(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

janbb,

no.. i only has high BP for #2. thereaft, ad hoc high BP. recently shoot up again ...sianz..

i heard dark choc is good preg

pixie/mylvera,
i love to eat.. so tough to go on diet. Diamond ring and branded bags not attractive enough to deprive myself of food leh. A car maybe yes but i know he can't afford it yet.. hahaha!

QQ,
what is TT's full name? is she more than 11kg now?

Hannah ... hmmm i heard my frd who bought it quite roomy .... why u need so many stuffs? Now i feel TT grow bigger I have lesser things to bring hahah .... I think TT is abt the same weight as Johanna .... I forgot the number hahaha ...

pixiepixel, can understand, when my girl sick, I also worry and end up whole night sleep but dont really feel recharge in the morning.

JanBB, initially I did feel the bubbles, then after that as tum tum gets bigger and rounder, the feeling no more. Think second one for me now, the tummy very big
Think after #2, got to go on major diet, else no more excuse to be looking so fat. No le, my #1 came late by 2 days, so not sure if #2 will be as late as well or earlier, but I dont mind 27 Jul which is my EDD, coz its our ROM anni.

mylife, not true for me la, coz my girl not colicky le, but initially she did breathe very loud, like the chest got alot of fluid, but doc says ok nothing, lungs are cleared. But my frens all commented their babies also never breathe so loud. So I will jokely say, maybe my girl got smaller nose.

blessedbaby, I change afew, but then find that never enough to put all my stuff, currently I using lesport tote bag, but very heavy if got alot of bottles.

hammies03, I give steam egg, scrabble eggs but cook very thoroughly and chawan mushi when we eat out, besides hard boil eggs.

mei,
you looking for preschool for your #1? how do you find montessori school? my #1 very mischievous and active. Don't know if montessori program will help to settle him a bit since it teaches kids to focus and concentrate.

Wendy, any idea on this?

I did not have water retention until the very last week of my pregnancy when my ankles started to swell, so everyone around started saying anytime now anytime now. But still waited till overdue. I think I must be the most jialat, I walk alot and squat alot, did prenatal yoga, end up my labour also super long. My baby only very light but I already need vacuum to deliver her. Imagine if this one is heavier, think I can cry already.

fishia,
ya. #1 currently in child care. but i am considering switching her to PCF. but haven decided.

WHO HAS PRESCHOOL GUIDE 2009 FROM YOUNG PARENTS?

mylvera
u mean after #2, your BP still high ah? Then need to take med to reduce?

QQ
I like your ger ger name with "雨", veri special. Why u never thot of naming her "rainie"? Heehee ;p

Mei i dun have ...

JanBB hmm no leh ... cos my two nephew from my husband side both A so we follow them A.....
her chinese name is I ask for BI HUA de ....

QQ,

Nice name 雨桐 for TT!!

Grumpus,

I respect your choice.

Just some info for those who are interested, if don't boil/cook the egg fully, the bacteria may not been killed yet. Apart from salmonella, there are other species of bacteria too, though salmonella is the most deadly one. It doesn't matter if the egg is from farm or kampung, an egg is an egg, it's very nutritious thus bacteria grows well in it.

Wendyg gave a good example - Prime Deli case. In fact, when adult get affected, most likely the result is similar as a food poisoning, diarhare, vomit, take antibiotics, it's cured. But in the young children, their body may be reacting badly to the infection.

Young toddler doesn't know to differentiate half-cooked or fully-cooked egg. Only adult differentiates it.

Oic, same here, my niece & nephew all start with inital "J", got Javier, Jovan, Joycelyn & my Jayden. Now still cracking my head what "J" for #2.

fishia
yeah today i just went to a montessori presch to take a look... the branch admin mentioned teaching them to focus.. i think the small tchr-student ratio is fantastic.. but their waiting list also fantastic... abt 1 yr.... not to mention their monthly fees $800 after subsidy *faintz*. Parents here really willing to splurge on their kids... this kind of industry is recession proof!!!!

QQ,
that's really a nice name. so fairy-like..

Wendy,
is that a childcare? now govt giving more subsidy. i wonder if cc increase their price. i called a few and seems like their prices are different now. But i'm looking for a 3 hourly program. only concern i have is he may take some time to adjust. I'm scared of the "crying" period.

