(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mylife,

just "shui ji ying bian" lor feed her lunch at the around the time u usually feed her lunch and see how it goes. she may take another nap later this afternoon.

even as adults somedays we feel more sleepy, less hungry, less sleepy more hungry etc right?

mylife, I co sleep with gwyneth, but even when I dont co sleep with her, eg on her afternoon naps, she will also sleep like a clock, she turns and toss and sometimes ends up with her backside facing upwards like kneeling in her sleep. Even if we co sleeps, she will push me out of my space on the bed by just stretching her legs and basically trying to make space for herself, while she is still sleeping.

Kam, well I did ask my gyne about coffee and cold drinks, he just say everything also can eat, but in moderation, so I just do what he says, basically he never gives me much pre natal vits, I had to practically beg him for fish oil, coz he just ask to try to eat fish a few times a week and thats sufficient lo. First time no irons either coz he say if end up constipate, then got to solve the constipation problem will be even worse for me, so he just ate me to eat more regular and balance diet. This time, he gave me becoz my blood levels really really low. I also agree with you sashimi if got choice better dont eat, unless we in Japan :p. Anyway I super dread eating fish, look at fish also puts me off and I am never a fish eater to begin with.

pixiepixel, only 9 plus le, you already sleepy and tired
. What did you do last night?

JanBB, I still eat watermelon le, for #1, I use to eat like in 1 meal ah, 1 papaya, 1 watermelon, 1 honey dew, 1 jelly and then 1 packet of guava. That is for everyday le, dont eat machiam always thirsty. Only thing I dont buy and eat last time was pineapple, coz the fruit seller will nag at me, although not familiar with her. So end up I just avoid buying unless its at home my mum buy then I will mian chiang eat. But for #2, I just openly eat now, anyway I ask my mum, kenna scolded by her for being old fashion. So that day I also eat ah char, got craving. Ok besides sashimi, 1 thing I seriously avoid for both is half boil egg and sunny side up. If its cold drinks, I dont drink coke, consolation to myself that at least I never drink caffeine.

Mandy, I think its Seng Choon. Its at the building next to the hawker centre which is next to OG.

mylife, maybe you monitor again if it happens tomo as well? Coz like you say, maybe growth spurt or did she sleep well yesterday?

mei, what is the contact list for? Send u wat inform you need? COnfused.

Mummies, can I ask a question not related to our Jan BBs?
-JanBB, can I ask u, have u started to feel ur #2 yet?

angelsky,
these:

mummy nick
mummy name
mummy hp
mummy primary email
residence (eg. punggol)
msn
blog
facebook
1st child name
1st child dob
1st child gender
and add on if you've >1 child.

angelsky
I felt #2 baby movements as early as 13wks+ so much earlier as compared #1. More freq movements now cos in 17wk+. How abt u?

U eat so much fruits at one go ah? I also like agar agar, guava & honeydew but the most i take 3 at one go after meal.

JanBB, only for #1 when I got better appetite, also coz my MS quite bad, so weight gain was really slow, so force myself to eat more, but I love fruits in general. Maybe after #1, eat lot, so end up this time not much craving nor appetite. SO early!!!!! Wow, must be I got too much tummy fats, I cant feel anything at all le. Zero. Cham. When are you due? 17 weeks plus, sounds sama to me le, but I cant recall am I in 16 plus or 17 plus, my #2, due 27th Jul.

janbb
ling yang gave to him last week liao. and he recovered. now new bout of fever...give ling yang again? will it be too much in such a short time?

jess
thanks. nolah im at work. my mil is the one who needs to take care of my boy. later half day go home, take over my mil. else my mil will be very tired, coz last week mon to thur, she never slept much coz keep sponging my boy and feeding him med in the middle of the nite...

yvonne
oh, i tried this method too. half hearted anyway...my boy usually sleeps fast, but was taking longer and longer time to sleep recently, so i did the same as you. keep putting him down and let him cry. he co-sleeps with me anyway so he will try to crawl towards me. i will put him back onto his mattress, which is beside me. it works during weekends. weekdays at my mil place, my mil will put him in his playpen, then let him roll and crawl until he sleeps on his own. so mine is a "semi" method of yours and i let him flip and turn until exhausted. combo of both lor

angelsky
yest nite...nothing leh. my hb say wanna "excercise" but by the time i went to the bedroom, it was oredi 11pm, then i did some reading till 11.30, hit the sack...didnt even hear the alarm clock in the morning...usually light sleeper, can hear anything and everything. past 2 nights too tired until never hear alarm...in a row. never happened to me before. i think worry too much about my sick boy, never sleep well. its just a superficial sleep, if you know what i mean

pixie,
thanks for the tips. ok. will do situp everynite (hope so)! think i not disciplined enough with my diet. in fact sometimes i snack potato chips after my children sleep! ha! this is how i destress at the end of the day...

my hubby even encourage me. that he'll get me anything i want if my waistline can go down to 27.

