(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

tongtong,

Wah, 30 days without washing hair!!!!!! I showered on the 2nd day while still in hospital. And washed my hair the moment I stepped into my house. After that it's shower everyday and wash hair every 2-3 day. I don't have any problem leh, till now. A lot of people told me I might not get it now, but will suffer a lot when I get old. Cheh, I heck care when I get old, by then, I may have developed other more serious illness already. Must be happy and relax while doing confinment, that's my philosophy. Luckily my mum very open minded, she follow whatever way I want to do :)

i rem when confinement, i endure 12 days.. den when my mIL n SIL went to eat reunion dinner. i washed my hair cos i buay tahan, too itchy, can see fly coming to my hair....

after that i will wash my hair when i got chance. lol

Superbee
Wow, u so gd!! Set own rules ;)
My CL dun allow me to wash hair until day 12 onwards. I rem i wash hair once every 2 weeks last time. Not sure can tahan this time or not.

Btw, is it full mth for gal cannot be held on the actual day? Muz be early? Any idea?

Kam,
Will try & find out abt card reader, thks.
Hubby overseas today until thurs then back. Sign. A bit sad when hear that he can't be by my side this few days. But think FARMING has kept me very occupied, haha.

Calling Full-Time SAHM,
Wonder whether u want to bring your gal or boy for any 18mths weekday class?
Like Julia Gabriel:
http://www.juliagabriel.com/

Kindermusik or Little neuro tree.

I'm thinking to sign up a term (abt 2.5mth) for #1 since i got another 3 mths maternity leave after the confinement.

Anyone interesred?

Superbee, yea maybe I don’t have oily scalp or dandruff, so easier to tahan? I just use towel to wipe dry my hair and tie up like ah soh like that lor. Although I don’t wash hair, I wash my hands quite often though… which is prohibited, hehe

Kam, I dint shower till I think 14 days, and shower with all the herbs lor. I did my confinement for 40 days though. While in hospital it was cold cuz air cond, so din perspire at all leh, so I din shower. And I don’t like to shower too cuz not familiar with the bathroom keke. You mum very open minded hor, anyway I just follow what my mum told me to do lor, cuz she cooking and boiling the water for me to bathe ma hehe.

tongtong,

My gynae is the one who asked me to take shower. My gynae also very open-minded :) But she did warn me must close all windows and doors while taking shower/wash hair, and must dry up immediately, and hair to blow dry immediately.

clap @ tongtong
wah you really can tahan

the first day i delivered, my hb and my mom all go home liao, while waiting for the next feed, i crept into the toilet and wash hair with water only. didnt got towel so use face towel and wipe dry. then reached home after discharge, my mom let me wash hair with the herbal thingy liao

but my mom never restrict me to wash hands. all the pump parts i wash one leh

Re: Washing Hair during Confinement
Read some very determined mummies here who really wash hair after 30 days!!! Peifu Peifu!!! I only tahan for 7 days and after that, wash hair alternate days and bath everyday (coz got malay massage and need to wash off the oils at the end of the day). I think this time, I will try to observe the same practice bah. Luckily mum understands and don't nag at me. If it is my MIL, then she will nag.

JanBB,
Not sure about baby gal must do full mth earlier. For my case, I did earlier coz it happened that I wanted a weekend and I only heard from elderly that must do earlier not later. I thought it applied to both boys and girls. Some more exact day is a weekday and most probably no one can attend bah...

Krystle,
For my gal's actual full mth happen to be sat but CL told me that only boy can do on actual day. Maybe i will do 1 wk earlier ba if follow her advice. Thks.

Roughly read that you asked abt our Dr Tan's estimation on our baby's weight. Think he is quite "zun" leh, he told me my gal is 2.9kg+ few days b4 i delivered & my gal's birth weight is 2.92kg. So dun worri, though his scanning machine look as old as him but still working, heehee ;)

just came back from Ikea gathering. Had a good time chatting with mommies...thanks all for coming.

Pixie
Me going to 717 later to eat durian after dinner with my mom. But probably around 7pm or 8pm...u want to come?

Wash hair
I also tahan for 1 week only last time. But what i did was i bought the Ginger Shampoo from Origins cos it's supposedly good to "prevent wind" according to HK fren. Mommies can try this if cannot tahan.

mylvera, my gf also low placenta plus her cervix open, so got to sew the cervix, this happened when she was in her 5th , then she bedrest all the way till she past 7 months, that time every day also cry, coz worry about the baby, but then after that, she past 7 months, the doc say she can slowly regain her normal activities. In the end, she went for natural after she hit full term, baby also chubby
. So dont worry k. Important is to listen to the doc and rest where possible?