JanBB,
Jude.. hahaha!

fishia,
I like this song "hey jude" ; )

I even thot of a old fashion name if my ger really born in the mth of jun, then call her "June"...haha..faint..

fishia,
ya. child care increased prices le. sob. cos' with the subsidy, more parents send their kids to child care centers, then with more kids, teachers nid to employ more assistants to help, then exp goes up then have to increase sch fees to cover etc etc. its a cycle.

wendy,
which mont sch u went in punggol? me considering shld i change my elder from cherie hearts to PCF. ur opinion??

fishia,

You are right. As soon as the gov announced giving more subsidy, most of the cc increase their price. So ended, the $ that gov top up only goes to the cc, not to the benefit of the parents. Wonder why no parents make noise so far?

jessie, jessica, jess, jacintha, jade, jacqueline, jac, jas, judy, jolene, joyce, joy, joanne, joanna,

QUESTION: HOW DID YOU NAME YOUR CHILD?
hb chosen the names for my girls. its a translation from english to chinese. haha...

xie xie mummies for the compliments of TT's name ....

ya i like that song too Jude .....

Jaelyn
Janelle
Joelle

I only think of these .... I think Jaelyn is nice

Janbb,

U can go library to look for the baby names book.... "J" have alot.... I think Jade is unique. Or.... Call Jacelyn lor same with me....LOL

mylvera, if it works then my #1 would have come out on the 28th of Jan instead of 30th of Jan lo. Plus gave me such a hard time during my pregnancy and delivery also.

wendyg, no la, diaper bag la.

JanBB, hmmm Jayne? Janelle? Names are such a headache, my girl is Gwyneth, if we stick to G for a boy, not many choices and also generally we dont like. If its another girl, G also few. Since we struck off all those we dont like before deciding on Gwy, so imagine if we give the 2nd choice to #2, like not very fair. Once I know the gender then I will choose. We more or less already chose the names for the boy and girl already, or rather my hubbie already decided.

Kam/wendy/angelsky
thanks for sharing. So cold drinks is NOT = colicky

fishia
welcome back! long time never see u around liao. For my bed, i pushed it all the way to the window bay/ledge. Then i bought a Humanity Pillow designed specially for cosleeping babies and placed it there to prevent baby from rolling to the window bay. Rylee sleeps next to the bay (with the pillow as a barrier), i sleep in the middle, and hubby sleep the other end. At the foot of the bed, i put bed guard/rail (those metal kind that slides under ur mattress) and place a long bolster to cushioned it. During daytime naps (when hubby and i not around to act as barrier on the other end), i fold my quilt and place 2 pillows to act as some sort of barrier. But i also placed a video monitor at the bed head to watch her while i'm outside. When she wakes up and sit up, i can see and goes in before she has a chance to roll off bed. This was done since she was 6mths old, so now, when she wakes up, she will guai-guai sits there playing with her blankie and wait for us to come in. I know what u mean on Jude doing a back flip. Rylee used to do that too, thinking she'll hit the mattress. Once, she part of her head hit the window bay...cried like mad. I was sooo worried. Now i placed her former cot mattress plus her playpen mattress to cushion the bay.

Food for Baby
I'm very vexed now in giving food for my gal. She's becoming more and more fussy. Got one period still take porridge, now total refusal. People say baby dont want dont force feed, she must be not hungry...but when i feed her rice, she will lapped it up. Whole afternoon, cooked mee sua, porridge, she refused. Asked one of my PD in HK about giving outside food (which contains salt and MSG), but this PD very chinchai one. Told me salt and msg is not that evil. Got good side of it ie it makes the food tastier, hence baby will eat more *faint*. He reminded me didnt my mom give me soya sauce added to my porridge last time? Aint i fine now? Sigh. I was aiming to "graduate" Rylee to adult table food only when she's 18-24mths. Now seems like gonna have to bring forward cos she only interested to eat our food. Reject all baby food. She has this habit of pulling EVERYTHING out from her mouth that we just fed her (with her hand), examine it and if she likes it, will put it back in. Inevitably, if it's porridge we just shoved in, and she opens her mouth, out comes everything! Down her top, her finger, her mouth. Tried letting her self feed, but she doesnt know how to scoop, end up play with the bowl and fling everything off! She's only good in self feed finger food. Any babies can feed themselves liao (from the bowl?)