Icy,
i also become fatter after i stop bf #1. those days i still watch my diet as i needed to go out for meeting. now i stay at home really become auntie liao...

Wendy,
i know the distributor very well.

Mylife,
i also co-sleep with Jude and he turns everywhere. sometimes he ended up sleeping on a big pillow! btw How do you babyproof your bed?

Jude enjoys falling backwards and drop on the mattress or my body. this is very bad and i got to correct him. many times he almost hit objects next to the bed. and yesterday, he thought someone was behind him. He flipped backwards again and fell right on this head.. haiz.. he cried very badly. anyone's bb doing that too?

angelsky,
Think becos my tum tum quite small so can feel the movement earlier. At first only like bubbles kind of feeling then this few weeks stronger. Sometimes i also dun feel it esp too busy playing with #1. U try to lie down 10mins & c can feel it this few weeks?

My EDD is 16 Jul. I will be opting for c-section so estimate to deliver in end jun or early july cos #1 is via c-section, already got a "Zip" so might as well "unzip" & "zip" again, heehee ;)
Your #1 arrive earlier than EDD last time? Heard that #2 could be faster, is it?

pixel,
How much "Ling Yang" did u give last week? I only give a few spoonful when he got fever that few days (i.e 2-3 days). Somehow, fever get subsided. Mayb u want to give one more time this week? But not a lot, juz a few spoonful to "Tao Liang"??

fishia
wah, if my hb say get me "anything" if my wasitline can go down to 27, i will diet immediately. then i ask him for a diamond ring and some branded bag, haha!
actually less dinner is good. metabolic rate in women around our age slows down at night considerably so eat lesser rice, lots of dishes. thats how i lost weight. last time young, i was in tuff club. grew up liao, lost a lot of weight like that....

wei u all dont scare me, after bfing, put on a lot of weight ah? i am gradually decreasing my output...started to eat lesser liao (not that hungry anymore anyway). so how much did you all put on after bfding?

Forbidden food during preggie
Last time I preggie I also never pantang. Drink cold drinks, just never take coke/coffee. Rylee was very colicky and my fren says some people believe it's due to cold drinks cos altho no one knows what causes colic, some believe it's wind in the tummy, and Chinese believe it's due to the mommy drinking too much cold water when preggie. I dunno how true it is lah. Any mommy to refute this myth?

My gal only sleeps and turn like a clock durng night time, daytime naps she guai guai sleep straight. *scratch head*

Grumpus
Will monitor, but my fren also say babies suddenly sleepy got only 2 reasons 1) growth spurt and 2) will fall sick soon (body not feeling well so zzz more) I'm prayin it's the former!

Mei
How come me not in the list one?
I tot u have my details?

mylife
yes me, i can refute the myth.... my boys dun hv colic. Thru my pregnancies i drank cold drinks during hot weather.

i also ate runny eggs during both my pregnancies.

yvonne
wah fantastic, good for u! easy baby means easier for u to plan for #2 also... but u also hv a lot of other logistical concerns hor..

aqua
Very drama birth story i got..
My blood pressure was too high when preggie with #1 during last tri. Gynae gave me a blood test & when result was out after few hrs, he advised me to return to Glene to do a c-section but it was not considered emergency c-section.
In that few hrs, guess where i go?? I had my lunch & went back to office thinking to do my year end appraisal with my boss. Upon reaching office, my hp rang & gynae asked me to return immediately to do c-section. I was like really "GONG" at that moment. Cos' not prepared at all & was asking myself "shld i finish my appraisal first or go deliver first??" Very funny hor. In the end, i decided to deliver first cos' no mood to see boss at all, mind is blank.

I find the c-section pain still ok only the few step out of the bed which is killing me. Somemore gynae gave me the choice to opt since already done once, so why not.

Mei, I am not on your list leh. ;) You have all my details as well. Hohoho.

