(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

well... if it were me, i'll just give him what he wants then reduce the upcoming milk feed, or delay the milk feed a bit. This is just to save me fr getting a migraine with all the screaming. nowadays i tend to take the easy way out =)

i think vernon is having growth spout now... he can really eat leh... after all the eating he can still drink abt 240ml of milk leh... i m happy that he can eat. but he just recover from stomach flu, i kind of scare he over eat and scare indigestion

violet
if i were in your position, i'd feed him scraps of my food. =)
when i'm eating with them, i can't order spicy stuff in case they wanna eat.

fat better than thin, more buffer when they fall sick.
soon they will grow tall then no more babyfat liao.
u just worri abt earning enuf $$ so that u can feed him hahaha.

blessedbaby,

You power leh. Remember yesterday was the day for my amniotic fluid test :)

All went well, it's not as scary as I thought, and it's not painful at all. The doc (not my gynae) pokes a needle through to get the amniotic fluid, I closed my eyes very tight throughout the whole process, so didn't know how long and how big the needle was :) Will only know the result in 2-3 weeks time. 2 med to take, 1 is antibiotic, 1 is to prevent contraction. So for now, just wait patiently lor.

Best part was after the test, my gynae checked me briefly to make sure baby is doing well. Then she said - mostly you will get a GIRL!!! It's based on her observation, not confirmed yet. Gonna wait till the results is out or till detailed scan next month.

violet
then give him 2 bowls porridge and see how
maybe the porridge is really delicious & he can't get enuf =)

Kam
no wonder yest u not here ley.. she didn't give u MC for few days to rest?

wendyg,

Have, 3 days mc :) Now resting at home. Best thing is I was ordered not to do anything at all, cannot do housework and cannot carry my baby. So I am a stay home tai-tai for 3 full days, hurray! So far, enjoying it A LOT! But these 3 days mc costs me $1109!!!!!!!!!

mylvera
hers was amniocentesis.

Kam
$1109 so ex ahhh!! next time pls make your kids be gynaes to earn back the $$$ hahaha.

wendy,

she had oscar first mah

VioletIce,
At this age they can't sit still in their high chair while waiting for us to finish our dinner…some people are blessed with such kids but most can't lah…haha.
So it's inevitable for them to start demanding for our food or come up with some other tricks.
Nowadays when we eat out, I'll usually feed my boy while my hubby gobbles up his food. Then he'll take over with entertaining him or carrying him around if he doesn't want to sit anymore while I finish my meal. It'll be another 1 or 2 years before they can actually sit down for longer dinners without driving us or others crazy.

wendyg,

Yes, very ex. I almost fainted when I saw the bill. Luckily the nurse said can claim $550 from Medisave (though still MY money but at least no need to fork out so much cash).

Mylvera,

I already did OSCAR 3 weeks back. Result not good, that's why did amniocentesis. You mean wait to get the results or wait to do the scan? Results is on the spot, the doc will tell you on the spot if it's normal, but the reports will be sent to your gynae. For the test, also have to wait, last time I waited for about 30min or so.

kam,

thanks for infor

erm ..$550 from MSV... i tot for pre-natal check up can claim only max $500? or smtg like tat? this amniocentesis is on top of the amt?

ok ..read fr MOH site for my MSV qn haha To claims pre-delivery charges from Medisave, parents need just to present the bills incurred for your pre-delivery medical care to the hospital where you will be having your baby. The hospital will submit these bills, together with the delivery expenses, for Medisave claims under the Medisave Maternity Package.

You will be able to claim up to a maximum of $450 from Medisave for these charges.
(The total claim amount for delivery + pre-delivery must not exceed the withdrawal limit in the above table.)

