(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Mandy/Yvonne,

Yvonne,

Think positively. Think that your girl is now able to do something she previously can't (reached to the bed top and table top), meaning she has developed new skills!!! Surely, will get mad to see the mess, but always remind yourself to keep you cool, a toddler is a toddler, just need to spend a few minutes to clear up the mess, as long as she didn't hurt herself. Should clap hands to encourage her on developing new skills. But of course, those dangerous thing must prohibit her from doing. Since we can't tell them what not to do (or rather they don't understand us now), best thing, ie, without getting ourselves mad, is to remove anything that we don't want them to do, for now, at least.

<font color="ff0000">PHOTO COLLAGE SOFTWARE</font>

Anyone using a FREE photo collage software, can you share please? Thanks!!!!

mandy, yvonne....playgroup at our own house lah haha...

kitsune
sorry i kept raving about the camera, but if i could convert you to a canon digital ixus fan, i would too :)
ever since having a kid, i realised picture snapping crucial bits are - face detection, ISO, and quick reaction. i hate those cameras that you press "snap" liao it takes ard 5 seconds to snap the frame. you could literally hear it shuttering, clicking inside the machine. by then my boy moves out of the frame liao. kids are too fast for these cameras. canon digital ixus can snap a picture in 1 second or 2, so i get an immediate response, thus capturing what i want.

edit: sell your camera in hardwarezone then can offset some $$ for the new camera mah...i bought the canon digital ixus from hardwarezone.com...2nd hand...for $250. unbelievable deal.

Mylvera, Pixie, is this your camera? Found the review online on hardwarezone forum.

The Canon Ixus 860 IS is compact, very reactive (startup, recording, autofocus) and offers excellent image quality at 80 ISO. This camera will first and foremost be suited for family use where reactivity (for example, photographing children) is critical (It seems to be a good buy but not cheap)

Pixie, what you described sounds EXACTLY like my nikon lor. Hiaz! Hardwarezone got WTS thread too? Is it the marketplace? I should go snoop snoop too. ;)

kitsune
yup, mine is 860is.
its a mid-old model, now is 100is leh, which is 12.1megapixel. 860is only 8.6megapixel...

buy the new model lah...detailed review here

yes yes, HWZ got WTS too. go to marketplace portion. good luck! i sold few stuff there liao

Thanks pixie. Wa, the review very long, don't understand half of it. Too bad, they never show any pixs of kids, that's all I need. By the way, is Canon interface user friendly? I hate those that need to click and fiddle with the switches all over the place just to switch off the flash go to play mode etc? Olympus was lousy for that cos used to use Olympus at my old workplace. :p

Went to HWZ marketplace but the search function like not very good leh. I put "Canon ixus" on search ads and all other brands come out. Only 1 very old Canon ixus 500? Duh.... :p

Kam
I tried to keep very cool lei.. but hor everytime i cannot control lei..
My hubby commented tat im getting more intolerant now.. nomatter with who.. with him lagi worse.. =P

kitsune
the interface ah...easy i guess
i bot the camera without the box set. hence it came without an instruction manual but i could maneuver around fine. set on "auto" mode, flash off; i can start snapping liao. no brainer really. your hb likes gadgets rite? ask him explore lah hurhur
if you are not comfy with buying a 2nd hand, i recommend you sell your nikon in HWZ and buy a new camera during gss. maybe they throw in another memory card or what?! *hopefully*

pixie,
haha u r cute, thought that time should be sleeping time and u still tryin on makeup.
i saw some makeup which i think i havent see in spore before leh, or maybe my knowledge of makeup is limited, dats y sometimes i find it a chore to makeup leh.

Yvonne
Your girl is v clever, she is exploring. She is not naughty, it is our own negligence when we leave things like tat, how can blame the child. She is so inquisitive and loves to explore, which is good. You just gotta be more careful. Reprimand her a bit to be careful can liao, dun be oto harsh, you wont want her to hide one corner dun dare to try anything new.
So leh, be glad you have a clever girl who wants to try new things!

Pixie: wah pixie, what you said gave me assurance that I shouldn’t be so upset with S at home. I tell u I had such a hard time fighting with him at home. My son will cry when my hubby shouted at him. But if I shouted at him he smiled at me. I kept telling my hubby that he is bullying me. And he rejected his daddy too. So I think my son and the dad were previously love enemies, where my son couldn’t got to be with me and he hated me, so in this life he is so glued to me yet he wanted to take revenge and kept bullying me..

