(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

hi jess,

how u create the artistic word "invitation"?is it normal font?cos can see design on the letters,
can email me a copy of the card?

hi mei,

hold bdae outside,then no need to clean up or mop the place

Sorry to intrude. I am a Dec 07 mummy. As my boy's birthday is over, I have very new sesame street theme decor for sale.

Kindly PM for pics if interested.

Hi Mei, sorry. Didn't log on for the past few days cos on leave. Guess u went to the Isetan sales already. Pai seh.

Usually I will ask the salesgirl how much discount they will be having. From there will know how much can save. But one thing is that it's troublesome to go down there a few times unless our office/home is near Ochard.

Wishing all the mummies here a belated Merry Christmas and have a wonderful Year 2009 ahead!!

godsent
i am nt going to buy any figurines.. just going to buy a simple winnie the pooh cake.. hehee...

goodbb
the soft copy is in office.. i send it to u on monday okiez?
u can pm me to remind me.. just in case i forget..

Have u started planning for ur gal's birthday yet? Was so busy packing stuff from my house till yesterday. Movers came today, so sad to leave my house. Very boring Xmas for me. No presents..sob!!

I went to order Zach's birthday cake from Pine Garden, Lychee Martini, Semsame street theme. Freak out by Coffeebean's poor service. Told me they need 4 working days to process order. The assistant manager was reluctant to call and check for me. Asked me to call office directly tomorrow.

Luckily, didn't join the queue for Isetan sale cos it stretches round the building, then the clock tower, then all the way till the bus stop in front of Thai embassy. If I appear on TV, die liao..

Blackbatz
Hahaha ur last line had me ROFL. Whenever I see queue I also scared kena featured on TV. The last time I did that was during a launch of World of Warcraft game extension. Supa long cute at Suntec and tv coverage also. I took half day to go there and get my hands on the game firsthand. See TV cam got to siam. Mostly Uni guys and there I was all dressed up in suits. Yuck.

Yup, already planning for Rylee's bday bash. I'm a bit pissed off with the party organizer. Hired them cos initially tot I'll be too busy to plan anything. Paid deposit liao but end up I find myself doing a lot of coordination myself! Cake shop, bouncy castle, hire photographer etc. She jus designed cards and do decor and entertainment. Definitely not worth the price she's charging...what to do, paid deposit liao. Just hv to kick myselffor being such a sucker toot.
must cheer up n look fwd to the day itself for my gal's sake!

Bathing baby
I am still using the Ikea bath tub inside my bathroom for Rylee. Used to carry her on my lap to wash hair like newborns...only recently do the "pour water over head". Now she used to it liao. Will wait till she can stand steadily w/o support then will shift her to the bath tub area and use the shower head to shower her! But she very kaypoh always shift here n there leh.

Wendy
Hats off to u! Can wet the whole floor!

FOTO-U

Some Mummies here have tried Foto-U, am thinking of bringing Baby Ian to take some studio pics to mark his 1 year old. How much did you gals paid? Also, how many photographs to be taken back, negatives etc?

wow.. violetice, i love the balloons... where did you go and inflate them? how many altogether? i cannot quite estimate how many i should get. haha...

violetice, u all really made it big for the celebrations. I am sure Ian loved it when he looked back....now I think mine is gonna be real simple.

violetice: i intend to do e sesame street theme for my bb 1st yr birthday too.. whr can i get e sesame street banner and e rest deco?

Violetice,
saw the pics posted in ur blog..really nice cakes. Wished my hubby allowed me to do a two tier cake but we are not having many guests.

I also bought the same backdrop from partypro..Now I can't wait to see mine when I put it up on the 31st. I bought mylar balloons, will bring them to the United Square to blow up.

PG biz is really good. So many people were ordering cakes when I was there yesterday.

afternoon mummies

went to robinson sale yesterday, faint oso
everywhere long queue for payment. spent more time navigating thru the crowds and waiting for payment than shopping. somemore lugging xandall along, wasnt a very eventful trip. i bought a pair of shoes. nothing else. bah!!