Re: Wash hair
My mum not particular, that time she even tell CL that I will sure bath one, then let me bath. Even wash bottle etc. Maybe for the first I more gan cheong, everything also wanna do. Then I realised that my health did get affected and it took more a few months to get my health back on track, so now think back, some things better to listen then not. For this, I will still bath and do stuff, but maybe will take better care of myself and learn to relax a bit

Hit full term officially today, but baby still not engaged, so its still wait wait wait.

pixie, i also dunno how i did it one. Not to restrict washing hands, but she told me it’s better to wash with warm water wor. Anyway, I also do all the washings everyday lor.

Mylife,
All the talks about 717 durians, make me very lao nua also.

Nice meet up just now! My boy was tired already, instead of crying behind the car seat.. he sleep after few mins of driving.. lol

Ikea gathering
Nice meeting up and chatting. Finally get to meet Yvonne and Grumpus. Thanks to mylife who will organise gatherings when she is back oso, otherwise this thread a bit quiet in meetups. Now I wan to peng san, luckily both kids zzzzzz.....

Mom2nat,
haha mylife is the driving factor cos she come all the way from hk. everybody also die die will make it somehow.
u saw how difficult it was to work around all the bbs nap times....
my girl didn't sleep the rest of the day other than that one hr at ikea....luckily she now also sleep already otherwise i also peng san

grumpus,
My boy zzzz for a long time fr 3.5hrs He just cant sleep when we are outside now. But now he wakes up too late and is still playing.

Yes, nice to meet so many mummies today. My boy also slept immediately after we reached home. I have to wake him up at 7pm for dinner...now still awake but guai guai rolling about in his cot.

icy,
wah u let yr boy zzzz so long ah...i will wake my girl up so that she can sleep at her usual time at night....so he fell asleep in the car and u carried him home and he continued sleeping?

grumpus
Yes, seemed like a mistake. I carried him home and he continue to sleep till almost 7pm.

Had a hard time making him sleep just now as he flip everywhere on the bed.

grumpus
yah, everyone came today very "give face" lo...that's what my hubby said

Icy
Wahhhh ur boy can sleep for so long! Just now Rylee only managed to nap for 1hour++ in the stroller. We proceeded to go to Courts to let hubby shop for some of his IT and games stuffs, but reached there only, Rylee woke up liao and hubby cries injustice! Hiak hiak hiak!

Durians
Hohohoho, just now finally went down to 717 stall to eat durians for dinner! SUPER NICE!!!! <font color="ff0000">Kam</font> Thanks also for recommending the Merah range cos we had one and it was really soft and bitter! When we ate it, the texture was like some bitter milk wrapped in a tight thin skin. SHIOK! Thanks to <font color="ff0000">pixie</font> also for recommending and providing the number for this stall to me!

Janbb,
i plan to sign up for julia gabriel but only when my girl is 2..hehe
now she is attending mygym and rhythm in me at grace kids at great world city

durians,
I finally had durians last Sunday as my hb is craving for it. Very nice but I dont dare to eat too much. Scared put on too much weight. The best durians that I had tasted are those which dropped off from the trees and we immediately eat them. But thats when I went Malacca with my ILs and my FIL's friends got it for us.

grumpus n janbb,
My gal is currently in the Julia Gabriel Biligual Playclub. JG has to register early as they have a long waitlist for their playclub.

anyone tried zoophonics before? thinking of whether to let my gal attend or not.

pixiepixel,

i think my hb's company pple are more crazy about durians. Boss insist the whole team drive up to Malacca for durian feast. So everyone in the team take leave next week and drive in.

shannonbaby
i also want to work in your hb's co....hahahah

got 1 company of 600pax went for durian feast, thats i heard from 717

mei: can you feedback shichida class? wat the diff between them n Little neuro?
i also tinking of signin up classes for my girl, but weekends onli.
beside icy in LNT, who r the other mummies who also signed up?

Luca,

What do you mean? Just type as normal only mah. Have you activate the chinese characters input on your PC? Grumpus has posted a detail "instruction" on how to do that last week.

Mylife,

Ha, so your craving for durians settled! Did you tried the mao shan wang? Think now my fav is still the very bitte Pahang mao shan wang :)

Today I am on mc. Sent my boy to childcare, hubby went for a short oversea business trip, so it's totally ME time today. Think will sleep a lot.......

Kam,
You ok? Good that today you have time to rest.
I still have not packed my things yet. Been telling myself to start packing from 3rd tri and it has been 5 days and I am still dragging... Hahahha... Super tired nowadays. Reached home and collapsed on bed immediately until time to eat dinner and pick up my girl.

aqua,
feedback...hmm. ok lor. i think the place is not as nice as LNT (judging from the photos posted by mummies who went LNT trial) but classroom still the same. they only have 1 language - English conducted with other languages played during the lesson, while LNT is conducted in a few languages (right?). LNT is cheaper then SM, and SM's materials not cheap. Parking is free parking neaby during wkends. .......

i think QQ's princess also in LNT.

