(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hao Re doesn't have a particular preference. He plays with diffrent toys/things everyday, hard to tell which is his fav. He starts to talk more and more now. He can make the sounds + do action for tiger, dog, cat, rabbit, elephant, very cute :)

wendyg/Mandy
never go jalan jalan lei. i am at home mum's house now. heehee....

Re:Maid
i have not decide to keep her or not. giving myself abit of time to relax and look for job. if really cannot, then byebye to her.

<font color="0000ff">mylife</font>,

Remember you mentioned you have your blog printed, right? Can share whose service you engaged? My hubby says wanted to print out the blog and keep woh.

*Drum Roll*...I am now officially a SAHM!

My position has just been "made redundant" today. In fact 10 out of 25 people in my co. have been axed this morning. I saw it coming but didn't expect it would hit so many...40%! I'm one of those who're happy to go since I'm already planning to become a SAHM but I think some are taking it quite hard
Instead of me crying, the ones staying behind gathered around me to cry...I think the morale of the existing staff are really low. People like me who are leaving get a proper closure at least.

So...my "career" as a SAHM has started much earlier than planned. Hopefully I'll be able to make it as a SAHM, otherwise you gals will see me screaming to look for a job a few months down the road....hahaha!

Jess,
You also kana ah? I haven't got time to catch up on the posts yet. Wah, today is retrenchment day izit? Hahaha...why all choose the same day?

Kitsune, same as you, if I take milo I will puke and soya bean as well, but strangely coffee and tea no le. Very guilty, but I still take teh or coffee on and off.

Precious moment, congrats. Now most important for you to take care of yourself and try not to worry too much. Take this time to spend time with your baby and also prepare baby for didi or mei mei's arrival. My girl now is my precious baby and when mei mei arrives, she will still be my precious baby, coz both also equally precious
. My parents stay with me as well and its a choice me and my hubbie made when we were house hunting, initially we were quite hesitant about the extended family sharing a roof, but it has been good so far, guess its not the same when its in laws ba? For me, even if its my parents who do something and I dont really like, I will try to tell them in a more subtle way so that they wont get hurt, so I guess for in laws maybe more difficult? My dad did spank my gal's hand initially when she was naughty, but I told him that by doing so, she will not realised that she was wrong and rather will instill the wrong approach becoz subsequently she started hitting him. SO after a while, he also got it and now he will tell her or distract instead.

Phew! Finally read all the posts.
Same lah, also 1 year 1 month plus notice in lieu. Also pack up and go on the same day. But not sure if benefits are the same for all lah.

Yvonne,

Congrates that your SAHM dream comes true!

Ya, sounds like a "retrenchment day" today. Does this mean the economy downturn finally hits hard on Singapore?

Jess/Yvonne,

Mind me ask you was your company local or foreign or MNC?

kam
mine is MNC

yvonne, me too... 3.5 years.... though it has been a dream to be a SAHM, suddenly come like tat also abit lost.. haha.... need to plan... plan plan plan...

Looks like MNCs kena first. Local co are safer **finger-crossed**

Jess,

hope you manage to plan it out. Give yourself a few days to relax. Things work out better if you have a calm mind. Don't rush.

talking abt bb's favourite toy: Javier just doesnt stick on to 1 single toy...he gets tired of it real soon...so no favorite toy found yet. but can identify his favourite colour = yellow. any other babies here got favourite colour?

Jess &amp; Yvonne,

I was retrenched last Nov. Also leave immediately on the day itself. Though, I prepared for it but still cry when I hug my colleague. Just like bu she de to leave. give me garden leave for 1 month still on top of compensation. nt too bad package. I was out of job for 1 month plus and landed in a contract job now.

Jess, where u stay?

kam,
actually it's true. the MNC's especially the US MNCs are very badly hit. alot of them having retenchments and cost cutting.

my ex dept also axed 40% of staff last month. if i had stayed on i would have gotten package and been happy to go...wasted! hahaha

yvonne,
welcome to the SAHM club..at least u got 'paid' to leave for something u've always wanted to do...haha

jess,
it's ok, just relax for awhile first before deciding wat to do next.

jess, v sad to hear wat happened to u...hope u r taking it well, if got any troubles, feel free to share w us here.

Grumpus
ya lor.. anyway nw its hard to find a job. just relax relax abit.

all SAHMs out there.. please share wat u do with ur child at home.. i must learn!!...
heehee

Hi aqua
no worries. I am doing very gd. my hubby even says i am like happier without a job. haha.....

Look at what I have gained:
1. Retrenchment package
2. Degree
3. Company shares
4. Met my hubby.. now happily married with a son

hahahaa..

