(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

<font size="+2">MORE cny questions...</font>
this set is abit sensitive. just for fun.

how many years have u received ang pows?
how many years have u been giving out ang pows?
what was the highest you received?
what was the lowest you received?

do you still receive ang pows since u married now?
receive from who? how much?

how much u giving ang pow this year:-
to parents
to inlaws
to your kid(s)
to other kids
to colls
any others?

ang pows ur kid(s) receive, do you keep for them in their own bank account or you save it for yourself?

<font size="+2">...start answering...</font>

->errr all my non married years lor
->3 years
->cannot remember
->$4!!

->yes
->my parents, usually 80$...nowadays recession, i think $20 or $50

to parents
->$80 each bah
to inlaws
->my hb takes care of his side, i dont care
to your kid(s)
->nil
to other kids
->$8 usually, but those i hardly know, $6. for my nephews and nieces, $10 each
to colls
->nil
any others?
->maybe to my pt cleaner

ang pows ur kid(s) receive, do you keep for them in their own bank account or you save it for yourself?
->keep in my boy's bank a/c

Just heard from my friends that in Singapore, the "market rate" for ang pao is $6 or more??? Even for someone that you are not close to, also give at least $6???

wah, mei.. i waited one whole afternn for ur questions... keke....
here it goes:

hmmm.... 22??
hmm.... 1 year.. haha
$88
$2

yesshh....
from parents... $28? canot remember

to parents
$100 per pax
to inlaws
$100 per pax
to your kid(s)
$88
to other kids
$8
to colls
nahhhhhh
any others?

keep in his bank lor.. otherwise wait next time he got thousand and one questions to ask me... haha

can i ask u all a question..
since our kid is turning 1 or has turned 1... are u going to change their feeding schedule? cos by right the milk intake per day should have changed already rite?

i am thinking of bread and milk for breakfast, porridge for lunch and dinner... so a few hours after lunch and dinner then milk....

Care to share???

Jess,

I haven't change my boy's schedule, cos CNY is coming. When we are back home, everything will be out of my control, my mum will be cooking for him, and he will be very busy playing with new friends and exploring new environment, and we will be travelling a bit also, and probably he will be eating a lot of those CNY thingy also. So will only change when we come back to Singapore. Don't have any idea yet as of now. But I will ask my son's teachers and see what he recommends. Or can try to google?

my turn to share:

> all single years lor...since 1970s...haha (those read my blog shld know me how old this year!), PLUS the first married year. cos' first married year still can collect angpows mah.

> from 2nd married year onwards (excluding giving parents since started work)...abt 3 yrs? ya think so. this year 4th year.

> $xxxx. joint for me and hb

> $2. luckily sgd. else if ringgit, i faint.

> yes.

> who else but my dear parents.

to parents -> $100-188 each
to inlaws -> same as pixie. hb takes care of his own side. thus we fork out money for our own family sides.
to your kid(s) -> $80-100
to other kids -> range from $4 to $10, depending on closeness and whether i like that person or not.
to colls -> $4-$20, depending on jiao-qing.
any others? -> neighbours kids (who always help my ma to keep clothes when rain).

> keep in their own bank. else if i keep for myself, i sure spend.

Re: baby drinking Friso step 2...to intro step3

I just called up Friso to ask for free step 3 sachets &amp; also how to intro step 3 since it's for 1-3yrs old &amp; step 2 is 7-18mths. The lady told me we can switch now (after bb turned 1) or until they r 18mths. I asked her what is the difference in the FM...she say it's taste &amp; nutrients value. I asked if Friso3 is sweeter in taste, she say subjective.
On how to intro step3 - say if baby is taking 210ml, just add 7 scope of Friso 2 in the morning feed &amp; afternoon 7 scope of Friso 3 &amp; monitor for a week. If baby no problem then ok to switch completely

thanks pixie and kam, the joke is, i just got out of the car, haven even buy anything already wanna faint.

