(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

steph,
my gal also used to stand n poo. then she will come to me and point to her backside. Then i realised that she knows that she had poo. so everytime when i changed her, i will tell her, if she wants to poo, she must go and stand at the entrance of the toilet and call for me.

i still blend my daughter's food at times too. else i will chop the vegetables to small pieces before cooking. she is ok with both ways.

Food:
My girl suddenly "craves" for vegies. She just finished 1 bowl of steam green peas for lunch. ;) And she likes broccoli too. I am quite surprised coz she didn't like these before. Maybe coz I have been boiling soup for her with all kind of vegies so somehow she can get used to the taste?
Her appetite has returned and she can eat alot now. My hubby said she is putting on weights. When I carry her, I can feel she is heavier too. Maybe 12kgs now??!!!

Milk intake: My girl can drink up to 120ml already. Hohoho. No need to say, I am so elated. ;)

Shannonbaby: your girl is so clever! I will toilet train my girl when she reaches 18 months. She can tell me when she makes poo poo by pausing what shes doing and come to me make noise or when she makes her poo poo, she will make noise. According to what I read, it's a sign for readiness for toilet training.

Mom2nat: how come your boy still eat blended food?

Teething: My girl has 12 teeth now- and i think some still coming coz she keeps putting her fingers into her mouth. The good thing is my girl doesn't bite things and she is not drooling when teething. ;) But when she is teething, she would wake up at night HOURLY from 12am till morning. Very tired.

mylvera
curry chix no. he likes rice with curry over it though. that day gave him siew mai with chilli sauce accidentally over it, he gave me such a grimace.
durians of course YES. haha

morning mummies!!!!!

hmmm.. very inspired by shannonbaby's girl. i shall start toilet-training my girl.

aiyoh the poor boy who drowned... sigh. the parents must be devastated..

blessedbaby
research shown that if you keep eating certain food while pregnant, your bb will be drawn to the smell when they born/when they grow up. saw that in discovery channel. the smell gets into the amniotic fluid so your bb taste whatever you eat.
i had lots of veg when i was preggy, my boy likes veg. but veg got no "smell" per se mah, rite?
i half believe only leh. i think its also their preference for diff type of food.

my girl has 16 teeth, 8 top/8bottom, is it alot for 16mths? but she still nt ready for potty, cant signal to us in advance. usu she tell us after she shit...guess she is nt ready now.

shannonbaby, which childcare ur girl in?

i give my gal durians too and she loves it..hehe

blessedbaby, so great tat yr gal is putting on weight..
my gal is still 9kg no matter how much she eats. my husband says she is so skinny, can see all the bones in her boday.

mylvera
yes i want the bathtub. then my boy wont go further into the toilet and start to play with the pail liao lor. take from you tonite or tmr nite. can? will u be at home after 9pm?

pixie,

will be at home. tmr nite better ..den i can inform hb to take out the bathtub. but hor.. u mz wash it thoroughly first can? cos it is chucked in 1 corner of the room for the day I discharged with my #2 haha

babyship: I bring my girl out at least once per day. Also bring her to all trial classes, outdoor playgrounds, Gymboree classes. At home, I will play games with her and spend 1 time in the day for her to watch DVD. When I need to do anything (housework, cooking, etc), I will let her play with her favorite toys by herself and in between I will come to let her know that mummy is still around, no need to worry. So far, everything works very well for me and my schedules even with or without helper. HTHs.

oh yes. was meaning to post this. was at a friend's place over the weekend. her girl, 2-yr-old, went into playrm alone and locked herself in. i think if our kids tall enough, can tiptoe and lock the doors le.. so.. if u have such a concern, pls make sure u know where your room keys are

we were running around the house looking for the key to the room.. about 20min. used all sorts of keys to try. end up? we realised the original key was broken inside the lock n has jammed the lock. my friend's husband had to break the lock. needless to say was a big panic affair.

shannon, how did you train your gal? my mom puts my boy on potty at regular timings and he will poo but with me I didn't keep to it.

Back to the qn on time out. How to do it when kid keeps running back to u or hold your legs, refusing to be in that place?

