(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Morning all,
Ahh.. my gal is still sick. Runny nose + cough. Fever has subsided but she's still crying at night coz she often gets choked on her phlegm. How to get rid of the phlegm? PD gave cough medicine which is supposed to dissolve the phlegm but it doesn't seem to be working? Then my gal cannot sleep well at night, keeps snorting too. Poor thing.

prata_queen

I use ice 'slices' trays to store my chicken stock. They are just like ice cubes trays, just that the it's a tray filled with rectangular stripes instead of cubes. I bought mine at Daiso & Isetan. So that means my chicken stock blocks are retangular, bigger in size than cubes. Easier to use since if use ice cubes, I have to use more cubes.

Ahh.... went to read about Bronchitis and I'm so afraid my girl is having Bronchitis. her cough seems worse than what it was. When we went to the PD on the first day we realised she was coughing and had flu, PD said she was fine but was just afraid she might develop bronchitis. 4 days after seeing PD, which is today, I'm getting paranoid. My gal's cough sounds bad, with lotsa phelgm. Should I bring her back to the PD to get assessed?

yohu.....

ok. not much response for the mass birthday bash, so it's confirmed <font color="ff0000">C A N C E L L E D</font>. thanks thanks.

AhCapp,
thanks for the post. By the way the recipe said "Warm the butter in a separate pan, add the chopped tomatoes and sauté until mushy." What do they mean by the saute? you know?

Mcfluffy,

Last time when Hao Re (<6 months old) was coughing with lots of phlemg, the PD advised us to get the phlemg away asap, to avoid developing into bronchitis etc. So ended we rented a nebuliser equipment to use at home, which meant to help clearing the phlemg quicker. And some medicine also. Ended Hao Re cleared the phlemg in about 5 days time.

Agree with Mylvera, no harm bringing him to PD and tell him/her your concern.

gd morning everyone.

mylvera,
u found the abc pasta at tampines giant?? hmm.. i must be blind then. hahahaa.. i went there and stood for a long time to see, but found nth. maybe later i go and see again... heheee

<font color="aa00aa">Mcfluffy,</font>

Ian was diagnosed with bronchitis twice! I think I have now known by heart what to do and suchs. 1st thing is listen to see if baby has wheezing sound, if have, confirmed it's bronchitis. Better see PD asap, if not will worsen. Very ke lian de.

<font color="aa00aa">Yvonne,</font>

Wow, you are going to delay till he asked for it ar? Haha!

<font color="0000ff">RE: Baby screaming/yelling/shouting</font>

Ian is getting more and more demanding nowadays. When we go NTUC, he will reached for things and when I took it away from him, he will screamed bloody murder! So embarassing! Very irritated with him sometimes. Any babies like him?

violetIce,
Hubby and I both agreed to delay/avoid all junk food (including fast food) for as long as we can...since we don't eat it ourseleves means my boy has less chance of being exposed to it. We seldom watch local TV, usually cable, so he doesn't get to see the Mac advertisments as well...kekeke. Let's see how long we can keep him away from those stuff.

Re: Screaming
yah, sometimes my boy will also protest if we take something away from him, especially things which he's not supposed to play with...just have to distract him with some other stuff...usually it works lah. But I guess as they grow up, they kinda know how to demand for things and who they can demand and manipulate more...so we gotta be prepared to handle their nonsense. They are becoming toddlers already...no longer our little babies...sigh...so fast hor?

I hope I can be disciplined like you. I'm a fast food junkie. Maybe should really be disciplined and try not to expose baby to such things.

Yeah, they're growing up so fast. Sometimes, I wished he was just a little newborn, breastfeed, poo, sleep, breastfeed, poo, sleep. Seems easier but don't know why, at that time, I wished he can respond to play BUT now that he can respond to play, it's even more tiring.

mac:
wendy, i was at rivervale mall mac on saturday morning, not compasspoint. next time will try to go there lah. but everytime we go compasspoint, we will go foodcourt, i love their $2 set of tea, egg, kaya toast. i love their toast. then xandall will share porridge with daddy

i give hashbrown...hmm...bad mummy ah? i use fork and dig out those potato parts, i eat the outer crust. yups, hotcake to shut his mouth. then forgot to bring water bottle down, my hb drinking coffee, and i was taking ice milo...ice milo seems like the lesser of 2 devils so gave him that.
ok i know i very bad but i just wanted him to try a little bit of everything

violetice, my boy screams too when outside, only when he is bored. so must constantly moving

VioletIce,

Hao Re has also started to scream/shout/yell/pretend to cry when we take something away from him, or don't let him do what he wants to do, either at home or outside. Like Yvonne, we quckily distract him with something else, or point to something else, or let someone else to carry/play with him. That's working, so far.

