(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

wow pauline shiok leh ... how i wish i can ....

hmmm but guy Jie zhar next time want somemore baby hard liao leh

JanBB, Kam, my #1 now also can sense, she loves to slam her head on my tummy. Then I got to gently tell her cannot, else will injure didi or mei mei. Dont know when she learn all the violent actions, either she slam herself, or she will kick me but sometimes she will also want me to hug her and she will lean on my tummy to sleep like a koala. I know when tum tum bigger then its going to be harder to carry her, but for now, will try to spend more time with her. Now before we both sleep, I will ask her to pat my tum tum and say good night to baby, which she loves.

Kam, I same as you le, for #1 I everything also avoid and try to cut down on cannot eat stuff. But for #2, either experience or bo chap, which I think is more bo chap, I everything also eat except raw food. Worse I have cravings for all the "cannot eat", like pineapple, coffee, soft drinks etc.

pixiepixel, you are very happening le. Bet your hubbie loves to go home all the time :p

JanBB, I also think my hubbie tired at work, even when he comes back SG for hols, its not rest its double hard work since got to entertain me and baby. Anyway, after #2, 1 boy and 1 girl very complete already for you

Superbee, wow June, thats really fast.

Congrats, Steph!! So fast..reminds me of those days when we happily upload our newborn pix..

Kam, congratulations to u as well...

Sleeping pattern/position (only to those currently co-sleeping FULL time)

Would like to ask mommies who are cosleeping/bedsharing with your babies, how does ur baby sleep? For me, i nurse Rylee to sleep on our bed, then i'd roll off and have "me" time, like right now. But i watch her from the video monitor. She can sleep like a clock one leh, kept flipping, turning, say her original sleeping position is 12o clock, 2hours later, it's 6oclock liao. I'm wondering if babies sleeping in cots do the same or not? Is it becos she got so much space???

mylife
xandall flips all over up down left right, sometimes slid onto the floor even...no clockwork turning. doesnt depends on time

fever
my boy has a viral fever last monday, and he recovered on thur, followed by cough and runny nose, even till today. but yest, my mil informed that his fever came back again, always 39.xx, just now she told me he was running fever between 38.9 to 39.4 throughout the night. bufen seems to help to lower down his temp but it will come up very high again.
issit teething huh? or issit virus came back again? if constantly high fever, and bufen doesnt seems to work, what can i do? sian, must take urgent leave and see doc again. if still cannot lower temp, must i go hosp?
1st time leh, high fever strikes within 2 weeks..super helpless

pixie,

cos i everytime use "check new messages" when i login haha kaypoh here n there abit lor .den happen to see her posting there haha

pixie,

It doesn't seem that it's due to teething leh. Anything >38.5C is considered high fever. Teething may, if at all, cause mild fever only. Do you monitor if the fever come and go at a regular time? If I were you, I will bring your child to see doc. Meanwhile, feed him lots and lots of fluid.

angelsky,

pineapple is okay leh (according to Mrs Wong, the lactation specialist at TMC). I eat 1 piece a day during weekdays.

My gynae told me it's safe for me to eat sashimi. She actually encourages me to eat more, cos I am instructed to eat fish at least 3x a week (so she didn't prescribe fish oil to me, get from natural source). But then the same gynae told my friend that she couldn't eat sashimi during her pregnancy. So guess it depends on individual, you may want to check with your gynae.

mylife,

i lie on the bed with lexie until she falls asleep then i roll off and do my own stuff.
she will flip and rotate everywhere on the bed. a couple of times she even flipped/rolled right off.
after i go to bed she still does that so she frequently kicks me or uses me as her pillow or wall to lean on.
i'm convinced it's because she needs so much space thats why she can't sleep in the cot and not the other way round.

mylife,
my hubby & i co-sleep with Jayden, i noticed that he also like to turn like a clock. Almost every nite, i will wake up (NOT 1 time is many times) to turn him back cos he can roll until legs hitting our face (which is your 6o clock position). Guess they juz shift & move their body to a more comfort zone. I realised if i hug him, he sleep better cos warmer as i onz aircon whole nite. Sometimes he flip here & there cos he wet his pants or hungry.

