(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Mandy,

my dd just turned 9 mths 2 days ago and she's been eating finger food for the last 2 wks cos she reject porridge and cereal.

At first I was wondering why she got no appetite to eat then I realised that it's not she got no appetite but that she wants to feed herself. So now she gets potato sticks, sweet potato sticks, carrot sticks, bread sticks etc. basically anything that can be made into sticks for her to feed herself.

She is able to bite off pieces herself and even regulate the size of the piece she bites off. Sometimes she takes too big a bite then she will use her tongue to push out the piece. Sometimes she gets lazy to feed herself then i will just break the food into small pieces for her to pick up and put into her mouth.

It's extremely cute to watch her feed herself but very messy. But my dog helps to vacuum up all the pieces she drops on the floor =)

grumpus

ur doggy so helpful.. haha.
my doggy very helpful also..

dear mummies
those who bought the Motherlove MMP the other time, anyone doesn't need it now and can sell/give to me... before i buy myself a whole new bottle.

Violetice
Frankly, i'm v contended & happy with one baby now & wanted to stop at one. It was my hubby lor, hoping to have another companion for Jayden. He hoped to have #2 next yr so their age gap will be abt 2 years (i.e 2007 & 2009 babies). So I juz let nature take its course now. Let's see when god want to give me #2 ba. Heehee, if me this old mother hen didn't manage to lay the second egg, he also cannot blame me for not co-operating ; )

Hey, btw u still younger than me, can take your time. Me going to expire in few more years liao, haahaa ^.^

Kitsune
Juz happen to see the Bumble Bee Romper at BP & is only $11. U may wish to take a look?
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1778231.html?1224064426

Verene,
have to clarify for Aquaducks. My girl is attending class at Tanglin for a few months already. First of all, no need to pay parking fees. Secondly, about the coach mention only play. I beg to differ. Our coach has been letting my girl learn through play. She can hold her breath under water while kicking and swim towards me now (though the distance is very short) and can see other babies who are there for longer can swim for longer distance unassisted already. We are learning to get her learn how to turn her back and float in the event of accidentally falling into water. My girl has learnt quite a bit already i would say. I guess it all boils down to your expectations,how fast you want to see the results and how you view the whole thing.

<font color="0000ff">hi crystal,</font>
i just returned office from off-site meeting so that's why delay reply.
First of all, congrats to your 2nd bundle of joy

The age gap between my #1 &amp; #2 is abt 14mths.
I can understand what u r gg thru now, the emotional side, frantic &amp; worries. When i tested positive, my hubby was in a blank &amp; he even consider not to keep the baby. I was happy &amp; scared at the same time "mixed feelings".
Well, if financially is not a problem to welcome #2 then i think the "worry factor" or rather burden is cut down to half bah. Cos logistic wise meaning the care-giver (PIL or own parents/nanny)/infant care centre) will not have much of a problem too BUT all these need to plan ahead properly with your spouse &amp; how you want things to go about once #2 comes along. It's often easier said than done but alot of frds &amp; my family members told us (me &amp; hubby) that when the boat reach the dock, it will be straight...the chinese saying u know? So, we will cross the bridge when we come to it. I am sure everything will turn out fine cos having another baby sure wont make my life collapse bah. In fact, we should count ourselves (me &amp; hubby) lucky that God has given us such blessing cos we TTC for almost 3.5yrs to have #1. #2 is considered a miracle to us too cos i have difficulties in conceiving &amp; i am not young anymore. If i should wait another 2 years or so, i might not conceive so easily or perhaps none! I told myself that i should not dwell on the "what ifs" can't cope since i have hubby &amp; family to support me.
And as for "still have not enjoy enuff of #1"...well i would say we never will, even when they grow older...in fact, the love in the family is growing more &amp; it all depends on how much time you willing to sacrifice for your children. I hope u will decide to keep #2 ya

Lynn,
Ok.. now I know why. Just saw the thread. Duh.. I was working the whole day and don't have the chance nor time to log in, and yesterday, didn't log on again after I placed order. So fast dropped my order liao! Hmpf. Forget.. don't want to order liao.