To me, if comparing to the newborn, I prefer the grown up Hao Re, yes, tiring, but more rewarding (greedy mummy) :)

violetIce / pixiepixel,
It's not about good or bad mummy lah...but kids tend to follow their parents' eating habits. If you eat junk food yourself then you can't deprive your kids from it right? unfair mah. My hubby is health junkie...go to gym 3-4 time a week and have oats for breakfast (everyday)...so hoping my boy will follow his footsteps. I'm not so healthy like him, I also indulgle in my ice-creams and chocolates sometimes but I don't like stuff like soft drinks, junk food, etc.

I also miss his baby days...want him to grow up faster when he was a baby but now kinda regret leh...a bit too fast hor? When they start to talk and learn to argue with us, we will really "regret"...

violetice
what does Bronchitis mean? and how does the wheezing sound sound like?? gerrard has been having cough and running nose since sat.. then on and off fever even until now. very worried.

Re: ear thermometer
any good recommendations? I am getting exasperated with my armpit one coz my boy keeps fidgeting and kicking me away while taking the temperature.

re: bb stages...

now bb only crys/scream ... once they reached the "tell me why stage" i guess most of us will come here n seek answers to the "why qns"

itok,

Am using braun. find it good cos using only AA size batteries? easier to find if suddenly battery dead.

Re: toddler walking shoes
Any good recommendation? I know a shop in VivoCity name 'Colettee' selling plenty gd &amp; nice design toddler walking shoes but price ard $29++ to $49++/pair. Toddler shoes r getting more ex as compare to adult shoes! Do we really need to invest in one? The biggest size that BabyFox have is size 4 &amp; Zander can't fit into it as it is too tight!

itok,
i bought CADI from KidsMall IMM. The battery is not standard AA type. You refer the link i've posted earlier for specs. I think the battery come with auto off function, standby mode?not very sure...must go home chk.

itok
yes kiddy palace carry cadi thermometer. but selling at $99. i bought mine from there. HTHs.

the battery is not standard AA types. using watches-like battery.

Stephen

Zander can walk liao ma ? Tate still cant walk leh.. he can only crawl and nowadays he so lazy that he used his butt to move around the house !

re:bronchitis
how is wheezing sound like ah? And what's a nebuliser? a small like equipment to extract phlegm?

Think I shall bring my gal back to the PD. just in case.

mcfluffy

wheezing sounds like someting stuck in his lungs when he breathe.. nebuliser is an equipment that is use to open up the airways. There is a mask that you need to put over the mouth and nose to inhale the medicine that is poured into a container that is attached to the mask. On the machine and the medicine will diffuse while you inhale.

AhCapp,

Thanks. Do the rectangular ice blocks get 'twisted' out easily when frozen? I normally wet it with some water in order to 'twist' the cubes out.

re thermometer
me too, gave up on the armpit one. Bought a braun ear thermometer for $122. She resisted initially but we made it seem like a game and soon, she didn't mind us placing it in her ear.

Itok,

I am also using a Braun ear thermometer. Forgot the price though, from Guardian, standard AA battery.

Steph,

I didn't invest in a good pair of infant shoes. I got the toddler shoe for Hao Re straight away, since he is already walking. My logic is don't let them wear shoes until they start walking, if not, the shoes might affect them learning to walk. Of course you can let them wear for "decorative" purpose, if you know what I mean ;-)

Steph,
No point investing in expensive shoes becos they outgrow them pretty fast and you'll be buying shoes every other quarter. But still have to make sure the shoes are comfy and not too bad/small.

Yvonne,

Totally agree. They outgrow the shoes pretty fast! The first pair his uncle got for him already cannot fit in at all.

Steph,

Let your boy try out the shoes at the shop, if he can still stand/cruise/walk like usual (without shoe), then probably that pair of shoes suit your boy.

Chaye,
Zander is still learning to walk so i wanna get him a gd pair of walking shoes for CNY

Kam, Yvonne,
i know what u mean by decorative purpose. So far, only bought 2 infant shoes (6-9mths) that cost less than $11 but now outgrow liao. We intend to buy a toddler shoe meant for walking so it's important to find a gd support sole &amp; comfy one. Any brand is ok as long is comfy &amp; price reasonable.

