(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

JanBB

Congratulations on your darling winning the contest =)

I'm ok with 30 Nov (Sun). Pls slot my darling in. Thank you!

mom2nat,
my girl is down to 2 naps a day. Once even one nap only! The first nap usually around 11-12 depending on what time she woke up. Duration abt 1.5hrs.
Second nap abt 4.30 for abt an hr. At night sleep by 8.30-9pm

mcfluffy,
when yr gal wakes up for milk at 6.30 does she go back to sleep after drinking her milk?

My girl recently wakes up at 6ish, drink milk already dun want to sleep back, sometimes manage to 'catch' her back to sleep, sleep from 7-8am and then wake up liao.
Any mummies have the same prob?

grumpus
rylee is almost exactly like yours! She also sometimes wakes at 6ish and dont wan to go back to sleep. Night also sleep around same hour. I cant imagine when they reach 1yr old and cut down one nap, ie only naps once a day! I'm gonna be soooo tired.

been going back to reaad the archives

wendy
i realised i didnt answer ur question on the 23c weather of HK. Now not aircon temp at all. Temp is 23-29. Most of daytime it's 27-29, only night time is 23c. From next tues onwards, shud be 19-23 liao. Shud be fun! Yay!!!

ahcapp
the pasta, u said cook until soft....err....i very stupid leh...how to cook ah? Is it jus put into boiling water? Then the cooked carrots, jus blend with cheddar cheese and the cooked tomato issit? Blur.

Mei,
Taking group photos and during the event shouldn't be a problem. But my hubby is getting overly excited and stressed about the task...as usual...haha.

I will transfer the money to you tomorrow...if I remember...haha...keep forgetting lah, really lost my memory after giving birth.

mylife, not so soon down to 1 nap. My gal only went down to 1 nap when I sent her to cc at 26mths. Otherwise can still take 2 naps though between 30min-1h. So far my kids all sleep about 8.30-9pm and wake up 6+am coz gotta get out of house by then. Abel is quite a good napper, can nap 2-3times a day, at least 1 long nap of 1.5-2h.

Urgh! Would love to go to Crocs Expo sale but I'm too busy..sigh

Mcfluffy,
Nice pix of your gal..

Party supplies
All the shops in Concourse have moved to several different places although still nearby. I think there's a few at Tekka Mall..Middle Road..

Mei, still waiting for your reply on what kind of food they are serving at pines for $36 per pax. Thanks.

Mcfluffy, agree, nice pix. Which photo studio?

babe
Hah...really ah? But my fren's daughter dropped one nap when she was 14mths. Another fren's boy dropped 1 nap chun-chun at 12mth. He naps 1 long nap of 2-3hours. I dunno which is worse, jus 1 nap a day (but a long one is good) or 2-3 short naps (got a few breaks but all 30mins nia)

Rylee is still nursing to nap and to sleep. I'm wondering how I'll transition her nxt time...headache cos I'd hate to let her cry. Any experienced mommies? She can't be pat to sleep cos put down only will straight away climb backup to sitting position altho she's dead tired

hi janbb,

Congrats! Wow, so cute of Jayden....actualli the caption is nice lol....Btw, I m onz for the trial! Thanks for making the arrangement.

GUG TRIAL:
http://www.gugifted.com/main.htm
Date: They have left 30 Nov (Sun), u all ok?
Time: 2pm - 3.30pm (1.5hrs)
Venue: United Square Mall
Fee: $50 (pay to them on the actual day)
What to bring: Additional clothings for baby, non-slips socks & jackets.
One parent to accompany in the class, can do a switch during their break.
Mummies that show interests, u oki with the new date on 30 Nov(Sun), 2pm? I juz called & GUG is full on 23 sun & I have secured the 30 Nov (sun) class for us. Hurry reply, pls. Me, sweat!!

We shld take the 1st come 1st serve basis oki. Max 10 babies.

1) janbb (ok)
2) mcfluffy
3) babe
4) icy
5) violetice
6) Lynn
7) Mandy (u mention u interested last wk, wanna change our bjg to sat & go for this trial?)
8) Hammies
9) AhCapp
10) elmo78
11) blessed baby

hi mcfluffy,
yes, yes our playgroup is confirmed! So nice.
Wow I like celeste in the flower pot...so cute....just like anne geddes pic. She is so adorable. Where u took the pic from?