Mei / JanBB,

think there is a price diff in tanglin and pines...if i can still remember correctly: 255 for pines and 225 for tanglin. correct me if i am wrong. dont think whether duration of the class is 30 mins...but i suppose so bah...cos heard the coach mention that 30 mins is enuff. 30 mins trial tat day already made Javier knocked out...haha.

Luvv,
I do agree that bb learn through play. The coach mentioned that, but somehow when I wrote the msg earlier I had accidentally "misinterpret" the meaning. Apologies...I should had proof read before submitting the post. Pai say...everyone.pardon me.
the msg should be "bb learn through play..99% play and they will be encourage to learn through fun". I dint plan expect fast results as my bb javier is pretty slow at motor skills liao...haha. Hubby had agreed to start him at swimming lessons later bah since now economy no good...

baby taking first step

My son is going to be 9 months tmrw. How time flies!~~ We have been getting him to be more comfortable with walking (with a foot tool to support him) recently. So he has been pushing the foot stool about in the living room.

Today, he was able to take a few steps totally unaided. Both my hb and I were overjoyed! =D

So look out, your darling will be taking his/ her first steps really soon. =)

It's really great to be home after a hard day of work to see your darling smiling so brightly at us. =) I feel very lucky...

I m fine with 1030am slot.

aquaDucks Trial - 1st Nov Sat @ The Pines
mummies pls reply if ok with allocated slot. Each slot max 6 babies. Mummies who first-timer, pls pm me details (mummy nick/mummy name/mummy hp/mummy email/child name/child dob/child gender). tks.

Slot #1. 10am - 10.30am
1. zhu_baby - OK
2. mcfluffy
3. VioletIce
4. BabyG_08 - OK
5. mandygoh
6. hammies03 - OK

Slot #2. 10.30am - 11am
1. Tansy x1 - ok
2. cherylkjh (feb08mtb)- OK
3. Dor11 (feb08mtb) - OK
4. vine_gal (feb08mtb) - OK
5. happymum2b (feb08mtb) - OK
6. leila - OK

hi AhCapp,
nice to hear from u.
My boy also started to take a few quick steps forward unsupported. We are amazed at how fast he is progressing too but he still dunno how to say mama or papa. Will be looking forward to that day man!
Just now after dinner, we played with Zander at my in laws place. He was sitting upright &amp; crawling around &amp; suddenly he knock himself face down against the floor! We can hear the KOK sound &amp; he let out a BIG CRY &amp; we saw blood from his mouth...scare the hell of me. His lower lip hit his teeth so that explains the bleeding. After we try to pacify him for 15mins, he stop crying &amp; i think should be alright now. MIL quickly gave him some fine sugar (very little...on the finger tip) for him to eat cos he was crying badly...must have been a painful knock

Hi Mei

I have responded to your email. Interested in the trial on 1 Nov - but can you check, I like to send both boys (26 mths &amp; 8 mth). Is it possible?

Javin has not learnt how to crawl yet. He is 9 months already. Neither does he have teeth!!! However he is learning to walk. I hold his hands he can walk very fast and climb up the stairs. Any BB here have the same behaviour as Javin skipped the crawling stage?

Jacelyn,

my boy hates to be on tummy time when he is younger. even PD noticed it when she did the assessment. so he learn to flip at only 6 mths...he do not even show any signs of crawling stage. hence, my mum says he follows me...never learn to crawl and begin to walk after learning how to stand. Daddy also no crawl stage. but he got 4 tooths. 2 upper jaw, 2 lower jaw. tried to hold him to walk but his legs still not strong enuff bah...din really move forward.

Hi Kam,

I have a question, what sort of finger food do you let HaoRe try and how 'small' do you cut them? If too small, they can't pick it up, if too big, will choke?

