(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Kitsune,

You were awake at 3am?!?!?!? I was late also yesterday but was for watching hong hong drama. can't stop watching......... :)

I was too tired n knocked out at 10+pm after feeding my bb. Then woke up again at 2+am cos she was crying for next feed. Decided to wake up shower, then surf a bit of internet lor.

Sjgh, I haven't 'zui' any hkg, korean or in fact any drama serial since my CL left.

Blackbatz, my CL's sg hp no. is 81686506. Ask your sis to call her while she's still here. When's your sis edd? I can let her know first.

My part time helper is here today. Wah, really nice to have someone who did all the housework for me for once, without any guilt! LOL For the past few months, it was my own mum and MIL who helped me with housework =P Pai-say to even to tell u ladies this...

solid food

Ok, looks like I am on the right track. I was a bit concern as I am feeding my son porridge every day for lunch and dinner. Worry if he will get bored. =P As least for us adults, we can opt for noodles or bread. Guess for babies, it's porridge for now.

I think japanese are more adventurous when it comes to baby food. By this age, the baby book recommends things like noodles (broken up into small pieces) n cooked till soft. They also put small pieces of bread into soup, make it soft. I am tempted to try noodles (maybe mee sua or something similar) as my son has teeth already (2 bottom ones, and 4 from the top sprouting out). See how...

hello mommies

Very headache now. Rylee hvg diarrhoea so at night got to change her diaper and that will wake her up altho she's oredi zzz thru the night with us. Also, sometimes we slept liao and only wake up when she fussed, by then check diaper dunno when she pooed. Now she got diaper rash. Even the cheek of her genitals got red-red liao..! How ah? Can I apply the desitin on the vagina cheek? Scared it'll go into the vagina leh. Can someone advise?

Mylife, poor Rylee, why diarrhoea? We have been applying Desitin cream quite liberally including that area. It's ok. Just apply, can always use cotton ball soaked with water, squeeze out the waer to flush the area or use wet wipes to clean.

I brought my son for a swim yesterday.. the next thing I know, photos of my son appeared everywhere this morning...

1713078.jpg

Posh Spice, my son's godmother =P LOL

1713079.jpg

This one is quite extreme

1713080.jpg

mylife,

I think the application on the external surface is ok. Just don't apply all the way in so should be fine.

Poor Rylee.

mylife, hope rylee is ok. I usually apply quite liberally on her backside and the front part, maybe if you are concern just apply on your hands and quickly pat through instead of massaging in? I usually anyhow just slap the cream everywhere. If bad rash I use stronger ones, if mild I use not so strong ones. Hope that helps?

AhCapp, you are hilarious, even paris is buying his CD. =p

Gwyneth fell of my bed again, ok, I confessed I was careless, thought she was sleeping sounding, so I went to the toilet, halfway through heard her cries, I already stuff pillows all over, and she still managed to push past all the pillows. Came back to the room, saw she stunned face looking at me.
. Ok I promise to be really careful from now. Now I feel so guilty. Sob sob.

angelsky,

It's ok. Next time be extra careful. I must admit I am a careless mum myself. If I want to leave my son unattended, i will put him back into his cot/ playpen before I go away. But there are times when I will leave him in the living room while I work in the kitchen.

Candice, hehehe, minced pork cooked and then you puree it before giving. If its tofu, banana and avocado, I only mash with my fork and if she can managed I will continue, else I will make it smoother.

AhCapp, ya will have to be more careful, she was sleeping so soundly so I took for granted that she will not move from the bed.
. I did not want to wake her up by moving her ard. Guess need to really be very very careful.

angelsky,

U intro minced pork and chicken already? Now can already? I hesitate because not sure if it will be too hard for him to digest.

angelsky,

Look like you have got the feel and the way of giving solid food to your baby, congrates and jia you!

AhChap,

Yes, actually since 6 months can already give pork and chicken. But I only introduce at 7+ months. Today will be giving him egg yolk for the very first time!

teeth or no teeth, doesn't matter.. coz babies at this stage use their gums to mash. adults also dun use our front teeth to chew food.. front teeth only for tearing food. Molars dun appear until abt 2yo..

Angelsky, RaeAnne fell from the bed this afternoon too. First time.
Latched her on until she slept then I put bolster and pillow on the side she's sleeping and went to look for hubby who was marking in the living room. Told him she's sleeping on our bed but he no action so I went to drop my new baby bjorn into the washing machine. Half way through, heard her crying. Hubby went to attend to her, continue to do my laundry then I heard hubby shouting. Rushed to the room, hubby told me accusingly that she fell. Feel guilty, quickly hug her and sayang her but defensive at the same time. Told hubby I already told you she's on the bed what. But hubby said I thought you block all the sides with pillows. Hubby wanted to rush her to KKH A&E straight away. But told him let me call KKH ask a nurse hotline first. Nurse asked me to check her head and limbs for injuries, all seems ok. She also back to usual self after crying for a while. Need to observe 72 hours for any abnormalities in behaviour eg. vomitting. Anyway, lesson learnt for me, hope hubby did too. Don't take things for granted. Housework and school work can always wait. Baby can't.

