(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

icy,
are u using Ameda pump now? Izit gd?
The mummy bought from mumsfairy at $468 & she wanna let go at $390 for pump+supershield plus+handsfree+fridge to go. I dun have that budget so i get the pump only & she offer me $250 (warranty till Oct09). I am just wondering if the flexishield & the supershield(pump body/funnel) is the same thing? or different?

Re: Fever

Aiyo...my MIL just called & informed that my boy running fever at 38deg. She try to give gripe water & monitor if still feverish, will give him the bb panadol solution.

Re: potluck@east
have scanned through the pics on lyn's facebook- all the babies are so adorable. too bad i couldn't join due to the timing- next time ok?

but i only recognise kitsune, icy & honey's babies as I linked your blogs- and I recognise lynn from her facebook. so who are the other mummies and babies who went?

mcfluffy
are u a school teacher? so that's why you feel bored during holidays now?

Kam
i think pigeon also has more than 9oz bottles leh..

mummies, who got unwanted breastpads willing to give away? pm me pleaseeee
i am stopping bfding soon, dont want to buy a new box of breastpads, so hoping some kind hearted mummies could pass me unwanted ones, or exchange for something prehaps?

Re: baby haircut
where do you all bring your babies to cut hair? The last time I brought Gerrard was to the downstairs hairdresser to trim his hair during confinement.. then occassionally i just trim his hair a little bit. but now it's getting long, i dont think i am professional enough so donno where to bring him- any recommendations?

itok
i just bring my boy down to the hairdresser at the shop houses near my place. but if u r willing to pay a bit more, can go to those specially for kids one. I knw Marine parade has a few....

Itok,

I brought Hao Re to the normal hair salon twice, so far okay, he didn't fuss, sat there "guai guai". Usually they have the gadget (the trimming thingy) to trim kids' hair, it's safe.

my boy hates trimming his hair. it took 3 of us to subdue him and managed bits and pieces here and there. when he sleeps, my mil will sneak up and snip snip a bit, it always takes few days to cut his hair

i am wondering if i bring him to the normal hair salon, he will also be so guai guai?

steph
me can sell you my breastpads plus milk bags at low cost.

haircut
i just bot electric razor and trim my son's and hubby's hair. wahhh abit scared but really save cost

steph,

I bought the Ameda Dual pump from mumsfairy. It so much quieter and the suction speed can be controlled. much better the medela. I also tried the hands free thing dun like it in the end i return to her and anyway, 2 pimp i only used 1 side as dunno how to control pumping 2 sides. So fast lei u going to due soon....

RE: Diaper

Hao Re uses PetPet (cheap :)) all this while and he is okay with it. But I found that when the size increase, PetPet doesn't seem to be the cheapest option anymore, as the price is the same for all sizes. Thought of changing to other brand. I remember some one (was it STEPH?) has a very detail comparison table. Mind to share it again, please? Or anyone else has any comment/suggestion on this, please? Thanks!

Kam,
Re: diaper comparison table
not me leh. So far, i also used PetPet for my boy. Price for M (70pcs) & L(56pcs) still ok if there is promotion...any 3 packs for $34+. Their XL more ex. Can change/try EQ brand or pampers comfort "orange packaging" cheaper.

evening,
I want pigeon brand for breastpads & what is the brand for yr milk bags? Wont need it so soon, maybe in Apr09. If u r in hurry to sell away, u can let go first otherwise i can buy over from u later k
tks!

Which razor u bought? i also wanna get one next year, DIY self-trim cos Zander not much hair & bb haircut at salon cost abt $16-20...very ex ah!

Kam,
i told my hubby to go mama shophouses cut for $5 to $8 can already but he don't feel safe?!? Maybe he thot son got lots of hair to style like D.Beckham? yeah kampung is cheap n gd
DIY is FOC!!

Re: haircut
Steph,
I also dont feel safe if i bring him to mama shophouse! I think I am a very worrying mummy. coz my boy is a bit like Pixie's boy... will keep fidgeting and cannot stay still.. even when my mum trim, is when he is drinking milk then we try and trim a bit so it takes us days! and need at least 2 pple to hold him coz im so afraid he will suddenly turn his head then his ear get snipped off or something.

i donno whether he will guai guai sit down if we bring him to salon.. and i think the longer we drag this, as he gets older, the more difficult he will be towards hair cutting.