I tried to intro lumpier food and 'finger food' to my gal who is also 9mths old. But there were a few occassions where she almost choked and made my heart stopped for many beats! Now I'm a bit scaddy cat, reverted back to mashed up food

I gave her papaya, cooked pear and cooked carrots, diced up into small cubes. Once, I let her try to bite on an apple slice from my hand, she chomped such a big bite that she gagged! Scared me out of my wits, I quickly try to dig it out but already went too deep. Luckily she was ok...I never dared do it again...

i feel tat my boy kinda lazy. daddy feels like tat too. even granny. when he is sitting down...no need to support now, he cant sit for long...not for 10 mins or so...he will lean backwards and fall. (most of the time on the bed) or if he knows that there is a pillow behind him, he will move backwards using his butt and lean against the pillow/bolster and continue his play with his toy. is it normal?

Verene,

I noticed that my gal will have tendency to lean back if she feels that something is supporting her. So I try not to let that happen, let her sit on her own... She can't sit long in one position for long too... will crawl abit, sit, then crawl abit, sit, turn ard etc...

Don't mind me saying this, but I find your boy very smart, knows how to shift his butt to find a comfy spot to rest his back
so cute!

verene,
my girl is same as your boy. if she know someone or some pillow behind her, she'll just lean backwards than sit upright by herself. if no one behind her, she will guai guai sit up on her own without any support. similarly she still can't crawl. i brought her to tumble tots last sun &amp; the teacher there say must make them crawl cos it's good for brain, hands &amp; legs coordination leh... and she say once bb can walk, they won't want to crawl liao cos it's hard work compared to walking.

JanBB, thanks for the tip off. I went to order liao but got MOQ, hopefully will come through.

Crystal, congrats! I agree with Steph, chuan dao qiao tou zi ran zhi. Hope you will overcome the overwhelmed feelings soon.

Steph, I want the babydust but not going to Jass's playdate leh. Can you pack and post to me? Haha. But my menses still not here leh, don't know whether will waste your babydust or not.

yong chun quan... some chinese martial arts thingy. dunno whether my cc have or not haha... cos my girl so active, keep pretending to be mulan &amp; kungfu panda...

more kids?
my girl has been bugging me for a mei mei and another didi... so just bot her her first bb doll... wahhh she rattle off to the bb and nag at the bb just like what i do to her... very very funny. ladies watch what we speak to em...

Superbee,

I very much wished that he can crawl too. but he simply not interested at lot. even fuss when i flip him tummy down to get him to move. he rather down snake glide to get move forward if i tempt him with toys...sigh...my boy got alot of patterns and make funny sounds. every week he chun new pattern to show us..real cute.. he can mimic the sounds we make too. Mummy here dont crawl when I was younger...mayb that's y my hands and legs coordination is not too good bah...I am super clumsy..keep knocking on to table edges, doors, whatever, blue black all over.

Precious_moments,

Before introducing finger food, try lumpy food first. Then you can gauge how big the lump your baby can swallow, and thus make the finger food the size of or slightly smaller than the lump. For my son, the size of the "mi tai mak" (the mouse-tail noodle) is just nice for him to hold and to bite into small pieces. Also, only give him soft texture, so to minimise choking hazard. I found banana a good fruit to start.

Since I introduced, it took him about 2 weeks to master the holding on to the food and put the food into the mouth skill. Now once he bites off the upper part, he knows to use the other hand to push the food up, and continue eating. Once he piece become too small, he picks up the food using his 2 fingers and finish it off!

Be relax, and take it as play time for him. Make it fun, and don't force him into doing it. For my baby, I don't replace the finger food time as meal time. I continue to give him puree, lumpy food, porridge and cereal. And milk, of course, milk intake maintains at 3 to 4 feeds a day.

Be prepared for the messiness and enjoy!

ooh, sure sounds messy to me. 2nd time round, lazy liao. still haven't start him on proper porridge yet.. maybe ask MIL to cook on saturday..

