(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

sianz..jz kena told off by my MIL cos i ask hb to buy durians back. she said her sis say i cannot eat too much durians cos i preg! durians will increase my BP. 1 packet of durians got 7 seeds. i shared 2 seeds with #1. #2 dun like. the other 5 seeds went to their stomach. den they say full liao. dun open the next packet. duh.. there goes my chance to eat again! Hng! den she mention she bot $70 worth of durians for her mother n siblings.
next time i buy during WEEKENDS ;P

mylvera,
hehe.. i heard durians full of sugar also. not too good for baby so don't eat too much! Moderate will do.

Icy,
that time you were saying can go Pomo for trial for LNT. How to go about it? I'm free tomorrow onwards so want to bring my daughter for trial lessons everywhere. Time for her to go for lessons and lose some energy. I think she's terribly bored at home!

mcfluffy,
aiya, I dun have the free trial anymore. Only until end of May. Now they charge $100 for 3 trials. Are u still interested? Think the price is the same for the rest of the branch too.

Yup, angelsky, 2 princesses like you. I'm ok lar, my gal naughty and very sweet and manja. Accidentally knock my nose, I tell her pain pain, she will give me wet kiss on the nose automatically. Since hubby said he doesn't mind gals, then ok for me liao. Hee. ;)

blackbatz
United Sq Vitakids sell cheaper than TMC Pharmacy. $40.70.

re: Happy Farm
>> all the tending has been done by others by the time i get there, so if sabo can earn me some $$, then i sabo also lor. sabo only max 45 items per day i think.

babe
u cook until sian... what abt your boy - he still happy eating the same stuff? i think that's more impt right. u want to cook diffrnt stuff u can experiment on your #1 or husband or yourself ma.

re: middle of the night
Wed morning 3.30am baby cried non stop & refused to be comforted by latching on, force me to get out of bed to pacify him. Played music on my hp so that he would calm down while i changed his diaper. But he was still very fussy after that. Asked him "do u want water?" He nodded. So gave him a drink of warm water and he went back to sleep. aiyo this boy so funny.

tues morning husband was alone at home with him, he went into my room and tried to close the door coz he wanted to play with stuff in the cupboard. He was startled when husband entered the room. My #1 was never so scheming!!

mcfluffy,

i know durians lots of sugar content. am not eating every day oso mah. jz tat recently got craving den ate 2 times nia? anyway, i know my MIL not happy with me cos we planned hotel stay on the day her relative's granddaughter 1st yr party. yday got told off by her for tat event too. she mentioned tat we were very late for the full mth celebration but when i tink back, (even cfm with hb), for the full mth celebration we went with my ILs + MIL's brother n wife mah. so if we were very late, so were them mah. duh! now all blame on me?

re: happy farm

every day can only earn 300 exp points leh. thereaft no matter how much u help, nothing to earn haha

wendy,

lolz.. was it cos yr #1 saw my kids n learnt thro them? haha my kids are all scheming one leh!

damn sianz today. mood kena affected by MIL. i told hb yday tat i felt like crying. office work piling up n i can see my productivity getting worse. i m so tired. go home still have to listen to ppl's nagging n nagging n even at times show faces. no rest at all! n s2pig hb duno how to hide things from his beloved mummy. everything oso tell her. our hotel stay oso tell her n of cos she not happy lah! why we choose to go hotel stay when her cousin got function?! why is this DIL always "wasting" her son's $$? she doesnt know tat tis hotel stay is going to b foot by me. but anyway, even if she knows, she will still tink is her son's $.

ARRGGHH FAN FAN FAN !

Britax Car seat: Mummies who use this car seat for their babies, please let me know how much it cost in SG? I am thinking of buying one for my baby #2. Thanks in advance.

Durians: I ate alot during my previous pregnancy. I cant control myself from it. My girl is perfectly healthy. Thank you Jesus. ;)

Kam: How is Hao Re? What cause his fever yesterday?