Mylife, it really depends on ur kid. Used to nurse my kids to sleep too. Did transition by introducing bottle when it's nursing time and put really close to breast. Guess my kids were easy as they took to bottles easily though I tbf one for 4mths and another for 6mths before going on partial. Sometimes u may just have to use the cry it out or kids will juz take control. Juz like one day we will have to cane our kids to discipline them. However, the choice is yours. I still rock and cuddle by boy to sleep after his milk now. Babies are very smart. If they know they get the attention, they will not sleep even if they are tired. For my boy now, sometimes I'll put him on the bed with me and pat him when I'm tired and dun feel like carrying and rocking. He gets up, I put him down again. Do it many times and he crawls quite abit. Sometimes pull his legs and hands to prevent him from crawling. After awhile, say 30min, he will go to sleep.

mcflurry, nice picture

can share where you took the picture from....i am also interested but yet to decide where to go

is this studio good?

Jabbb: Sad. i cant make it on 30 Nov for GUG, i'm free on e wk aft which is on 7Dec.

Goodbb: Shanghai selling e neckfloat for $10, e tub wif neckfloat is $50.As for heat sensor, i'm not sure abt it.

Mcfluffy: datz a nice pic..

Elmo78: wen and whr is e playgd? can i join?

<font color="0077aa">GUG TRIAL:
Date: 30 Nov (Sun)
What to bring: Additional clothings for baby, non-slips socks &amp; jacket. Parent can wear socks too.
Pls be there 10mins to register before class starts.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Mummies in the list, pls PM me the following info that requested by GUG. Thks.
-Mummy's name
-Baby's name
-DOB
-2 contact no. (i.e Mummy H/P &amp; either daddy H/p or Home no.)

Onz:
1) janbb
2) mcfluffy
3) babe
4) icy (got your details)
5) violetice (got your details)
6) AhCapp
7) elmo78
8) blessed baby
9)
10)</font>

<font size="+1">Left 2 more seats for:
1) Lynn
2) Mandy
Pls reply oki.</font>

Lynn,
U can't ah. Oki, will take your name out. I can't arrange another one in Dec cos' will be very busy with my boy 1yo party &amp; my HK trip. See got other mummies interested or not, maybe u all can start 1 trial in Dec? I can pass u GUG's contact no.

Mcfluffy,
Nice photoshoot. Can share which studio huh?

elmo,
thks. Was laughing at my own captions cos' the first line sound like "Pad advertisement" haha ;)

Any mommy interested in neckfloat? Bought 1 but only used once as my son doesn't like it. Bought at $12 now Selling for $10.

sorry to interupt:

i got the following for sale:

400gm Nan Pro 1 (expiry 2010)
400gm Nan Pro 2 (expiry 2010)
400gm Nan HA 1 (expiry 2009)
400gm Nan HA2 (expiry 2009)
400gm Enfalac (expiry 2009)
900gm Enfalac (expiry 2010)

please pm me for detail..

hi janbb,

Thanks for reserving a seat for me. Had been busy. So no time to log in.

Think we can change our class to sat for that week. We change this sunday, okie??

In case you are looking for the shops that sell parties supplies at Concourse, the shops have shifted to Tekka Mall.

Mandy,
Glad that u finally see the post cos' dun have ur H/P ah. Yup, we shld change our 30 nov sun BJG class to 29 nov ;) Juz for your info, our last BJG lesson will be on 7 dec &amp; i will be doing my boy's 1yo b'day party on that day. So i will change 7 dec class to 6 dec (sat) too. And their sat class is 10.30am &amp; 3 babies now. Better rite, feel that our current class is a bit packed &amp; chaotic hor.

PM me the above requested info for the trial oki.

Babe, got your details ; )

babe,
i tried yr method b4 too, just put on the bed and lie beside her, if she crawls/sit up i will just pull her to lie down again. Sometimes I even 'hug' her like bolster to keep her arms and legs down..haha..but this method only worked a few times, most of the time she gets so angry or frustrated that I have to carry her to calm her down again.

But babies are very smart, there was once I was sick and really had no energy to carry her to sleep, I just put her beside me on the bed, she toss and turn and guai guai go to sleep.

mylife,
my girl is like yrs too!! I either bottle feed her and she goes to sleep or have to carry her on my shoulder and walk until she sleeps. If i put her on the bed to pat she will roll and roll and sit up and become wide awake.