AhCapp, my PD gave me a "mi ji", seems like SBCC got this guide for weaning, so I follow it faithfully. But she does not take to meat very well, so when its pork day, I make a bit, she dont want I throw lo. Just keep trying

Kam, I got the first food book, you also got that book right? Thats my bible, hahaha.

kitsune, I also monitor her closely, so far she is ok, playing like normal. Dont be too upset, as long as she is ok, everything will be all right. Same, I also tell myself now dont take for granted, see her cry I so heart pain.

How many feeds of milk a day are you giving your baby now? Esp those that are already 8 mths?? And also how much is the quantity??

AhCapp, I was reading that you feed your baby cereal in the morning..then what abt milk? After that drink or??

Just wanna get some advice on this as I'm not too sure..trying to give my bb 3 feeds of milk a day instead of 4 which was the case when I first started him on solids...

long time no post although i've been faithfully reading at work. My ofc sitting area is exposed so not convenient to post msgs during ofc hrs.

On the topic of feeding 8-mo baby, her makan schedule is something like this:

morning - 3oz milk feed with 3 teaspoons HT cereal mixed in it. We feed her through the L size teat in a bottle to minimise cleaning up.

lunch - white rice porridge with threadfin or salmon (alternate by week). I also add in 1 babycube of vege puree. My gal does not digest the brown rice well so we have stopped letting her have that. Since i find it a hassle to cook and freeze stock, i add pork cubes to cook with the porridge to enhance the taste. When its time to makan, scoop the porridge without the pork, place in a small pot over the gas stove and add in the fish and vege puree.

Afternoon - fruits. Usually bananas cos its the most convenient. Pears and avocados are also common since these dun need to be blended. She doesn't like apples tho.

Dinner - porridge again. Same as what she had for lunch as I cook 2 portions of porridge and put half in the fridge for dinner ie we have to warm up.

In between, we supplement with milk whenever she is hungry. But each time, she drinks 2 to 3 oz only.

It seems very little for a 8-mo baby. Younger infants in her current infant care drink in much larger quantities like 6 oz per feed.

hammies03, my gal takes a total of 4 milk feeds a day between 7am to 7pm. Each feed she drinks abt 3 oz. For the first feed, we normally mix it with cereal as its supposed to be breakfast.

After 7pm, I come home from work and latch her on so I dun monitor qty of milk she drinks.

Now that our babies are taking solids, do remember to frequently give them water.

All the babies look very big now. Today just brought my baby for a swim. He looks quite scare and doesn't really like it.

Now he likes to eat the gerber star biscuits a lot. Whenever I take one, he will pull my hands to his mouth.

Mylife
Rylee's diarrhoea isit watery and yellow? Cos dunno why Elliot yest started having green poo until this am. NOt sure isit the new barley cereal leh. Or something dirty or wat. Sigh....

Yvonne, my hubby is member of NUSS. maybe if you all interested i can ask my hubby to book. how much is it to hold the birthday bash there?

mei, when is the aquaducks trial?

steph, have u start applying stretch mark cream? what brand are you using? any good recommendation? is it worth apply with my previous stretch mark around?

Any mummies staying in the east but working in orchard area. Need to buy Konfidence thermal suit with velcro for RaeAnne cos got party on coming Sunday and there's a baby pool. http://www.konfidence.com.sg/ Can someone help me buy? Will collect in the east on Sat am, let me know. Thanks much.

Kitsune,

Poor RaeAnne, falling off bed for the first time :-( Glad she is okay.

Really can't leave baby alone on the bed now. Esp with my very active baby. That's the reason I don't co-sleep with my baby on our bed, have to put him in his cot. Hao Re can climb over the pillow and bolster, and can even climb over my body. Even your baby can't climb over pillow now, doesn't mean she can't climb over tomorrow and even this evening. Or if she can't crawl now, doesn't mean she won't start crawling anytime for now. Never underestimate a baby!

any mummies here got painful menstrual cramps after delivering babies? I never have menstrual cramp b4 ... but after I deliver #2, when my menstrual is here, it is very painful. kinda worried now...

