(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

strange hor.
last time when we were kids, no such thing as HFMD. now our kids generation got this and this HFMD is makin all inconvenient.

mei,
who took care of ur gals while u n hb go for movies at night?

i find double deck beds dangerous too.

wendy,
how come u still wana sleep wif Tobey when he got his own bed in future?

luca,

Wendy is "addicted" to Tobey

Valencia
Hehe, thanks for supporting!!

Date/Time
I'm ok with meeting on weekends, but just need to confirm earlier...except for 4apr (ching ming)

Venue
shall we go to some places where our babies can roam freely, like some indoor safe playground or something? are there such places in Sg?

windy,
dun think tap water no prob hor. do u noe that chlorine can cause allergies?? so hor, unless yr water is pure H2O, it's also not safe! hiak hiak...
http://www.annieappleseedproject.org/chlorinyours.html

pauline,
just to share with you how i manage to cook dinner when hubby is in town. usually i will cook one meat, one fish/veg and one soup.

first of all, i plan in advance what dishes i want to cook for the next wk, then i submit a list to my mum to do marketing for me.
my mum will buy the food, wash/slice/chop etc and pack into individual pkts for me. i then dump everything into the freezer.

every morning i decide what to cook for dinner and take out the pkts from the freezer to defrost. then i settle my girl's bath, lunch etc.

when she is having her afternoon nap, i'll season the food and set the soup to boil, cos soup need the longest to cook. that takes me abt half hr. after that i can do my own things or nap with my girl.

when she wakes i settle her, play with her etc until abt 5pm. At 5pm, i will cook rice and cook the fish/veg and meat. just those simple stir fry type and cook my girl's dinner. my girl will play by herself for awhile.

at 6pm i will feed my girl her dinner and me and hb dinner is ready already. when my girl is done with her dinner, hb and i will eat ours.

after dinner, hb will wash up and i will settle my girl's wash up bedtime routine etc. if my girl woke up late from her nap, then i'll wash up first before doing her bedtime routine.

hope that helps =)

steph,

We let Hao Re to have all available jabs. Rather spend $ than seeing him suffer. The editor of the Motherhood Monthly (the free online magazine where some of our babies were featured), her son got rotavirus infection, and she is SAHM taking of her son herself. Virus spread easily and it can be everywhere!

kitsune,

Right. I am the 2nd class citizen now in Singapore :) But no choice lah, Singapore values me and Malaysia doesn't, so for the sake of S$, I have to be 2nd class lor :)

Ya, the 3/4 full tank still applies. But we usually go out with half a tank. It's okay cos we were checked 1 time and our tank was just touching the half tank line. Passed without any questioning :) Don't think they are strictly as long as don't go out empty tank. And for the past 2 years, we have only been checked twice. Driving back to Ipoh, aiyoh, petrol is now kinda cheap, but the highway toll fees is the killer! After having kids, only go back once a year. But would love to travel to KL though.

mei,
yalor, envy that u got d energy to go out for movies after ur children had slept.
I find bunk beds are for safe for adults, as kids these days flip here n there 2 fall asleep, cant imagine wat will happen if they sleep on bunk beds.

mei,

I made advance booking cos that time had 20% off if booked via internet. You may want to check.

Best time, not know leh. Maybe evening? For the sunset if weather is good.

Grumpus, thanks for sharing. How about your own breakfast and lunch? What do you eat? How long does your gal nap in the day? Do you need to bathe her again after her dinner? And what does she do while you and hubby eat? What time does she sleep at night?

Kam, ya my Malaysian friends also like that. Only those who marry Singaporean, end up converting their citizenship. The rest prefer to be Singapore PR but they have beautiful 2 or 3 storey landed property and one if not two cars in Malaysia. SGD convert to RMB really can have good lifestyle in Malaysia especially during retirement.

luca,
haha. no lah. mine is not makan blog. haha. onli sun bian blog since makan mah.

i hope to blog more abt vacations. hahaaaa

pauline,
my pleasure =)
for breakfast can be biscuits, bread or nonsense around the house lor. sometimes no time to eat then no breakfast. for lunch either instant noodles, leftovers just heat up in microwave or order macs :p

my girl naps about 2hrs a day around 12-2plus. her bedtime routine includes either wipe down or bath again depending on how much she's been running ard and how sweaty she is.