Some of your bb develop so fast hor. My boy also very lazy, doesn't want to crawl. He can move &amp; turn on his tummy at super fast speed but simply refuse to crawl. We tried to position him on all fours but he will just move a step and rest on tummy again...aiyo. He loves to stand but haven't mastered the skill of standing on his own with support from his hands. He only wants to stand with us holding him.

Kam,
I tried to introduce finger food/self-feeding a couple of times but failed. My super impatient boy will gesture me to feed him becos he can't eat the food as he grabs it with his fist instead of his fingers. Still got to work on his pincer skills.

hi steph
many thanks for your advises and sharing your thoughts with me. i am only 20 and somehow i feel i am nt ready for the second one. it was an 'accident'. and we are in the midst of moving house. i really seriously need to think it through. but nonetheless, i still have the urge to keep this pregnancy. afterall it's a life plus i witnessed the birth of cheryl, so as a mother now, i also dunno how i could bring myself to do that. but the cons are i gt very bad PILs so which only left with my own family side to depend on. it's either getting a maid, sending the #2 to infant care or the #1 to childcare or i have to be a SAHM. whatever it is, i am very appreciative of your kind reply.

kitsune

Looks like some of you are trying out to let your babies feed themselves finger food. I tried some small Gerber biscuits, but then also worried that he will choke coz when put in the mouth, i think he just suck and swallow down!! He only have 1 bottom tooth, second bottom tooth on its way out, and I just spotted a bit of the top tooth showing some signs of coming out.

Is it safer to eat finger food only when they have more teeth out to bite??

mcfluffy,
10.30am slot were full, unless a mummy can swop with you. max is 6 babies per slot. unless open anoter slot at 11am and wait till got 6 babies then cfm???

mom2nat,
tks so much. pls track the status in that bp thread. i also informed the seller le.

verene,
tks for the highlight in the price difference for aquaducks courses at tanglin and pines.

freshies22,
the trial is for babies from 6m to 48m. u are free to welcome. but all the slots are full. i can put u in 11am slot. and wait for 4 more babies to cfm that slot (since u are bringing both boys). ok?? if u ok, pls PM me details.

<font color="aa00aa">aquaDucks Trial - 1st Nov Sat @ The Pines</font>
mummies pls reply if ok with allocated slot. Each slot max 6 babies. Mummies who first-timer, pls pm me details (mummy nick/mummy name/mummy hp/mummy email/child name/child dob/child gender). tks.

Slot #1. 10am - 10.30am
1. zhu_baby - OK
2. mcfluffy - prefer 10.30am slot. anyone wants to swop?
3. VioletIce
4. BabyG_08 - OK
5. mandygoh - OK
6. hammies03 - OK

Slot #2. 10.30am - 11am
1. Tansy x1 - ok
2. cherylkjh (feb08mtb)- OK
3. Dor11 (feb08mtb) - OK
4. vine_gal (feb08mtb) - OK
5. happymum2b (feb08mtb) - OK
6. leila - OK

Slot #3. 10.30am - 11am
1. freshies22 x1 - pls PM me details
2. freshies22 x2

hammies
babies use their gums to mash, just like we use our back teeth (molars) to mash our food. we only use our front teeth to tear food, eg eating off a drumstick.

<font color="aa00aa">Our 1-year-old Mass Birthday Bash 20th Dec Sat Buffet Lunch 12-3pm @ The Pines Club</font>
1. S$40nett per adult.
2. I need to collect payment first cos there is cancellation charges imposed by venue. Pls understand. Will collect after all replied.
3. Pls confirm your attendance by 19th Oct if possible.
4. Welcome more mummies and babies to join. Should i ask Dec-07 babies?