Yvonne,

My boy sits in his high chair when we have our dinner. When at home, he will automatically walk and ask to be put onto the high chair when he sees me bringing out the food. Most of the time, he sits guai guai until we finish our food. But of course there are times, he losses his patient and want to get down, then he will stand up in the high chair, and throw his food/plate/spoon on the floor. My trick is he always has his set of plate and fork/spoon, with some not-so-messy food provided on his plate for him to play/eat, and occasiaonlly stuff some food into his mouth also. When we are out in the restaurant, we only put him into the high chair we food is served. So that he can sits guai guai in the high chair throughout the meal. Same thing, request for a set of plate and spoon for him and give him some food on his plate.

mylvera, i tested and the result is negative. ;( I just do it for fun as my period come regularly, i only concern how come so little blood comes out for last 2 months compared to previous months... ;)) so i knew result before i did the test. hehehe

Kam, of course i remember eventhough i dont check forum often, but once i read something, it can't get out of my mind. ;))
Good that you have rest and do nothing. and hey, aren't you waiting for a baby girl? your hubby must be very happy. ;)

Kam,
I have not started to let him try self-feeding cos' I can't stand the mess
Usually he'll sit in the high chair when we're out having dinner but we've got to keep feeding him bits of food otherwise he'll start pulling the table cloth, bang table, reach for our plates, etc etc. Can't sit still lor...haha.

My girl only "agree" to eat if I let her hold a spoon and feed herself. In between, I can feed her and she is willing to open her mouth.
for last few days, she refuses to eat anything except fruits (thanks God, she is a fruit eater- like me.;)). and she refuses to seat on high chair to eat but walking and eating at the same time. ;(
I hope she will grow out of this soon too. ;((

Fern,

for pasta, we just cook the abc pasta with veggie soup stock+tomato, mee suah also in veg stock + seaweed and veg.

Yvonne, yea i think the egg tofu can keep in fridge but preferably use up the next day la.

kam, why need to take antibiotic?

mylvera,

The $550 claimable for amniocentesis is on top of whatever claimable for the pre and post delivery maternity cost.

Pixie,

Shiok huh? There gone my holiday........ no holiday trip this year :-(

blessedbaby,

:) You have good memory! Wish you concieve soon! My gynae also very good, just that long queue and people said her fees on the high end. Hao Re also like Johanna, if I don't him his plate and spoon to self feed, he refuses to eat.

Tongtong,

The antibiotic is for "just in case" any infection during the procedure. Ops, talking about that, haven't taken my morning med yet. Thanks for asking, now I go and take my med :)

Re: Teething
Elliot fever now. Dunno isit due to teething, he has 12 teeth and gums for 4 other teeth oso swollen. But my pd say teething wont cause fever. NOw I oso dunno wanna see doc or not, since I got panadol and teething gel oso. Any of your kids oso fever with teething?

mom2nat,

Benjamin had fever last nite (39.4) so we bought him to normal GP. He was given neurofen and this morning the fever is down to 37.1. I thot it was due to teething that cause the fever as I used my hand to touch his gum and confirm that he is teething.

Mom2nat,

Teething may cause fever (though most PD said no), BUT it's only mild fever (<38.5C). If it's high fever, don't straight away relate it to teething, better check with PD/GP to make sure.

serene
Neurofen is same as brufen? Stronger than panadol right? Elliot's PD today halfday lah, so if need to, I gotta bring him see GP.

Kam
I think with no other symptoms, I tot prob is teething. Maybe I wait until evening see how.

mom2nat
my boy oso teething, 6-8 teeth in all at the same time.
yes, neurofen is the same as bufen. they are the "brandnames". the common name for this drug is ibuprofen. both neurofen and bufen contains ibuprofen.
i got neurofen and bufen at home. same bottles, same syrup, different labels nia.

mom2nat,

I think so cause this is the first time I am feeding him with the medicine. Usually is only panadol. You can try sponging him or let him take a luke warm bath to bring down the body heat. Just monitor for a while and see how is his temp.

