(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

the next injection is when they are at their 15th month rite? I am nt giving Javier any other injections like chicken pox, rotavirus etc... shld be okie ba?

Jess,

i found this, quite gd info

<font color="0000ff">Re: optional vaccinations</font>
http://www.family.sg/HEALTH/2006/09/14/en-us/0000008/article.aspx
so far, me only let Zander have 6in1 &amp; Rotarix Oral. The next compulsory jab would be when he is 15mth &amp; 18mths.

Steph

think my hubby dun wana let Javier take all these optional vaccinations cos he is being taken care of at home.
I am still wondering if shld take cos i wana put him in childcare when he is 3year old, still long way to go though...

Jess,
is the cost of the vaccinations the reason y ur son is not takin the optional vaccinations?

I'm the typical kiasu n kiasi mum when come to vaccinations, dun wana have any regrets in future for not taking it.

pixie,
u r 1 of the lucky few who can get to meet wendy hehe :p wats wrong with ur car anyway?

jess,

I vaguely remember someone said that some of the vacination get cheaper if you give your kid at an older age, don't know if this is true....

For Hao Re, it's ALL kind of vaccination since he is in infant care! His next one coming up is this week, when he turns 1 year old.

My personal view - even if your child is being taken care of at home, but if you still bring your kid out and oftenly contact/interact with other kids, it's best to get the vacination (esp those nasty diseases like pneumococcal and rotavirus). If you believe that prevention is better than cure.

luca
2 concerns i have. does the vaccinations really help? cos i have heard of many who took the vaccines but still fall sick. my relative took her son to the vaccine, end up fever until hospitalised. will the vaccine weaken their immune system?
the next concern is of cos the costs..

luca
haha, wendy is that elusive eh? i never say i met her leh, u all guess guess nia

my car, nothing wrong. i just wish its bigger, like a 7 seater or what for my family. wrong choice, and petrol guzzler. then my hb nag nag at the expenses, in the end i need to pay some $$, when i dont have to. sian!

Kam,

Does Hao re fall sick easily when he is in child care? Cos i am planning to put Javin to Wharton Acadamy when he turn 18months. But heard many pple saying that toddlers goes to child care always sick one....This mkes me to have a second thought.

i am checking again to see if anyone has lobang for nanny. my colleague doing her confinement now is looking for a nanny to take care of her son when she resume work.
pm me if have such lobang!

Jacelyn,
i thot u have maid to take care of Javin? Why put to childcare? I hope i can delay putting Zander to childcare until he is 20mths or older. If not for #2, we dun have to consider this option cos PIL can't cope with 2.

Jess,

It depends of which vaccination you are talking about. If it's flu vaccination, then it's no guarentee, since there are so many different species, and so the jab you are taking may not work for that species (and the healthcare specialists always predict the wrong species every year, so ended flu jab for nothing).

But if it's for vaccination like Hep B, Hep A, Chicken pox, Pneumococcal, rotavirus, etc, these viruses have either haven't been evolved so much or have been known very well. So the vacciation usually very effective, almost guarantee you won't catch the disease once you got the jab.

For your neighbour case, you have to find out which vacciation did the kid take and what causes the fever. Then you make the judgement. It's all scientifically make sense.

Jacelyn:

Maybe we should start some counting here to see if it's really true baby at infant care get sick more often than those taken care at home......

Hao Re (up to 1 year old) - 1x cough, 1x cough+running nose, 1x suspected HFMD (very high fever+mouth ulcer), 1x stomach flu. Total 4 times.

I think it's okay for babies to fall sick as their immune system has not matured. So for Hao Re, I don't relate his illness to the infant care. It's normal for him to fall sick.

kam
thanks... i am thinking of taking the rotavirus only. cos this one is for diarroea rite?
Pheumococcal i am still thinking....
is tat any condition like over what age cannot take for these 2?
Chicken pox is to prevent it from coming out? hmm... y dun just let then chicken pox come out? sorry ah.. clueless about this...

Jess,
dont think the vaccine will weaken their immune system lar, else why would they introduced vaccinations in the 1st place?