Baby food
How to make tasty stock?
Yupz I give my boy those but I cook till sian coz it's porridge, carrot, potatoes, brocoli, meat, fish, toamtoes, peas (1 meat and 2 veg) kind, eggs, tofu...abit boring or that's about it that they take? heehee...
Realise I don't add stock and juz throw everything in to cook, not very tasty and I dun add salt. Have u gals started adding salt?

Self feeding..
Hmm...messy lehz...

We gave my boy DURIANS too, and he loves it, esp the bitter one, just like us :)

Steph - thanks for sharing the durian stall at Jurong, ya, pretty good, as in we managed to get the bitter ones :)

I dip the bread with a bit of curry (that I was having) yesterday and gave to my son, and he ate it without complaining!

blessedbaby
Well, cos he has reflux. And thus he will choose the texture of his food. He is on medication to control the reflux. Doesn't throw up, but more like the gastric juices will stir and cos heartburn. So there are food to avoid and oso taste and textures he will choose over. He dun really like to eat, cos sometimes the reflux upsets him. So I have to try to feed him variety of food to make him love eating. But at the same time watchful over the things he eats.

pixel: yes, I read that somewhere too. But I myself doesn't eat much vegies (only certain types only)- I am also a picky eater. ;) When I see my girl likes more vegies, i am so happy. ;)

Poor by drown in the bathtub. ;(

wow..the thread is suddenly alive.. trying my best to "know" mummies here.. my memory is a bit bad, so do pardon me.

regarding toddlers playing the in the toilet, its not just abt getting drown. I am constantly worried that they will slip and fall, or worst, hit their heads against hard surfaces..

toilet training - my take is that when they are ready, they will be.. so no need to speed train them.. so should manage our expectations.. a

Kam, not too sure if you have come across this photographer: http://www.themkjphotography.com/

shannonbaby, my girl is only 8.6kg.. my PD said she will be very small sized since I am too..haha..think the most impt thing is that they are healthy.

pixel..not too sure if you've read my post abt the avent duo pump..

whee...long post...sorry!

mylvera
tmr nite early reach home leh. after work go back to sengkang liao coz we need to do major housework, no visit my boy at mil place. you at home that early? or just take and go from some1 at your place?

babe
i oso never do stock. but if i buy chicken, i will boil the bones for stock. fridge it for the weekend's use.
my mil got grind the ikan bilis powder so i'll add some into his porridge.
btw, my boy likes bovril in his porridge. not recommended but gave him try a bit last week, he finish the porridge so fast

babe: if I cook soup for my girl, i will put in garlic, carrot, broccoli and whatever vegies in the fridge, and sometimes I also put wolfberries too. In the end the soup is so sweet and tasty and my girl finishes them all. I let my hubby tastes it and he loves it too. I even put pumpkin in the soup too. Never throw away left over vegies away, it's great for making stock.

Porridge: I am not a fan for porridge, so far I don't cook porridge for my girl, and if I cook it's lousy coz I dont taste it before giving to my girl and end up she doesn't finish it. ;(( But this time, I will put effort and try my best to cook for her to try again. ;) Mummies, can share porridge recipe with me?

Durian: My girl ate her first durian when she was around 9 months old. I love bitter durian and eat alot during my pregnancy. No self-control on this. Hohoho.

Mom2nat: ic. No wonder it's difficult to feed him since young. Do pray over him. ;)

pixie,

i at home daily at 6pm :p if u wan early, my MIL at home too haha if u wan later in the nite, my FIL is a nite owl.

erm..major hsework? b4 doing come my hse warm up first.. clean my room for me please ... :p

My girl has 6 teeth only. 2 on top and 4 on bottom. A bit slow hoh. But she still can eat almost anything. Very amazing.

regarding porridge, my girl ONLY eats ma yao yu.. other fish like salmon she will reluctantly eat. doesnt like beef or pork or chicken. zzz

canaly,

Ha, that's the photographer I will go to in July, recommended by a fellow blogger of mine :)

And yes, I agree, I was very scared that my boy might fall and hit his head on the hard surface, esp the toilet bowl. Now he is a very steady even walking on wet surface, so I am more relax, but still very careful (cos that news whereby a maid was bathing a baby, and hit her head on the toilet bowl, and the baby died, really haunted me since I read it till now).

Ya, for toilet training I also believe when it's time, it's time. I just observe and monitor his readiness for it. He is showing some signs, but not totally ready yet.

