(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

haha.. i dun think i am so heng la. cos only did once. hahaha.... so i think better wait and see how... my hubby also say wait.. he say test liao also like tat....

Jess, hehehe, you never know. I also not very hardworking in March cos got dental works in April but just try anyway, end up strike no. 2 leh. But I did check my bbt, it was above 36.8 all the while after ovulation.

hehe, mine again right? Nowadays I very bo chap HF liao. Know it's ripening soon also bo hiew. Ever since they 'took away' my dog, I lost my motivation to play. :p Today, very hardworking cos my pt cleaner didn't come again. Got to wash my gal's clothes, iron me and hubby's clothes then boil veg stock using all the leftover carrot, pumpkin, cauliflower and baby corn. The soup tasted so sweet (cos left with too much carrot/pumpkin), I thought I'm drinking '甜汤'. Still prefer chicken stock. :p

Take temperature in office (air con environment) different from bbt I think? ;)

Kam,

mild bronchitis. n if got wheezing mz immed bring him back to PD or if not open to KKH cos he had croup earlier this yr.

Kam,

ya...tt's wat i feel too.. wait for those at home can wait till cow come home or mayb not tat long but 24 jul (since he got appt with PD for injection) den see PD for his cough. haha anyway.. when i went home, i made it sound as tho very serious when i conveyed what PD told me to my ILs n hb ahaha ops... so tat they dun take it lightly haha me bad bad BAD hahaa

mylvera,

No leh, I think you did the right thing. Cos we different generation with our IL mah, they don't speak our langauge, sometimes must make it sound very serious, then only they take it to heart.

Mylvera,
Got to keep monitoring your boy's condition. Good that you stressed to ILs so that they will alert you once your boy is not feeling good. To them, they will tend to think that having flu and cough are common. But if a kid keeps getting it, then it may be a sign to look out for.

Jacelyn,
Janiah? Jalin? Jaenna? Will name more once think of them.

mylvera
chey, i also can be PD liao.. i guess she gave u more singulair?! And asked u to return in 1 or 2 weeks for SOMMORE review which is charged like normal consultation?! Some places charge half price or FOC consult if it's deemed as REVIEW.
If wheezing, she will prescribe 1 dose of nebuliser in the little room... & hv u already bought the inhaler eqpmt?

it's the same old... same old...

Jacelyn
"Jasmin" will no longer be common when our kids start school. I dunno anyone who's naming their kids as John/ Michael/ Wendy/ Yvonne/ Jason/ Joseph/ Mary/ Rose/ Jessie/ Alice/ Nelly/ Peter/ Christopher/ Elaine/ Eileen/ Cindy/ Jane/ Fiona/ Kelvin etc....

wendy,

ya .. she gave more singulair. my elder one got inhaler equipment liao .. now see if it works (cos 1st time using it) if it helps den ok. if not .. den consider other methods for #1. she is suggesting tat if inhaler dun work for #1, to send him to specialist liao. no point monitoring or trying cos my hb n me got childhood asthma.

as for #2, she said with her medicine, it shd subside within 2-3 days. n by 1 week shd fully recover. monitor first .. den see if nid to change doc or not. last week n tis week already spent 300+ liao... next week another 300+ ? faint..there goes my performance bonus!!!

mylvera
ya i told u she just suck the blood out of us. That time for Isaac, we insisted to be referred to specialist (i think she referred us to Snr Consultant Dr Anne Goh from KKH), but b4 our appt date, we went to see APL, who rented us the nebuliser machine plus prescribed OTHER types of medicine which Obviously SETTLED it. We asked if still need to consult specialist since the appt already made, he said no need liao.

He pointed out the root cause to be food/ dust allergen, so Isaac didn't need to see any lung asthma specialist etc. Since he was a baby, V Tan told us that he inherited my sinus condition, and husband also had persistent cough when he was a child, so we thought Isaac so poor thing, received the worst from us.

Maybe APL also sings the same tune as V Tan.. she prescribes singulair/ medicine for allergic rhinitis/ inhaler eqpmt, while he prescribes food allergy tests (last week saw another young boy less than 3yo being administered). But hey, whatever that works right? When V Tan didn't work after so many months (years?!), we just had to move on.

