(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

hi there, i'm new to this website (been reading the threads for a while now and only just decided to register...). been wondering about food for one year olds (my daughter just turned one) and what variety can i give her. also if the kind of activites you guys do with your kids, esp the SAHM.
jo

Jo,

Welcome!

If your daughter doesn't have food allergic problem, you can give her almost everything (of course, less sugar and less salt principle still apply), with extra caution on seafood and peanut. Observe your kid closely for allergy reaction if you were to intro seafood and peanut (or nuts). Milk is still on, and should be feeding more and more solid. Again, anything, as long as your kid is willing to try/to eat.

Activities at home with my boy - play together with him, let him play alone, read book, watch tv, listen to and sing and dance to nursery rythm or any music, make funny faces and any other thing to make him laugh....... anything and everything!

<font color="aa00aa">BEEF</font>

Any suggestion on cooking other than with porridge? Bought some mince beef yest, still thinking how i should serve it to him. If i stir fried, can put any seasoning not?? Thnx!

WHAM! = George Michael and Andrew Ridgeley.

hi there Jo spy! 1yo can eat all sorts of adult food already! yippee!!! When i'm at home, i make my baby crawl all over the house so that he gets tired and can nap easily. muahahaha, i'm so *evil*

kam
u're most welcome... i read it somewhere but forgot where..

pixie
Yah lor. you working from home ah? new job or been sometime?

Jo
Heee.. my maid handles my boy most of the time. Hahaah... cos i lazy liao. Maybe when he a bit older I bring him to classes lor. Are you a SAHM?

mon2nat
not new job lah. jus that work allows me to do that, quite flexi one mah, but boss not so flexi...
lol

wendy, heng i dun like nuts...so no craving...later eat more bak kwa...

ai, the Frangrant bak kwa.. i bought sliced pork, why tastes like minced pork?!?!?! Next year i buy BCH, everyone pls remind me not to gian the BOX. tks

i've been giving my daughter brown rice mostly, and it's very soft and mashy - almost like porridge. what else do you guys give? i've given her bread and pasta and oats. bread and oats normally for breakfast. i gave her baby pasta but she wasn't too keen on it cos i didn't know what kind of sauce to put so i just put pumpkin mashed. everyday it's usually some meat and veg and the brown rice into the slow cooker... seems rather boring? what else do you guys give?

oh btw minced beef seems a little hard for them to swallow, so i usually slice up small pieces of beef. she seems to be okay with it.

nez: no seasoning cos that'll be too salty. you can try herbs, i've used bay leaves and a little garlic - it's more tasty. (not to our standards but it's good)

wendy, i will bulldoze it into my stomach!!
i oredi told u, good or bad bak kwa i sure eat one...dont make of human meat can liao

those wat prawn meat, ostrich meat all tried liao leh...have u all tried?

every yr my hb scold me say i like something, keep eating non stop lah, no limit lah...so every CNY kena from him. this yr i will retort "u everyday 1 or 2 cups of kopi = me eating bak kwa non stop during CNY lor! if u drop kopi, i will drop bak kwa", perhaps that will shut him up?

wendy,
i bot 1kg. came back liao my colleague told me got get discount bor, i was like "har????GOT DISCOUNT???" wasted 10% discount n now u all say the quality sucks ... haiz... mayb i simply close my eyes n munch with bread lor + egg?? perhaps the egg will cover the taste? haha

ya... discount for my company haha

shd i start offering .. "who wants buy fragrant bak kua at 10% off? i can help buy" haaha

mylvera
hahahaha! aiyah, mei say giap bread and eat, ok leh
u can try bak gwa rice. its like claypot rice. cook as though you are cooking claypot rice, then instead of lup cheong, throw in bak kwa slices/diced...the heat will fry the bak kwa a bit, more tasty bah?
else, u cook pasta, instead of throwing bacon, throw in bak kwa slices lah
i tried both, not bad ley. good for those difficult to clear or those bak kwa sitting in the fridge doing nothing

ya i told husband, if he curbs spending $$ on car &amp; gadgets, i will curb eating. He keep quiet ley... dun think he can do it. muahahaha

ok mylvera, i go to your open house and contribute some of my 1kg to u...

ok mylvera!
fry the bak kwa until fragrant (no pun intended), then the oil left in the pan, can cook some "dong gu" (mushrooms), then once the dong gu absorb the oil that smells oh so nice, add in white sauce (any kind lah), simmer liao, then throw in pasta...
top off with cheese
main ingredient: fragrant bak kwa!

jo, i think this is always a good avenue to vent our frustrations, so yes we are having fun once we nag finish in here heehee

wendy, yeps
i think red sauce not so compatible with bacon/bak kwa kind of ingredients leh...just my 2cents...
i always use cabonara sauce, double whammy leh, will be super fat from the sauce and the bak kwa...

just looking through a couple more of the earlier threads. were you guys all here since the time you gave birth or were pregnant? and haven't seen pixs of your kids...

mylvera
i wasnt here since the day i discovered i was preggy...it was into my 2nd trimester that i logged on, or ard there...lazy and MS mah...just dont want to do anything
then i lurked silently...only ending of my preg then i started toking

i slow starter

<font color="0000ff">JanBB,</font>

Thanks for voting! Ya, aiming for free pampers! LOL!

<font color="0000ff">Kitsune,</font>

Happy 1st Birthday to RaeAnne!
Understand how you feel. Felt the same way too. But I guessed we should look forward and not backward. Toddler years are great too! Many first time stuffs, like first word, first sentence, first step etc. Anyway, if ever you feel like cuddling a baby, go for NUMBER 2!