Blessedbaby,

No lah, still the same magazine lah, that online one. Just that many mummies said they missed it last time.

Mom2nat,

Oh, would your boy get over the reflux by certain age? You are a great mum, so much more work for you to do just to take care of his meals.

We are big veg eaters. That's why no surprise that my son loves veg also. A friend of mine shared with me her elder don't eat veg at all, learned from his dad. The younger one initially ate veg, but later she learned both brother and dad don't eat veg, so now she also doesn't touch veg. What adults eat really affect our kids a lot!

blessedbaby, really juz throw everything in ah? used to do that but find like so rojak...will try that again...

Do any of you freeze stock? Do we do it when it's hot and juz put in plastic containers or what?

My boy used to be easy with food but these days getting more picky. Wonder if I shld find some recipe books to get ideas on cooking...

Pixie how come muz do major hsework?

babe,
I just come back from Bintan Lagoon resort. Dun actually recommend this resort as the food is expensive and not nice at all. We had fun at the pool and sea but Xavier was down with fever as I think becos he was teething. Massage there was bad too, service so so only.. Only the rooms are good because it was jut renovated - but bathroom will flood due to bad design of the bathtub. *faint*

I went to Angsana resort before, I think that is better. My friend went Clubmed Bintan, seemed a better deal as food and certain activities is included. It might work out the same as where I stayed as the food is ex.

pixie,
no leh, i ate alot of durians when pregnant my girl dun like durians...sad..

kam, yvonne, mcfluffy
i always blame my girls restlessness at night on teething...but hor she's been like that since 8 months or so, so far she has never slept through the night. some nights fuss only 1-2 times but somenights it's every hr or so...teething so long meh???
i will wait until she has all her teeth and see whether she gets better then can conclude if it really was teething...

Blessedbaby
thanks, I anoit him with oil every night. Hee...
Oh You rem from young like tat liao ah... Headache hor.

Kam
PD say some point in time will get over it I think. It is like immature tummy. He got it when he was young, took med, then ok... then came back again.

If my son eats so well like Hao Re then I sin nang liao lah. Hee hee.. Elliot's weight dropped 1kg leh, only 8.9kg. PD say gotta beef him up, 2 lunches 2 dinner. But in small portion, cos he can't eat much. Eat too much heartburn.
Also leh, not my effort, I monitor only, mostly my maid cook and feed lah! Usually I handle my #1 cos she more attn seeking.

Yah lah, my hb picky eater, I eat almost everything. Lucky my girl love veg cos we feed her tat 1st thing when she was young. Hoho...

grumpus
How your girl fuss? Wake up and cry? You know my #1 was always waking up, looking for me, or climbs into our bed or cry. Then my #2 oso cries sometimes, PD told me #2 has reflux, cos generally babies shold be able to sleep, not like scream or cry kind. Tats why now when he start to fuss again, I brot him back, true enough reflux is back. Maybe you see your girl isit looking for attn or uncomfortable

Mom2nat,
my hubby also suffered from reflux but not from young. He is on medication on/off if really uncomfortable or to prevent an attack. Reflux has been bothering him for 3-4yrs liow. Now, he gotta cut down on supper or any heavy meal otherwise will cause heartburn like what u mentioned.
Acid fruit or juice, fatty foods, pretzels, coffee, tea, onions, peppermint, chocolate, or highly spiced foods are to be avoided, especially shortly before bedtime.

steph
Aiyo, then your hb can eat buffet? Heee... Poor thing hor, when gotta watch diet. PD advised against spicy and acidic food oso. I had heartburn when preggie. It was a horrible feeling.

Mom2nat,
we used to enjoy buffet but now hardly have the chance since #1 & #2 will be in tow...cannot enjoy couplehood & take our own sweet time...BUT if it's his favourite..japanese/seafood buffet or carnivore buffet, he'll hack care...eat 1st (moderate la) then suffer (reflux might/might not trigger) later...hoho:p

Food: did you all add seasonings ( salt/soy sauce)?

Eggs: do you give egg everyday? Did you add in seasoning when steaming? As egg has the fishy smell.