Mylvera: ignore your MIL as much as you can. I know what you feel. I can't stand nagging person. Take care of yourself and ur baby.

icy,
oic. so everytime conducted in a different language? Maybe my baby will like jap coz during pregnancy, i ate so much sushi. haha!

elmo_78,
sure. When do you want to go? And where? I'm rather free so can go anywhere and anytime.

mylvera,
Aiyoh. Tell your hubby certain things don't tell your MIL! Must be sensitive what.

Re:happy Farm
I didn't know got cap on earning the exp points leh. Never played so much. Have the whole morning to play now.

Oh yah, if you all are meeting for lunch or anything, do tell me k! Keke... hols now. Want to go out!

Blessedbaby,

Thanks for asking. Hao Re is okay now. Yesterday night running fever at 39, subsided after giving him paracetamol. Woke up in the morning, no more fever, hope the whole day fever don't come back (finger crossed). Don't know why.... maybe some virus attack, since his body is still weaker than usual after the HFMD episode? Don't think it's teething cos teething fever (for him) usually about 38C only.

Anyway, convinced hubby to take 1 day leave to stay at home with Hao Re. Told him I have a meeting to attend, which I truly have but not those die-die must attend one, so he HAS to be the one stay at home. I want him to understand how it is like to be taking care of our son alone at home, so he can appreciate more. I am very mean hor :)

kitsune
sorry, my sis wants the avent motor pump, not the PIS. thanks anyway

mylvera
yah weekends eat lah. honestly, he say, she say, they say. listen so much to ppl for what. eat in moderation can liao. not as though i eat everyday

pixie,

frankly speaking lah .. u know y yday cannot meet u? cos if i got frds coming over at such a timing, they will give me black face one. tt's y i lost touch with so many of my frds n none of them dare to come my hse haha even my ex-colleagues who came once to see me when i deliver my #1, they dare not turn up again when i deliver #2.

i jz sms my hb. ask him if i can hide myself in my room when he is back home LATE. i dun wana face them! but on thinking back, if i dun go out face them, i wun get to bond with my sons. tt's y i damn frustrated!

Kam: Your hubby said SAHM is easy job, let him feel it lah. ;) But I think for one day is not long enough for him to suffer yet. HOHOHOHO. I am very meant too. LOL

Talk about MIL, i also have story to tell (never end). ;( I truly wish I do not have to see her again. Each time, I see her, I am very stressed just look at her face. ;( She is the one who only think her OWN CHILDREN is perfect, besides that one one is perfect. And she is the only one who is capable and no one else, no matter how you do, what you talk, she will surely find faults and mock you.
If I keep my mouth shut, she said why like that, no communication. If I talk, she wants to jump coz my ways are not the same as hers.

mylvera
huh so jialat
why would they give you black face if got friends come over at such a timing? its your place anyway, not theirs...
then take your 2 kids into your own room lor. paiseh i know easier said than done but i do that sometimes muahahha

kam you are not mean lah
they need to experience how stressful it is for us mummies, be it SAHM or FTWM.
sometimes i go out during weekends and my hb take care of Xandall alone, he oso buay tahan and then in the end go down to my mil place so that got more help. he himself knows he cannot cope hurhur

mylvera,

initially i thought asked you to move out. Then read pixie post, it's YOUR place. Emmmm, difficult....... You need a more supportive hubby?

blessedbaby,

If can don't see her don't see her. If can don't talk, don't talk lor. Yours is still consider okay, since you are not staying with her long term.

my hb wun allow me to go out n leave him to take care of my sons. he did it once when his parents went overseas n i have to work while he is on leave. but tat time only got 1 monkey. now got 2. he told me yday tat my MIL is very shag fr looking aft my sons n i shd help out. i asked him back "M i not tired too? i have lots of work to do in office, everyday increasing workload. i gotta take care of #3 in my tummy when u all cannot help. weekends i m 24 hrs hands on too." n he kept quiet. he can simply go to our room immed aft dinner n surf web n expect me to go out look aft kids while his mother rest. excuse me hor. at times i pay maid's salary without deducting fr joint account. if maid cannot help, y get maid? dun tell me i must get 2 maids??!!

