(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

angelsky, jacelyn,

my boy joining ur club ... super skinny ... he weighs 7.3kg at 9mths... mark in health book at < 25 percentile, hv been waking up 2 times at night to feed him n yet, result so poor...
tempted to let him try FM... wonder if it can up his weight faster...

mei
Ok will prepare additional set of stickers (3 sets in total). So got stoller paste stroller. If not, can paste at diaper bag, maid or babies. Oops, in case carry wrong one home, haha ; )

mylife
OIC, thot HK weather has turned cold. Planning to bring my boy for a short trip in Dec but hv not decide where. My legs are so itchy, so tempted to go Bangkok shopping &amp; massage but dun think is baby friendly there. Worry abt the water too. HK is too cold in Dec. Genting is too boring. Haiz, no idea now. Scarely ended up in sentosa ^.^

Steph
Excited for you leh... Let us know your #2 gender tmr. U got try the ring method to see the gender yourself?

angelsky, jacelyn &amp; chermaine

My boy also fall in the lower percentile category. 8.6kg in 10mths now. He drinks very little about 400-600ml(depends) a day cos sometimes he will reject milk. Can I know how much milk is your baby drinking? Have you all started porridge or cereal? How many times a day?

Last weekend, my MIL gave my boy cereal with fish, veg. She added soup instead of milk to mix cereal. In the end, he was so "bloated" and reject milk the whole day. Faint!! Break record, 6hrs interval after the cereal meal then drink a bit of milk.

Both Hubby &amp; I consider average size &amp; small appetite for me. Wonder is it due to our genes? His weight gained only increased abt 100g per mth, very little hor. Plus they are so active now, fats are almost burned, becum taller &amp; not that chubby anymore.

mei
Put a ring in one strand of your hair. Something like a pendulum. Hold it &amp; let it swing freely above your the other palm. If the ring swing in circular motion is gal, if left &amp; right is boy. Heehee, u go home try &amp; see true or not?

mei,
cannot be ring with gems cos will affect the direction of the "swing". Well is juz for fun.. some of my friends said is very accurate. heehee ;)

Article to share...........

When things in your life seem almost too much to handle, when 24 hours in a day are not enough, remember the mayonnaise jar and the 2 glasses of wine.....

A professor stood before his philosophy class and had some items in front of him. When the class began, wordlessly, he picked up a very large and empty mayonnaise jar and proceeded to fill it with golf balls.

He then asked the students if the jar was full. They agreed that it was.

The professor then picked up a box of pebbles and poured them into the jar with the golf balls. He shook the jar lightly. The pebbles rolled into the open areas between the golf balls. He then asked the students again if the jar was full. They agreed it was.

The professor next picked up a box of sand and poured it into the jar with the pebbles and the golf balls. Of course, the sand filled up everything else. He asked once more if the jar was full. The students responded with a unanimous 'YES.'

The professor then produced two glasses of wine from under the table and poured the entire contents into the jar, effectively filling the empty space between the sand, the pebbles and the golf balls. The students laughed.

'Now,' said the professor, as the laughter subsided, 'I want you to recognize that this jar represents your life: The golf balls are the important things; your family, your children, your health, your friends, and your favourite passions; things that if everything else was lost and only they remained, your life would still be full.'

The pebbles are the other things that matter like your job, your house, and your car. The sand is everything else; the small stuff.
'If you fill the jar with sand first,' he continued, 'There is no room for the pebbles or the golf balls. The same goes for life. If you spend all your time and energy on the small stuff, you will never have room for the things that are important to you.'

'Pay attention to the things that are critical to your happiness. Play with your children. Take time to get medical checkups. Take your partner out to dinner. Play another 18. Do one more run down the ski slope. There will always be time to clean the house and fix the disposal. Take care of the golf balls first; they represent the things that really matter. Set your priorities. The rest is just sand.'

One of the students then raised her hand and inquired, “But what about the wine, what does it represent?”

The professor smiled. 'I'm glad you asked. It just goes to show you that no matter how full your life may seem, there's always room for a couple of glasses of wine with a friend.'

Janbb,
8.6kg is ok mah...I think it all depends on genes. If hubby and yourself small size then most likely bb will follow. Me and my hubby both tall so my bb also tall and big-built. No need to worry lah.

My boy having 2-3 meals a day depending at home with me or with in-laws. He eats less at in-laws place. Usually breakfast is milk followed by some cereal or yogurt. Lunch will be porridge. Teabreak will be milk and dinner will be milk followed by jar food/yogurt/cereal and last feed at 9pm. He's drinking about 600ml per day.

janbb, my boy also drinks 600ml a day i.e. 4x150ml, plus porridge for lunch and dinner.
other food will be fruits, whatever my mil have in her kitchen. try a bit of everything lor. sometimes she boil soup, my boy oso drinks. my boy likes soup a lot. takes after me, heehee

i think my boy's big size is coz im tall; my hb same height as me. wah lau, the family on my side all big sized one, like giants. all big boned.

i agree with yvonne, depends on genes

JanBB, my girl only likes bread and junk food.