I heard Hwa Xia International also cuts baby hair.. anyone tried there before?

itok,
i tried at Hwa Xia for my boy when he is 6mths old but that time is cut botak head so can't comment much on how skillful they are. botak head is much easier compare to trim bah.

Re: Breastpads
I never bf but have 8 pcs of Pigeon and an opened box of Gerber breastpads (left about 20pcs) to give away. The pigeon ones are samples collected from gifts, etc and the gerber ones were given to me by my sis. I can give away free since I'll never get to use them. Anyone interested?

Pixiepixel

I have 1 brand new box (36 pcs + 6 free) of Pigeon disposable breast pads. I can pass to you- have pm you my hp no- see how we can arrange for me to pass to you.

Itok,

Hao Re is a very active boy, I mean VERY. But surprising when we brought him to salon for the first time, he sat there quietly, and it's the same for the 2nd time. Guess it's a new environment for him, he was still curious about the place, so managed to keep quiet for long enough time to finish his hair cut.

Don't think so much, try in once, then you will know for sure how ready your boy is to be handled by a stranger hairdresser. Whether to look for a child pro one or not, it's up to your personal choice.

morning all,

jz wana vent my anger here... haiz... yday i was on MC so at home resting. As my hb n myself are sick, we "confined" ourselves in the room as we do not want to spread to the kids. Suddenly we heard my MIL shouting loudly. We ran out of room to her room. She told me that my #1 went to play with the cord that ties the curtain. His head was inbetween the opening of the 2 "strings" n he twisted himself. My MIL commented that we nearly lost him if he did not shout for her attention. I am very ANGRY over this case cos this is not the first time I notice my ILs do not bother with my kids. Yday, when this accident happens, she took #1 n #2 into the room and she was reading newspaper. jz let them roam ard n play ard. My FIL n maid in the kitchen.... I have 3 adults at home n yet all sorts of "accidents" happen. Really wonder should I kick them outta my hse n take over everything myself.

gd morning all...

weather has been real bad recently. do take gd care of urself and all at home. let our darlings wear most clothes....

take care all ya? it is holiday season. do keep healthy to enjoy the festive....

morning ladies,

mylvera,
3 adults at home and accidents still keep happening (occasional still not so bad), i think you should take over everything yourself. It's like nobody bothers about your kids, when no. 2 walks, even more chaotic. Your mil still have the cheek to say "we nearly lost him if he did not shout for her attention"?? come'on, isn't she's suppose to be looking after him and not waiting for him to alert her, what if he was unconsious and can't alert her? *touchwood*

mei,
speedy recovery to all ya!

This morning just bring Zander see PD but clinic closed so went normal GP, doctor is Tan Cheng Bock. He is down with viral infection that's why fever up & down. Yesterday nite was 38.5deg. This morning at 38deg. Can see he is lethargic...so poor thingy...1st time sick

Are you all holding birthday party for ur little ones? I need some ideas on cake....I am doing a Mickey theme birthday for Javin but dunno where to order the cake. I bought figurines already. Pls give me some ideas. Enquired Cheryl Shuen fondant cake damn ex $300 for a 3kg cake!!!

morning
my boy sick, my hb sick, my mil sick
all kena the flu virus
but i am not sick

itok, thanks for your breastpads, are you giving it to me foc? *wink*wink* i am actually looking for loose ones to be given to me foc. i think, you should sell this to other mummies in WTS/WTB since yours is a full box. i dont mind gettin the loose pcs from yvonne

yvonne, can pass me your loose 8 pcs of pigeon breastpads??

mei,
doctor say if fever goes above 39deg, must send to KKH for A&E, need to take some blood test wor.