Durian: I gave, but he doesn’t come back to me for more, so I think he doesn’t like haha

Blessbaby: my son loves broccoli too! Yesterday while I was having dinner he came to my plate and picked the broccoli and put in his mouth. Too big a piece, I quickly grab over and asked him to bite. And he kept coming back to me asking for broccoli :p

Yea you are right, all veggies when throw into the pot can turn out to be very tasty soup stock. I did that for my son too.

steph
there is this medicine from pharmacy, Gaviscon. My son taking now, maybe your hb can try, hee.. eat liao take med.

I can see you are v free surfing the BP section! Hahaha

Mom2Nat,
Hmmm, sometimes sit up and cry then when she sees me she will plonk back and sleep so i guess that one is looking for me bah...
but sometimes just lie there eyes still closed and cry...that one maybe teething i also dunno.

when my girl was 4 months she had reflux also, was on medication for abt a month...dunno whether it is back..didn't know so big already still can get cos my PD said they will grow out of it. but during daytime she is perfectly fine leh...nap time also no prob to sleep through

tongtong,

Food: yes me or mil will add a little bit of soy sauce to his porridge/whole grain congee.

Eggs: Nope only once or twice weekly. I think my mil add soy sauce when steam egg with minced pork.

Durian: my boy love it & curry too!

Broccoli: can cause wind in baby stomach?yes/no?? How u all cook broccoli? steam it? My boy love sweet green pea & tomato.

grumpus
My son's reflux came back. PD look at the throat, red lor. NOt sorethroat. Maybe you bring her for next checkup you ask lor.
Elliot scream/cry loudly, all of a sudden, eyes closed kind. Can be every hour at 1 stage. I tot nightmare, but can't be whole night right.

steph
Wah, your son takes curry?????

Babe, I freeze stock for 1 week use. I will cook the stock in morning/afternoon, then at night when it’s not warm already I will transfer into bottle or milkbag ( reused).

about food for toddlers, i am not sure if you have encounter this. my girl's head will emit this "fishy" smell when we feed her oily fish (such as salmon, cod fish and etc) previously. PD instructed us to stick to threadfish and observe for a while.

The fishy smell was gone once we stopped. We have re-intro salmon into her diet and so far so good. PD said if thhe smell comes back, she may need to go for blood test... hmmmm.

tongtong,
my girl eats a mixture of our food and her own food. if she's eating our food then she'll eat with whatever seasoning there is.
if i cook specially for her then i don't use any seasoning.
i used to give egg everyday but found her eczema worsen so now i stopped for awhile. when i steam egg i don't use seasoning too, but i usually steam together with some meat for her so it's quite tasty already

Mom2Nat,
Thanks! will check with the PD on the next checkup.

Steph,
brocoli is one of the known gassy foods, but above 1yr should be ok lah. my girl was a very gassy baby but at one pt she was eating brocoli everyday also no prob.

mylvera,
tried, my parents also tried to give her...a few days later my dad bought back more durians we tried to give her again, she try one bite that shiver and shake head liao

steph,

Why are you eyeing little gal dress? Secretly planning for #3 ya, jia you!!!

tongtong:

Food: sometime I add salt into the soup. Soy sause rarely, only when I don't have any veg/meat in the fridge. Then my poor boy has to eat plain pasta/porridge + egg + 2 drops of soy sauce :)

Eggs: average 4-5 times weekly. Still hard boiled egg most of the time, eat together with porridge for lunch. No seasoning cos he doesn't mind the fishy smell.

Mom2nat:

Yes, I am the lucky one cos have a easy to feed boy. After last week of HFMD episode, he lost 0.7kg. But I think might already gain back this week, cos he eats like dinasour again.

His teacher just called he is having fever now, 38C. Not sure why. I suspect is teething, cos for him, usually mild fever is usually related to teething. I will have an important meeting later in the afternoon, hubby went on site. Aiyoh, bad parents, can't be with our boy when he is sick. Gonna wait till this evening.

Mom2nat,
eh...me can multi-task de...just so happened to browse thru the BP section...me no buy, just look c look c onli!

Yes, my boy love the curry gravy & potato, he'll ask for more & after few serving (very small spoonful), his face will be red & perspiring! After eating, we teach him to say xie xie aka thank u & whenever he want more, he'll say xie xie first...so funni & cute.

all the chilli lovers.. hehehe.. my girl accidentally picked up a chilli padi and chewed off abit of it. nothing happened leh... guess she also can take spicy food. hehehe