops ...forget to mention, sweeping 2 times a days apply only to living room n kitchen. the rooms are once a day. even at times, when my room is packed with sofa bed etc (during weekend when kids sleep with us), she dun have to clean the whole master bedroom for tat day leh.

On maids, mine is from Indo. So far so good.

She wakes up at 5, so we let her go to sleep at about 9. Unless we have guests or family gatherings or we go out, she stays up later, but next day we will let her sleep later, but she will still wakes up at 5.

No HP.

No asking to borrow money.

Can send letter back once or twice a month, call home once a month 10 minutes each time.

So far, she has been quite initiative, usually when nothing to do, I will ask her to go to nap or take a break, read and study english, but she will still find things to do, like wipe this, wipe that, iron this, wash toilet etc, she loves planting, so will go prune the plants and stuff. But we tell her what to do on a daily basis and others play by ear.

When we were looking for maid, we looked specifically for those, never come out to work before, not too skinny, no long hair, all my mum's criteria. But we were lucky in the sense, she never come out to work before, but she worked as maid in her home town, plus she got a young son, so in a way experience.

But, we try not to bring her out so often, so she wont everytime think she gets to go out, then also tell her, dont talk so much to the maids around the estate, so far, my surrounding neighbours all from Filipinos, so ok.

angelsky,

mine oso wake up at ard 530am n can z ard 8+ 9 when my sons sleeps lor. weekends we will bring the kids to my room at 7+ n let her do her balance work n once she finish, she can rest n wake up at 6 next day.

we do not restrict her in calling home/ writing letters. she can call anytime but she has to buy her own phonecard (i normally give the 1st phonecard to them cos they have no $ initially). on occassions whereby i have parties at home (eg, bb's full mth, 1st yr party) i will give $20 more as bonus. during festives, i will give $20 more too. during their bday, we will buy cake for them. even my #2 maid get to cut a mother's day cake last yr!

tongtong,

sweeping but with those magic mop kind of "broom"?

tongtong,

10 min on the high chair is pretty good already leh. When my boy can't sit still and wants to get down, means no more food for him lor. But usually he is willing to sit there as long as there are foooooood, he is one greedy eater :)

Yesterday let him try curry, and he loves it, man! Think now he likes food with stronger taste. And he has "graduated" from porridge already. He is on rice and noodle now.

mylvera, ask you ah, does your maid have small appetite, my maid machiam like fairy, no need to eat one le. When we bring her out to eat, or big celebration, she see the food, her face will turn green and say alot, or eat later, or too much etc.

jacelyn

my inputs:
Jaerinea/Jaerine/Jaerina
Jasrine
Javelle/Javryn/Javrille??!
Jaa?? (haha)
Jayce, Jace, Jacie, Jacine, Jacintha

worst come to worst, take wendy's top pick: JAZRY (hohoho!!!)

angelsky,

#1 no appetite for all food except spicy, sweet food. she can finish a large bottle of peanut butter in 1 week!

#2 wana slim down so she reduced her intake. end up gastric pain for 2 occassion n each occassion last 1 week +

#3 dun really have big appetite but I make sure she gets all the dishes in sufficient quantity so tat she will not develop gastric pain. but she told us she nid rice per meal else no strength. anyway, my MIL told her off abt rice issue n now she can accept no rice but noodles, bee hoon etc etc.

eNemum:
no more durians
no more bubble tea

above is my #1 and #2 fav leh...i oso fatty bombom liao...sobz

mylvera
my phil maid oso no HP and no off day.

kitsune
if you need a list of the house rules list that was given to her when she came, pm me, i send you lar. is reasonable one lor.
got another link: http://singaporemaidinfo.blogspot.com/ by Tamarind. But some of Tamarind's rules i wont give. too harsh IMHO. to each her own.

today topic on maid?

think i am quite lucky that so far my maid is ok. or I am more chin chai??

she wakes up at 6plus and go back to her room around 8plus/9pm at nite. then is her free time till the next morning.

morning when she wakes up, she will wash my dad's n my hb's car (2 cars). then she will cook my gal's lunch (for her to bring to sch) n prepare our breakfast. after bf, she will handle my gal (change her etc) while my hb n I get ready to go to work.
once we leave home, she is home alone to settle all the housework. she vacumn everyday, clean the house, handwash my gal's clothes but machine wash our clothes. then prepare dinner for a family of 8 person. She will also specially cook my gal's dinner separately.

She gets one off day every month. got hp (but cannot use when handling my gal, other time i dont care).
She also goes out with us everytime we go. eat in restaurant every week, got angbaos and birthday treat.

One thing i like abt her is she care alot for my gal and likes my gal very much. she will make an effort to dress my gal up everytime we go out. Will b sad if my gal is sick and more gan chiong than me.
If my gal didnt go to school, she will look after my gal and does on the above housework including cooking. She is very good at observing how I teach my gal at night and she will learn. She makes an effort to sing/read story n nursery rhymes and teach/revise with my gal what I teach the night before.

look like she is quite ok rite? I intend to let her look after my 2nd child when my child is born as she used to look after my gal before she goes to school.

angelsky
you machiam describing my maid. i think we are in the same situation - got the same criteria and they kept the same schedule.
but mine is phil. ask her eat dinner first then do the dishes, she everytime say nevermind. takes initiative too.
but she eats normal. not like fairy

Kam, how much rice for our kid now? And if 1 bowl issit the standard small bowl? Or the combi bowl?

Angelsky, wah your maid wanna kiambui? But can save on your wallet also lor haha

Shanonbaby, you are very lucky to have such good maid.

tongtong,

At school, they give him the standard small bowl.

At home, I tend to give him more of the veg and meat and egg and not that much of rice/noodle. Just some rice to go with lots of veg. And sometime even no rice, when I give him sweet potato, pumpkin, etc.

pixiepixel, tong tong, ya lor, my mum's birthday that day, so brought her out, I think she see us eat, she faint. It was those ala carte buffet, so order and order dish one. She kept telling me "banyak banyak", means "alot alot", "hijau hijau" means "green green". Then she gesture, she fat la, etc, she 55kg.

But she never realised, the reason why we hired her in the first place, was coz my mum attracted by her weight, coz good size, too skinny no strength.

So good also, next time we save money, just order some food for her can already.