(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

ahcapp
haiyah, i'm not the only one. Agree that pumping is more xiong. So my hats off to Icy too. And wendy! feeding #1 as well!

Fish
A SG mommy in HK taught me to use the "li yu" from Jap sashimi sold here fresh. It's an expensive way cos a few pieces only, but at least we console ourselves no wastage damage. Haha. Another mommy told me she used salmon and cod fish. She wants them to start young. This same mommy also never use 3day rule cos she said generally her family dont have food allergies. She oredi has 3kids. My mom also told me can use cod fish. But when i go the supermarket at my mall, the kind aunties there all told me better not to give baby cod fish so young, not becos of mercury issues (think they dont even know wat is that) but more becos cod fish is oily. And they asked me to give salmon. Some more picked one nice and lean for me. I read from Annabel Karmel recipe books too that salmon is okay cos it provides a good source of essential fatty acids that are important for development of the brain and the eyes. SO yeah, i think i'll go ahead to intro salmon.

I mean #2. hehe.. My t-shirt is wet every morning when i woke up. Do u experience tis?

Pinkstars
spoonfeed? tat's very time consuming ler.. poor thing. I pump my BF in e past so i dun encounter this. =( sorry

My girl very Picky on food n titbits.. Nowadays i find that her milk intake decreases and she only eat a few spoonful of porridge tats all..
Titbits only eat those she likes.

pinkstars,

I started to into FM BEFORE I stop pumping. Important point for my case as I don't want to run out of milk supply. So I had the same worry as u do now.

My son hates the taste of pure FM when I first intro FM to him. I gave him Enfalac (1 full feed) n he stared at me as if I am poisoning him. Anyway, my son doesn't really take on Enfalac that well as it seem like he can't really digest it properly. So I switched to Similac, which was much better.

Also, as my picky son is a FM detector, I have to 'trick' him by mixing FM with my EBM. I started off with mixing like about 30ml of FM with 150ml of EBM. He was ok. Then slowly slowly, I replaced more EBM with FM, until he can take 1 full feed of FM.

I know some mummies reject the idea of mixing FM with EBM. But for my case, really bo bian lor. =( My 2 good friends also have to mix FM with EBM when they start to wean their kids off. So this is what I did for my son.

Spoon feeding is very xiong. Perhaps u want to try mixing FM with EBM? Just a suggestion to try to ease you off a bit.

Or maybe the brand of FM might also be the problem. My good friend' son will reject his feed if the amount of FM is more than 30ml in his bottle of EBM. After she switched to another brand, she said his son was much better and doesn't reject so violently like before.

pinkstars
are u doing pumping or direct latch? Cos me too same problem as u. So i jus resolve to nurse her until she weans herself, maybe at least 2 yr old. By then only 3 feeds a day, so shud be easier rite? Save on FM too! Haha.

bebe yan
wahhh u WILL have #3?? Peifu!

ahcapp
wahhh while u were BF-ing can wear sex lingerie for hubby one ah? I can't! Must always wear stupid nursing PJs, with nursing bra and nursing pads! And breast always off limits to hubby cos very soft and sensitive.

Bebe_yan,

What tibits does your girl eat? Biscuits?

I put on breasts pads every day, so it was ok. I hate milk spraying everywhere. =P

mylife,

er... I remember wendyg telling me to do a pump before xxx. So I did followed her advice, sometimes. For those times which I was too lazy, I have to lay a towel on the bed.

Not trying to be X-rated here, but I don't want my hb to live like a monk mah. N I was also happy to make full use of my C or D cup assets! They really look nicer in my sexy lingerie n my hb was really happy *LOL*

<font color="0000ff">JanBB,</font>

Wah, your turn to be sick ar? I think recently really a lot of virus going around. My dept also got people mc here and there.

Ah Capp

i put the breastpad too, but every morning my whole t-shirt will still b wet. :S

Titbits

She ate Piegon n Gerben bitcuits. Those Piegon xiao man toe she dun like only like those big teething biscuits.

AhCapp, mylife,
I have been giving him Similac on and off since he was born, before the milk supply kicks in and when we go out... he had taken well to bottles until 4mths old, when he started chewing/gumming the teats instead... same thing with sippy cups, just gum away ... maybe coz he's teething also...

strange thing is after a while, I dun seem to be able to pump out more than 70ml at one go (first thing in morning!)... during earlier bf days, I could pump out 250ml at one go... but I read that baby by latching can more efficiently draw out more milk than pumps (I am using medela PIS...)... and he's now 8.3kg+ (@7mths)...decent weight, said the PD... so...

will try to take fenugeek and then see if I pump out more... then will try to implement the mix-ebf-with-fm trick...

mylife,
I am direct latching...but hubby is very eager to try for #2... and I wanna try to "time" for a girl this time... hehe... can buy cute dresses and pink stuff mah... but how to when period is not back yet??
do you intend to try for #2? hehe...

pixie,

how about curtains for partition? like those hospital type.
that's what my ex company did, we have a very small nursing room with 3 cubicles. each cubicle consists of a desk, chair and power socket. when u go into the cubicle just pull the curtain around to close up.

otherwise, all the curtains can be opened up and the room becomes opened up too

grumpus;
got ppl who are resting, which equals to "guys might be in the same room too"...some mummies are not comfy with that...so...cannot put curtains...