New topic for opinion!!! I'm gonna b out of job soon. Ever tot of being an educator. Any mummies can give opinions....

godsent
i think full time tuition makes quite some $$, but perhaps parents would also be discerning & pay for qualification and experience (eg ex-teachers). U tendered without job ah.

wendy,

will try APL when tis time fails .. afterall, only 1st time VT gave such things to my sons n my hb adores VT haha jz tat my MIL hates VT cos she was scolded by VT haha

godsent,

full time tuition makes lots of $ if u really onz. best part no nid declare income hehe

mylvera
hmm.. maybe u hv to take cab to see APL? His least crowded times are before 9am and afternoon clinics. u can get his tel fr thomson website.

eh, since when she gives things other than stickers & FM & cereal samples... sorry hor, all paid by your performance bonus.
when is the "review"?

review is 24 jul. better den my gp here lah. my mil adores them so much... charge me nearly VT price.. n yet can give adult dosage to my 3 yr old boy!!

Thank you for all the gal name suggestions....

Kitsune,

All the names in my family starts with Ja...
James
Jacelyn
Javin
Ja...(still thinking for my gal)

Wendy,
Actually u are rite. Nowadays seldom see pple names like those u named. So maybe will consider Jasmin. Actually i like Jayna but HB say sounded a bit rough...He wan a lady like name for his gal!!!

ooohhh, got some good $$ benefits?

i think to be sch teacher, u need the passion o'wise can go nuts. i handle my 2 kids already borderline crazy...

True, Wendy. Dat's why I wanna gather some opinions from those mummies who are in this profession...

got some good $$$ benefits??? ermm, i doubt so as i'm only 1yr into the job.

Wendyg,
Ha..ha..ha..what about me?

Godsent,
Start off with relief teaching at the childcare / schools first..if u can "tahan" the noise, then u think about "profession"..otherwise, can also consider enrichment center / tuition center.

Godsent, hehe, I tried applying for relief teaching when I just quit my job but the nearby pri school didn't contact me and I'm too lazy to apply personally at the further schools. Must arrive before 730am, if the school is far really no joke. Logistics wise also mafan cos got to send my gal to my ILs place so early in the morning. :p

morning all,

any teachers can help? wonder how u control a class if it gets too noisy..

am thinking of changing job but can't bear to give up the lifestyle here n the 4 mths ML!

Maids issue:

if u have a maid like mine.. what will u do?? SACK Her??

Situation:
My maid is very strong, can carry lots of things n fast worker.
1. always CARRY my #2 till the extent that now he only wants to be carried n walked ard. I cant carry him while sitting down.
2. she is always playing with #2 (cos we sacrifice the cleanliness for someone to look aft the kids), n yet when #2 temperature reaches 38+ she still DID NOT NOTICED! i came out from room, touch #2 immed scream liao. quickly take his temp n found 38.6! yet she can ans me "M'am, got fever??"
3. Never bother to give my #2 water even tho he is having flu, fever. asked me "M'am, nid to give water? i did not"
4. Always allow my sons to play with dangerous items, eg FAN! CLIMB TABLES /CHAIRS
5. my sons are currently sick. I got craving for chocolates so i took choco biscuits from my fridge. IDIOT went to tell my sons "look wat MUMMY IS EATING??"

ok .. i m practically PISSED OFF with her attitude!

mylvera,
if u really cannot stand her attitude then sack her. but i have to tell u that there is no perfect maid in the world, no matter how all will hv their own pattern, it's really a matter of what and how much u can tolerate. how to find someone that can do everything the way we want, has super initiative, is clean and works fast etc etc ...even MIL also cannot right, but unfortunately u cannot sack her :p

take it from somebody who has lived with many maids over the last 20odd years. no matter how, not their own kids, not their own house, it will never be the same.

even my mum's current maid who we all agree is one of the best we've had already still forgets things here and there. occasionally i have to let her watch my girl a few hrs and i give specific instructions like wat time give snack, give lots of water etc. when i come back i still find that she didn't get her snack. when i ask my maid she say she forgot. and this is from a 'very good' maid already. cannot imagine if it is a 'bad' maid

grumpus,

I know. my first maid was terrible. played POLICTICS in my own hse n disregard me as employer. rather, regard my MIL as employer. so i sacked her cos i cannot tahan polictics at home too! #2 was untidy n in a way "dirty". clothes not washed properly (had to throw away lots of clothes cos she did not bother to wash the stains away). but we closed 2 eyes for 2 yrs. she wana come back next yr but we told her we not going to keep the "position" vacant for 1 yr! but no, me not going to get her back.