I also dun want to do the crying out method, so I'm hoping as she gets older she understands more and will listen to reason...hahaha

My mum was sharing with me her own experience with me regarding sleeping. Apparently, when I hit 12mths or so, she used to give me my last bottle of milk, I would hold my own bottle, finish my milk and go to sleep. Later on, she would just go retrieve the bottle. But after about 6mths or so, I came to learn that the bottle meant time to sleep so I used to throw the bottle out the cot and refuse to drink and sleep. My mum eventually did the crying out method and let me cry and cry until eventually I drank my milk and went to sleep myself. The crying out took about a wk....sheesh...

hey wendy,
besides the goodness of ebm, did u give ur son supplements to build up his immune system?

or mummies whose child is 2 yrs old or above, any good supplements to recommend?

kitsune,
sorry. i totally forget to reply to u. too manythings. it's international food. busy today. so can't chat now. bye!

wendyg
it's ok that you can't get the food jar from me. I will give to other mummies then. ;) I thought your hubby still got class nearby my house?

luca
my #1 takes the white Scotts Emulsion Cod Liver Oil daily, one tablespoon. Tried syrup multivits, chinese herbal pill etc.. but this one works best and cheapest too. The orange one too sweet, gives him phlegm.

mcfluffy
ai, the one u took of her at 2/3 months is still the best la... just focus on her expressive eyes &amp; charming smile can liao, no need cute props and save $$ too

re: nap
my baby still napping 3 times a day, mainly coz i can't take over until abt 8pm daily. He wakes abt 6am+ near 7am, first nap is after 9am, 2nd nap is abt 2pm+ &amp; last nap abt 6pm. First 2 naps will last abt 1-2hr each, last nap 30min. he will zzz at 9pm, sometimes earlier at 8.30pm if daytime didn't nap well.

I still remember for my #1, we had to adjust his naps fr 2 to 1 nap @ 17m. He was still napping twice a day (10am &amp; 3pm) at that time, but since he was going to half-day childcare, the principal advised us to get him used to napping once a day at abt 1-3pm. So from there he started his once a day nap.

blessedbaby
yes he still does, but nowadays his classes are quite packed (back to back) and he has to rush off immed to the next lesson, so he can't make the detour to collect. he v high strung type, if stress him a bit he will fall sick and blame me! Esp if those items are not beneficial to him. If he going to get his own computer gadgets, even Tuas also ok. He is like that one.

<font color="0000ff">JanBB,</font>

still can join the <font color="0077aa">GUG trial</font>? Hope i am not too late:p 30thNov 2pm ok for me

GUG TRIAL:
Date: 30 Nov (Sun)
What to bring: Additional clothings for baby, non-slips socks &amp; jacket. Parent can wear socks too.
Pls be there 10mins to register before class starts.

<font color="0077aa">Mummies (highlighted in Blue), pls PM me the following info that requested by GUG. Thks.
-Mummy's name
-Baby's name
-DOB
-2 contact no. (i.e Mummy H/P &amp; either daddy H/p or Home no.)</font>

Onz:
1) janbb
2) babe (got your details)
3) icy (got your details)
4) violetice (got your details)
<font color="0000ff">5) mcfluffy
6) AhCapp
7) elmo78
8) blessed baby
9) Mandy
10) Steph</font>

We shld confirm a Full Class of 10 babies(max).

my boy naps twice a day, each time 1 hour, sometimes i heng, 1.5 hours to 2 hours.
but then again, he sleeps early, 8-ish to 9-ish, but wakes up super early. 5am wakie liao...
recently dont want to take his last feed at midnight. so at 4am+, already tossing and turning, waking up for a feed. so instead of giving him a feed at 8pm, stretched to 8.30 - 9pm, and he wakes up at 6am for his 1st feed...

hi lynn,

Sure, pls join our playgroup on 16 Nov from 2 pm onwards. It will be held at my place @ Buangkok.

hi janbb,
Thanks for the coordination. Will pm u my details shortly. Wow, u planning your boy's birthday bash? Me too. Just confirm chalet and now need to book the rest.

thanks wendy, my boy also takes cod liver oil and ceelin prescribed by PD.
But he still makes a few sneezes every morning..

luca
oh that could be due to sensitive nose? some sort of sinusitis... do u or your husband have it? Coz i hv sinus, very bad when i was a child. and the PD said likely my #1 got it fr me, coz his airways narrow v easily, hv lots phlegm which will irritate him esp when sleeping coz horizontal. If he catches flu, he will feel much worse that other kids who hv flu... more mucus, easily blocked nose etc. Sounds like me when i was a child. Right fr the start she advised me to bf as long as i can, coz this is a form of allergy... it's called allergic rhinitis. And bfg is good in combating allergies.

wendyg
thanks for detailed feedback. yes definitely feel that bfg my gal's health quite good. she had bm for 17m. dun fall sick easily unless ate grapes or cold stuff with my PILs then. even now her playgroup kids often gotta miss classes but she's able to battle these viruses. only kena once serious one and spread to didi this yr. i tot can only contract HFMD once? poor boy

hmmm i prob consider cc when #2 abt 24m. dunno to continue kindy with # 1 then or tog in cc. sigh just go fill up application form first. very long waiting list every where

public swimming pool with interesting features
Jurong west. keke.. near my house. plus pool with currents which my son adores... but way too far for most of you i believe.