Kam: even we are not staying with her, but she keeps calling and asks my hubby if everything is ok? whether I am ok???!!! Most of the time I signal my hubby don't pass the phone to me. Headache. I know all she wants to fin out is whether I really help her son, and then next time she can mock me this and that. Thank God that I can do all things in Christ who strengthen me. iF not, I am sure I am a dead meat. ;(

kam - hope Hao Re is recovering.. I do agree that the daddies should participate more to understand how difficult it is to take care of the children. So you are not mean in a way.

Mine will just tell me he will give me morale support when I wakie for night feeds (still!).. but in actual fact he will contunue to sleep thru the night even when my girl cries...brrr.. how I wish he can breastfeed too!

mylvera - sounds like a tough situation you have there.. I guess tensions will pile when we interact more with ILs? Hm.. just my views la..

mylvera,

probably the most difficult time for you now, with 2 boys and your girl in the tummy. Tell you hubby he has to help out for these few months.

blessedbaby,

I have never spoken to my ILs on the phone, and I will never will. I am a very mean DIL, esp to my FIL.

cadaly,

My hubby is the same. He won't wake up at night, in fact, some times he didn't even hear anything. Thanks godness my boy has slept through since 10/11 months. Now only wakes up for comfort sometimes, which is easy to handle :)

you mummies are not alone, my hb is immune to my boy's crying too.

mylvera
my hb oso go to his room and play games, surf net during weekends. honestly, a lot of guys spaced out by doing all these and not wanting to face the reality.

mylvera,
my hb also doesnt help in looking after my gal. his excuse - he needs to work n earn money to pay for everything. werid reason rite, esp since i am also earning salary to help out even though not as much as what he earns.
I can't remember when is the last time i went out with my friends as my hb will not stay at home to look after my gal. I need to get my mum or ILs help if i want to go out.

actually there is a book called "The Lazy Husband: How to Get Men to Do More Parenting and Housework". can borrow from library. it is very insightful on why your hb dont want to help out in hsework and parenting (psychologically, physically etc etc), and the right way to get them to do it. got a special section for hb to read too.

actually my hubby not bad lah. He does ALL the heavy housework, including ironing. And he helps to take care of our boy also. Just that I am still the main carer, and if I don't ask for help or don't tell him what to do, he is not automatic enough lor.

haha...so I am not alone! There are a few times when he was disturbed by my girls' cryings at night and he gave me black face in the morning..arghh.. I really had wanted to tell him I have never slept through peacefully since I gave birth 3 years ago..heeee

Shannonbaby - agree totally! I cant even remember the last time I have a real good meal with my friends...

pixie..thks for the recommendation..will take a look at the library when I have the time (which is when..I dunno)

mcfluffy
Yes 3 langauages - every week is diff language. Rotate and teach similar stuff for every language.

shannonbaby
same leh. my hb say he work and earn $$. but the weird thing is, i oso work and earn $$ wat. they just cannot see past their own suffering haha...

cadaly
after the book, approaching my hb to do chores and be more involved in parenting has been much easier. women need to change their mindset and understand how the brains of men work and use this to get them to move their butt effectively.

actually when i do go out with friends, i make sure i "pay" back for my hb's efforts. so if i go out at night, i make sure in the daytime, i take care of my boy most of the time, thus my hb has his "me" time. we both agreed on this after we had a longggggg and heated discussion.
sometimes i bring my boy out with my meetups with friends so that my hb has his own "me" time. when i go home, i just crash dead, throw my boy to my hb. hoho

same, hb helps out around the house but is not automatic one..i've given up grumbling abt how he doesn't do anything but just push button and give orders...
it actually works out quite well...just say can u take out the trash, can you wash up the dishes in the sink etc etc.....and dun say why u never wash the dishes, why the trash still here

grumpus,

agree. I usually say it to sound as I appreciate his contribution and help, but NOT blaming/questioning him. That way, he is more "automatic".

quote from feb thread mummy clover:-

Hey all, I came across this blog and I was saddened by it. It's about a not quite 4yo girl's battle with stage 4 cancer. Her chance of survival is very low if she continue to seek treatment here in SG. Her chance will be higher if she receive a drug treatment from US, but the medical fee is very hefty.