when hb and i eat, sometimes we take turns to eat then the other one plays with my girl or sometimes she sits in my lap while i eat and i feed her scraps from the table. sometimes she sits in my hbs lap and sometimes something distracts her then she goes off to play awhile by herself.

she sleeps abt 8.30-9pm at night.

evening
ohhhhhh looks bad wor... and sommore u said he took jab, but your girl more suffer than him huh. gosh, can't imagine for your girl ley.... and poor mummy of course. *sayang*

mei
yes i sit on babies... who wants to engage my services? guaranteed the babies guai guai, no sound

re: double deck bed
my elder boy is 3.5yo and he sleeps on single bed pushed against the wall, and a bed rail on the other side. we observe that he sleeps more towards the wall side. Upper deck of the double bed would hv some low railing that serves same purpose as bed rail. And nowadays hv double bed with staircase instead of ladder, so i think it's quite safe. Those with staircase more ex la, but normally they come with additional storage space under the staircase.

luca
yah hor.. i too used to sleeping with Tobey liao. Not too keen to hv snoring husband at my side again *hiak* and i'll kena bashed up when he has bad dream of being robbed. I'm very poor wife... *cry* and he dun buy me no diamonds as compensation.... *cry cry*

tongtong
what abt $10 per hour?

my bb had her MMR jab two wk ago, so far ok, no high fever, only a bit of mild feverish on the 7th day nite...the next day ok liao...
PD gt give fever med to stand by, so not to worry

wendyg
nope daddy believes that chicken pox should come out naturally cos let out the poison in their system, so both also no jab.

yvonne
you considering SAHM? i'm one of the mummies that hubby no support. tough tough

Grumpus, I see. My routine is like this:
8+-9+am - RaeAnne wakes up, I'll laze in bed for a while and see if I can make her sleep some more. But she'll usually insist that I carry her out to the living room.
Put her on her bumper mat to play with her toys while I make her cereal.
9+-10am - feed her cereal while watching "Wheels of the bus" VCD. Take out her porridge ingredients to defrost.
Around 10am - Wash rice and prepare ingredients to cook her porridge in slow cooker (usually pork/yin yu/threadfin/cod fish plus carrot or broccoli or sweet potato or corn
10am - 11+am play with her, brush her teeth, put her on potty, change diaper, (find time to sneak away to brush my teeth, wash face, go toilet, eat bread)
11+am - feed porridge
12 - Let her rest a while I wash up
12+pm - shower her
12+-1+pm - make her sleep after giving her some milk
1+pm - 3pm She naps from 30 mins to 2 hours, depending on my luck. (during this time, I clear the bathroom, throw rubbish/soiled diapers, have lunch usually instant noodles/bread or try to cook my lunch if I'm feeling lucky. Usually if I nap with her, I don't get to eat. If I eat, I don't get to nap. :p)
3+pm After she wakes up, feed milk or cereal or fruits. After that, Start preparing to cook her evening porridge in slow cooker again
4+pm -5+pm Play with her (though I'm very tired by then)
5+-6pm Feed porridge again
6+pm Hubby comes back, he'll tapow dinner back if we are not eating at ILs.
6+ - 7pm Shower RaeAnne then try and grab our dinner. One of us has to distract or watch over her cos she walks around touching forbidden items (electric switches, drawers, trash can in kitchen or dirt on floor). If she sees us eating, she wants our food but I don't feed her our food cos it's full of sodium or msg.
8+pm I shower
9pm Give her milk in bottle and try to make her sleep
9+-10pm She falls asleep
10+ - 12 midnight She'll wake up again, then we feed more milk or we dream feed her around midnight. Transfer her to her cot.
2-4+am - She'll wake up again, hopefully can make her go back to sleep with just water. Depending on timing, may leave her on the our bed to sleep.
6am - Wake up and we'll give more FM. Try and make her sleep again until 9am.
In between schedule, will wash and sterilize her milk bottles, pots, bowls, spoons, clothes. Plus she poos 2-4 times a day so changing her diapers, washing her bum in the toilet, changing her out of her clothes, also takes quite a bit of time/struggling cos she loves playing with water even when it's already contaminated with her poop. Eek! :p

Cos when she's awake, she'll only play on her own for 5 minutes before she'll come and look for me. When I'm busy in the kitchen and hug my legs from behind me then I can't move cos I worry she'll fall backward and hit her head. When I carry her away to the living room, she'll cry so sometimes I just leave her to roam/play while keeping my eye at her from the kitchen. Don't know where to squeeze in time to cook for dinner leh. Maybe I'm a lousy/inefficient cook so I take longer to prepare/cook so I don't bother to cook dinner. :p

evening,
i wonder how's ur boy when the pox is itchy? must be very xin ku for him? ur gal also have chic pox now ah??
how did he catch the pox from? poor boy.. but i guess it's good to have pox at younger age cuz the older you get it the bigger the pox is!