luca
my gal also takes scotts cod liver oil but orange flavour (yeah quite sweet) cos so many parents pass their bottles to me when their kids rejected and my gal doesn't mind the taste. also give her kawai cod liver candy drops (very tasty)

does your baby sleep in aircon? sometimes too dry. so putting a bowl of water in the room would help. rem to change everyday cos scare breed mozzies

anyone has the avent manual pump flower petal to give away? mine yellow liao.

wendy
probably, he's ok for the rest of the day after the sneeze. he got a habit of rubbing his nose for a few times too when hes trying to fall asleep at night.

i often have flu once a week, especially monday, which i call it "monday flu" even though i had 2-3 kinds of fruits everyday.
weak lar and could be "burn out" from juggling between 2 active kids on weekend.

evening
whats the bowl of water for?

my boys got runny nose every few months, so we stop letting them sleep in aircon, saves electricity too, but hb often complains its too hot to sleep, so we'll on aircon to cool the room first, and shut off when i go to bed s i'm the last person to sleep.

too bad my boys cant enjoy the goodness of bm, i failed badly on this.

wendy
Wahhh drop naps also must train one ah? I tot they will auto drop one nap? Can share exactly how u train/adjust him from 2 to 1nap?

mylife
we had to train him coz gotto send him to childcare ctr @ 18m.. he has to adjust to cc timing wor.
day by day stretch his timing, bit by bit.

luca
bowl of water so that the air isn't too dry in aircon rm

Finally took leave today to rebond my hair...now nice and smooth, no more unruly curls!

mylife,
So what was the outcome of Rylee's checkup for her twitches?? You brought her to see PD right?

Mei,
Sorry, I forgot to transfer today, will do it over the weekend. Paiseh hor.

Wendyg,
You mean we have to train them to follow cc's timing?? I thought let them "auto-adjust" after they start cc??

Anyway, I have checked out 2 cc which I have short-listed. Quite happy with what I saw at one of the cc but will cost me $450-$500 a month after subsidy. Will be checking out a few more over the next few weeks...

My boy have been very busy this week...cramp so many milestones together. He's crawling much better, learning to sit up on his own from lying position and standing up by the sofa. Gave me and hubby a surprise for achieving so many things in 1 week. We kept encouraging him to stand and he didn't seem interested but once we bochap, he suddenly stand on his own...hahaha.

evening
i have. But i'm in HK leh. Haha. Would have gladly give to u.

yvonne
it's like that one, rylee also surprised us cos she also took the longest time to sit up on her own, then suddenly, can sit up, crawl and pulled up + cruise too.

Thanks for asking. I took her to 2 PDs. One suggested i do EEG, but 2nd one say it's ok if dont want to do. Could be her immature nervous system wor. Or maybe she's jus too much energy. Anyway, need to monitor lo.

wendy
yah i also tot let them auto adjust? How long it took for u to adjust bit by bit before he naps once a day and a long one too? How u keep him asleep?

grumpus
*high five* Me too would never do the cry it out method. I tell myself she will grow out of it bah. And yes, hoping when they can reason and communicate, perhaps it'll be better. Well, we survived the newborn days, rite? Hahahhaa

re: before sleep
actually i have a few combo when my son needs to sleep. when he is very tired, i just hold him in my arms and let him doze off. if he is not sleeping, but should be sleeping, i will try to rock him to sleep in my arms. if he is still not alseep after 15mins, i will put him down, lie down beside him, and close my eyes. he will sit up, crawl, stand up on his own, pull my hair, pinch my face etc. can see that he is exhausted, rubbing his eye etc, just dont want to go to sleep *jian gu tou*, so i just let him flip and flop all he wants, maybe 1/2 an hr or an hr later, he will really flop onto the bed and KO...
for me, i just let him tire out until he sleeps. but i must lay very inert, or else i would be sending him the message that i want to play with him. so i always act as tho i am sleeping. sometimes even doze off on my own, holding his legs haha..

i very cruel mummy hor

mylife,
So far my boy didn't have any more of those twitches. Perhaps you monitor first. If there's no more twitching then you don't have to put Rylee through so many tests.

pixie....haha...u r not the oni one...i also hold on to their leg when i sleep. cos scared i doze off and they climb off the bed!

hi any mummies using BPA Free milk bottles?
i saw isetan having sale for pigeon bpa free bottles, ard 25% off. any feedback?