How many years have u received ang pows?
28 years

4 years
$250
nothing, i think was just some calendar paper.

yup
my parents lo, hmmm $50 on eve and $50 on the first day

to parents
less to them, more to my grandparents. maybe $50 each.
to inlaws
zero.
to your kid(s)
hmmm zero? coz spend alot of money on her already le. maybe small one only.

to other kids
usually $6

to colls
no need

any others?
guess not ba.

for her bank account for her school fees next time.

jess, i have been giving my girl bread and milk for breakfast for a while, she getting bored already. Now also looking for variety, coz her food intake depends on her mood.

mei...
ya lor.. it recommeded 2 intakes per day mah.. so just wana check with u all how are u all going to plan? my mum keep saying i starve Javier.. faintz.....

i see tat for the 1 year old one... it is 2 intakes per day lei.. each time 240ml.....

my boy from 9 months like tat then 3 intakes per day liao, each time 210 ml....

hee... i also better call up enfa to check... hahaha.... my colleague's daughter 3 years old liao.. also take milk after each meal... so i guess it depends on their demand as well....

i think all about the baby/kid's demands bah...
my boy is taking 4 intakes of 200ml per feed...
i think 2 intakes not enough bah?

kam, i guess so. now at least is $6, last time when i was young, at least $4...now normal give $6 but usually i receive $8 from people...$10 for closer ones...$20 if the relative is rich...

yah man, any ideas for bfast?
i give a milk feed when he wakes up. usually he will still ask for food. so i give bread. else i share my 3-in-1 cereal with him, or my cornflakes. else whatever bfast im eating he eats too...kueh, porridge, bee hoon...bah zhang he oso tried b4

How many years have u received ang pows?
> as long as I have lived....

> since I was married

> can't remember, a few hundreds?

> RM0.40, not even in ang pao, only wrapped in red paper, when I was in primary school time.

> Yup!

> my parents and IL. Varies every year from RM10 to RM100.

to parents
> we give quite a lot to each of our parents

to your kid(s)
> haven't decided yet.

to other kids
> 2 years ago, I gave RM50 for very close ones, RM10 to relative, RM2 to non-relative. This year don't know. Have to discuss with hubby first. Anyway, mine is all in RM, so save me lots of money :)

to colls
> colls = colleagues? didn't give

any others?
> My siblings who has not married yet. Friends younger than me and have not married.

> Keep for him, no account yet. Money intact with the ang pao in my drawer.

kam,
wah u keep in drawer. will go missing or not? i cannot leave money ard. i sure to spend it. haha...

btw how is cny like in msia?

Jess, I thinking of giving bread and milk too. Make my life easier next time, hoho.

Steph, the Friso lady advice like very vague leh. So, should switch to Friso3 or not ah?

mei,

used to be very nice, very happening, since everyone travels long way back home for the reunion.

But now is changing. A lot of those young couples living in city don't bother going home for the reunion anymore, say heavy traffic lah, kids can't adapt to the rural environment lah, work commitment lah, even blame mosquito lah, etc.

And since the government has banned the firecraker years ago, even more boring. Really really boring, the noise makes from the firecraker can "enhance" the new year feel a lot. Those lion dance also becomes boring without the firecraker.....

It's mainly a good time catching up with relatives and friends, who we only see them once or twice a year. Then the usual thing.... eat, chat, play card, etc.

26 years plus 1st year of marriage.

6 years

$48??? can't remember

$4 from my husband side...my side lowest also got $10.