Steph,

We bought from Bata a few days ago. Think <$15. The sole is okay, not fantastic, cover toe with 2 small openings on the side, and it's light enough for Hao Re to walk. He was very excited that we let him walk when we were out.

Steph,
I went to buy Combi shoes at BHG cos there was 20% disct, cost around $36+ after discount. The shoes seemed good for baby toes development.

Cos grandmother need to buy a set of clothes and shoes for Xavier's first birthday so I help to buy in advance and then get the angbao from my mum.

Being first time mum, guess I am more Kiasi.. wanted a better support shoes cos I worried if it is not comfy then maybe my boy wont want to walk.

icy,
i also heard abt the tradition that grandma needs to buy a set of clothes and shoes for the baby's 1st bday. so my mum also ask me to go and buy then she give me the angbao.

however, my boy cant walk yet.. so i cant contribute much on what shoes. but i read about combi's shoes.. "technologically" speaking, seemed like it is really good for the feet development

itok,
same here, my boy don't know how to walk.

I buy a bigger size, hopefully Xavier will walk by then. On his first birthday, he will wear for "decorative" purpose.

RE: drawers and cupboard
My boy started top enjoy opening cupboard and drawers. Other than using rubberbands to tie the cupboard together, what else can we do about the drawers?? Mummies shares some ideas?

I saw some baby safety 'wares" but they need to be drill within the cabinets, I dun quite like it.

icy,

no use one ... i put so many "safety locks" but end up my son will pull the whole thing away. later i go see if i can find the link.
the only thing that he doesnt try to peel off is the long long table cushion for the edges tat i used. mayb too long liao, peel 1/2 way give up.

Steph,
I just bought a pair from Raffles place xchange...cost $18.90. The soles are rubbery and very soft so can bend like 45 degrees. I bought size 15...I think my boy has super big, thick and fat feet. I'm a size 8 myself so guess my boy has inherited the big foot genes from me.

mylvera
got such long table cushion? I use the cube one, worse, it is like so eyecatching that the more he go and touch and peel off.

<font color="aa00aa">Kam,</font>

We tried distracting him too but it's not as easy as it sounds sometimes. It does gets on my nerves but luckily, Hubby is patient and can carry him aside to pacify him.

Wow, your Hubby is very onz! Good to be health conscious. Guessed really need to put in more effort for his sake.

Yes, they are growing up too fast for my liking. I have some regrets for working during his first year as I feel that being a SAHM will not missed out as much as myself. =(

<font color="aa00aa">Itok,</font>

I used Braun too, very fast and efficient.

<font color="aa00aa">Wheezing, Bronchitis</font>

http://www.formulamedical.com/Topics/Symptoms/Wheezing.htm

Kam,
i went to Bata to look for it but limited design for boys. It's under the Bubblegummers range &amp; they have nice girl shoes.

icy,
my hubby also thot of Combi shoes but i find them more towards sporty design than smart casual walking shoes but they r cute though

Yvonne,
my boy will need size 14.5 also big feet:p

These are just samples...i am looking for something like the 2nd pix.
1942102.jpg

1942103.jpg

*Simple Velcro closure keeps shoes securely on feet, no laces to tie or come undone
*Comfortable, flat insoles create a seamless footbed
*Flexible, breathable design promotes healthy conditions around developing feet

Icy,

I gave up on all the "safety locks" thingy. So my current solution is don't put anything that might be dangerous to Hao Re into the drawers/cabinets that he can open. And when he wants to open drawers, lead him to the one that was especially made for him (put something that has no harm, like biscuit tin, etc) so that he forgets about other drawers/cabinets.

But I would also love to hear from other mummies if you have tried some good and useful safety locks.

<font color="aa00aa">Steph,</font>

I was also looking around the other day. Osh Kosh has some nice sporty designs like the ones you prefer.

Steph,

I don't know which brand is that. And we don't care much about the design also. I think I got a size 5 for my boy.... why so different from the size 14 or 14.5 that you mentioned?

violetIce,
yup i saw Osh Kosh range b4 &amp; they r pretty nice but not sure whether they r comfy cos some soles quite hard. Will chk it out during Xmas sales

Kam,
The shop at VivoCity name 'Colettee' measured Zander's feet &amp; they say 14.5 wor. Maybe different brand got diff sizing bah.