01. mei 2A+1C(2.5yrs)+1B => OK
02. mandygoh 2A+1B => OK
03. blessed_serene 2A+1B => OK
04. steph77 2A+1B => OK
05. shorty_gal 2A+1B => OK
06. QQ 2A+1B => OK
07. babyshannon 2A+1B => OK
08. elmo_78 2A+1B => OK
09. blessedbaby 2A+1B => OK
10. icy 2A+1B => OK
<font color="0000ff">11. babyship 2A+1C(2.5yrs)+1B</font>
12. kitsune_sg 2A+1B => OK
<font color="0000ff">13. yen2007 2A+1B </font>
14. janbb 2A+1B => OK
15. zhu_baby 1A+1B => OK
<font color="0000ff">16. luvv 1A+1B </font>
17. chaye 2A + 1C (5yrs) + 1B => OK
<font color="0000ff">18. jerrybeanie 2A+1B</font>
19. superbee 2A+1B => OK
20. mommy2be 2A+1B => OK
21. lyn78 2A+1B => OK
22. mcfluffy 2A+1B => OK
23. angelsky 2A+1B => OK
24. tracy_lazy 2A+1B => OK
<font color="0000ff">25. shooting_star 2A+1B </font>
26. mom2nat 2A+1C(4 yrs)+1B => OK
<font color="0000ff">27. sassymum 2A+1B </font>
28. bbdear 1A+1B => OK
29. verene 2A+1B => OK
<font color="0000ff">30. rabbit41 2A+2C(3 yrs)+1B </font>
31. ylim 2A+1B ==> OK
32. hammies03 2A+1B => OK

crystal,
no prob, u r most welcome la
Wow u r so young le *envy* &amp; that makes me an OLD HEN...hehe
If yr spouse is supportive to keep this pregnancy, pls do keep the baby k. My #2 also accident &amp; unplanned but it's selfish to say that cos precaution need to be taken in the 1st place to prevent such surprise. Well...i will respect whatever decision u make &amp; i hope to hear positive news from u ya

wendy,
haha. its ok to give just milk right? no urgency to give semi-solid. yday i tried to give her. she attempted to vomit. then i stop giving liao.

btw, wendy, u not comin to bday bash? so many of us no see u before.

Lynn,
me &amp; QQ and some mummies are in FB. I go search for u &amp; add u

mei, u can see wendyg in FB too
If u want to c her in real person...errr arrange with her loh:p

steph
mei has seen me before.. when i was still preggy i think.

mei
2nd time round i very relak ley... not kancheong abt baby's development... he fall fr bed i also quite numb.. just praying that he will learn from gor gor - how gorgor talks, walks, eats, pee in the toilet etc.
no i dun think i will go for the bday bash... $40 per adult means $80 for 2 adults... I just spent $80 on wetwipes for my boys, can last very looooonggggg
not to mention petrol &amp; parking charges... cannot la.

anyway, what's there to see... i'm not a superstar.. or u suspecting i'm not a real person? A man in disguise?

*HELP*
Anyone can recommend/know any good contractor who repair air-con? My master BR air-con is down "not cold" &amp; we suspect the compressor is spoilt
Sian...
TIA.

<font color="ff0000">hi pixiepixel,</font>
regarding installing the window grilles, i have not contact the contractor that u gave me cos PIL say not to do any installation now as i am preggy. They recommend to do after i delivered #2 next year. So, will KIV the contacts as of now. Thanks

wendy,
haha. understood. i also numb for #2. can see that #2 learn from #1, especially the shouting part! btw, parking is free. hahaaaaaa
what brand of wetwipes u bot??

<font color="aa00aa">Toys for 1-year-old</font>
what toys shld you get for your baby turning 1-yr-old?

re: Motherlove More Milk Plus
anyone wanna sell/ give me their leftover stash before i make my purchase?

mei
my #2 learns that whatever toys that #1 is playing with RIGHT NOW is the most happening toy and will try to grab from him. In this part, they learn from each other. *pengz*
free parking but all the way to Pines ley. dowan la.