(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

whats so funny was we genuinely thought that some auntie downstairs or upstairs making those mushroom stew, which also has the similar gassy smell...and i was literally coughing like crazy in the kitchen...
thinking back, yah, quite dangerous

Hello! me new to the forum. my bb is born in Feb 08, thought of coming to forum to see if anyone got any plans to share for their bbs' first birthday!
So exciting. 1 year old soon! yippee! :p

pat,

welcome...

jess,

can buy fr ntuc/giant/ cold storage..lots of places sell

Blackbatz
Act3 arts and drama centre. It is a holiday prog. See hor, 9.30am I send here there (cairnhill) then I zoom to CKtang, have breakfast first then 1030am CKtang open, I rush in get wat I wan. Then 11.15am I zoom back to pick her up. Tat day i brought my village out, so after pick my girl at 11.30am, I zoom to Robinsons Centrepoint to shop!! My hb say the car is my wings!
In that 1 week of her hol prog, I zoom here and there lor. There are a few shows gg ard, Mr Men at centrepoint, Elmo at Marina, Pooh at Taka, Hello kitty at tamp mall, Winx at United Sq, Strawberry shortcake at whitesands. the rest I can't rem liao, I oso can't really rem the dates and all.
TO save cost, I send her to prog at my CC here, cheaper lor. Actually I have a lot of catching up to do, pack my things, organise my photos and blah blah... but too lazy lor.
You are a teacher ah?

izit? i canot seem to find lei.. hee.. it is the same like any other pasta izit? then after cooking it we have to cut small? or it is specially for babies one?

jess,
I found in in NTUC. the alpha quite small, BUt i havent try cook for Xavier.

What to cook for baby
I start to wonder if it is because I introduce too much adult food for Xavier so he started to be picky abt plain food.. sometimes I give a bit of whatever I am eating as long as it is not too sweet or salty.

jess, I also wondering, during Jan every one will be so busy with CNY preparation. For me, I will do 2 times, my girl is born on 30th so on 18th will be for family and friends from my side, then on 31st will be for family and friends from hubbie side. I not pantang la, but I know relatives will sure ask how come do belated.

What to cook for baby
Like icy, I also start to give whatever we eat from the table or outside if its not seafood or spicy stuff or too salty stuff. My girl has never really like her baby food, she also swallow saliva when we eat our food, so I started giving her rice with tofu or some vege or sometimes steam fish that I will cook and bring out.

About pasta, how do you all cook the pasta without it smelling like pasta? I tried the organic ones but after I cook it and add puree carrot, it actually smells weird. We cant add tomato sauce yet right?

MomMe, when we went travelling last 2 weeks to Indo, my girl also had fever for 4 - 5 days. Gave her the travelling medication from PD but after eating the fever still persist. COuld be as high as 40 degree. I panic too. Brought her to see the doctors overseas, they say first day fever they will not be able to trace what is wrong even if its virus, 2nd day if still fever I can opt to do a blood test to find out. In the end, second day still fever, they gave her antibiotics. She had them for 7 days. It was a virus they think. ANyway they say baby temperature is higher than ours, so anything from 38 - 40 is not dangerous, but we must monitor and give lots of fluid. HOpe that helps?

what to cook for baby
my girl is also very picky about food. always takes a long time to coax her into eating her porridge or cereals. When we're outside, i always let her taste if it's not seafood or spicy and not too salty..haha. i even let her taste ice cream when we go swensons..haha..i'm thinking of giving her those noodles or bee tai ba or mee hoon, she's seems to be sick of porridge now.

Luv,
me too, Let Xavier try ice-cream.. it was so funny reaction.. But ever since I start letting him try a bit of what I eat, he will start to make noise and wanna eat whatever I am eating now. I just wanna let him try but not fully on outside food yet.

Lyn,
I am confirmed for the meet up on 14dec

hi mummies, i need help/advice...
Re: brown marks on baby's scalp
Yesterday i noticed Zander has tons of tiny light brown spots on his crown. He doesn't have cradle cap history. These spots resemble freckles more than anything else. In the center, they are clustered tighter together & the marks disperse as they go outward. They do not have any indentions or bumps. I wonder if we should bring him to a PD for such condition. Has anyone seen this on another baby?

icy,
my girl start to make noise even before we started letting her try our food...haha..we can let them have fully outside food when ah? 12 months old?

think all of us are already starting to give what we ourselves are eating to our darling. it should be alrite i guess. it is time to expose them to outside food...

btw, what reaction will they have if they are allegic to eggs? i am quite concern about this cos yesterday after eating alittle egg, his butt is red.... i really wonder if it is the egg problem or it is becos i brought him to beach... hee

re baby food
I am still letting her eat porridge with vege puree and fish. Fruits like bananas, peach, pear, nectarine and apple. Seems like her diet is very restricted. Dare not be adventurous as my family has a history of eczema. Even cheddar chesse also dare not let her try.

For freezing of home-made stock, what do you use to freeze? Ice cube tray or plastic bags? I find it difficult to use plastic bags as the soup will spill when scooping it in. And if I use the ice cube tray, it is not easy to remove even after it has frozen.

prata_queen,

both my hb n myself have skin allergies... but my #2 dun like to eat watery stuff.. bor bian ... got to be "adventurous" lor..

when my gal switched from breastmilk to enfapro, she broke out in hives. She has been on isomil since then.

Wondering if i should try re-introducing cow's milk eg similac (same company as isomil - abbott laboratories) slowly.