Why your hubby against childcare?

Pauline: I just made a pair of new glasses last 2 weeks, and it was spoit yesterday. I only wore it for 2 weeks and now it was spoit by my son. There gone my $150, heart pain lor.

Kam, yea I cant forbid my son to come to the kitchen as I already gate my storeroom. He loves playing with pots and pans, and my hubby always against it cuz it was so noisy, scared neighbour complains. But if I don’t let him play he will come near the stove and hot stuff. I wonder why he doesn’t like his toys but like dangerous stuff and kitchen stuff. I told my hubby I got so strength to forbid him from playing this or that because I got so many things to do at home. I rather let him play with water, pots and pans, open drawer, so that I got time to do housechore.

Yvonne: you better get the grills done, I just had mine done past months. Now they know how to push stools to the window and stand up, which is dangerous.

Science center: do you think our toddler can have fun at Singapore science center?

Pixie, haha, no lor, my hubby 'hates' gadgets/cars/tech toys, he's different from other guys lor. Luckily, he still likes DVDs, soccer, loves TOYS and COMICs, or else during dating time, I'll be worried that he's a closet gay. hehe.

Tongtong, think Gerger can't do grills now cos she expecting. But actually Gerger if not pantang, can just leave someone else to 'jaga' while you leave the house for a while. Grills quite fast one. Aiyoh, sayang man. Then how, bring to the optical shop? See if they can repair? At least replace the frame lor, don't waste. Maybe they can give you goodwill discount if you 'po lor soh' a bit about how your son spoilt it? ;)

Pouring at Tampines. Just ordered Canadian pizza, think got to wait long long for the pizza to come liao. :p

tongtong
dont we all give our all (good and bad) to our spouse? coz we dont hide mah. same as our kids...

my hb say he doesnt trust strangers taking care of my boy, so no childcare. i just want my mil to rest from caring my boy thats all

about science center. i went last weekend, coz we stay opp it nia.
foc stuff - look at the current display of dinosaur at the main entrance, and the park. got a splashpark too. looks fun, but didnt go to splashpark coz my boy didnt wear swim clothes.
the park few things to play with, my boy likes the red, green, blue see-through. so he views the world in different shades.
as for the huge dinosaur at the entrance, whenever it open its mouth to roar, my son did the same too; with his tongue hanging out and all. so damn funny.
oh, try to visit the curiousity shop too. my boy didnt want to leave the shop due to the many knick knacks he could touch.
a good day of FREE fun

Pixie, as long as more than 2kg, dr allow baby to discharge so should be fine bah. Usually ultrasound weight got error one lar. Maybe, bb is bigger? Last time, my gynae est my bb weight to be 3kg at 40 weeks lor so I try to eat more durian and milk during last few weeks. End up she was born 3.255 at 38 weeks plus. Not very accurate lor. If I know earlier, won't bother to eat more so that will be easier to deliver. :p

kitsune
issit? i heard everyone say eat durians the bb will get fat...hurhur...i ask my sis eat durians but dunno she got eat or not...

Yup, I heard quite a few mummies say that, guess durian high in sugar bah so baby will be bigger? So I especially go and buy to eat lor. But when I had to push so hard (2 hrs) then I regret lor. Duh... :p Yeah! my pizza is here. Nice and hot. Hubby said got survivor at 2pm, finale special 2 episodes in one, ask me to watch.

mylvera
pls jio me
i am a durian freak. i crave for this 24/7, 365days a year, preggy or NOT.
i think when im preggy, i will tell my hb i crave for durians (even when im not) so that i can gorge myself crazy from durians.

since we stay sk, can go eat together? heehee.

pixie,

where u normally go? i cant go out n eat cos sure got smell n my ILs love durian too
must cater for them too. last monday nearly bot durians fr carrefour back home but hb say kids sick cannot eat n i cannot say "NO" to my kids..so end up i din buy

mylvera
i go to the kovan there...near the punggol nasi lemak there...or go to 717. but 717 durians very ex.
for me, its the opp. i got no kaki to go there and eat, so usually da bao back. but my hb is not a fan of durian so i everytime have to jio frens to go there and buy and eat at my place. cannot use my hb's car...he will hit the roof
else, if really bo bian, buy from cold storage @ compasspoint lor hurhur. but never bought b4 so cannot comment on the quality

why cannot swallow? he got throat prob??!!
i love u muahahhaha!! i finally got a durian-sengkang kaki liao...after 4 years of searching...

pixie,

ahha how i know? he say he cannot swallow lor. my grandparents used to plant their own durian trees ... so i got to eat it since young .. yummy ...