And i'm running out of ideas of what to feed her. So boring everytime steam fish/minced pork for her leh. Soup always feed her carrot/potato as veg intake.

Yvonne
Congrats on success of sleep training!
I probably cant do it cos cannot bear to let her cry.

QQ
Jaelyn is suggested by my fnd too cos is a combination of my hubby & my name. One of my shortlisted names.

Jacelyn
i search many website on names... only like a few with "J".

luca
Muz follow mah if not next time she will feel odd one out..cos' all "J"..

Mei
Re: Names selection
I decide on English & my hubby decide on Chinese after the master gives him 3 choices.
Can share your gals name or not? since is direct translation?

angelsky
so what names have u shortlisted?

mylife
jacelyn is jacelyn_shortygal's name.. heehee..

mei
character montessori near St Anne's Church. Look only la.. just to compare with the conventioned HDB Void Deck cc.

in my opinion, if u can afford cherie hearts, why want to change to PCF? My colleague says PCF tchrs poorly paid, high turnover.

angelsky: hw abt boy names Glenn/ Gordan?
girl then u can use Geri?

janbb: i think janelle or jaelyn quite nice.

JanBB
I agree with Luca...dont limit with J lo. Actually, i read before that it's a bit unfair naming #2 to match #1's name. Some kids actually grow up hating their name and feeling their names were like a "sidekick" cos elder bro/sis had the same alphabet, hence they have to have the same....no identity of their own. Having said that, i also want to match hehehehe

Eggs
I give Rylee eggs in the form of scrambled eggs, add to make French Toast (for bfast) or add to minced pork for dinner with rice.

janbb
yah i know. Cannot have same name with mommies here ah? hehe. Godsent's princess also same name as violetice rite?

Oops, sorry break into different posting.

QQ
i bought the Kate Spade diaper bag when they have 50% discount and i love it! I like the soft cushioning. And the zip in the middle keeps my wallet/valuables safe but the compartments is open to enable easy access. My hubby says this is the prettiest diaper bag, look very stylish.

Wendy
Kate Spade is diaper BAG lah...not new brand of diaper. Hohohoho

mylife
haha..all mummies are the same kind..i find it neater leh if all start with "J" ;p
oh want to ask u long ago, what's your real name huh? What name did u put in FB?

aqua, QQ
Btw, Jaelyn is pronounce as "J-lyn"??

mylife,
my boys also takes out everything when he dislikes the food, super messy! eeks!
But he takes adult food so very well.

Janbb,
she'll feel unique! be a leader rather than a follower.

wendy,
but i find it very strange why K2 students only 5-6 compared to 14 students in K1 in cherie hearts.

janbb,
haha. #1 is 佳咛 while #2 is 佳玉. can u guess the english translation? haha..

mylife, JanBB, well, my hubbie is obsessed with the name Kiefer, so he wants to name his boy, see ah, the way he phrased it was his boy, not our boy k, Kiefer. But I prefer Ethan. So we say we will both go look around for other names and see if we can come to a consenses. If you realised, if we name our boy Kiefer, then end up both of them all named after actress and actors, which was not what we set out to, but rather I like the meaning before Gwyneth. Then for girls, I am looking at Vera. kekeke, this time its mummy thats obsessed with the name.

Then if its chinese it will be either 凯something for the boy or 颎something for the girl, since my girl is call 颎 乐. Then my hubbie also obsessed with the word 乐, so maybe if its a boy, end up call 乐凯, I wont be surprised lo. But all will depends on the gender before we finalized.

I wanted to find same alphabet one, but then I agree with mylife lo, else #2 like #1's side kick. So prob will find the chinese name to link instead of english name to link.

wendyg,

you so poor thing. No one got your joke - the new Kate Spade diaper :) I am on the same frequency as you, so don't feel sad, I got the joke :)

Mei,
Start with "J" hor?? I'm v interested to noe, me crazy abt "J" ger names now..

Let me guess.
#1 shld sound like Jenny but maybe u choose other spelling.
#2 shld sound like Jade?? cos got 玉.

angelsky
Vera is nice. Oh dear, u all make me very tempted to change the first alphabet leh. Actually i like this name "Tiffany" a lot. Sound very EX, haha ;p