(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

CONGRATS YUNBB!

Wendy
i tried searching for Synflex but it's not listed in the book. Must know the scientific/medication name for it. It's probably not called Synflex per se. Oh u not using the stiff neckline one liao? Personally i got buy the shawl type also, like one hole in the center and wear like poncho one rite? I dunno about Tobey, but Rylee hates being totally covered cos the shawl very big. Now i had to use it as a cover for my baby's stroller. U're right in saying very difficult to meet up. But if u're taking the airport express train, then shud be easier, but since u have bought it, then never mind
If u find it not do-able for Tobey, feel free to call me then.

mylife
synflex is aka naproxen sodium (generic medicine name), or commonly known as naproxen in some prescription.
i use it for menses cramps sometimes

Wendy, glad you like the Giordano wrap, what colour did you buy? I got the dark grey one, seem to be less exposed. Hee.

Mylife, I can't really BF while walking, think my Bjorn carrier is too small. Maybe those sarong type sling can but I can't seem to master those. :p

Congrats to Yun BB!

Steph, so fast, just 3 more months, it'll be your turn hor? ;)

Potluck@east

Venue: Pasir Ris drive 4 The Esparis function rm
date: 14 dec (Dis coming sun)
time: 4.30-6.30pm

1) lyn78 2A+1bb
2)Jess 3A +1bb
3)godsent 2A+1bb
4)Icy 2A+1bb
5)Mom2nat 2A+2bb
6)Audrey 2A+1bb
cfm total 13Adults +7bb

not cfm coming:
Kitsune
Babe
Joan

Any more mummies keen?
North, south,east, west mummies + babies r welcome! kindly email to mi

"No bathing, pain breasts, here pain, there pain...."

...everywhere pain pain
old macMummy had a child, yi ya yi ya ooohh!!

(TGIF mood)

mylvera
thanks, i jus found it online too.

here's also a link i found, apparently, not encouraged to use for lactating mothers:
http://emc.medicines.org.uk/emc/assets/c/html/DisplayDoc.asp?DocumentID=1734#PREGNANCY

Here's the section from the book

NAPROXEN
Lactating Risk is L3
Naproxen is a popular NSAID analgesic. In a study done at a steady state in one mother consuming 375mg twice daily, milk levels ranged from 1.76-2.37mg/L at 4hours. Total naproxen excretion in the infant's urine was only 0.26% of the maternal dose. Altho the amount of naproxen transferred via milk is minimal, one shoud use with caution in nursing mothers becos of its long half-life and its effect on infant cardiovascular system, kidneys and GI tract. However, its short term use postpartum or infrequent or occasional use would not necessarily be incompatible with breastfeeding. One case of prolonged bleeding, hemorrhage, and acute anaemia has been reported in a seven day old infant. The relative infant dose on a weight adjusted maternal daily dose would probably less than 3.3%

Adult Concerns : GI distress, gastric bleeding, hemorrhage
Pediatric concerns : One reported case of prolonged bleeding, hemorrhage and acute anaemia in 7-day old infant
Alternative : Ibuprofen

Lactation Risk Category
L1 Safest - Drugs which has been taken by a large number of BF mothers w/o any observed increase in adverse effects in the infant.
L2 Safer - Drug which have been studied in a limited number of BF women without an increase in adverse effects in infant. And/or, the evidence of a demonstrated risk which is likely to follow use of this meds in a BF women is remote
L3 Moderately Safe - there are no controlled studies in BF women, however, untoward effects to a breastfed infant is possible. or controlled studies show only minimal non threatening adverse effects. Drugs shud be given only if the potential benefit justifies the potential risk to the infant. (new meds that have absolutely no published data are automatically categorized in this category, regardless of how safe they may be)
L4 - Possibly Hazardous - There is positive evidence of risk to a BF infant or to BM production, but the benefits from use in BF mothers may be acceptable despite the risk to the infant (eg if the drug is needed in a life threatening situation or for a serious disease for which safer drugs cannot be used or ineffective)
L5 - Contraindicated - Studies in BF mothers have demonstratd that there is significant and documented risk to the infant based on human experience, or it is a med that has high risk of causing significant damage to an infant. The risk of using the drug in BF women clearly outweighs any possible benefit from BF.

kitsune
i think diffrnt places hv diffrnt colours? I bought a grey one. actually liked the black, but too "holey"... can see from outside!

mylife
erm, the giordano shawl not v big coz it's not meant to be a nursing cover. For those apron types, i scared Tobey flip open and & hv to struggle with him la. this weekend after washing it i will try it out & hopefully he doesn't fuss. I asked husband abt taking the airport express train... it remains an option coz we hv the FOC airport transfer. Considering travelling with 2 kids and husband has bad back, i think he'd rather opt for the airport transfer...

godsent
those were good days... baby can't move, can't fight with gorgor for toys, just eat & sleep, i had great confinement food, enjoyed my maternity leave. hahahaha

Oops! didnt kw Babe aka Joan.. heheee!