She can take total 600ml average a day. Then bread or yoghurt or for breakfast and then porridge for dinner, but she cant finish them.

nez

My boy usually sleeps ard 11plus - 12am at night after his last feed. Then he'll wakes up at abt 7plus for morning feed then back to sleep again before waking up at 9plus to disturb us. My boy sleeps late as I can only pick him up from IL's place after my work which ends abt 10plus. But at IL's place, he sleeps at abt 10plus, but of course wakes up at 6plus for 1st feed.

Playpen/Cot
My boy totally can't go into playpen/cot n play by himself. He always needs to be accompanied and that makes me inseperable from him, even it's at IL's place. Place him in his cot after he sleeps at night, but morning 5 plus, he'll stand up and make noise to join us in our bed. *shake head abt my sticky boy*

JanBB
My boy's milk intake is abt 500ml/day (250-260ml /feed) and porridge for lunch and dinner. Total up is 4 meal intake/day in 5-6 hr intervals. In between, I'll also give him fruits/bread to munch with.. Now he weighs abt 9.2kg @ 9.5mths (after his viral fever and fake measles)..

JanBB,

600ml okay lah. Recommended to drink 500-600ml for baby at this stage.

Hao Re recently has very good appetite (after recovered from the flu), 1 milk feed now is 240ml, these 2 days didn't wake up for night feed, so 3x240ml = 720ml. If not so good appetite, will be 3x210ml = 630ml. Plus 3 meals of cereal or porridge, and 1 snack of fruit/vege. If he decides to wake up for night feed AGAIN (**sob sob**), then milk intake can shoot to 960ml per day!

I am short but fat, hubby is tall but skinny (weird combination)..... so baby will be middle size?!?!?!???

janbb
HK is too cold in Dec?! no way...
in 2006 we went with #1 after christmas, b4 New Year. Oh fantastic weather! No rain, outside everyday like AIRCON... 19-20 deg. Gets chilly in the evenings/ nights, but we're back in the hotel by that time coz hv to start the bedtime routine anyways.
in 2007 we tried Sept... oh too hot! But bo pian coz preg with #2, cannot go in Dec.
So this year we're going in Dec again. Much looking fwd! Countdown... 2 months to go...

Janbb, chermaine

My boy is drinking aproximately 400-600ml of milk. He only use bottle to drink in the nite. Daytime i used the milk to mix with cereal for him or else he won't drink.
Here is his shedule
7ish cereal = 100ml milk
11ish = porriage
3ish = cereal + 100ml milk
6ish = porriage
8ish = 100-150ml milk
12 mid nite 12ish 180ml
5.30 morning 150ml

His wt at 9.5months is 7.6kg.

RE: breakfast
Wad do you all give for breakfast? I had been giving cereal for months tot of giving somting new but dunno wad to intro to him. can someone share ideas with me?

Janbb,

think my boy prefer water to milk.... so far, i m still using Avent small bottle... as my boy cannot finish 125ml BM per session... he is a poor drinker. wonder when he can graduate from small bottle and move on to big bottle.

milk intake : 400~600ml
Breakfast : Cereal / Si Shen Fen (mix with BM)
Lunch/Dinner : Porridge (max half a rice bowl, sometimes skip dinner as he no mood to eat)
Afternoon teabreak : Fruits

I m a kiasu mommy, add many stuff into porridge, e.g.potato + pork + fish + spinach + egg yolk ... just hope he have more nutrients...

A friend recommend me to give Bao Yin Dan to increase bb appedite n push the wind out from his stomach... havn't try this yet...

Next Sunday he is going to be 10 mths... dun think he can hit 8kg...

Jacelyn, can share with kind of cereal u use? I tried to give the cereal in a bottle so that at least can bluff my girl to take cereal, but the cereal dont seem to dissolve well, end up hard for her to suck and drink. She uses L teat already.

Breakfast, yoghurt, bread, cereal with banana (sounds yucky, but I was trying to improvise), cereal with any fruits that they can eat, biscuits, egg yolk.

Jacelyn,

cereal + 100ml milk = very watery cereal?

do u put cereal into bottle? what teats to use when add cereal to milk? i m using avent teat no 4 but can see that the cereal stuck at teats... can anyone teach me?

Aquaduck trial on the 1st Nov at 5pm-5.30pm. Guest fees of $5.35 chargable (car park inclusive). No more free huggies diaper, mummies to bring their own.