Yes, from parents &amp; in-laws

about $28 - $50

to parents - $100 each
to inlaws - $100 each
to your kid(s) - I forgot about my own son...keke...maybe $100 also??
to other kids - $24 for un-wed siblings &amp; my nieces/nephews, $16 for my cousins, $10 for friends' kids and my husband side relatives.
to colls - ehh...never give before.
any others? - No

Their own bank account.

any reunion meal for you?
Yes, now that I'm married, we'll go to my in laws' place then rushed to my mum's place which will be at my granny's place with whole lot of people! At least 40+

reunion lunch or dinner or supper or high-tea?
SteamBoat!

do you enjoy reunion meal?
I enjoyed the gathering/company.

dine in or out?
Usually dine in, if not, in Chinese restaurant.

dine in where? dine out where?
House or Restaurant.

who pay for reunion meal?
I also haven't contributed a single cent.

what u have/had/having for reunion meal?
Steamboat, with crayfish, big prawns, big fish, abalone, mussels, clams, all sort of seafood!

do you help in washing?
Nope, the maids from my aunt's or cousin's will do so.

which side eat first? your family side or your hubby side?

Hubby's side but will try to reach my granny's place before 9pm.

do u have your own family reunion meal (i.e u, ur hb and ur prince/princess)?
Hmm, never think about it.

what do u do after reunion meal?

Free manicure services for my aunts, cousins, sis, mum etc.

talking about hubby's part on housework:
I was ironing a pile of clothes just now..and I hated most to iron pants so I asked hubby to iron pants...he replied "I am not Ironpants, I am Ironman." Idiot man. I just asked him to complete the job.

verene, I hate ironing too but I hate ironing men's shirts most, so many parts to iron. After I iron this part, the other part gets crumpled. :p

any reunion meal for you?

<font color="0000ff">this year, I asked my MIL to come over to dine with us at our new house, BIL and future wife too with my parents</font>

reunion lunch or dinner or supper or high-tea?

<font color="0000ff">SteamBoat, I always prefer this.</font>

do you enjoy reunion meal?

<font color="0000ff">I enjoyed eating in at home</font>

dine in or out?

<font color="0000ff">I prefer to dine in</font>

dine in where? dine out where?

<font color="0000ff">home. Last time before marriage, used to eat at restaurant with granny and relatives.</font>

who pay for reunion meal?

<font color="0000ff">hubby, mum and myself...I will buy yusheng, hubby will reimburse my mum for the ingredients but my mum always take less</font>

what u have/had/having for reunion meal?

<font color="0000ff">all the usual steamboat essentials...meat, fish, prawns, vege, tofu, mushrooms...all from market fresh cos my mum works in the market...she will do pre-order</font>

do you help in washing?

<font color="0000ff">I will help out</font>

which side eat first? your family side or your hubby side?

<font color="0000ff">this year, only eat 1 time, cos my parents joining MIL and us together. Not going to eat with paternal relatives as they are eating on their own too</font>

do u have your own family reunion meal (i.e u, ur hb and ur prince/princess)?

<font color="0000ff">mine...in all in 1 so I will not have another one</font>

what do u do after reunion meal?

<font color="0000ff">watch TV, surf net, play games, chat or wait to go chinatown if hubby wants to go</font>

kitsune,
Ya..I totally agree too. Cos, most of the time, I got to re-iron when I saw wrinkles on the shirt after I hang it on the hanger. I will take a long time to finish ironing the mountain pile of clothings.

VioletIce,

NICE photos!!!!! So many cute and nice photos of Ian, and the family ones also. There are a few with the CNY custom one super nice, the one holding the 2 mandarin and the one with the spectacles on......... NICE NICE NICE!!!

violetice
ian soooo adorable!! and he so cooperative in takin the photos. $ well spent!

blackbatz,
add to my thread? haha...no lah. just copy and paste lor.

Verene/Kitsune,
Totally agree on the ironing of hubby's shirt and pants. Takes me like 15-20 mins to complete 1 shirt! I kinda enjoy ironing...when I was childless! Now really no time plus I have to iron my own working clothes as well. We used to send the shirts to the laundry after my boy arrived but hubby complained it's not washed &amp; iron properly so now my mil wash and iron his shirts since we go over after work and hubby will change to t-shirt before going home...hehehe. Not my idea but he says my mil got nothing to do on weekends so he keep her occupied...duh.

violetIce,
Ian is very photogenic! He's so natural in front of the camera...you can bring him to audition for commercials!