Mom2nat,
no receive ur email. but i noted. tks for informing. this time round abit hard to buy tix cos my elder gg with me. hope she dun cranky when i do purchases over counter...

Shannonbaby,
My boy just attend his first lesson of zoophonic playgroup yesterday. Quite messy for me, as seemed like all the caregiver attending know the songs and actions well and I am still confuse about everything.

First hr is english, they had 2 songs - welcome songs, then introducing the names. Then they go through 1 round of A-Z phonics with actions - it is quite hard for me to follow.. I thought the teacher seemed to rush through it.. but everyone else seemed to be ok.

The teacher will tell a story abt music instruments. Then give them pictures and asked them to identify.. learning to speak it. But my boy cant even speak yet.Then they will have artwork - colour the instruments and paste them on paper. Then 2 more songs with actions.. and the english lesson is done.

Chinese lesson is 30 mins. almost the same.. 2 songs.. followed by story telling then artwork related to toy telling. The artwork mostly done by mummy cos the boy don't really know colouring yet. But Xavier sure enjoys it cos he refuse to let go the box of crayons.

Found my sessions a bit messy because small classroom with 10 toddlers and 10 caregivers. 1-2 kids can't sit still. Most of them lost their concentration after the first hr.

Tomorrow will be the 2nd lessons, will update more when I am more settled. LOL

grumpus,
i heard that mygym is not bad. Is weekday playgroup rite? Can parent accompany?

mei/shannonbaby,
Think yours are weekend class for Kindermusik &amp; JG rite?

Icy,
zoophonic &amp; LNT is weekday or weekend classes for your boy? Where is zoophonic class? Parent can acc rite? got website to share? Thks.

Any other mummies got sign up weekday class??
Wanna bring my boy &amp; join leh ;)

icy,
thanks for yr feedback on zoophonics.

janbb,
yup, my gal went for the JG weekend class as i couldnt get her enrol in the weekdays one. I waitlist for half a year at the east coast branch and still couldn't get it.

for zoophonics, the website is www.zoophonics.com.sg

JanBB
Zoophonic have 2 kind of playgroups. Their playgroup can be accompanied by parent
1) weekdays - 2 sessions per week. 1.5 hrs
2) weekends - 1 sessions per week 1 hr (exclude chinese)

Zoophonic websites - http://www.zoo-phonics.com.sg/

I let Xavier attend the zoophonic playgroup on tues and thurs then LNT on sat.

I joined the trial for mygym before, I think it is really fun! A lot of running and activities for active toddlers.

mei: does SM also use flashcards? sing songs etc?i heard the waitlist is at least 3-6mths,hw long hav ur girls join?

Kam,
Glad that it is nothing too serious. Small illness like runny nose or cough is already enough to make me feel gorgy the whole day loh. No choice, like body is so much weaker than before.

shannonbaby
Actually, I expect more on the phonics. Like letter of the day, how the action is done.. but unfortunately they just went throught 1 round and they are done.

janBB,
mygym great world city is part of grace kids. mygym is purely gym class, lots of climbing, swinging and flipping. my girl is very active so she really enjoys it. it is parent accompanied, once a week 45mins class

she also goes to rhythm and me which is a music class also conducted at grace kids. i like it cos they have LOTS of instruments and the teachers play the guitar, keyboard and drums every wk. so every wk like mini concert. this one also once a wk 45 mins class parent accompanied.

grace kids also has a 1.5 hrs playgroup called busy buddies, similar to those at JG etc...didn't try that cos already intending to send my girl to JG. also think the place at great world not so suited for that kind of class cos the classroom is small and there is no outdoor activity.

can check out the programmes at www.gracekids.com.sg

Re: Enrichment class
I am a guilty mum here who has not started any classes for my girl. Coz she just only started walking these few days so I think going classes is still too tough for her. But my girl seems to like music. My plan is to let her learn piano. But before that, would like to expose her to musical classes. Any good and not so exp recommendations for weekends? Then maybe will enrol her only after my delivery of #2 coz now too tired to accompany her to classes.

icy,
thanks. thats what i am trying to find out. cos i prefer a letter/sound per lesson. then i can go home n revise with her. look like zoophonics is not suitable for me.
my gal went to JG playclub. They have letter of the day, introduce the sound n action (repeat at least twice/thrice) during the class using an animal hand puppet.

thanks for sharing the links ;)

Managed to call up
i) Zoophonic -JW branch is full. Put me in waiting list. The rate is cheap only $150, 2session weekly (per mth).

ii) mygym &amp; gracekids is out cos Great World is too inconvenient for me. I got no license to drive.

iii)JG at forum is so exp.. abt $950+ 2 sessions weekly for a term (2.5mth). But i heard lots of gd feedback from this school.