1. Kam
2. tansy (twin1)
3. mandygoh
4. Bebe_yan
5. Mcfluffy

Jacelyn withdrew the slot as her baby is sick. Any taker?

Anglesky,

I am giving Javing Friso wheat and rice based milk cereal. I alternate the 2 cereals. I give 6 scoops (scoope from friso milk) of the cereal. i used the milk to blend the cereal left over milk will feed him by spoon as "water"!

For cereal i put in the milk i use the Nestle rice cereal (Green color tin)i replace 1 scoope of milk powder to cereal. I am using Pigeon L size teat and i cut the test to "x" to make it bigger hole.

dear all, dun be too concern abt the weight gain and what percentile your boy is.

my no 1 that time is always at 75 percentile...slightly bigger size than a neighbour who is born half a year earlier.

now that gor gor is much bigger size than my boy...my boy now so skinny...only 50 percentile tho he eat a lot and also drink a lot of milk (all thanks to di di...cos he follow him ma).

My friend's girl who is 97% when she was a baby now is average weight...almost same weight as my boy

so morale of the story is as long as they are healthy....dun worry la

chermaine, so good ur boy likes water. Mine hates water and hardly want to sip any. We have to force using syringe.

Any of ur bb know how to hold their own milk bottle? Mine v lazy, dun wanna hold his bottle. Make him hold, he jus place and roll bottle all over.

finally back at work after 2 days. my gal is down with fever for the past few days. super pissed with the nurses in raffles hospital with their ways of getting my gal's urine for test as the PD suspected that she has UTI. They keep forcing her and pressing her bladder, holding her both legs up, standing in front of the sink and asking her to urine. All just because the clinic is closing soon and they want to go home already. Nw my gal is so scared that she refuses to eat and drink. The moment she sees the milk bottle, she starts to cry badly. She is also scared of diaper change and will scream very badly. My hubby and I have decided to log a formal complain to the Raffles Hospital about the way the nurses collect the urine for test.

mummies, I need help on how to encourage my gal to eat and drink again as i gave her a bottle of milk just before her urine test and she associated drinking to urine test.

1 year old Mass Birthday Bash 20th Dec Sat lunchtime 11am-2pm - Globetrotters Jubilee Rm @ #02-02 United Square
http://www.globetrotters.com.sg/index.php?option=com_content&amp;task=view&amp;id=75&amp;Itemid=94
1. S$28 per adult / S$14 per child (3-10yrs old) for buffet lunch from 11am-2pm at Jubilee Function Rm.
2. Party deco/helium balloons/party hats/gift table/cake-cutting-table would be provided, with goodie bags for 2-yr-and-above-kids.
3. Rm just nice for sit-down lunch, with no extra space for babies to crawl around.
4. High-chairs would be provided on availability (as it's still open to public).
5. Any other questions I need to ask?

01. mei ==> OK
02. mandygoh ==> OK
03. blessed_serene ==> OK
04. steph77
05. shorty_gal ==> OK
06. QQ
07. babyshannon ==> OK
08. elmo_78 ==> OK
09. blessedbaby ==> OK
10. icy ==> OK
11. babyship
12. kitsune_sg ==> OK
13. yen2007
14. janbb ==> OK
15. zhu_baby
16. chaye ==> OK
17. superbee ==> OK
18. mommy2be
19. lyn78 ==> OK
20. mcfluffy ==> OK
21. tracy_lazy ==> OK
22. mom2nat ==> OK
23. sassymum
24. verene ==> OK
25. ylim ==> OK
26. hammies03 ==> OK
27. bebe_yan ==> OK (may be travelling in Dec)
28. audrey_sg ==> OK - pls pm me details
29. fishia ==> OK - pls pm me details
30. baby 26 (hubby + twins)
TOTAL 55A + 4C + 29B (including blue)

shannonbaby

:{ i'm so pissed by the way they treat your gal!! How can they do that! Why didn't you voice out when you saw them doing that? Poor thing..

Maybe you can try playing with her then when she's so engross in the game she might forget and drink? Or if she's the type who likes to go out, maybe bring her out to and feed her? Cos my gal loves to go out so i think it's easier to lure her to drink if we goes out. Maybe will help?

Another example happen to my dog, no offence, not comparing just how to cheat my dog to poo as her side of her anus is infected and pain after the vet visit she refuses to poo. So i brought her out for walk she immediately poo without crying. At home, i can see she wanted to poo but was afraid and will cry. So we brought her for walk as she loves to go for walk and she did it immediately without sweat.