Re : bathing baby

I'm still the newborn method leh... meaning clean his eyes, mouth and put him sitting position in the tub with a few drops of J&J baby bath leh :p:p:p

Shd I upgrade him with soaping him all over and spray on him ? I have not tried pouring water over his head too :p

Tate is turning 1 on Monday ! 29 Dec ! hehehe... throwing a simple party at my mum's home tomorrow.

btw... I'm quite worry that he is not crawling with his hands and knees yet. He's still using the "commando style" of crawling. If not, he will use his butt and leg at a sitting position to move around ! should I worry huh ? Can I consult his PD huh ?

Hi Violetlce

I've tried Foto U before and with this photographer named Benjamin. I've wanted to take David (another photographer) as I would prefer his style of photography against Benjamin's. But David was fully booked the other time so I have to settle with Ben.

I paid $150 for weekend rate. 1 hour of unlimited shooting with 2 outfit change for your child. A total of max 5 pax are allowed to be included in the foto shoot. Props are all provided by the studio. All soft copy are given back to you in a CD immediately after your shoot. Bring the CD home, take your time to browse thru all fotos and select the best 3 which he will develop into 8R and send to you later.

Chaye
Ay, my son oso can't crawl well. I think oso cos we attend too much to him. Anyway u bringing him for 1 yr old check up right? Ask PD then lor.

Oh Mom2nat ! It's you ah... u told me before that your boy crawl with commando style hor. 1 yr old got check up meh ? No have leh.

<font color="aa00aa">babe,</font>

Honestly, I think the party is more for me and Hubby than Ian. He probably won't even remembered a tiny bit and some people might even think it's a waste of time, money and effort to even plan a party for a 1 year old but for me, I know I would not be able to get pass myself if I didn't give him some "memories" in a way for his very 1st Birthday. At least there are photographs and video taken for him to view when he is older. I remembered when my Mum showed me my own 1st Birthday and though I don't remembered how it was, the pictures were significant to me. As for party packs, I didn't prepared any party packs because I have more older kids in the family than those toddlers. Thus, I bought a lot of Sesame Street Hankies, rolled them up and tie with a glitter silver ribbon as door gift. They loved it. Adults even.

<font color="aa00aa">Lynn,</font>
It's quite tough to find those Sesame Street stuffs nowadays. I thought it was easy too but to my dismay, I had a hard time searching for it. I went to this Party shop at CentrePoint, level 5 and got them there but most of everything is either last piece or no stock. If you want, I can sell mine to you cheaply. If you don't mind using, that is.

<font color="aa00aa">Mcfluffy,</font>

I paid $138.

<font color="aa00aa">BlackBatz,</font>

I'm super pissed off with PG. They brought the cake and the icing melted. The "Happy Birthday" letterings melted and were crooked. Hubby was so shocked when he saw the cake. The delivery man said they will send someone to replace the icing in half an hour but we waited for almost 2 and a half hours for that person to come. And the person's attitude wasn't even pleasant. Super angry I tell you. Till now, they can't even give me a satisfactory answer! You better check when they come. They were late for my delivery too. Supposed to be 5pm, in the end, came around 7pm plus, with the cake spolit, half my guests gone and so pai sei to make them wait for cake cutting. Argh!!

<font color="aa00aa">Chaye,</font>

Do you think they're good? $150 seems ok right?

RE: Clingy Baby

Mummies, I don't know what happened to Ian recently. He's super clingy to me nowadays. Even when I smacked his butt because he's naughty, he'll cry and still crawled to me but when Hubby tried to comfort him, he'll cry even louder and wants to come my way. Hubby is so sad because Ian doesn't want him. When shopping, he also wants me to carry, I think he wants to break my arms. =(

It can't be separation anxiety right? So long liao.

Violetice,
PG has a cluase in the cake order form that delivery is subcontracted to external party.

If the birthday is on a small scale at home, what suggestions do u have for food?

so far, I have planned chicken wings, mee siam, fried rice, sushi. Can help me to think of more? Thanks.

<font color="aa00aa">BlackBatz,</font>

Whether subcontracted or not, responsbility shouldn't be shrirked. Melting of icing is not because of delivery. Lateness probably but they should have ownership as well. Why would I order a 3 kg cake if they came so late and my guests have to leave before the cake cutting?