And also if my hubby or i wake up & wash up leaving him alone on the bed. He will just wake up after few minutes. Wonder how cum he so sensitive?? We always try to wake up quietly so as not to alert him but he still can sense it. Then he will get up & sit on the bed until i walk in & smile to me ; )

Yesterday bo eng so never really come in, so much to catch up on!

QQ,
My colleague told me 子宫环 not good. She personally uses it and says easy to get infection especially UTI (urinary tract infection).

Kam,
Agree with Pixiepixel. No need to cut down all carbo but take the good carbo instead of all those processed carbo. When I had #1, my gynae also say can eat pineapple and watermelon...the key is to eat all food in moderation. But he say better don't eat sashimi cos we won't know how fresh it is.

Re: Sleeping
mylife, I don't co-sleep but my boy sleeps like a clock too.

Anyway, my boy has "graduated" from sleep training...yipeee! Took us about 3 weeks since we started with weekend naps and bedtime only and have just asked in-laws to follow our method as well. Happy to say that we can now put him in the cot for naps and bedtime and he'll sleep on his own within 5-10 mins...no protests or crying. When we first started, he would cry for 45 mins to an hour before he fell alseep but gradually the crying/protests reduced and now he's even happy to go into the cot to sleep on his own and he actually naps better and longer this way. Really glad that we persisted and he adjusted well. So sleep training really works!

kam
i also dont think its teething
fever comes fiercely at night, which is standard among our babies. he takes bufen, then temp will drop to 37.xx, and then few hours later, it will come back again. daytime will be temp around 38.xx, at night temp will be around 39.xx
fever comes and go at clockwork, yes. seems like bufen/neurofen doesnt seems to work anymore. maybe hit a plateau? will babies get new bouts of fever in each week like mine?

mei, i have leh. tot xandall keep putting hands in mouth when he was few months old, so i bot mittens. but in the end, never used. i think tollyjoy or pigeon ones. got 2 pairs somemore. 1 pair is "holey" kind...but blue blue leh i think. u keen? or you want newborn mittens/booties?

wah yvonne, please do the honours of posting your steps again. i remember you posted before, but for the sake of our babies (and mummies), post again what steps you took to let your boy takes to sleep training?

mylvera,
nope. i giving a small gift to a friend prior her delivery. u have?

pixie,
blue. hmm. got unisex colour? cos' my friend's baby is girl. what's the difference between newborn and not newborn??? u ok to exchange? anything from my lelong list?

mei,
u want only mitten/booties or those gift set with full set cap, mittens, clothes etc...
i have a lot can give u for a token cos i will never use them and they're just sitting in my cupboard

grumpus,
btw, can u pm me below cos i compiling janmummies list. plan to send out now then realised no your details.

mummy nick
mummy name
mummy hp
mummy primary email
residence (eg. punggol)
msn
blog
facebook
1st child name
1st child dob
1st child gender
and add on if you've >1 child.

gd morning all.... hahaha....
just now in the morning got meeting, tats y didnt log in

saw me in the Oct thread? ya, me just kaypo-ing around... heehee.. no good news at the moment....
and if i have.. u all will be the first to know... !!!! i promise ;)

mei,

i only have:
- tollyjoy booties x 1
- 0-3mths GAP socks x 1
- mothercare eeyore booties 0-3 mths x 1

all brand new. sorry no new mittens

pregnant woman cannot eat pineapple is more of a myth. But for sashimi yes, I think is true to try avoid eating sashimi esp if those non-fresh one. I only eat sashimi after hubby sampling it, tell me okay, fresh, then I eat, and only from good restautrants.

kam & angelsky
How abt watermelon? I'm really craving for cooling watermelon or juices leh. But heard too "liang" can't eat also. Heng, i dun fancy pineapple or sashimi at all even before preggie.

pixie
If u dun want to bring your boy to see doc yet, perhaps u want to ask your mum to boil "Ling yang" & feed your boy a few spoonful? It will reduce high fever. Think more likely is virus fever & it will go up & down for few days.