Jacelyn, i also heard people saying that too. I worries abt my #1 who is going childcare in Jan.
Its like a part n parcel that kids will fall sick when put in infant and childcare, as they are in a different kind of "environment", their immune system will take time to get used to it.

Kam,
Actually i really pei fu u leh, despite Hao Re fall sick often in infant care, u still cope things so well.

pixie,
nvr meh? then hw come she pm u her hp no?

Luca,

It's not the enviroment that causing the sickness, but it's the constant contact with other kids, so higher chance to get bugs from others, when their immune system hasn't been built up yet.

It's not always true. Hao Re has 1 classmate, who fell sick so often when being taken care at home. Since he came to the infant care, he is much more healthier. But then again, could be due to his is older now so immune system better, or if really the school a better environment for him???

Haha.... I got nervous also when Hao Re falls sick..... but my hubby is always calm, so it helps a lot. And I trust and respect their professionalism in handling kids. So I never blame them for anything. If you can't trust the school, then you have a HARD TIME when your kid start childcare later.

luca, u follow the thread like a hawk leh, wah sey, eagle eyes

maybe we sms each other and she mms me her car's pic?? LOL
i shant tell u whether i meet her or not, else kena by wendy ley

Bebe yan ! Yes Tate scream a lot too ! he scream and hit his sister ! he screams when he needs attention ! he screams when the sister try to share his toys ! I really wonder why he has this selfish nature where nobody teaches him to be selfish !

Steph,

be careful when u use the Ameda pump. The suction is more powerful the Medala. The knob is to adjust the rythem and suction speed. Always start at the minimum. Handle the valve carefully its fragile.

Kam,
so i should actually be worrying abt the children who will be in my son's class, hope they dont fall sick and pass the bugs to him?

Pixie,
no lar, i havent read the thread since last wed, only roughly skim through the archive when i logged in, and happened to c ur secret meeting with wendy..:p

Kam,

After i read the history of Hao Re illness, Javin is also not much better though he is at home. Well maybe its really their immune system not fully matured that's y fall sick easily.

Steph,

Talking about maids, i give up already. I hired a total of 5 maids since Mar!!! All cannot last more than 3 months. Now the 5th maid here for 2 weeks say "baby difficult to take care, i wan to go back agency!!!" I wanna faint liao. CNY coming and she dun wanna wk. I talk to her tell her to consider again. Hopefully can "tong" till CNY over. Then she can do wad ever she wan i also dun care.

Jacelyn
how come the maids like tat? did u talk to the agency? it seems like the maids they have not of quality.....
can say which agency u go to?

jacelyn,

erm.. u nv get to drink kopi with MOM ar? i wonder wat's the kopi like. my maid is going home next march n wun be coming back.. nid to go thro all the hassle again ...sianz... am prepared to drink kopi with MOM haha cos i will keep changing till i like :p

Re: Jabs

So far, took 6 in 1, rotarvirus and scheduled for chicken pox in Jan..had signed a package for necessary jabs till 18m. havent take Pneumococcal.

mylvera,
Same here, mine ends in may. Urs is indo or philipines? what kinda maid do u like?
so hard to find good maids nowadays.

I got pooh bear banner and a bouquet of pooh bear No.1 balloon for sale. Also a brand new packet of 2 pcs 1st birthday treat bag.
anyone interested?

Luca,

You are 50% right. The other 50% - your kid can fall sick and pass the bugs to others also :) So ALL MUMMIES are big worrier.........

At Hao Re's school, they clean the whole house everyday, clean toys at least once a week, a couple of spring cleaning every year, they wash their hands in between handling different babies, use those Dettol sensitizer (?) often.... do their best to not to spread bugs, but then you can't avoid when the kids are playing together. General rule is kid who falls sick shouldn't go to school, but then they are incubation period, ie, the kid already gets the bug, but haven't got the symptom yet. So really difficult to avoid...... Sometime adults also spread bugs easily, those bugs not harmful in adult (as carrier), but when spread to kids, can be pretty harmful.... how to avoid........

