(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kitsune
kings reward.. can be in the form of gold or points or cheese (chedder, marble, swiss or brie, but never SB+).

the higher level u are, the more reward u will get. Nowadays my rewards are abt 1200 gold.

u so gian SB+, go & complete the offers lor.. but at your stage no need SB+ yet la.

I don't want lar, complete the offer, must download game and complete the tutorial, at most only get ONE pathetic SB+. I want to know how other people get so many for free leh. What am I missing out on? :p

hahaha, he got to thank his father for his name. Chinese name even worse lor, it's Yu4 Zhi1, so feminine. BUT I thank my lucky stars that he didn't get his elder brother's name which is Ling2 Zhi1 aka the expensive chinese herb. That's why I refuse to let my FIL name my gal, told hubby wait end up with "dang gui" or "ren shen". hee hee.

But to be fair, my FIL is a very cultured Chinese man who studied at Zhong Zheng Chinese school. And he reads chinese books and does chinese calligraphy hor. Hubby's 郁之 means abundance and never lacking in anything but nowadays our chinese standard so bad, how many people can appreciate? Plus a lot of pp remember 忧郁 so also end up as negative association right? Last time, my hubby's army friend can't even pronounce his time, call his house and ask for "You zhi". HAHAHA.

kitsune
ho ho ho that's funny, but i can understand how came to think that the character reads "You"..

how come Yu4 can translate to become "aik"... interesting ley

kitsune, ya fast hor. cant believe it too. now unlike first one, look forward to baby coming, this one, i taking it slow slow. clothes haven buy, bottles haven buy, room haven pack, basically never do any preparation. too lazy. lucky you, i got no chance to change car, but we just confirm our helper, coming in june, troublesome man to choose a maid from the database, but at least settle leow, so 1 down. but before she comes, we need to pack the maid's room and get her stuff.

superbee
yes, just a 1 off contest

kitsune
wah! i didnt know your hb writes? and illustrated by him too? your hb sure multi talented. how he get the "stuff" to know what to write in why simplify? im so amazed. if my hb got 10% of your hb's flair....

Wendy, cos they are Hakka, so Yu1 is Aik lor. I think the famous Malaysian "Aik Cheong" kopi probably has hakka origins. Hee. ;) Actually Aik Cher still quite easy to pronounce cos it's Egg (eng) Car (mandarin). My hubby also very particular about my gal's dialect name, must sound nice, meaning not important. That's why her dialect name is Kay Ris even though Chinese word 'Hui' should not be 'Ris. :p

My dialect name Mui Sang even worse, so many people massacre my name. End up with Mui Sang (as in sang a song), Mee Siam, Mui Siang (xiang) until I give up. Did a deedpoll and added Pauline since I've been using that since I started working.

last time, my cousin's name almost followed the jia pu..almost ended up being called "lian ou" - lotus..my aunt put a stop to it..

Pixie, hehe, cos you joined the forum late. The old timers will remember when my hubby wrote his first book called "Why Procrastinate?" I even brought to our first gathering but nobody wanted to buy. So sad.

Hehe, no need to envy lar, my hubby likes to write but hor, he got no patience to take photos, take videos etc of my gal one lor. Ask him to make a video montage of my gal's growing up milestones from 0-2 years old, he'll turn me down flat one lor. He is clueless about IT, anything that needs to be downloaded, installed in the house, he'll wait for me one lor. If need to buy digi cam, video cam, laptop, car etc, I must be the one reading forums, asking friends, do research, he will only foot the bill. Sigh. :p

kitsune
wah, i really look up to ppl who can publish book. it would be a long long journey for writers. to research, write, edit, publish...

my chinese name oso very duh. pui yue. how would you all pronounce it?

lolz.. this name thingy is funny! keep going.. keep me alive in this colddddd office.

1 more hr to meeting, and (hopefully) 3.5h more to going home.

mylvera, think you'll get your King's reward this weekend cos you playing as fervently as me, helping to sound the horn. Must remember I joined MH 2 days before you leh. Hee. ;)

Ya lor, I got to help him vet too. Read the same manuscript so many times until I jelat. Now, 4th book lagi better. He said since I'm not working. Help him to write then he make me co author. Chey, got name but no money one. I lugi man. :p

Pixie, I'll pronounce it like hanyu pinyin. Correct?

wendy, I kaypoh and asked Mylife, her hubby donated and got her the SB+. SO SWEET HOR. I'm so envious. My hubby don't even know what's Mousehunt. He only knows I borrow his facebook account to play and get gold. Hee.

very funny name that the older generation can think of...