<font color="aa00aa">Blackbatz,</font>

Think you can choose finger food. Fishballs, Nuggets, Prawn/Caesar Salad, Spring Rolls, Otah, etc.

Blackbatz: i celebrating my bb birthday on his actual day which is next sat 3rd Jan.. small celebration wif family members only as flying off to hk on 4Jan wif bb, decide to hav sesame street theme for his birthday. i already ordered a few packs of balloon, pooh 1st candle, sesame st paper plates online during Nov too cos cant decide e theme yet.
i got Xmas potluck on 24 &amp; 25dec at my hse, used up a lot of balloons now only left wif a few...

Violetice: thks for ur info.. will chk out e store soon.. i still waiting for e quote of e cake as i hav decided e design for it but not fr PG as they r unable to do e design which i wanted.. not easy to plan everything: birthday menu, design of his cake, birthday deco, my 1st hk trip wif bb etc..

Violetice,
Agree. Icing shouldn't melt. I hope mine goes well. Overall, I think ur son's party is quite well organised from the pics.

icy,
yup rec'd yr mail but the hotmail site having some technical problems now. Will access again tmrl &amp; reply.
Oh...btw, i bought a BN Ameda Lactaline instead of 2nd hand. Can i chk if u sterilize the cap, tube &amp; double connector ? cos instructions say boil all parts except these &amp; wash in water then rinse clean. Izit clean enuff if we just wash with water &amp; not with sterilizer? I am afraid the tube will trap left over residue of BM wor? Can i say we only sterilize the valve, bellow, breast shell &amp; milk bottle ? Errr...last two Qs...how do i test the pump if working prior actual pumping? The Cycles control knob is to control the suction rhythm speed or ? How izit diff from Vacuum control knob? TIA
blur me 1st time using ameda pump!

steph
er, i can only answer 1 of your qstn: i'm quite sure tht breastmilk will not travel in the tubes. dat's why they say no need to sterilise.

violet

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/formula/sterilising/#8

How long should I continue sterilising?

It is certainly necessary to sterilise bottle-feeding equipment for at least your child's first year. Although you may think sterilising is rather pointless when your baby is putting all sorts in his mouth, an infant's immune system is still immature and susceptible to infection between the ages of six and twelve months and the bugs that stick to milk curds in partially-cleansed bottles can be particularly nasty. By the time your baby is one year old she has started to produce her own antibodies and is more resistant to harmful germs. However, it's a good idea to carry on sterilising bottles, dummies and teats until your child stops using them.

Finally, my boy's bd party ended. I was busy cleaning up my place just now. got quite a bulk of left over catering food..think tomolo and day after no need cook dinner..we cut the cake late cos waiting for MIL to come..by then most of the guests left. so the cake also left half. Overall, it is still fun cos I got so many kids at my house for the first time. My boy skipped his afternoon nap and played so much.

morning all,

short week again this week .. haha yeah ... after this wed ... i will only see my boss face on 12 jan!! finally a long long break fr her haha

chaye
I tot 1 yr old need to go for jabs? I think by then can take chicken pox. And dunno if due for pneumococcal. I oso can't rem if Elliot took 2 or 3 liao.

Mom2nat,

Are you bring your child for chicken pox injection? Do you know the cost and how much doses must take for a one year old baby. My son going to take the injection next week.

another short work week, today and tomorrow work nia. after that, 5 days of bonding with my boy, yippppeee!!

wendy, nice carrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr, i like. almost bot it but in the end got another

Violetlce

Ya for $150 ok la... v cheap. Is yours still the same package ?

Mom2nat
Oh ya may have to jab pneunmococcal ! but not chicken pox I think.

Celebrated my boy's birthday yesterday at my mum's place...it was birthday cum x'mas celebration so we had turkey, ham, etc with his birthday cake. Ordered a 1kg Elmo design cake from Polar...nice cake and only cost about $35. But my boy went 'blur' when everyone gathered around him to sing birthday song...so funny.

wendyg,
I stopped sterilising his bottles a few months ago. My Pigeon steam steriliser is now sitting on my kitchen top collecting dust.