Talking about sickness, I am sick myself. Will see doctor now to get 0.5 day mc today and hope tomorrow also mc :)

luca,

mine is indo. i prefer married with kids type cos those single mite not know how to take care of kids. as for nationality, think will stick to indo cos cheaper? getting harder to find maid liao ... i jz complained abt my sis maid to some frds..

anyone got good agency to recommend? my previous agent increase the fee to 800+ or 900+ liao .. so EXP!

Jacelyn,
i bought an extra valve &amp; bellow to standby. Does these items damage easily? What other spare parts do u reckon to standby for Ameda?

mylvera,
nowadays so ex to employ maids...the agency fees so ex ah?...incl levy fee too? govt got subsidize? How abt the agency Nation? the one that Xiang Yun advert in?

jess,

no .. i heard bad comments on Nation. I went to Admore, recommended by my ex-colleague. that time the fees was definitely not that exp. tink was abt 300+

ya new car.. after the $2 COE, husband cheong to test drive &amp; book it. but mine is 1800cc, so not $2 COE. but anyways now the car prices quite low, just too bad that we commit so much cash on a depreciating asset. But husband needs for work, what to do. Prev car already 6.5 yr old. Needs more $$ to service &amp; replace parts.

i'm not so elusive la.. just that my schedule revolves around 2 kids, so can't really join for gatherings. but then hor, many hv met me to vouch that i'm not a fictional character ley. Verene, Mom2Nat, Fishia, babe, Luvv, kitsune, blackbatz... and sommore i can't remember who la.

mylvera
okiez... but i think it is rather expensive...
for mine, though i pay lesser, their service is really terrible.... but lucky is the one tat eventually came to my place was gd. she is hardworking.

wendy,

haha may i suggest a gathering at yr place? haha jz joking... i know how it feels to have 2 kids ard us. simply no time for ourselves

Mylvera
i used to host.. when i had only 1 kid. Now my place simply too messy for gatherings. I hv no time to pack my family's wardrobes.. clothes spilling all over the place, occupying half the sofa etc. Toys so messy everywhere, despite 5 Toyogo boxes... i go home rush rush, makan &amp; pump &amp; shower, then baby comes back and i hv to tend to him.. he's so clingy nowadays, can't play by himself. Thankfully husband understands and doesn't pressure me to pack up. i'm doing my best lo.

Re: New Car

wendyg, so now u have two car? Your 1.8cc is MPV/SUV/sedan? For new car owners, it's a gd time to buy a new car if really need one cos prices so low now. For me, i still need to fork out 10K to get rid of my 3 yr old car! Not worth it la so have to carry on driving the car for another 2 to 3yrs to break even.

Sigh...just heard from management this morning that next year Feb, there will be another retrenchment exercise

wendy,

my living room floor is covered with toys, lego toys, thomas engines, even jigsaw puzzle even with a maid around. den we also guilty of stuffing my spare rooms with junks haha

yday was worse. suddenly my #1 clingy to me. he doesn't want my MIL only want me to carry him. he was cranky and crying/screaming so loudly that he woke his brother up. my hb cannot calm the baby and end up i need to tend to my baby n carry my #1 at the same time. lucky my #1 was willing to lie next to me while i hug him n breastfeed #2 at the same time.

wendy
when i saw the plate, i was thinking "wah! new car!" but dun dare to comment, heehee
we bot ours few mths ago too. was contemplating between your make and mine, in the end i bot my current one. the drive just feels...different...

so ur boy sick or not?

i lost hope in selling off the MPoko, heng u bot it arhh...

kam, ask doc for mc tmr oso lah, then whole week almost no need to work liao leh....

wah mylvera
power leh!! 1 on each side!!

yesterday early morning i.e. 4am my boy was screaming in his sleep too. i guess he wanted a good position to sleep, but couldnt find it. i just dont know why he needs to spend at least half an hr to an hr everynight to find a good position before he can shut his eyes. in the end, i tried all his fav position but all he dont like, i had to hold him in my arms...and i sat down on the bed cross legged and slept for the good half of my sleep in that position...now my hands muscle ache like crazy.
i tried to lower my arms and rest on pillow but just a tiny movement he will start screaming so i really had no choice but to froze in that position...

think all our home are in a similar state, be it with or without a maid.... and nw i think about spring cleaning for CNY, i am so sianz. seems like never can clean finish.. =_="