(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Wendy, RaeAnne flipped my nursing cover a few times but at least it was holey and quite long so she couldn't expose me and could still look out.

wendyg
Yes, my boy will pull and flip and try to get up when I put the cover over him. So end up I either zao geng or give up and go to a nursing room. The one I have, I find it v small piece. Cos tat time I saw mylife use hers, much bigger than mine.
There is a kind of nursing cover like shawl kind. I think v warm lor. Even my cotton one, my boy's head gets all wet in a few min. It might be cold in HK, but when you put a shawl ard the head.... Maybe you borrow from someone if you hardly gg to use it after the trip. Or else wasted.

mom2nat
i can resell.. wow i think quite high chance that my kaypoh boy will try his funny tricks when bfg with smthg new.. i better get one big huge one to cover up.

Steph and Wendyg,
How do u find the photographer? Personally, I find that she lacks the personal touch. If the baby is not in the mood to take pix, too bad cos she will not go out of her way to coax them. That's why my hubby refused to go back to her. I went to her for my bloom shots. My boy was in a bad mood, she also can't be bothered. He was frowning. That time I thought she was pregnant, that's why moody.

Shawl
I think should go for the big shawl type. I bought my "huge" bib before I saw the shawl.

Nursing Rooms
Having travelled to Phuket and HK, it certainly makes me more appreciative of the nursing rooms here. Over here, even if there's no room, we can still find the foldable table in the ladies. When u are in HK and Phuket, you can go round and round and still can't find any. In HK, the toilets at Habour City is so small, when u want to change BB, you will block a lot of people.

Kitsune, it's like that when u travel with children. If can shop, it's see and buy. No chance to consider and browse and window shop like your pak tor days! That's why hubby laughed at me when I shopped online. It's like taking revenge!

Bassinet
Some one asked me about the bassinet. Think 12kg can still fit. I always see ang moh babies in it. Bassinet must always book in advance. Very laku!.

Blessedbaby
Midnight flight less crowded. If BB doesnt like the bassinet, can sleep on the seats with the handles lifted. Might be more comfortable. Somehow, flights to Australia tend to hit turbulence quite ooften. When that happens, u have to lift baby out of the bassinet and attached to the seat belt.

Return flights tend to be very crowded or full. So u will hear lots of babies crying or screaming at the top of their voice.

Make sure u bring the powder milk which BB likes cos they have less variety there. Otherwise, Heinz can be bought easily from the supermarkets there.

re: HK

Milk powder a must, I bought 1 tin, end up not enough, need to buy and they only have jap brands and promil, end up my hubbie brought promil coz he was sent to buy.

Bassinet, yes confirm must book in advance and when checking in must remind, I booked in advance but when I depart from HK, they did not give me. BUt when we went, major turbulence, so end up she also never sleep in it, coz got to take her out so many times, so end up I gave up and just carry her.

Diaper changing, sometimes so busy walking that I will forget to change my girl. Even if wanna change, the toilets are so small, I got to "kiap" her under my arm and tear off her pull ups and then "kiap" her to put them on again.

When I wanna shop, me and hubbie will take turns, he will bring my girl about for stroll and then I will quickly go in buy and dash out. The only time, I took my time, end up she cried big time in star bucks.

Blackbatz, I also find she lacks the personal touch. They always seem overbooked.

Diaper Changing on long haul flights
Almost forgot, must keep changing every 2 to 3 hours and apply lots of Desitin cream. Otherwise, the rashes will start to appear. Tend to overlook this part cos busy keeping baby comfortable.

personal touch? Can't really tell.. coz only 5-10min of her taking photos. anyway, i read her blog & facebook & instantly became a fan. haha. She did mention that she's lousy at customer service. Maybe a trademark of the creative type? We exchanged a few emails last week, just chatting.

I thought she was quite patient as the 1st mummy struggled to position her small baby to sit upright, place the oversized santa hat etc. But perhaps the assistants should've helped a bit rather than let the mummy DIY. Obviously they would know better how to position the props to get the best angle for the shot... but she's not charging a lot... so maybe shouldn't expect much haha.

try her competition la? Foto U, Tomato etc. So many to choose from. But if i'm going to bring my kids for photoshoot, i think i'll go back to her. Like we're frens already ley. hahahaha

Wendyg
AT first I was tempted to book with the Studio Loft, but I show hubby the website, he totally doesnt like her work. He has got "sharp" eyes. Hehehhe

Milk powder: my girl is refusing milk powder. she not even let me to put in the teat, then how I am going to "train" her huh?? Mummies how??