Joyce,

I am using Elancyl stretch mark cream now. When expecting #1, i was using Palmers Cocoa but it's too creamy & towards 3rd trimester, my tummy itch & rash so now i change to Elancyl as it's milder. Even my gynae also strongly recommend. Also can apply on existing stretch marks

Thanks, Kam. We are monitoring her, so far ok, though she woke up at 1+am, 2+am, 5:50am and 6:10am today. Usually only 2 times. Hubby said don't know if it's because she's traumatised. But I felt her diapers, it was very wet cos we didn't change it since 7+pm. Could be because of that too.

Steph, Zander so cute, must be so happy to see a bright happy smiling baby in the morning.
I don't even see my daughter awake on weekdays nowadays, guilty guilty. Got hubby to ask ILs to come earlier to pick her up every morning before hubby goes to work. Last time, after BF her at 6+am, I have to stay awake till 7:15am. By the time, they come, I got to start my pumping and get ready to work. End up every morning super tired cos already doing 2-3 night feeds at night. :p

kitsune,
Hope RaeAnne is feeling ok now. Don't feel guilty la cos i think you've done a v gd job in breastfeeding.
Zander had a fall/knock last week too. He was sitting upright by himself then all of a sudden fell head on! He cried out so loud & tears flowing...maybe MIL & me exclaimed too loudly when we watch him fell over which startled him too! His fore head a little red bump but after few days subside liao.

Aqua, Steph, I like Elancyl but still kenna stretch marks at 7+months lor.

Steph, she seems ok but woke up many times last night. Not sure if it's because she was affected or because of wet diaper cos we didn't change her after 7pm. :p Poor zander, got bah lu ku.

kitsune,
Kids are smart, i believed that they know the theory, "once bitten twice shy" cos after the fall, we placed Zander lie on the bare floor w/o any mat & guess what? He don't dare to move at all, he don't even try to flip or turn over, just lie face up...so funni lo. Hubby was thinking whether izit b'cos of the fall? But of course if lie too long (say 10mins) & nobody carry him up, he will auto flip over & happily crawl to reach for his toy/teether.

steph,

My baby Hao Re different from Zander. He has fall/knock himself numerous times, like >20 times, on the floor when he was sitting, crawling, standing. But he never scared leh. He continued to crawl/stand/cruise. Now he even know how to avoid knocking his head on to the floor when falling (though not success everytime).

Kam,
baby Hao Re very adventurous & that's why he developed strong muscles to cruise & stand while Zander still not able to crawl on all fours. Hand muscles still weak. Recently, he has managed to sit & support himself up from tummy down position
All corners of the hse, we try to baby proof esp the doors & power plug or wire cos he likes to reach out for these hazard stuff.

<font color="aa00aa">AquaDucks Trial - 2pm Sat @ Tanglin Village Heated Pool</font>
1 parent per baby. 6 babies per slot for sat. currently only given 2pm slot. waiting for more slots and start date. hope to start on 5-oct.

1. QQ
2. kitsune
3. mandy
4. lyn78
5. babyshannon
6. mom2nat

1. jacelyn
2. Dawn
3. godsent
4. mcfluffy
5. vereneting
6. babe

1. AhCapp

steph,

Good work, Zander, one step closer to crawling on all fours!

yes yes, they esp like to play with what we considered as hazard, why huh? We also tried to baby proof the house (but not doing the best since we will be moving next month). But this baby Hao Re is too strong, we bought those thing (sticky type) which supposed to prevent him from opening the drawer, that Hao Re pulled off that thing, waste my money! Falling is difficult to prevent, we tried as much to put a pillow behind him whenever he was in standing position (now he seldom falls from sitting position), but he goes everywhere, too fast, difficult to follow him. We didn't buy playmat, as we don't want to limit his play area (good = more adventous, bad = fall and knock on hard surface).

Joyce,

I used the Clarins tonic oil during my pregnancy.
I dun have any stretch mark at all. Initiallly i was using Cocoa Palmers but i think i got allergy from that. so switched to Clarins. Very moisturising. Used 2 bottles for the whole pregnancy.

Hi Mommies

Where can i find more info on fake measles?? My DS is having it rite nw...so sad to c him so unfeel
The whole face full of rashes and slim dwn due to poor appettide...

mei,
pls add me in for the aqua duck trial. thanks.

kitsune,
wat a coincidence that my baby also fell off the bed yeserday noon too. for my case, hubby left her on our bed and i was busy at the kitchen cooking her porridge. i was so angry with hubby for not being careful and secure her with booster and pillows. i heard a loud sound in our bedroom and follow by loud cry then saw her on the floor. Luckily she only cry for abt 10mins and manage to calm her down. haiz... so worrying that she will have internal injuries which we cant see on surface. so KKH told u to observe for 72 hrs will do? anyway yesterday was a bad day for my baby cos after the fell, during evening hubby put her sit down on a public chair and she knock her head against the arm rest... aiyo... really dunno wat to say...