Pauline, the hook of the specs spoil, cant hook on my ears on one side, yea I intend to replace the frame. Haha, po lo soh a bit can make them give discount? I will try hahha. Raeanne is at your il’s place or with u nowadays?

Pixie, haha your son so cute! Will imitate the dinosaur, don’t think my son knows how to yet haha. Great I will go there next weekend. Oh don’t worry about ur sis, think baby is eagerly wanting to see the world la!

Tongtong, she's at my ILs place since 9+am today. I bring her over everyday nowadays, wait till I pass 1st trimester then see if I can tahan looking after her myself. Now still feeling too sian from MS and lethargy. :p Ya, you por loh soh a bit but must choose those uncle or aunty sales staff, those young, unmarried ones won't be very sympathetic one. hehe. ;)

pixie/mylvera,

It's not the season for durians yet. Another 1-2 months time, I think. Most of the durians we got nowadays not nice one. My hubby BIG durian fan, I like also, but not as crazy as him. We are going to Batu Pahat when the season starts, my friend's dad owns a durian plantation.... going to eat till we die, hohoho!!!

Over the weekend, let Hao Re eat durian, rambutan and mangosteen. He loves all, but can't give him too much.

Pixie,

Thought Science Centre at Jurong East?

I think my Panasonic camera has dieded. So I'm aiming for Canon Ixus (too!) I am still mourning for the my Canon Ixus which I lost last time. Sob.. Think Canon is still better. Anyway, which Ixus is good? I saw the new one on advertisement yesterday. 12+megapixel? Necessary for such a high megapixel meh?

like to check for the susidies of childcare is actually how much. Bte, is there any susidies for Kindergarden or playgroup type..

I stayed near old airport area. is there any good playgroup or childcare would like to recommend?

if the rates display on the MDIS wedsite is 1000, what is final rate we need to pay?

Yalor.. i cant get the grills done yet.. my mum keep scaring me with all the tales..
Btw Tongtong, how much u paid for the grills? How many rooms?

Mcfluffy, yes, I don't think we need such high resolution too but all the new cameras are like that. Don't know if Canon ixus can set to lower resolution if you don't want 12 mega pixels.

Hi Kam,

so its means there is no subsidies for Kindergarden lor...

What is the average fees for playgroups to Kindergarden onwards?

mcfluffy
yah, agreed with kitsune, no need such high megapixels. the higher it is, the better for blowing up of the pic. unless you want to blow up to poster or banner size, yes you need such big megapixels. but for us normal 4DR size, 8-10megapixels good enuff liao lor...
now is 12.1megapixel 110is or 100is.

kitsune
can set to lower resolution. set your pic output to low, normal, high etc will give you different resolution. i think got 4 settings of pic output...

kam
yes, my mil place is opp sci ctr only. cross 1 lane then reach liao. less than 5mins walk.

mylvera
durian feast!! where!! this weekend? i ok leh...
i know why your hb cannot swallow liao. coz all the meat is the good type i.e difficult to swallow kind rite? haha...btw, i like sweet ones, dont like bitter durians. you?

pixie,

I am opposite. I don't like sweet durians, I love the bitter one, if it's really really bitter, I want to eat whole durian to myself! Sweet one, I eat one seed enough liao, leave all to my hubby.

Pauline, yea 1st trimester very sian one. Luckily you have il to take care after R. anyway, I wonder whether I can cope if I preggie with #2.

Yvonne: Oh I see, yea parents tend to be pantang, rather than believe la hor. So you just make sure you eye power ur tod then. I forgot how much I paid liao, likely $500. I made for the kitchen, and 2 bedrooms only. the living hall and another room I had grill already previously.

pixie,

i like bitter one too...
tis weekend cannot ...tied with frd's son's bday party n my MIL, as usual, last min ordered a dinner session at her bro's hse to celebrate her brother + my FIL's bday. (clashes with my frd's event too)