(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

any 1 can give the recipe to make the pasta sauce?
i found the heinz 1 at great world city
it contains beef stock,so cant

hi mummies how u all do 1st bday for yr baby? mine is on 24jan but 2 more days will be cny. so my ma tell me do on her chinese date bday. me mayb do simple one or mayb nv do.

hi mummies u all got friendster or facebook? can add me? at [email protected].

grumpus
thanks a lot for agreeing to help on the Kodomo stuffs.

kitsune
dont worry about it. It's precisely becos i know it's too heavy to be brought along by anyone coming to HK that i requested for help to mail it to me
I'll post again on the kids clothing later..now gotta rush go watch TVB Awards

wahhhh...seems like another Jan 08 mommies gonna be mommy soon wor....congrats!! Sshhhh

Mylife, who who? So fast another preggie mummy?
Envy envy, those with the energy and strike again so fast. Haha, me until now no menses. Looks like I'm one of those few mummies who needs to stop BF for menses/ovulation to return. :p

kitsune
Wait for her to announce here lah. But if u read her blog, u'd know
hint: she did say she was ttc again here
anyway, on average, BF mommies usually see the return of their menses around 9-10mths. U want to try so fast meh?

Hello mummies:

Hao Re has just been diagnosed as having HFMD. He has very high fever, highest recorded so far is 39.7C. No red spots at all on his hands or feet or mouth. So we didn't suspect that, we were more worried of the possibility of getting Dengue as he got a number of mosquito bites. Tht PD able to diagnose as HFMD due to the throat ulcers seen. The fever came suddenly on Saturday afternoon. I said suddenly because Saturday morning he was still perfect, drank his usual 240ml of milk. After down with fever, no more appepite, managed to drink some milk and took some cereal. But today it's gone worse, he didn't want milk at all. Luckily at the end, he took some pear puree, at least something. For my baby, my mum later suspected he has throat ulcers as he rejects milk so badly, think drinking made him pain. Before this we didn't know there could be no visible sympton for HFMD.

Lesson learn - it must be indicating something if a child falls sick. If it's flu, then you can be more relax. But if the fever didn't come with flu, you have to be worried. And don't just link it with teething. Bring him to see a PD (I wonder if a GP could do the same good job in diagnosing young baby, unless you know that GP very well or rather the GP knows your family very well).

Will be on leave whole week next week to take care of baby..... guess most likely he got it from the infant care. So got to warn to centre about it also.

Hi Grumpus and Dawn,

We have problems feeding my son, Gerald, milk since he was 3-4 mths old till now. Each feed is a "battle." We have to sing, dance, find new toys, new tricks each time to distract him, coax him to drink his milk. Otherwise, he will push away the bottle and wriggle out of the feed position.

We have tried to give him the milk via bottle, sippy cup, straw, spoon,...You know, we really dread milk feeds, and have thrown away so much milk (FM/EBM). He can reject the whole milk feed and we are really at a loss on what to do already. We think he's not interested to drink milk now.

Thank goodness he's feeding well on his solids but we still continue to try to give him his needed milk intake. Hope he will get out of his milk adversion soon.

Hi BabyG,

Haha, that sounds like my girl. She also lost interest in milk at abt 4 months, but that was due to reflux. Each feed also must "qiao luo da gu", everything around the house all let her play until xian already. So much so that my PD even ask me to give her cereal at 4 months since she dun like milk.

But after she grew out of her reflux at around 6 months, she was ok, drinking milk well. Think now that she is well into her solids (she eats rice for lunch and dinner) coupled with teething she has lost interest in milk again.

Thankfully she's started drinking again albeit slowly and with much distractions, but better than totally rejecting milk. Like u said we will have to continue to try to give her her much needed milk intake

Kam, that sounds scary, luckily ur mum alert enough to send him to PD. can see the ulcer ? hope he is getting better....is he ok now?

Grumpus and BabyG...guess it is a stage they go through...maybe they like solid food so much, so dislike the taste of milk. can ask u all what brand FM u feeding them? i giving them Enfapro...

Kam,
You just came back from business trip right? Must have missed Hao Re alot then now he's down with HDMF...hope he gets well soon. I think the recent change in weather got everyone sick again...me and in-law all down with flu.

Re: Screaming
This afternoon had lunch at Lei Garden to celebrate my mum's birthday. Don't know why my boy was so excited/happy, he kept screaming non-stop...aiyo. Everytime the waitress tries to play with him, he will laugh and start screaming...everyone in the restaurant was looking at our direction...so paiseh. Hope it's just a stage they go through and hopefully it'll end soon.

dawn,
my girl was on full EBM until 2 days ago i introduced NAN. So far she doesn't seem to have a preference between BM or FM

Dawn and Grumpus,

He's on Similac. For his last feed today, he started crying once he saw the milk bottle. We finally got him to drink only 110ml through 3 attempts. On good days (very rare), he drinks about 180-210ml. In any case, i'm glad he's still sleeping thru the nite.

Hehehe, mylife, I know who is the next Jan mummy who is preggy liao. Went to check out her blog and yup, saw the entry.

Aiyah, not that I want to try so early but scared I'll take a long time to strike then I'll be 'chao lin chan fu'. Haha. ;)

goodbb
dunno why can't see my email. anything i can help?

angry
i was on the escalator to the next floor @ jp on sat evening carrying my son and a lady shoved me from the other direction running downwards, almost fell back. terrible attitude, no apologies @ all. i have a witness.... janbb's hubby... was right behind me.

party supplies
passed by SKP bookstore, they have quite an array of party stuff and px negotiable, quite a no of outlets around sgp too. can check it out.