Luvv...
i dun tink so its diaper rash lei. cos hor, he wore this diaper for some time already... very fine...

mylvera
ya lor, maybe try again next week see how lor. scared he feel irritated.

angelsky,

where did you get your organic pasta from? I got one pkt from marks and spencer but it is not abc pasta. Seems too big for baby to consume, unless I boil then cut with scissors.

Hafen fed this to her as I can't add cheddar cheese which is needed in the recipe.

Sorry to barge. But need to check if anyone is organising any Bargain Balloon spree? Can let me know if any? Urgently need to get some balloons for my niece's birthday in end Dec. TIA.

prata queen
organic ABC pasta i bought from NTUC. Look at the Organic shelves.

Jess
go to the pasta section @ supermarket, not the baby food section. U will see all kinds of pasta.. spaghetti, curly ones, big ones, small ones, colourful ones, plain ones. Amongst those u will see ABC pasta. Quite small packet.

jess,

Allergic reaction should be seen on most part of the body, esp hands, face, not the butt only. Even your boy already used to the brand of diaper, he may still develop diaper rash.

wendyg
okie, i will go this weekend to take a look again.

kam
izit? okie. later i go home check again. but i am quite sure it is not diaper rash

monday so bluezzz.... but got tonnes of things to do cos have to do closing for last month... -_-"

Just came back from Mount E. My coll has given birth yesterday ! Baby Boy is so damn cute ! Big eyes and dimple ! Babies all look so cute hor...

Thanks for the advise.
Just got back from doc, apparently my boy is having fake measles.
He starting to break out in rash and doc said rash will become worse and fever should subside soon. :eek:p

re: food
that day eat mac bfast, xandall had hotcakes, hashbrowns, ice milo...he likes everything. i think he went ballistic over ice milo (i waited till more or less the ice melts so that it is super diluted), he love it so much.

about the ABC pasta, i bought mine from sheng siong. i think everywhere also sell. my office's prime supermarket oso got sell

just now lunch was super drama!
i took bus to interchange for lunch, and suddenly i was overcome by immense cramps (think like givingbirth kind), and i was staggering already, went into a clinic that i could spot, and had the doctor checked me...
in the end, nothing happened. mystery illness. after an hr, the pain went off, and i am ok again. so weird...
i almost went to the hospital coz i was really in excruciating pain...really like ch8 serial

Javin has alot of heat rash on the neck, shoulder, behind the neck all the way to the hands!!! How?? Any treatment. Apply heat rash powder and cream doesn't seem to help.

By the way our babies now can take the food that we eat? The salt content is ok?

jacelyn,

my son always get lots of heat rash. end up we use neoderm which GP prescribe lor ..very thin layer n not more den 2 times per day ...

<font color="aa00aa">pixelpixel,</font>

My goodness, you super daring. Give Xandall Mcdonalds some more. If I do that, MY hubby will be the one to go ballistic! LOL

violetIce,
haha, agree with you. Mu hubby will go mad if I introduce Mac to my boy. I dont like it anyway and we are trying to avoid it as long as possible or until the time when my boy know how to argue and request for it!

hey pixie
u go Compasspoint macs?
we were there on saturday..

so far my baby tried hotcakes only... pinch bit by bit for him to keep him quiet! Until now my 3yr old hasn't taken Macs Ice Milo yet.. he brings his own water bottle. Only in childcare then he takes hot milo for tea-time.

wah... u all really have discipline

my hubby always give food to my boy. all sort of food. even my in laws..

how i wish they can be like u all. cos now at home i m the only one that dun anyhow give food to him... think he knows it, these few days dun let me carry him if my hubby is around. haha

Yvonne,

I am on the same page as you. But I will be the one who goes mad if give McD to my boy. Will avoid fast food for my boy as long as we can. It's not difficult for us, as me and hubby don't eat fast food anyway. Though we did crave on KFC sometimes. McD is like once a year thing, if at all, this year only 1 time, last year 0.

mylvera
You very cute hor... ask me to have another bb... I already have 2 leh. Good enuf le...

wah Pixie
You gave harsh brown to Xandall ? wow ! I only let him tried hotcakes like what Wendyg mentioned is to keep his mouth shout for a while :p Tate tried mash potatoes from KFC too but minus the sauce la.

steph
My girl had cradle cap ard 10 months oso. Younger time dun have. Just use those shampoo or cream to wash. You try to scrap a bit see can come out or not, if can then prob is cradle cap lor.

Mom2nat,
tks for sharing yr experience.
hubby is paranoid abt this &amp; ask me to make appt to c PD. FIL say is cradle cap but we doubt so cos we try to scrap abit but nothing came off, the brown spots still there. Do u mean cradle cap can appear later in toddler stage also...i thot normally is from 0-3mths? We try to monitor another week &amp; see how. Hope the brown spots is only temporary.

Steph
For my #1, the cradle cap came out on her head when she was older, then ard 1 yr old or so, no more. For #2, he had when he was baby, even his ears have. PD told me they can have it anytime until 1 yr old or so. He said it is mommy's hormones in the bb tat activated it.
If you are not sure and worried, do check with your PD. Cos I oso dunno is your bb's cradle cap or not.

Good, forum is up.

Mylife, plan sounds good, hope I'll reach hotel early since blackbatz say the transport goes to a few hotels. :p Will PM you my HP number again. Let me know in case you don't get it. Forum not very stable these few days. The HK HP I have is 14 digit, not 8 digit leh. :p

ABC pasta
Giant Tampines don't have, I tried searching. :p

Lyn, sorry, I blur, thought it was around lunch time. Change to 430pm ah? Got to arrange with my PT cleaner cos it's the weekend I come from HK, must clean up the house. Let you know again, if going, I'll bring prima deli chicken pie or make a salad.