(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

re:julia gabriels

I attended last week with shooting star. After thought, hmmm maybe my expectations were abit high, but I find the class so so. The duration is 1.5 hours. Went in, the teachers check the babies hands, feet and if babies are having fever, which is quite good for safety reasons ba.

Roughly the schedule is:-

Play time
The babies sat ard and parents too, and they play with toys that were place all over the mat. Then when play time over, teachers started to keep the toys and babies also help.

Song time
Cant really recall, but I think this is hello time

Art and Craft
Everyone in diapers only, then they were supposed to color within a cut out shape. Chop chop start and then chop chop finish.

Water play time
Then its outdoor activity, straight after art and craft. There is some water activity table, whereby the teachers fill a few tubs with water and then the babies stand around (most are standing, but my girl needed support so I stood behind her while she play). There was shelter, but still quite hot.

Snack time
They provided snack, so babies supposed to eat what they give.

Song Time/Bye bye Time

Overall, maybe my girl is still too young, so maybe its more useful when she is slightly older and can understand what is going on? Coz for the fees that JG is charging, I can also play with her at home. Also some activities feel draggy and then some activities quite abrupt. Side track slightly. I went back and shared with my mum what my girl learn in class. The only thing my mum said was how come they are only dressed in diapers during art and water play. Abit exposed, even for babies.

Teething
Can I ask anyone babies when teething, diarrhoea? My girl since she started showing some teeth last week, has been passing motion and air 5 times at least a day. Normal?

hi angelsky

i went for julia gabriel's trial today also. i'm still undecided if i wanna sign up. like u mentioned lor.. so many things to do and all must chop chop done in 1.5hrs. my girl can't walk yet so we're always laggin behind the rest.

that aside, JG does provide a very nice condusive environment for parent-child bonding. strangest thing is that they dont do weekend classes for this group (6-18months), if not my husband can bring her for classes too.

I guess it's premature to tell if kayla benefitted anything from the class. the 1 thing i know was she enjoyed herself and i had a good workout! hahaha...

grumpus,
hmm. dun know. nvm. submit first then say. u email me.

jacelyn,
then u bake 6 cakes, then cream together. hahaaaa

kam,
ok.

Mei,
Ok, I'll do the invites for you.
Just need Baby's name, Mummy's nick right?

Can I also suggest that on the day itself, Mummies write their nicks & names on a sticker or something to identify themselves? :p Coz on that day itself, so many names to remember leh!! Like Orientation day like that.

Kam,
Heehee, lemme discuss with my hubby first. My baby also 5+ wanna zzzzzzzzz.. difficult time for her.

re: elephant song
i dunno where it originated fr, but i heard the chinese version from nursery rhymes CD, and my dad knows it too.
Literal translation is
elephant, elephant, your nose why is it so long?
Mama says nose long then pretty.

what is 'elephant trunk' in chinese? my dad been using "nose" to describe it.

Mei, mcfluffy

<font color="0077aa">Re: Sticker Labels for identification:</font>
If u want, I can help to print out "mummies name/nick &amp; baby name" in the stickers label for distribution on the actual day. Can imagine it shld be quite chaotic on that day, so many mummies &amp; babies, haahaa. I can prepare this in advance. Send me the details nearer the date ba ; )

<font color="0077aa">Re: Payment</font>
Btw, are we going to transfer $ to u in advance or pay on the actual day?

<font color="0077aa">Re: X'mas gift</font>
Wat's our X'mas gift exchange budget?

<font color="0077aa">Re: Cupcakes</font>
Juz a suggestion. Would u like to order those cupcake with our baby name on it for this b'day bash?

Some party tips to share:
http://www.amazingmoms.com/htm/party_babys_first_birthday.htm#first_birthday_tips

janbb,

re: sticker labels for identification:
tks so much for volunteering! yap we would very much need "mummies nick/name", "baby's name" and also daddies name (dun forget daddies!) on the bash day. will u be a designed sticker or plain sticker???

re: payment
depends.
if nid deposit, i may nid the mummies to IB me a deposit first.
if no nid deposit, i will pay first and u can pay me after bash. on actual day will be very chaotic. haha...i wait for globetrotters reply first.

re: xmas gift
i nid a volunteer to take care of xmas gift.
1. to decide on budget
2. any "rules/regulations" on gift exchange eg. no candles, no chocolates etc etc
3. gift exchange for who? mummy only? daddy too?
4. to conduct gift exchange on actual day
5. any volunteers?

re: bday cake.
i dun mind cupcakes. but cupcakes = cannot cut? or get a main cake + cupcakes?? but wait last min got more/less babies turn up, then the names how????
jacelyn - are u taking care of cake????