Dawn/Yvonne,

Thanks for your concern. He is all right now. The fever has totally subsided since Sunday afternoon. And this super active boy continue to be super active...... walk and cruise and play until we all tired already, but he still kept going :) Only thing is he still doesn't like milk, drinks 60-120ml only, we thought it could be the ulcer, but he takes puree and fruit, and even orange, so think he just didn't like milk for now. And big relieve for us is he still drink plenty of water.

Yvonne, yes, I have just come back from my business trip. Today come to work for 0.5 day, since I have already been away for 1 week, so try to do some clearing before another week of leave. It's good for me to have some quality time with Hao Re, and for me to adjusting to the jet-lag, though not too bad, but still have some effect on me.

Kam,
Hope your boy will recover real soon. :eek:(

RE: GUG
Hey so the second session on 6 dec really can't formalise izzit? :eek:(

Re: Teething
Hey, does any of you know how long will the loose stool thing last? My boy last been having loose stool for over a week, and now kena v bad diaper rash.... so heart pain... coz i think his balls also got a bit of rash .... haiz...

MomMe,
My boy also have loose or rather soft stools for more than week...but it's just once a day thing. I try to give him apples/cereal to "harden" the stools a bit but not sure if it's really helping. Must try to change his diapers immediately after he poos otherwise the poo gets everywhere! Try using Johnson and Johnson diaper rash cream...heals the rashes real quickly.

O...my boy can like poo 5 time a day le... sigh....
but he doesnt seem v affected by it, so i thot dun need see doc. But now I am getting a bit worried.
The prob for me is that he even poos in the middle of the night... so by time we clean him it will be like in the morning... hence i think it irritates his skin a lot.

MomMe,
If he poos 5 times a day then I don't think it's related to teething. Better bring him to see PD, could be a food allergy or lactose intolerance??

Hi Kam,
Glad that your boy's fever has subsided. Give him lots of your love and attention now, he needs you most ...

Hi MomMe,
You could try washing his buttocks with a piece of wet wipes under running tap water in the basin. Can do it every 2-3 hours and change a new diaper ?

Hi Mei,
I'm ok with any plans on the bday party bash. Hopefully we can stick to the date 20Dec.
THanks.

Sorry, for GUG trial on 14Dec gotta cancel becos we cant mt e minimum of 8 babies to form private trial.. will giv them a call to cancel e trial.

Congrats to dat pregnant mummy!

potluck@east is on 6dec or 14dec?
1) lyn78
2)itok
3)kitsune
4) icy - should be fine for the time being

hehe...i also know who is the preggy mummy liao! Congrats! my estate fertile ground ya
hint*

Kam,
glad bb HaoRe is ok now.

ha!!! when due when due?
dun carry your boy liao la.. let husband do it. Once i found out i was preg with #2, i didn't carry my 2yr old anymore. until WAAAYYYY after my C-section. Carried him (15kg) for 10min & felt pain at my stitches.. and that was several months after #2 born.

MomMe:

My gal also having loose stools.. at first thought was teething.. but aft the 2nd day, i feel something not right lei.. the smell of the stools is extremely smelly.. and i took her to the PD. The PD said tat it is a diarrhea infection. And this diarrhea bug is getting all ard, and is becoming worse and worse.. so i tink u better bring yr bb to see a PD..

Hi Mei,

Think i am not joining for the bday bash le. sorry. cos abit ex.

Helo,
can i join the potluck@east?
changed to 14Dec rite??

1) lyn78
2)itok
3)kitsune
5) jess__thomas

Can i join the potluck@east?
1) lyn78
2)itok
3)kitsune
5) jess__thomas
6) Prata_queen

soy milk
advise needed pls. Is anyone's baby on total soymilk + solids? My gal is allergic to cow milk. I'm worried if soymilk provides enuf nutrients and calcium to her..

Is skin prick test absolutely necessary? I have not brought her to do this test.

I intend to let her try NAN HA this weekend. She has been on 2 mths of soymilk (Isomil).

Tks!

MomMe
Tat time Rylee got the viral gastroenteritis also diarrhoea quite cham. I made sure i wakeup at night to check her diaper (sure got poo one) to change so as to ensure she doesnt get diaper rash. Use tepid boiled water to wipe the butt area. Dont use the wet wipes cos wet wipes got chemicals, plus the toxic from the poo, sure kena rash. And slate on generous amounts of Desitin.

Kam
Oh dear. Hugs to Hao Re. My PD in HK also told me to stop bringing Rylee to commercial playgroups cos got yet another HFMD outbreak in HK as well. But i guess Hao Re in infant care, bo pian. Let teachers know so they can clean more efficiently?

Preggie Mommies
Yah congrats to all

Kitsune
Me oredi chao lin chan fu liao lo. kekekeke

wendy
wahhh then your #1 never fuss ah? Tat's my utmost worry of trying for #2 cos worry #1 still fairly young, how can i not carry?

WOW.. another mummy preggy? congrats congrats.. welcome to our club..

who is that mummy? let us know and share the joy with us.

chey, maybe not yet 3m, so she waiting for the auspicious day to announce. dun make her shy la. Now she dun appear liao. see la...

mylife
i discovered preg in May 07... by then #1 was 22m old liao. Husband took over the carrying lor.. i was amazed at how he could suddenly carry him, coz previously he always complain backache (slipped disc) blah blah.