Anyone knows what is the name of the shop that sells baby stuff in chinatown?? Seng Choon something....cant remember the exact name

mylvera,

Ha, fat chance :-( hubby busy at work..... only have time to go out during the weekends.

JanBB,

I am those type don't believe in myth. I eat everything, but in moderation, and totally avoid those bad food/drink (like coffee, coke). Yesterday just ate watermelon. During CNY time, ate lots of watermelon cos weather damn hot, so shiok to eat some cold watermelon!

<font size="+1">paging for nez! paging for nez!</font>
nestle replied that the nestle instant porridge are safe for consumption. reason for out of stocks now cos' they are sourcing for suitable vendor/raw materials to produce this porridge.

how can i get from u? via SAE? i pm-ed u.

pixie
so u r at work nw or on leave taking care of ur son? hiyo.. better rest well lei.. he needs u... dun fall sick also k
jia you!!.. be strong.
i think it will be good to bring him to a PD ba...

is he still drinking milk? give him bit by bit lor.. cos wait scared he no appetite to take full feed...

Thanks eveyone for ur responses.

Got another question! Need ur advices! Usually rylee wakes up around 7ish, I'd lie on the bed and half sleeping watched over her. She'd play around (I hv babyproofed the bed) until around 8ish and I'll wakeup, nurse her 1st bf and prep bfast for her. Bath around 1030 and naps at 11ish. Lunch will be when she wakes up from her nap (depends). Today I dunno wat to do liao. She wokeup at 7am, I nursed her at 8am and she fell back asleep! Slept until 10am! Routne all haywire! My fren say cud be sleep growth spurt...how ah?

Pixiepixel,
I think mine is considered the cry-it-out method. My boy has regular naps at 10am and 3pm and bedtime is at 9pm. What I do is tell him it's time to nap/sleep and put him in his cot. He will cry/protests/scream/stand-up/throw his pacifier on the floor/etc and I will tell him it's time to nap and lay him down on the cot again. I will leave the room for awhile if it's difficult to watch him cry. Then go back in every 5-10 mins to repeat the process until he finally sleeps. For me, bedtime was easier since the last bottle of milk will usually make him drowsy. It gets easier with each day. Nowadays, I will tell him to sleep and lay him down in the cot and I will also lie down on my bed to rest. Sometimes he will sit up for awhile but most times he will just lie there to talk to himself/clap hands/wave bye bye/flip around for a while and sleep.

It will take a longer time for the first few attempts - he cried the hardest for the first 15-20mins but gradually it became wimping and finally he gave up and slept. So we have to be persistent and a bit hard-hearted...no choice. He took about 2-3 weeks which should be shorter if the sleep training was practised consistently. I started with weekends and bedtime only so he still gets rocked/patted to sleep during the day at my in-laws' place. My in-laws have now started to follow our method and they are surprised that he slept almost immediately when they put him in the playpen. The results are really worth all the frustrations and efforts and we realised he sleeps much better and longer this way as compared to the past.

<font color="ff0000">Just emailed the contact list to the mummies below. If you wish to join list, please PM me. Tks.</font>

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>Mummy Nick </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>aqua </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>babyling </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>babynikkiong </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>babyshannon </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>blackbatz </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>blessed_serene </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>cherylkjh </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>eNemum </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>grumpus </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>icy </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>janbb </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>jess_thomas </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Kam </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>kitsune_sg </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>mei </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>luca </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>lyn78 </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>mandygoh </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>mcfluffy </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>mylvera </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>pixelpixel </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>QQ </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Jacelyn </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>steph77 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>vereneting </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>violetice </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>wendyg </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>ylim</td></tr></table>