Juz for fun, share a joke that my close friends always disturb me... But pls dun call me that when next see me... heehee...
what is your hubby surname & your surname when put together? (i.e Mdm Tan Lee XX)
My hubby chinese surname is "Ji" & mine is "bai". When combine, "Mdm Ji Bai" (Opps, dun mean to be vulgar!! kekeke)

kitsune
i wanna laff but office environment but cannot
pixie is just a nickname, never had any relation to my dialect name lehhhh muahahah
my dialet name is hakka too so maybe you can pin it out. everyone says the 2nd word wrongly. i oredi never bother to correct ppl liao

Janbb, Mine is Teo-Koh, sounds so awkward, that's why I never want to use it. I used to call myself Pauline Koh at all times until when we went for our honeymoon in Switzerland (must bear in mind all research and online reservations done by me cos hubby doesn't plan for such things. He likes package tours cos all the planning done by other pp), all the hotel reception call him "Mr Koh", machiam like he "ru zui" Hahaha. Cos western countries, it's normal for the Missus to adopt the hubby's surname mah.

End up after that, I decided to be nice to him so when I book F&E holidays, I book under "Mrs Teo" lor. ;P

Btw juz curious... how cum u all use nick like kitsune, pixie or mylvera here?? Wanna share..
My one very straightforward & not creative.. haha is simply Jan bb lor..

My name also follow "Jia Pu". All my brothers and cousins' 2nd character is "Bing3" then following by something... You know "Bing3" is very man and not very suitable for girls loh.

mylvera, never mind you just switch on comp and log into MH, if other people play, you still get to sound the horn. I think I'll sure play for a while one lar.

Pixie, but I not hakka mah, I'm TRUE BLUE TEOCHEW. Parents also pure teochew, grandparents also pure teochew. hehehe. In teochew, your name will be Puay Guay I think. Hee.

JanBB, for me, cos I used to share singnet account with my bro before I married. We can't use each other's name cos not fair mah, so we settled on Japanese term for fox (that time my bro siao japanese animation while I siao on Jap lang). Then after that, I adapted and used kitsune for my yahoo email account. Then for SMH, just use same nick lor, convenient mah. Hehe.

krystle,
OMG, can't believe so qiao... Rem i told u my hubby & you shared same surname? And my boy name is "Bing(3) Xu(4)". We got his name from fengshui master. Haha.. my son name is almost like your chinese name ;)

mylvera,
that' why i scratch head. Cos' i dun rem u hv a christian name when we went for our honeymoon tour. Rem u & your hubby gave us your chinese name ; ) But dun test my memory, i can't rem your chinese too...hahaha

wendy,

haha perhaps it was too noisy tat i din hear haha else will sure tell u i got no english name :p

janbb,
erm.. u hv the jan08 mummies list rite? got my name leh hahaha

My baby name also gotta followed the jia pu.. (they said if boy then need to follow if girl no need) I told my FIL his christian name and e meaning of it. then fr there FIL will tink of chinese name to match. And i told him must sound nice in English, Chinese and in Cantonese and gotta hav e same meaning as his christian name if not then NO.

becos my inlaws r cantonese, my hb name a bit weird in chinese becos his name is in canto.

wendy/mcfluffy
pui is dialect lah
pinyin is pei
yue sounds like moon rite, but in actual fact, its yu2 aka fish
so im pei-yu.

yah a lot of ppl PUI me as in puke/spit leh...sobsob

janbb
my pixie ah...errr long story

mylvera name: 1st 3 alphabets is her real name. vera i dunno why she put there haha

mcfluffy
i never used, even hanyu pinyin name oso never use muahahaha
no one knows my chinese name really
yah, all of us oso under jia pu
everyone is pei xxx

krystle
your name is bing what?

lynn
what is your hb name?
btw, my hb name quite feminine leh yuks

Lyn, talk about cantonese names, remind me of my hk lecturer at NTU. His name is 邵基 (shao4ji1), an impressive name right? But because he's canto, his cantonese name turns out to be Siu Kay (small chicken) so he got teased his whole life. That's why he said when he had to choose the names for his 2 gals, he MADE SURE that the English name, Chinese name and Cantonese names all sound nice. ;)

acually
my boy got no dialect name
when filling in the form
me and my hb honestly dont know the dialect version of his hanyu pinyin name. so we just put the hanyu pinyin name into his BC
how you all get your bb's dialect names in one ah?

so vera where r u?? MIA ?? hahaha

When u put your baby name in birth cert, did u all translate to dialect?
My boy one is simply ROJAK. Surname in dialact, name in Hanyu Pinyin & behind still follow by a christian name, hahaha..