Pineapple and cold drink: I took them a lot during my 1s, 2nd and 3rd tri. My girl got no problem with colic and my pregnancy journey was easy. ;)

Diaper bag: any recommendation for which brand to buy, mummies??? I am looking for a proper one.. hope to find something that i can put everything and anything inside but still looks neat.. ;) Thanks.

My boy didn't have colic and I had cold drink, thought not a lot, during my pregnancy.

I ate runny eggs also, even now. Don't see the reason why can't eat this.

JanBB,

Oh, so you have pre-eclampsia??

kam
reason for avoiding runny eggs is risk of salmonella bacteria in eggs & egg products (eg mayonnaise). Cooking the egg thoroughly will kill the bacteria.

Same with raw fish.. u never know when will kena the bacteria, so some docs play safe & advise to avoid.

Janbb
for 2nd pregnancy, do u hv hi-blood pressure also? I wanted to try natural for 2nd time, but cervix dowan to open.

wendyg,

yes, I know about the salmonella. But what is the chance of getting through the womb? I never heard this is a risk for pregnant woman. Only heard for young babies/toddlers.

mandy,

i feed my bb half boiled eggs. I just make sure it's well cooked, i.e the whites are white and no parts are still translucent.

my mum fed us half boiled eggs all the time when we were growing up and we never once got sick from eggs

wendyg,
yah, got logistical issues plus really need a breather leh...don't want to start the entire routine again with #2. Now kinda enjoying #1's growing up process and he's really growing too fast!

wendyg,

I see. So is to protect the mum. Errr, never remember of ourselves, always think of baby only :p

mandy_goh / grumpus,

I think half-boiled egg is not suitable for young toddler like our baby. Salmonella infection can be deadly (depending on the species of salmonella and how spread out the virus is) in a body whose immune system not fully developed.

What's the reasons giving them half-boiled instead of full-boiled??? Thought it easier to make full-boiled?

Hi Mei..what's the list for?

Those of you who feed eggs, what form of eggs do u feed and how often? I have been giving hard boiled egg when I started out. NOt sure if it means they can eat any form of egg then?

kam,
Not that serious as pre-eclampsia.

mylvera, wendy
Juz blood pressure as high as 180 & leg swell badly due to water retention. I can't even take epidural, so GA in the end.

BP go back to normal now. Really pray hard that history dun repeat, very scary. If planned c-section, at least still can choose a good date & get myself prepared.

Your #1 & #2 are both c-section too?

mylvera, you got high BP when preggy with #1?

mandy
half cooked/ raw food should be avoided for kids for as long as possible. My husband gives my elder boy half-boiled eggs, but he knows i disapprove.

QQ
no it's not me... mine was 4.5kg but c-sect. Gynae say it was all well in the end, coz natural may get stuck... on the scan only showed 3.6kg, so she was still ok for me to try natural.

JanBB,

That's good. As long as it's not pre-eclampsia, you should be fine. Gynae advises you on certain diet? Avoid salty food. For water retention, drink lots of water. I drank lots of water, and didn't have a single bit of water retention for my 1st pregnancy.

back!
mylife/blessedbaby,
sorry ah. forgot forgot. can u pm me the details once again? sorry.

mummy nick
mummy name
mummy hp
mummy primary email
residence (eg. punggol)
msn
blog
facebook
1st child name
1st child dob
1st child gender
and add on if you've >1 child.

kam, wendy,
i know there's all the talk about salmonella from eggs that are not cooked fully. but to me half boiled eggs are cooked, they are not raw. interpretation perhaps.

anyway, when was the last time you heard somebody get salmonella from undercooked eggs? Our eggs come from chicken farms not kampung

hard boiled eggs are awfully dry and difficult to eat

my girl was 3.785kg on natural with epidural. Hahahaa

Kam, same here, I didn't have single bit of water retention when I was preggie. ;) I ate a lot of fruits.

Mandy, yeah, still in aussie. Am in Perth now. Super hot and dry. ;(

kam
i also drink a lot of water the last preg but dunno why still bad water retention leh. Somemore my job dun require me to walk or move a lot & i always put my legs to rest on a box under my desk. Anyway, so far BP is normal so gynae didn't advise anything & he said each preg is diff.

Yes half boiled eggs are cooked... half cooked.

hard boiled eggs put in soup or porridge.. not too dry in this way.

Last year Prima Deli closure... was due to salmonella.

hammies,
that list is simply a contact list that some of the mummies are asking. so complied to share lor.

pixel,
no lah. initials nia. cos my blog, i usually put their initials