Blackbatz, anglesky: thanks for your tips. My gal doesn't take jar food... so this trip is very hectic for me. Luckily, it's a family visit trip kind of so I guess I have to spend time on cooking at least once a day for my gal for the whole day usage. But I dont mind that. All I need to do now is to train her to drink from bottle.

violetlce,
cupcake divinity did not reply my email despite emailing them twice, been 2 weeks leh.any mummies can recommend other opalce for cupcakes?

Travelling with babies,
i'm now glad that i travel to hk with my girl when she's 5 months old, much much easier to handle then now..haha

Shoes for babies,
1st pair of walking shoes very important? the sales lady was telling us about how important it is so as to avoid flat feet next time. End up bought one pair of very nice leather shoes for my girl...ouch...my heart is still bleeding!

re: BPA bottles
Don't think it's necessary for me, all research have contraversies no? haha....or rather i hear what i want to hear...

Didn't put my baby in the bassinet in the end cos only 1 seat was available and don't want to sit alone with baby. Anyway, the check in staff said bassinet is more for babies below 6 months. If baby more than 12 kg, may not be suitable. My baby haven't hit 10kg but I think she'll attempt to crawl out of the bassinet. But very tiring when baby wants to sleep lor. Got to hold her while eating my airplane food, juggling act. :p

Wendy, yup, mine is the shawl type. Think they are still selling at Giordano, can go take a look and see if it's suitable. With discount, only $24+ and it's more fashionable, less mumsy.

Brought milk powder, cereal, Heinz jar food, pigeon baby porridge to HK. End up she only take BM and fresh porridge which one of my aunties made every morning.

Nursing and baby rooms are sorely lacking in HK. Better off wearing diaper pants for babies, at least easier to take off and replace. Elements shopping mall has a very nice baby room with 3 changing areas and even 1 cubicle that can be locked for breastfeeding. Too bad not all shopping malls got same standard. Even at the airport, I had to BF my baby in the toilet, couldn't find the baby room anywhere. :/

blessedbaby,
thanks for the contacts :) mine also immediate family members only..cupcakes seems like a good alternative :)

kitsune,
i totally understand! i flew there alone with my girl that time, argh torturous, lucky nobody was sitting in my row, so i practically put all my girl's things all over the other 2 seats. when i was returning with hubby, they had only 1 seat with the bassinet, so i gave up cos didn't want to be so tiring handling her alone. End up the passenger in front of me very poor thing, can't have the back of his seat down as my girl was there..haha

Luvv, opposite scenario for me, on the flight back, a little gal was sitting in front of me and she lowered the seat very early into the flight. Even at meal time, she didn't bring up her seat. There I was trying to eat and my baby was sleeping jammed between me and the tray. Got so fed up, I tried calling the attendent to come but they ignored my call button. End up, my hubby had to get the mum's attention while trying not to tip his tray of food before she brought up the seat. :p

Do we need to pay airfare for bb below 2 years old?? ;) If I book online, no where it says that infant mast ay airafre.. but when I call up the ticking office, they ask me to pay.. Is it true??

blessedbaby,
yes baby need and it's not cheap...think 70% of the adult fare and they don't even need a seat!

blessedbaby,
maybe becos they got to take care of mummy travelling alone with baby like me? haha..or maybe they have to take care of the pram for us? or maybe they have to cover insurance for baby or for the pc of diaper and cream they gave? hahahaha ...

Luvv, she lowered the seat once the seat belt sign was off after the plane took off. I dun mind that she lowered the seat if she was sleeping. But she wasn't and it's already meal time and she's happily eating her food. Must be considerate to passenger sitting behind you right? :p

talking abt 1st bday.

my boy's bd is on the 9 Jan. so intend to hold it on 28 dec since tat is his lunar bd. but my mum had this comment. since my bil is holding a rom dinner/lunch celebration somewhere at early Feb, she says if i invite the relatives come, they might feel have to give ang baos for 2 separate occassions which happen so close. she says pple dun like lor. this BIL is my hubby's side one.

what u mummies think?

morning all,

verene, ROM celebration will invite all relatives? even if so, we shouldn't deprive our darlings from their 1st yr celebration mah. u can hold it on 28 dec since it is his lunar bd.

anyway, we can't stop ppl fr their thinking. i also having a bday celebration for my MIL on 20 Dec n a bday lunch for my son on 4 Jan. somemore..all same side of ppl ...cos my grandpa died this apr so I cannot ask my relatives to my son's bday. my FIL insist that i mz celebrate my son's bday .. n so be it lor.. they hv to give 2 ang baos hahaha :p

verene
ah, your BIL's ROM is nearer to CNY than your boy's bday celebration. does that mean the relatives not going to give ang pow for CNY? What an odd idea. Older generation somehow... i don't get how their minds click.