Kam, when we check out from sg custom we can go out with half tank meh? still pass? i tot must be 3 quarter full? you know everytime before we goes back to msia we purposely go and pump till 3 quarter leh. Ever since my boy is in KL i have been driving back quite frequently. 4 hours can reach liao if depart very early in the morning.

Pauline, I also married to SIngaporean but I think i wont convert citizenship. Why did your friends convert? you are right, it's not easy to work and stay in msia, but if work in sg and spend in msia, that's a good one hehe.

grumpus, your gal only nap 1 time in the day?

wendy, if $10 an hour and i engage her for 1.5hrsx5 a week, it comes to 300+ leh. full day nanny only 500+ wor.
that's why i dunno whether can bargain or not.

<font color="aa00aa">Mummies, any idea by wat age our toddler will learn to brush their own teeth and spit out the toothpaste??</font>

Tongtong, I think my friend convert because of housing subsidy, childcare benefits/subsidies. She's a degree holder while her hubby has diploma so she earns more than hubby. Maybe all the subsidies add up? She's from Sarawak, her family very big, got 7 or 8 siblings. If RaeAnne wakes up at midnight, I'll give her FM or water depending on how much FM she drank at 9+pm. Sometimes she knock out immediately. But, mostly got to lie down beside her on my big bed, let her flip around the bed and touch my tummy lor. ;P

pauline
touch ur tummy? kayla also LOOOVES doing that!!! while touching she will also stick her finger into my belly button. pain lor! but i dare not make a sound cos tat will trigger her. and this girl can switch from sleeping to just wake up to HYPER in a matter of seconds.............

Gd morning everyone...

Pauline
seems like during the day u feed her 2 cereal and 2 porridge?? what cereal are u going her? is it heaty? cos when Javier takes cereal, he will have hard stools.. hee..

so morning i will give him bread + milk. then afternoon 3pm, he will have another feed of milk. b4 bedtime at 9-9.30, another milk. this way, he doesn't wake up at time most of the time. only occasionally...

tongtong,
yup my girl naps one time a day only. thought by this age mostly one nap only? no?

pauline, windy,
my girl loves to use my tummy as her pillow! and she'll roll all over it. i guess it's all soft and bouncy, which i blame her for it :p

pauline,
it's ok, just hang in there and u'll slowly get more efficient. u are doing very well for a new SAHM. i've been a SAHM for almost a yr already leh. the first few months i also hardly cooked. and in the beginning i was also so tired so everytime my girl naps i nap also. but nowaways i hardly nap or maybe just nap 1hr only.

my girl also doesn't play by herself for like 1-2 hrs lah, she will also come into the kitchen and hug my legs then i also cannot move. depends on what i'm doing, like if i'm just standing at the sink washing up then i just let her hug my legs lor. at other times i'll find something in the kitchen to distract her. the kitchen is a haven of toys, didn't u know that? :p such as spoon and bowl, clunk a few times for her and she will want to play also. pot covers, old FM milk scoops, tupperwares, small plastic bags.

and we bought alphabet and number magnets which are all stuck on the fridge so sometimes i will ask her where's the 'A' etc and that will stump her for awhile, sometimes she plays by herself taking the magnets off and putting them back on again or putting them into the tupperwares sometimes she will take them off and walk off put dunno where then come back again.

just have to find ways to distract her, keep her occupied and keep talking to her lor. and if she really gets grumpy then i'll carry her for awhile or play with her for awhile calm her down before resuming whatever i was doing.