Jess,

I stay at Sengkang. It is consider fast to get a job for my case. My career transition consultant say nowadays, the wait is average 6 mths. but it is good for u since u wanted to be SAHM. but as a contract staff, I lose out on dependent claims.

congrats, Yvonne on being a SAHM. Haha, now you can start sleep training and babysitting babies for a few liao. Hee.

Yup, agree with grumpus, at least got paid 'leave' to be SAHM lar. Too bad mine not MNC, will never be retrenched one, govt healthcare will only expand so don't quit also won't have retrenchment benefits. Hee.

Angelsky, when I was preggie with no. 1, I crave for ice lemon sugar cane juice leh. But with this one, no craving at all. Everyday, experimenting with new foods to see what baby likes. I just made plain xiaobaicai soup made from ikan bilis stock. So far so good, hope later I'll say the same. :p

Jess and Yvonne, me too..dream to be SAHM, now go no pay leave also find myself lost..ok looks like I really gota plan and learn to be one with 2 kids..geez...

Jess u still online very often. Baby not with you?

Looks like MNC really badly hit. Guess take it as time to take a break for the kid and just learn to spend less loh...heeheee...less enrichment I guess..

mylvera,

Yes, I don't have to worry not because of my position, but because I am in stat board. Our big boss ensured us that no one will lose his/her job. In fact they have created 1,000 new jobs across the board (if I remember the number correctly) for the fresh graduates, called it the gap year training or something like that, to make sure less jobless fresh graduates in this fields.

Wendgy,

Aiyoh, very difficult to describe but I try:

Tiger - put up both hands mimicking the paw of the tiger and "roar"!

Dog - just "woof woof", no action.

Cat - put both hands (sometime only 1 hand) near the cheek like mimicking the 胡须 of the cat (don't know the word in English :-() and "miow"

Rabbit - put his hands on top of the head mimicking the ear of the rabbit and say "bit bit".

Elephant - cross his hands (this one not very precise cos a bit difficult) one put on his nose, one sticking out, mimicking the trunk of the elephant and "aw aw".

Got what I mean :)

Morning Mummies!
My 1st day as a SAHM started with a migraine...arrrgh! My boy caught the flu bug from the clinic last sat and hasn't been sleeping well for the past few nights. Last night was really bad and we could hear his phlegmy cough...poor thing. Later going to bring him to PD again.

In fact my boy is with my in-laws now...haha. My hubby say don't "retrench" them so quickly so give them another days' notice...hahaha. Will officially stay home with my boy from next week onwards but will still let him spend one afternoon every week with his grandparents...gives me some time to run errands and let them have some bonding time too.

babe/Jess,
I already have a weekly schedule planned. But first thing gotta bring my boy for some trial classes at JG, GUG and Bibinogs. Intend to send him for classes once or twice a week but have not tried out the centres yet. Playgroups are quite hard to find and some only admit 2 years and above.

Other activities will include grocery shopping, trips to playground, trips to park, watching elmo and barney DVDs, etc. Hope my plan works out well...

Yvonne and Jess, Welcome to the SAHM club!

Precious Moments, congratulations! Take care!

Kam,
i thought the economy downturn has already hit for quite sometime and they were saying the worst has been seen...don't know how true it is cos it's so hard to find a good part time job :p

Jess,
Actually we're very lucky (??) to get retrenched now cos' we still got the package plus we get to do what we really want
. My friend who works in a foreign bank is so demoralised now. She was spared from the 1st &amp; 2nd rounds of retrenchments but now their CEO is also gone and rumours going round that everyone will have to go but there's no more money left so the remaining staff will not get any retrenchment benefits
Her morale is so low and everyday she has to clear the o/s work left behind by those who left.

Yvonne,
consider that's blessing in disguise. Someone up there is giving you this big present (time and money to spend with your boy)....:p i considered myself getting big present when i was retrenched just before i deliver too, and still enjoying the present after 15 months...hee

mandy,

I remember mylife did that, think read from her blog. She didn't appear these few days leh, maybe still busy settling down in HK. Will let you know if I find something.

hi all... gd morning

babe
i am still leaving my boy to the maid these few days. wana slp and rest well b4 i take over maybe next week. keke.

yvonne
wah, u are well planned lei. can share with me in details? can email me at [email protected]
heehee.. thanks..

wendyg
During good friday, I went to your church's drama at expo. It was good. My nb invited us.

So you joining the contest?

ya i filled in the form liao, waiting for my colleague if she wants to share the envelope =) but $30 registration fee ex hor.
Wanted to enter for Isaac 2yrs back but somehow i delayed until deadline over. grrr. this time must fast hands fast legs =)

mom2nat
good yeah? i think it was put up by worship team, of which i was a part of before the boys came. Unfortunately, almost every year Good Friday weekend i'm out of town. muahahaha. how come there was event on Good Friday itself? was it on Sunday 10am service?