1) lyn78 2A+1bb
2)Jess 3A +1bb
3)godsent 2A+1bb
4)Icy 2A+1bb
5)Mom2nat 2A+2bb
6)Audrey 2A+1bb
cfm total 13Adults +7bb

not cfm coming:
Kitsune
Babe

Any more mummies keen? North, south,east, west mummies + babies r welcome! kindly email to mi

1) lyn78 2A+1bb wine,drinks, ikea meatball..
2)Jess 3A +1bb been hoon
3)godsent 2A+1bb sandwich
4)Icy 2A+1bb logcake
5)Mom2nat 2A+2bb baked chicken wing?
6)Audrey 2A+1bb curry chicken
cfm total 13Adults +7bb

not cfm coming:
Kitsune
Babe

Any more mummies keen? North, south,east, west mummies + babies r welcome! kindly email to mi

Jess: i'll bring flask to boil hot water
no prob..
ooops! forgot to buy abc mat.. will do so tomoro.

babies: barley water(no sugar) and bb biscuits..

kitsune,
ya loh...me counting down...so fast hor. nowadays can't sleep well...wake up few times at nite to pee.
Here's a pix of my tum tum at 26.5wks now
slightly bigger as compare to #1...at this size i was already 8mths+
after CNY, gotta pack hospital bag...standby mode!
1974246.jpg

steph...
u still maintain ur shape lor.. just gt a tummy in front. tats gd. i think when i was pregnant tat time, i was round everywhere... hahaaa

Jess, wendyg, mcfluffy, pixiepixel,
tks
this time, i anyhow eat alot of junk food & fast food unlike 1st pregnancy. I drank alot of cool drinks too...simply can't control or maybe bo chap...very bad mummy la. I've gained 8kg+ liao. Yesterday just went to Jurong Point to buy some bra top like sports bra type to standby for maternity shoots later on cos my chest expanded, from 1st pregnancy is 32B & then up 34B/C & now i need size 36C but sports bra (from john little) go by M or L size & i could fit into XL too!
Oh anyway, if u all happened to drop by west area, go explore Jurong Point cos now expanded with more retail shops, restaurants & very spacious!

Quote from Mar09 thread:
CARTER SALES:
Just incase mummies who don't know where is it. Its actually near SAFRA Tampines, there is a small road beside SAFRA, if walking in will be a distance. Last year I went with my sis taking a taxi from bus interchange as weekend don't have bus service going into that road. It will be better if drive there. Its location quite deep inside the building if I can remember is blue in color right at a corner.

1974368.jpg

huh mcfluffy u got chunky tummy meh?
last time met u at my inlaw house downstairs, i still tot u looked like u lost ur weight after childbirth leh??
or i mixed up with someone else??!!

hah!! then no chance to go there liao!!
eh!! got!! 21dec is my choir performance...but the road is very deep inside, walk until pengsan kind leh...see if i hardworking enuff or not to walk...

huh!!
mcfluffy, dont scare me...i am tapering down my output now liao...havent started gaining weight coz neverthless, still bfding...if i stopped, gain weight how?? chumz

you mean even if you lower your food intake, still gained weight? once i decrease my supply, i am not so hungry anymore and am now eating lesser. no suppers and sudden hunger pangs that causes low blood sugar kind...

Mcfluffy,
Huh? Gain weight after BF?
Clarks Sale
Tommorow sale at Safra Tampines is Clarks. Any body going?
Carter's sale..The garment factory is just next to Tampines Safra.

Travelling with Babies
I will usually pack my boys' favourite pillow on board the plane. Without the smell, they can't sleep.

Steph
Looking good!!

Congratulations YunBB!
It seems like we had just given birth.

I'm going crazy looking after my boys by myself, plus my helper la..Zapped all my energy.

Re: Breastfeeding

Thumbs up for all mummies that r still bfing till now! I hope i can persevere this time! Beside a gd pump, what else need to standby ah? milk bags?...which brands cheap n gd? If anyone here got left-over to give away or sell, PM me k. I am still looking for a 2nd hand Ameda lactaline dual pump...if anyone know anyone selling, pls let me know ya! tks

Eh...ask u all a silly question...do u all wear nursing bra in the hospital when u delivered & latch baby on? cos i dun wear leh.

steph,

I still hv lansinoh milkbags ... when u delivering? I see if i strike by den ..if no strike ... i sell u cheaper ???

i dun wear bra in hospital... even at home oso dun wear hahaha erm..every few hrs mz feed leh .. very leychey

mylvera,

my EDD 15Mar09. After CNY, i check with u again

i dun wear in hospital but then my mum say not so nice to expose both breast so during confinement i try to wear loh but very troublesome. The only pros is nursing bra help to hold the breast pad in place & catch the leaking BM loh..keke...still very messy la! I wonder if i shld buy & standby breast shields to hold leaking BM (if any)??

eRnMum,
1st pregnancy i used Medela mini electric & the pump not effective on me so my massage lady recommended Ameda. My budget for 2nd hand Ameda Lactaline is abt $200-$230 depends on warranty period. I wanna get extra valves too!

i had mini electric ....then something went wrong and i switch to PIS.....super ex.

Never used Ameda before =)

btw, i do wear bra after going home from hospital. Breasts so heavy...dun wear drooping down leh

wanna ask you all which studip/photographer you all talking abt?

i wanna look for one...hoping to take on 27 Dec cos his birthday on 26 Dec.

my no 1 that time, we went studio loft

eRnMum,

me, wendyg & mcfluffy..we all went Studio Loft & photographer Maryann. If u want to take their LBS package, better book early cos wkends slot for Dec all fully booked!

steph
in hosp... i didn't wear bra until i was discharged coz i wore nuring top when discharged, surely hv bra. i delivered via c-section, so only wore the hosp gown, no bra no nothing!!!
During confinement, i only wore bra when i was bfg so that can stuff the breast shells to catch the other leaky boob.
Now, i only wear bra when i'm outside of home.
Since pregnant time, i been wearing nursing bras. More comfy.. no wires to poke me. But means my tops also can't be t-shirt tight lor, but i dun mind la. My $6 and $9.90 mumsy nursing bras already fully depreciated, and i love them so much =))

Jess
my friday program is same with any other weekday: work at office, then go home and work sommore @ home doing housechores, taking care of kids blah blah.