#3, in terms of cleaniless better.. but mayb cos recently i m not feeling very good so hiam this hiam that... haha tt's y nid 3rd party opinion. cannot ask my hb, cos he sure say KEEP. cannot ask my MIL cos she super BIAS against this maid. dun like her at all.

Mylvera,

Maid are nothing but trouble!!! Since i give birth to Javin i have changed 6 maids!!! Now the 6th maid just told me dun wan to wk. So now sourcing for new maid again!
This is a tiring procedure which i always do it on the average of every 4 months!!! Worse of all now Indo maid are rare cos Hari Raya coming soon. #2 coming on Oct.... Dunno got time to train new one or not!!!

mylvera,
haha, maybe u have been quite stress and frustrated recently so a bit picky on the maid.
but also she play with yr #2 and dun even noe he got fever is also quite jia lat lor.

u just need to think lor, if u sack her now do u hv the time and energy to train the new maid and face all the new pattern etc...if u think can and u really cannot tahan this one already then SACK. if not maybe better to just give her a scolding first.

mylvera
like grumpus said, there is no perfect maid. it is how high is our tolerance level. my maid also cried last nite cos she got family prob. i always dun like a maid cos i feel it is an additional person to take care of instead. for me, its just tolerating till my boy is ready for sch and her 2 year contract is up.
for in laws, all maids they also got issue de la. my ILs got issues with all the maids that have been in the family b4... hahahaa

how long as ur maid been with u?

jacelyn,

agree. but i duno how to live without maid if i dun send my kids to childcare. after weighing the pros/cons, decided on maid lor.

grumpus,
i know i m frust n stress to max recently. tt's y i dun wana make this decision now but to seek opinion of 3rd party lor. jz to see if can make the situation clearer. no point scolding. told her so many times liao. my thinking is: she duno english. n to get it to her mind, must b malay or bahasa. but to talk to her in those language must b thro my ILs who dun see my POINT!

Jess,

she joined my hsehold in feb.

mylvera,
haiz, that's the prob with indo maid. last time my mum get indo maid cos it's cheaper and kids all in school liao, so she only need somebody at home when they get home and to do cooking and cleaning. previously when the maid takes care of us kids is all filipino maid only.

but the price of indo maid increase so much that now is not that much cheaper than filipino maid lei and my mum also switch back to filipino already...less prob..at least when scold they understand...

mylvera,
y not try bringing the maid back to the agent and let them "counsel" her? my agent offer me this service when i told her abt the stealing gold chain incident.

any FTWM mummies here with 2 kids and above handle all the household and kids yourself without engaging a maid/without any help from ILs or parents?

tongtong,

I am going to :) But I have part time cleaner.

Wendy is kinda doing that, after work, she picks up her 2 boys from her parents, then it's on her own totally. She is one super mum :)

Maids
I actually shortlisted 2 Filipinos based on the biodatas last week but the agent just told me she helped me eliminate my no. 2 choice liao cos the English quite bad. She said when she 'interviewed' her on the additional questions I had, even through the phone, she'll pause for a long time before answering as if she doeesn't understand the question when it's more 'cheem'. I was actually quite keen on no. 2 choice cos her previous employer was Chinese so hoping she can cook some chinese food. :p

Now, I'm left with no. 1 choice who is 33 years old and have 3 kids but a more pleasant face. But no. 1 choice has no passport and won't be ready until mid aug and the reception at her place is very bad so the agent couldn't even hear her properly so cannot ask if she's willing to have no off day for first yr, no handphone use etc. Got to wait for agent to call back again when reception is better. If both cannot make it, got to reselect from new bios again. Sigh, didn't know hiring a maid is so difficult. :p

Tongtong, thinking of no. 2 or akan datang liao? ;) I think it can be done if you put the kids in infantcare/childcare and nanny and bring them home only at night. If not, FTWM how to look after the kids in the day? As for housework, either engage PT maid or do bit by bit everyday lor. But must close 1 or 2 eyes. :p

Pauline, haha. Not yet la, maybe ttc end of the year. At night do you think can managed 1 tod and 1 baby? You are right, must close 1 eyes with the housechore. My hubby asked me why am I so particular with the cleanliness and made myself so busy.