Last nite I let benjamin sleep in aircon + fan without blanket and he was sweating. My colleague told me is because of the medicine. Now his temperature is lower so not so worried.

serene
take bufen/neurofen liao, will sweat a LOT. my boy went through 3 sessions of high fever within 2 weeks, and gave him that on/off, he sweats a lot when taking this. the body temp will be lowered...mine kena 33.xx-34.xx!!
the hands and legs will be cold and clammy...then LL, wait for the fever to spike up again.
but then, mine was viral fever, different from yours :)

Pixie/ serene
I gave panadol oso sweat leh.
How they tell is viral fever? If the temp up and down and v high?
Aiyo, tmrw and fri i gg out some more. Lucky my mom took leave to take care of him.

teething will cause mild fever, not high fever leh....

vernon already had 3 times of high fever this yr... highest is at 40.8.....

mandy
nolah, last time was viral fever. up and down like yo-yo.
now he is teething, but no fever *touch wood*

mom2nat
yah, i went to see PD 3 times in the space of 2 weeks, everytime tell me viral fever ley. temp up and down lor. fever no more, recovered liao, few days later, fever again. it was a viral fever back to back to back LOL

tongtong
eat yong tau hoo but still so fat? LOL
ouch, i very bad

<font color="ff0000">Night Safari 50% off!</font>
Got lobang. 50% off (After discount is Adult S$11, 3yr-12yr Child S$5.50).

Tickets are valid anytime from 8th April to 17th May 09. Tickets are not valid on eve and day of public holiday. Mainly: 9th and 10th April, 30th April and 1st May 09. Let me know by end this week.

wendy: why everyone asked me the same qn?? haha
i think she looks thinner in real leh. but she is wearing thick makeup.

And hor!! i was rather disappointed cuz one lady said hi to her, then she also smiled back la, but like not very willing to smile ( like ku3 xiao4) like dat wor.

pixie, haha you very funny

mylife ya isetan, taka all selling .... the brand is Endo ... actually tiger oso have i think ......

who thyroid?

mylife, i just bought yesterday for my mum, 7 litres one for a family of 5 i think, its 79 now down from 179. SUPERB!!!!! Will experiment somemore, if really going to use it frequently, I will go buy the smaller one for my girls to use next time
. My mum cooks soup everyday, so now using it, seems easier for her.

Thanks for replying re receipes.

So far, Elias has tried porriage, cereal and abc pasta with minced pork ball and fish in it. But he doenst like this abc pasta at all! SO I thought of changing this with another new receipe like mee suah? Can? How do I cook this meal?

Can i have a simple receipe on mee suah and also more and more new dishes like steam egg and pork? Can eat this meh? how often? like we eat kind. minced pork and egg no need salt and all? since they cant take it?

violetlce, i will also ignore initially especially when she screams outside, but then after a while, pple ard start to get irritated. I saw this ang mo lady pushing her baby ard in the stroller yesterday, the baby cry and cry she also bo chap, no wonder ang mo kids rarely cry and temper tantrum outside. Last time, she bite me, I will tahan then she stopped doing, but she did it to my dad and he yelled so loudly, she finds it so amusing so now every now and then she will give him sudden attack.

wendyg, i got the endo brand, very random buy, isetan parkway parade just yesterday. went in to buy baby stuff, dont know why ended on the household level, anyhow hum tum one. 7 litres. I saw the shutter chef version, 400 plus !!!!!! Yesterday there were still like 8 sets i think on the display table.

Robinsons at expo, nothing much to buy la, except lingerie and health drinks.

About the thermal cooker, may I know who has the smaller versions? The 1.8 or 2 plus, which is better? Think I will wanna get a small one eventually, but dont wanna anyhow buy.

angelsky
got 1 time i was in metro, q to pay for stuff + toys...he wanted to have the toys first before paying. dont let my boy take, he screamed like crazy. i just ignored him...more than 15mins...everyone staring i oso bochup...in the end, he fell asleep-due to exhaustion i guess

but restaurant, i will be paiseh coz ppl eating mah. so i will try to keep his voice down...