Little Charmaine's blog is at--> http://ourfeistyprincess.blogspot.com/
Her medical report--> http://www.ourfeistyprincess.com/campaign/docs/letter_from_Dr_Aung.pdf

I'm trying my best to help them. No, I am not related to them in anyway, but I am sure if you read her story, you will be as moved as I am.

Please pass on this message to your family/friends/colleagues and if you can, donate or raise funds for her.

hey grumpus
my sis rcv the teats liao she say thank you very the much

agree with kam and grumpus. i always ask him nicely, peppered with thanks thanks thanks, and always add a caveat: no obligations to do it. usually he will do coz i so polite. reverse psychology works

shannonbaby,
Same here. Especially I am SAHM, to my hb, my job is to take care of my boy. He wouldn't take care of my boy so that I can just go out for a while or so. He say tha he would only do it on Mother day - Once a year.. The rest of the days are unnecessary as mil can help if possible, or make adjustment so that my boy or the whole family can come along.

pixel,
I think ur method is easy to implement if there is only 2 of u on the house. with in laws, my hb is like the last person to aproach for housework and taking care of the boy.. so he become quite relunctant. He can play with Xavier only.. Xavier used to be daddy boy.. now he slowly drift away from daddy and become mummy boy already.

To share good deal:

Tiger Airways on sale - pay $1 ONLY all inclusive, incl tax! Most destinations sold out, still left Penang, Kuching and KL. Travel period from Nov to Mar. Very tempted to book 1 trip to Penang next year. Even if we don't go, only pay $2 only mah..... BTW, child from 2 years and above also $1, infant is $30 though.

Kam,
ALready went to the website and saw that the destinations are mostly sold out! so fast!

The other "normal" prices seemed higher, perhaps to cover up the cost of the $1. :p

Pixie, no problem, it's ok.

mylvera, Kam, pixie, today left my gal at ILs place at 10+am cos we meeting insurance agent at 12noon for lunch. Then hubby asked me if we will be cooking porridge for my gal. I told him I told you I got facial at 230pm right? That's why I chose today to meeting insurance agent. 2-in-1 mah? Then he said ok, I'll go over to my mum's place to help then. He will never volunteer to look after my gal alone too even though he is fit and able. Men are all like that lar. :p

icy,

ya lor, I only saw it on TODAY this morning. Sales end tomorrow. Penang and Kuching are good for me, cos my main aim is to visit friends. Will ask my hubby, if he agrees, quickly book.

kitsune,

My hubby is at home ALL ALONE with Hao Re today. He said he will cook porridge for Hao Re woh cos he said if I can do it, sure he can mah..... see how well he can manage, kekeke......

Haha, kam, yesterday I asked my hubby to cook porridge for my gal at 430pm, told him to use hot water cos not much time left. At 6pm, porridge still not ready, I had to remedy by pouring everything out of slow cooker and cook on the stove so that it's faster. Why?
1) He never use freshly boiled water, just take from our electric flask
2) He never cut the pumpkin into smaller size just took the cut pumpkin that his dad gave about 2 inches long and 1 inch wide.
3) He never put enough water so that they cover all the ingredients. The cauliflower were poking out of the water so of course still very hard and uncooked lor. :p
4) End up my gal only ate half of the porridge he made. Don't know if it's because my gal woke up at 530pm or because he didn't bother to alternate the ingredients. Told him to cook carrot and cauliflower for dinner since we already cooked pumpkin and baby corn in the morning. He omitted the carrot (just added cauliflower for evening porridge) so end up it tastes very similar.

Hope your hubby will fare better than mine. hahaha.

shannonbaby,

haha. This is the FIRST TIME in the last 17 months! Ok lah, still have to give him some credits. He is very good for today!

My hubby also will not take care of my girl alone for 1 day! Hahhaa.. Men....

But he will do most housework especially since I am now with #2 (currently I only wash dishes, laundry, magic-clean floor). So giving him the credit, I will try my best to take care of my girl. But he does help a bit like assisting me in bathing my girl, preparing her milk, sometimes feeding her etc. Simple tasks.