For yr info...
FAQs
<font color="0077aa">When should baby's fever be treated?</font>
When baby has a fever, the doctor will advise you to give her a lot of fluids to prevent dehydration. Other than that, the doctor will decide whether it's necessary to treat baby's fever.
Treatment may not be necessary if baby's fever is low grade and she is not feeling badly. However, if the fever is high, treating it will probably make baby feel less miserable.
Baby will need to be treated for fever if she has a history of febrile seizures or any neurological complaint (ie that affects the brain and nerves). Her fever must not be allowed to rise too high or too rapidly as it may trigger convulsions in those who are susceptible.
<font color="0077aa">What fever medicines can you give baby at home?</font>
Never give medicines to your newborn without first checking with the doctor. For an older infant, you can give an over-the-counter fever reducer (antipyretic) that contains acetaminophen (paracetamol), ibuprofen or diclofenac. Rectal antipyretics are also available if your child refuses to take the medicines orally.
These medicines are safe and effective for use in babies and children with fever, but do not exceed the recommended doses.
In some children (especially if they are dehydrated or have other medical problems), overdosing can cause serious side effects, especially those affecting the kidneys.
Keep a record of the times that you give the medicines. Do not give aspirin to children as it has been associated with a number of complications.
<font color="0077aa">How else can you bring baby's fever down?</font>
Sponging the child with tepid water will also help to bring the fever down. You can also give baby a bath in lukewarm or pleasantly cool water. Do not bathe baby in cold or hot water.
<font color="0077aa">Should you "starve a fever"?</font>
Don't force baby to eat her regular semi-solid or solid foods if she doesn't feel up to it. Continue to breastfeed and give sips of water regularly. Keep her well hydrated at all times.
<font color="0077aa">Danger signs</font>
Fever is a sign of illness, but it is not the only sign to watch. While some children can appear reasonably fine at a temperature of 38 degrees C or more, others can be deathly ill at a slightly lower temperature, or even without a fever.
As a parent, you need to understand that it's not so much the exact temperature but rather how baby is acting, that is of concern. Seek medical attention immediately if she:
Refuses to eat and drink
Is very irritable or appears confused
Doesn't easily wake up and is lethargic
Has difficulty breathing or is breathing faster than normal
Has a rapid or weak pulse
Still appears ill even after the fever is brought down
Develops a rash anywhere on the body
Has severe headache or is vomiting
Has other specific complaints (for example, crying during urination, limping, swollen joints, etc)
Has a fever that persists for more than 24 to 48 hours

Jacleyn,

yes i'll be holding my girl's party, still having headache over the cake too. Will be heading down to Pine Garden to take a look 1st. Who's Cherly Shuen?

steph, really?
xandall hit 39.6 before - during his viral fever a mth ago. PD never say go A&amp;E, just say take bufen leh...

Hi mei &amp; pixie ! get well soon !

Steph hope Zander get well soon too.

My #1 is sick too ! I guess is the weather. She is down wif fever and running nose. She even has ear infection and I was stuck at KK yesterday. She complained of painful ear. and true enuf we used a torch light to chk her ear we can see one lump inside it ! I can understand the frustration she is facing... sigh... next wk still need to be reviewed by ENT wor

pixie,
not sure leh cos this is what he told us. He say viral infection can turn into bacteria infection. If fever goes up &amp; down, we just have to monitor &amp; sponge bb &amp; keep bb well hydrated. Hope all babies recover soon!

wah chaye, hope ur gal get well soon
end of the year, always ppl get sick, not used to the cold weather maybe? and lots of mozzies after the rain etc etc

steph, issittttt
aiyah i just take my PD advice, keep sponging him even tho it hits 39.x throughout the night...didnt know that it will turn to bacterial infection leh...i sometimes also wondered if so high fever, will "shao huai nao" or not?
anyway i tell myself if take bufen still cannot control his temp, will bring him to a&amp;e...heng it went down after he took bufen...

Steph77
Hope Zander recovers soon... viral fever is like that, will keep gg up then eat medicine, it goes down. before the next medicine time, goes up again. But don't worry, he will be ok. Just feed him the panadol timely.

Pixiepixel
yes, im gg to you FOC lah..and I think I got another half-opened box too. it's ok, too troublesome to sell on WTS. You sms me how I can pass to you

Kam
Thanks for sharing on Hao Re's haircut. Yes, I think I will give it a try- I'll keep you all updated

mylvera
shocking to hear about your "accident"! Your heart must have skipped a beat. Why like that? If me, I will scold everyone upside down coz I am bad tempered :p