<font color="aa00aa">1 year old Mass Birthday Bash 20th Dec Sat lunchtime 11am-2pm - Globetrotters Jubilee Rm @ #02-02 United Square </font>
http://www.globetrotters.com.sg/index.php?option=com_content&amp;task=view&amp;id=75&amp;Itemid=94
1. S$28 per adult / S$14 per child (3-10yrs old) for buffet lunch from 11am-2pm at Jubilee Function Rm.
2. Party deco/helium balloons/party hats/gift table/cake-cutting-table would be provided, with goodie bags for 2-yr-and-above-kids.
<u>3. Rm just nice for sit-down lunch, with no extra space for babies to crawl around. </u>
4. High-chairs would be provided on availability (as it's still open to public).
<font color="0000ff">5. Any other questions I need to ask? </font>

01. mei ==> OK
02. mandygoh ==> OK
03. blessed_serene ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">04. steph77 </font>
05. shorty_gal ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">06. QQ </font>
07. babyshannon ==> OK
08. elmo_78 ==> OK
09. blessedbaby ==> OK
10. icy ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">11. babyship </font>
12. kitsune_sg ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">13. yen2007 </font>
14. janbb ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">15. zhu_baby </font>
16. chaye ==> OK
17. superbee ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">18. mommy2be </font>
19. lyn78 ==> OK
20. mcfluffy ==> OK
21. tracy_lazy ==> OK
22. mom2nat ==> OK
<font color="0000ff">23. sassymum </font>
24. verene ==> OK
25. ylim ==> OK
26. hammies03 ==> OK
27. bebe_yan ==> OK (may be travelling in Dec)
28. audrey_sg ==> OK - pls pm me details
29. fishia ==> OK - pls pm me details
TOTAL 55A + 4C + 29B (including blue)

<font color="ff0000">Need help on: </font>
<font color="0000ff">1. Birthday Cake - ? Anyone can bake FOC? or lobang to bake FOC? </font>
2. Invitation Card-cum-Lucky Draw - mcfluffy
<font color="0000ff">3. Xmas gift exchange for Mummy - volunteers pls? </font>
4. Birthday presents - mei
5. Sticker Identification - janbb
<font color="0000ff">5. anything else i missed out?</font>

Mei,
re: sticker labels for identification:
I can prepare 2 stickers for each parent in this format:

i)Mummies's label: (In Pink printing)
"Mummies Nick/(Mummies Name)"
"Baby's name"

ii)Daddies's label: (In blue printing)
"Mummies Nick/(daddies's Name)"
"Baby's name"

Confirm is color printing as above for sure ;p
What designed label u want to add in? Is the above description suffice?

Oh ya, i will need the details by 1st week Dec &amp; I will get the labels ready before i go on lve. Heehee, taking a long break in mid dec ;)

erm...jz being kaypoh...

bday presents n xmas gift can combine mah

den mayb a "door gift" for all participants? haha opss..

janbb,
u decide. i leave it to u. - )
tks again. pls remind me nearer to date.

<font color="0000ff">mummies, pls let me have ur hb's name if he coming to bday bash. tks</font>

mylvera,
xmas gifts = adults.
bday presents = babies. aka the goodie bags. aka door gifts.
heee.

mei, thanks so much for arranging. Will be there!!!

Sleeping through
It just happened itself one day that my son slept thru when 9 mths. Not sure if it coincided with me weaning him off totally. Now he still wakes up sometimes. I think depends how full he is before bed.

Knocking the cot
Hey mommies, my baby flips about at night and knocks his head at the cot. Wanted to train him to fall asleep himself but he will move, crawl, stand all over and sometimes fall and knock himself. The bumper isn't high enough to protect all areas. How huh?

Mei,
I've just pm you my details.

Babe,
how's your daughter in school now? better? i guess you don't need sambucol already rite? i still keep the bottle for you.

Abel is so advance in his development. Can crawl up staircase! I think Jude must be the slowest among the bbs here. He just started crawling. not on 4 though - leopard crawl. think he watches too much Tv and becomes lazy.. sigh. Sometimes i wonder what have i been doing at home...

Mandy
No hurry, take your time ; )
Can i have your email address? I want to send the pix to u too.

Jacelyn
Re: Cake for B'day Bash
Maybe u wanna try to do a 2 tier cake? Me have stop baking since preggie, miss baking so much. Perhaps u wanna do a bigger base cake &amp; put a smaller dimension one on top? Anyway, believe the cake cutting is juz part of the ceremony, we just "Yi Si Yi Si" take a small pc each, dun nid bake a SUPER Big one ba?
Who knows if u success in baking this cake, the rest of the mummies may start ordering from u for their Jan 1yo party ;p Haahaa ;p

Was thinking shld we order cup cake with our babies name &amp; placed it beside the cake, it gonna to be a beautiful one rite ; ) "Si Mei De loh"

Fishia, heehee...thks for keeping...haven't had the time to visit u to collect it. Aiya, been giving her all sorts of supplements but she still fall sick, i.e. cough and flu. She's better now in sch and in fact settled in but I'm changing her to near my mom's for administrative issue. These 2 days she's acting up again. Dunno what's the matter. Dunno izzit I told her she's changing sch and a few more days at this school.