Pls dun mistaken tat i use human n dog as comparison! =p

<font color="aa00aa">1 year old Mass Birthday Bash 20th Dec Sat lunchtime 11am-2pm - Globetrotters Jubilee Rm @ #02-02 United Square</font>
http://www.globetrotters.com.sg/index.php?option=com_content&amp;task=view&amp;id=75&amp;Itemid=94
1. S$28 per adult / S$14 per child (3-10yrs old) for buffet lunch from 11am-2pm at Jubilee Function Rm.
2. Party deco/helium balloons/party hats/gift table/cake-cutting-table would be provided, with goodie bags for 2-yr-and-above-kids.
3. Rm just nice for sit-down lunch, with no extra space for babies to crawl around.
4. High-chairs would be provided on availability (as it's still open to public).
<font color="0000ff">5. Any other questions I need to ask?</font>

01. mei ==> OK
02. mandygoh ==> OK
03. blessed_serene ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">04. steph77 </font>
05. shorty_gal ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">06. QQ </font>
07. babyshannon ==> OK
08. elmo_78 ==> OK
09. blessedbaby ==> OK
10. icy ==> OK
11. babyship ==> OK
12. kitsune_sg ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">13. yen2007 </font>
14. janbb ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">15. zhu_baby </font>
16. chaye ==> OK
17. superbee ==> OK
18. lyn78 ==> OK
19. mcfluffy ==> OK
20. tracy_lazy ==> OK
21. mom2nat ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">22. sassymum </font>
23. verene ==> OK
24. ylim ==> OK
25. hammies03 ==> OK
26. bebe_yan ==> OK (may be travelling in Dec)
27. audrey_sg ==> OK
28. fishia ==> OK
29. baby26
TOTAL 54A + 4C + 30B (including blue)

<font color="ff0000">Need help on: </font>
<font color="0000ff">1. Birthday Cake - ? Anyone can bake FOC? or lobang to bake FOC? </font>
2. Invitation Card-cum-Lucky Draw - mcfluffy
<font color="0000ff">3. Xmas gift exchange for Mummy - ? Any mummy to coordinate?</font>
4. Birthday presents aka Goodie Bags - mei
5. Sticker Identification (for mummies/daddies/babies/strollers)- janbb
6. Event photographer - ylim HB and mei's fren (maybe)
<font color="0000ff">7. anything else i missed out?</font>

babe,
yap. noted. = )

what's the wholesale chinatown shop name that deal with baby products? i cant rem the name and number. anyone has??

bebe_yan,

I did stop them and took my gal away and went to kkh instead. but i guess its too late. everyone in my family and her infant care teachers tried all means to coax her to drink and eat but still fail. anyway i am going down to raffles hospital to complain later.

mei,
can I confirm with u in mid nov whether will i be bringing my maid along for the birthday bash? cos if i am bringing her, will pay for her share for the buffet too.

shannonbaby

so how long ur bb didnt eat anything?

Or u wait till she's asleep and feed her while she still dreamy?? Last time i feed my gal with water like tis.

<font color="aa00aa">1 year old Mass Birthday Bash 20th Dec Sat lunchtime 11am-2pm - Globetrotters Jubilee Rm @ #02-02 United Square (opp Novena MRT)</font>
5. <font color="0000ff">due to the turnout, may have to spill over to outside the function rm.</font>
6. <font color="0000ff">deposit is needed to cfm event. I will drop by one of the day to place deposit. pls dun fy me aeroplane. hee</font>
6. <font color="0000ff">Any other questions I need to ask? </font>

<font color="ff0000">Need help on: </font>
<font color="0000ff">1. Birthday Cake - ? Anyone can bake FOC? or lobang to bake FOC? </font>
2. Invitation Card-cum-Lucky Draw - mcfluffy
<font color="0000ff">3. Xmas gift exchange for Mummy - ? Any mummy to coordinate? </font>
4. Birthday presents aka Goodie Bags - mei
5. Sticker Identification (for mummies/daddies/babies/strollers)- janbb
6. Event photographer - ylim HB and mei's fren (maybe)
<font color="0000ff">7. anything else i missed out?</font>

shannonbaby,

Think your gal muz hv suffered from some fright. You can go Eu Yan Sheng &amp; buy those "jing feng shan" for babies. It will help to calm your gal down. Then try feed her milk when she is ready or spoon feed??

Didn't expect the nurse in Raffles so sucks!!Cool down oki. Take care.

bebe_yan,

24hrs..most likely bringing her to another PD for checkup in case she dyhrated..nw her fave teacher in infant care is trying very hard to make her start drinking again. hopefully she can succeed as she is an experienced nurse.

i called up the hospital to complain and the manager of the feedback dept actually get the nurse manager to call me and the nurses actually ask me to bring my gal down and they will try their best to make her drink again. no way I am bringing my gal back again.

mei,
my gal is 9.5mths already.

check this out. anyone using this PD?
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/1803223.html?1224816551