Luvv
not 70% of adult fare la. For infants, no accomodation charge. So it's only the airfare - no airport tax also. I only made enquiries for 2 airlines: UA is $138, CX is $358.
re: baby shoes
>> u been conned!!!! dun wear shoes better, or any soft sole shoes also can la. Lowest i saw for brand new soft sole shoes is $15.

kitsune
with your nursing shawl u still bf your baby in the toilet?! At any bench can la. Actually I remember HK not many benches hor.. the people forever walking walking walking. even the old folks.

<font size="+2">treatment for piles</font>
someone went to GP before to get injection for the piles to shrink... i need the clinic's name!

I remembered some mommies giving contacts of cupcakes for birthday. Can provide again?

For cupcake divinity, how do you chose the design of the cake?

Thks

morning mummies
very sian today
realised made some mistakes in work. very frustrated. changed to new industry, very steep learning curve, everything is so new to me and i am struggling to learn, but keep making mistakes. as compared to the initial stages in my previous industry, also not so jialat. now very jialat

haizzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

I am back to work! Don't think I manage to catch all the posting for the past week.

Just to update - Hao Re only fully recovered on Monday (after ~1 week). He stopped vomitting on last Wed, so we stuck to our travel plan to go back home. But he would vomit the Enfapro out a few minutes after drinking, so have to switch him to Isomil to stop the vomitting, and it worked for Hao Re, no more vomitting with Isomil. He straight away accepted Isomil without any fuss, luckily, otherwise he would be starved. But started with 2oz only, only yesterday he was on his usual 8oz. He was a bit week, but overall okay. Think he enjoyed his stay at our kampung (despite the numerous mosquito bites all over his hands, legs and face!!!)

hi Kam,
Welcome back

Aiyo poor Hao Re kena bites...what is his blood gp? A+? cos A+ always kena bites more often! If swollen must see PD for cream to ease the itch.

pixie,
u changed new job/job scope?

so worrying.. my boy having little dots on his chin since last sunday. duno wat is wrong. have been monitoring, hands and legs dun have.

do u all knw wat it might be?

ah, the tel is for clinic @ Jurong East Blk 252. but whatever la.. as long as they do it. how come all in the west ah... i need to find somewhere near my home..

jess
after eating didn't wipe clean... your boy got pimples

Blackbatz, angelsky,
yup my hubby also felt she lack the personal touch. She didn't feel apologetic even though our session started 40mins late due to the earlier slot customer delay! Well...can't blame her la but is basic courteous or rather customer service is very important mah. Anyway, she is also not feeling well...having sore throat that day so we didn't chat much during the session. During the shoots, she didn't bother much to coax bb to smile...abit impatience perhaps?!?
Will still try her...give second chance for my maternity shoots, hope this time much better since no bb involve.*fingers-crossed*

My gal doesnt want mild powder (I even put it in straw cup for her to try- but she can detect it, and refuse to drink from straw cup)
By one year, we can give fresh milk instead??

steph,

Thanks. Oh, now you remind me, I actually can't remember which blood group Hao Re belongs to :-( Because we were at our kampung, there is simply too many mosquitoes around, I killed many many mosquitoes everyday but there are still so many of them..... and the mosie only bite Hao Re, me and hubby free of the bites. I have got the cream from PD already during last visit, but the scar will take some time to disappear.

Wendyg, am thinking to buy Ergo Carrier for baby so that will give me 2 free hands to handle other things?. Hehehehe

Mei: just to update, Aquaducks has no longer got classes at the Pines. They terminated the contract there.. ;)

wendy,
is it?? excluding accom, we paid like $500+ for my girl's cathay's air tics in June!...argh..

argh....kanna conned for shoes...darn...

Kam,
pei fu leh, so many mossies still can tahan. don't think the anti mossies spray helps right? poor thing, Hao Re must have felt soooooooo itchy!

blessedbaby
oh.. if u hv the budget, why not!

i tried Ergo for my #1... both times (many months apart) he didn't like it inside, and my husband still felt the strain in his back. Maybe we dunno how to position it.. so we relied on our trusty Combi umbrella stroller

steph, yes i changed job. august till now, lobo for 3 mth + coz work hasnt flow in at all, so now work is coming fast and hard, struggling lor

blessedbaby

i think nw dun need to buy cos as they are getting heavier, it is straining on our shoulders. nowadays i just carry him or use stroller. but if u r planning to have another baby then yupz, can buy ba
mine was also a passed down from my colleague. my hubby say too expensive, dun let me buy.... haha