Abel wants to stand and soon he'll walk but he's still babbling and not really calling. Guess each bb is different. Now so difficult to sit him down to read. He just wants to move around.

Tired man! but muz keep in touch..

Re: sing lullaby
aiyo me very lousy with the lyrics, only know simple ones like "OMcDonald had a farm", "xiao lau shu shang den tai", if u happy &amp; u know it clap yr hand" etc.

Zander say hi to all

1812751.jpg

steph,
aiyo so sweet always. u always can capture zander happy smiling faces. i always so hard to snap it!

how to sing: xiao lau shu shang den tai??

mei, i saw your post in wts, you want the women's weekly? i buy it every month, willing to buy 2nd from me on a perm basis? *wink wink*

depends. no standard price lah. usually S$2-2.50. some goes up to S$3 with postage. some giveaway with a small token since it's 2nd hand.

Babe,
Her immunity will be built up very soon. My son took about 4 mths. Now I don't give him anymore vitamins at all.

Today i'm reading some of the mommies blog.. Wow! most bbs have experienced and achieved so much! Now i realised i've neglected my #2. Poor little bb.

hi chermaine, look for ah lim, HP 90256031. the company name is Wan Sern.
tell him its the lady from rivervale crescent (sengkang) who recommend one and ask him to assign someone to come up to your place to take measurement (FOC) so that he can quote you the price to do your house's grilles.

sorry, r u the one who email or pm me about this? there is a mummy who did that and i totally forgotten to reply her *smacks forehead*

mei
okay, so 2.50 is quite reasonable wat.no takers really? next time, 1 of us buy and the other will buy 2nd hand. means literally we share the magazine. i oso dont need the magazine. flip flip only. we live near rite! me SK, u PGL? then we take turn to keep the magazine or wat lah...freebies we share lor, fair fair kind, haha

pixie,
haha. u think very gd leh.

re: Stroller-tags on Bday Bash day
can imagine many strollers that day. and my guess is we would have to park it outside the restaurant. do we need a stroller tag or sth? maybe a kind mummy would do a stroller-tag (something like a luggage tag)? hee...just a sugg.

Mei,
I kinda regret voluntaring my hubby to double up as photographer...aiyo, he keep bugging me, say his camera no flash will it be too dark, his skills not very good will we complain, etc etc...so long-winded.

hee..mei, stroller need tags then what about diaper bags? scarli take the wrong one...dun carry the wrong baby wor..keke

mei,
will let u know my attendance for the birthday bash later k. I think i am most easiest to recognize cos of my BIG tum tum at 27wks by then:p

Pixie,

yah... me PM you some days ago... saw no reply think maybe you not yet read email so hunt you here loh...

thanks a lot for the info... will get them to quote

mei if you are keen, start next mth, we share the price of the ww magazine and pass between each other

can save $1 or $2 oso can; for my baby, i need $$!!

chermaine, sorry about the late reply leh, i keep telling myself must remember to reply your email but didnt.
good luck with your grilles, I did mine for 700, 4rm flat. so take that as a guage when ah lim quote you

pixiepixel,
$700 is reasonable le. Did u took the aluminium rect or square design or have any pattern ones? Got pix to show (if convenient la) thks

steph, mine is aluminium leh, not the iron wrought that you are targeting after

mine is the straight lines accross, no artwork or anything like that. hollowed centre. less is more

ylim,
haha. wont complain lah. what i'm more worried is will he have time to take or not since he got to help look after ur bb. ok then. i ask my friend to help. free. all he nid is FOOD. hahahaaaa

steph,
!! diaper bag also nid tag. haha..wont carry wrong baby lah. u think my baby wants to let u carry!?! she will cry if u try so. hahaaaa

pixie,
no thks for the mag. haha. cos' i no buy usually. this time round, only gian the dining deals. haha...

mei,
don't worry, it'll be the other round...he too engrossed with taking photos and forget about me and bb...haha...it's always the case. I ask him to relax but he take it so seriously.

Angelsky,
Julia Gabriel
I used to bring my son for the weekend class which is the Biligual Playclub, accompanied (for 18 mths and above). Basically, have the same kind of activity. Games, Story,Art &amp; Craft, Mealtime, Change to Chinese story, Songs.

You may want to consider that next time.

Babe,
sambucol
What's the benefit of taking Sambuccol? Would like to let my #1 take it.

pixiepixel,
no lah, think i will go for the simple aluminium one. Save $. Now my air-con compressor spoilt so will need $$ for repair...SIAN

mei,
how to carry other babies when my tummy is getting the way...err maybe other mummies wanna carry Zander:phee..but he's ok with stranger.

steph,
gd. let other daddies carry zander. then u can relax.

oops. maybe i let other daddies entertain #1 and #2, then I can relax. hahaaaa....

WE NEED NANNIES!! hahaaaa