this is my daily schedule:
7-7.30am wake up, my girl wakes up. i laze abit in bed and she just rolls around etc.
8am milk feed. after her milk i will take dinner food out from the fridge to defrost. then i'll check SMH, play with her, brush teeth, grab breakfast
9.15-9.30am start her brunch cooking and bath her
10am feed brunch
10.30-11am wash up (sometimes she doesn't let me wash up then the dirty bowls will be left in the sink till later)
12pm milk feed, nap. after she falls asleep i'll grab lunch, wash up, pack up abit, surf net or nap. season food for dinner, set soup to boil.
2plus wake up, snack - bread, cheese, fruits
2-4pm play
4pm milk feed
5pm cook all our dinner
6pm feed her dinner
7pm hb and me eat dinner
8pm start bedtime routine while hb washes up. if my girl woke up later from nap then i'll wash up first and start her bedtime routine at 8.30 instead
8.30-9pm milk feed then sleep.

after 9.30pm it's me and hb time, we watch tv, play games etc sometimes we only wash up dinner plates at this time
my girl does wake up and cry at midnight, 3am and 5-6am. i just lie with her for awhile and usually she'll go back to sleep.

tongtong
oh your boy is in KL? Do u c him every weekend?

re: stomach
recently tobey also likes to lie on my stomach (ie perpendicular to me). but he can't fall asleep like that.. he'd fidget a lot trying to find the right spot, or try to roll over me. aiyo.

Pauline &amp; Grumpus,
Feel that both of you are really "24 xiao" mummy!! Salute to you ;)
I'm looking forward to my maternity leave &amp; hope can follow your schedule to take care of my #1 too. More like an orientation or probation for SAHM job, heehee. Hopefully after this 4 mths, i can decide to move on or go back to workforce.

Teething:
Oh ya, my boy #8 tooth finally sprouted after MIA for months. I also find a few teeth growing behind. How cum they dun grow side by side? Any babies like this?
Due to teething, he drools a lot &amp; start his biting game again. My poor hubby kana bite by him at his chest. Look like love bite now, haahaa ;)

Gender prediction:
Heard a myth yez, mayb mummies with 2 &amp; above can go back &amp; verify how true. It says that looking at your #1 head, there's a pt where the hair is growing (Hokkien call "Chng"). If the hair is growing in clockwise direction, your #2 will be boy. If anti-clockwise, then is girl. So if you want to know #3 gender, look at #2 head. Heehee, dunno is it true for all. Juz find it very amazing as few colleagues &amp; me find it quite accurate ; )

nez
i think my #1 achieved it when he was abt 2+ years old. I used abt 1.5 or 2 tubes of First Teeth for him... maybe? small pea sized dollop only, even though he urges us to squeeze more more more coz he loves the flavour.

yeah.. Salutes to all the SAHM. cos alot of patience is required to be with our darlings. they can be quite a terror at times

today is my last day of work... yeppy!!

morn.
anyone watched the "爸爸当家" last night, hosted by Michelle Chia and Mark Lee? do u know the place where Darren Lim brought his two kids to?

tongtong,

Ya. We usually go out with half a tank. Like I said before, we have been checked once with half a tank, no problem leh. Have you ever been checked before? Take 4 hours to KL, meaning you don't drive that fast lah. When we went back to Ipoh for CNY, we departed at 5am, 5+ hours reached Ipoh already :)

Kitsune,

Ya, agreed with you. Most of those converted to Singapore are because they married to a Singaporean, mylife is an example (cos plus other personal reasons). Some told me they actually regretted, cos if both Singaporeans, can't or more difficult to buy properties in Malaysia, they would rather keeping as 1 Malaysian, 1 Singaporean. But then most of them are now happy Singaporeans! Oh, and if usually the wife is Singapore, most of the time, the husband won't convert.

evening,

it's so funny when you described the chicken pox - to let the poison comes out of the body naturally. But then hor, if one is not infected by the virus, he won't have the "poison" in his body at the first place. This "poison" is from the outside world, not originally inside our body one.

janbb
her company closed for 1 wk, everyone forced leave.

Kam
yeah yeah that's the old fashioned thinking, my fren also thinks lidat.

mei, you leaving next week right? hope your kids recover soon

that time my two kids fell sick just 2 days before we depart and we gotta hell. In fact both gotta fever when we reach there still.

Steph, where you makan the goose...nice? i also wanna go there eat leh...can recommend

so what you all think, should i go stanley?

jess/enemum,
tks. oh so far away. but looks fun.

enemum,
fever. then the aircrew allow ur to board?
ya i also gg to eat goose. hb said.