mylife,
I think I would be able to make it to both dates. :D Anyway stayed at home also nothing much to do. :D

Your breast still very sensitive, mine not so anymore.. Maybe due to pumping, I always empty everything, whereas u are doing latching so still have more milk? I also always empty first before xxx. Else milk drip all over.. very sticky ah.. :p

pixie,

ahh like that as good as not having a room lor.
so strange for management to insist that u share the room. it doesn't take much to set up a nursing room, like i mentioned the nuring room at my ex company, total size only like store room size but sufficient for 3 mummies to go and do their thing

mylife
Ya, think quite new range. LV Damier Canvas - Saleya MM. I like the lighter color one. Thks for checking for me ; )

Luvv
What a "Cheee Na" but funny video!!
NASI Wo Woo JiPaWan!!!

violetice
ya flu virus very active outside..Luckily my GP gave me quite strong antibotics, managed to recover now ; )
YEAH, this sun can bring baby for a dip liao...but also a bit worried when so many mummies commented abt the HFMD...

angelsky
ya, me really muz "practice" to handle baby outside alone. I once saw a young mummy carrying a big bag &amp; one hand with a baby like our baby age plus the other hand still can close the stroller &amp; drag it into the train! OMG, my eyes almost want to drop out. How can she managed with so many stuff &amp; yet so steady to travel via mrt!! salute to her ; )

Got this sesamestreet website to share...Juz played the songs to my boy... quite entertaining.
http://www.sesamestreet.org/home

Hi, mummies. Anyone has advice if can give baby kiwi fruit? My MIL gave to my baby but my mum said cannot give cos can cause allergy in baby. Don't know who is right and can't offend either one of them.

icy
i think maybe it's cos i'm direct latching. Not the breast sensitive, more like the nipple lo. At the risk of sounding gross, nipples a bit soft leh. Very sensitive. I think i'm one of those women who felt "wrong" when using it as part of xxx lo. I know i'm not supp to feel this way, but jus cant lo.

ahcapp
LOL, no lah, not too graphic. Hehe...u can lay towel some more ah?? Like wedding night leh...kekekeke

pinkstars
yah, lately i did think of #2, but #1 so attached to me. Only tonite, she nursed to sleep, then when i put her down to her cot, she cried. Happened 3-4 times, cud be separation anxiety, cud be teething, i also dunno. But she so clingy, if i have #2 so soon, jialat liao. I can die out of sheer exhaustion! Hubby also looked at me and said "like that how to have #2 ah?"

JanBB
okie dokie. Will check and let u know tom. Do u know the price of the bag in Sg? I'm going to LV tom and if the price is cheaper, do u want me to buy for u? Maybe u can PM me the price and your contact number, then i can sms u when i'm there.

JanBB, can understand, initially I also panic when I brought my girl out, the first time lagi worse, she cry and cry, refuse to sit in the stroller, I sat in the nursing room in isetan for 30 minutes to wait for my hubbie to come rescue me, lucky that time no one waiting out, and lucky that time I still BF, so also got excuse to stay and chop the room. Got us around, at least can help abit, give you some faith ma, must take the first step out

My aunt gave my girl suck green apple, my eyes nearly popped out, but the thing is, my girl LOVES it, she hates all other fruits so far, but she was sucking happily. Though I seriously think green apple is a no no.

Thanks, AhCapp, I showed the link to my hubby, it says for babies 8-10 months. My baby only 7 months and 1 week old. Told him to tell his mum to wait a few weeks, so that I don't have to be messenger. ;)

calling sassymum!!
hey, me tom going to shop...u want me to buy the Giorgio Armani pressed powder for u rite? Is there only ONE colour? If not, then pls sms me the colour u're using yah!

kitsune
aiyah, personally, i think no need to be so rigid in introducing food sometimes. I know of a mommy here in HK also intro kiwi fruit to her baby before the "right" age. These websites sometimes are only for "guide" only. But of cos, if u're not comfortable with the idea, then dont, cos u're the MOTHER of RaeAnne. U know best.

Mylife, LOL, MIL introduced porridge (cooked in pork broth with added fish) and kiwi fruit to RaeAnne without my knowledge lor. At first, wasn't very happy, like you said, I'm the MOTHER after all. I didn't get to witness and was the last to know!?! But then, after I think again, they are probably as excited as me about introducing foods first time to RaeAnne, so long since they look after a baby after all, so I decided not to be so selfish to demand that all her first times are only witnessed by me lor.

kitsune

my mum fed danelle durians when she was 7 months old lor... i was so stunned and speechless.

im feeding danelle fish porridge too. i add carrot, brocolli and potatoes to it as well.

Ahcapp,
I was reading your post and laughing...you still got time and energy to ML? I remember wendyg also got alot of "ECA" hor??? Am I the weird one or what? Seems like after 3 mths maternity leave, only managed to ML for 2-3 times only...hehe, about once a month lor. Very pathetic hor? I also asked my hubby whether he ok or not, he say he see me everyday so tired...still got so much chores to do after my boy sleeps, he also paiseh to ask for "ECA"...haha.

sassy,
me the guilty one? i feed my girl with durian when she's 6 months' old. durian cannot ah? she totally loves it leh...

hehe, I also peifu Ah Capp &amp; WendyG. Both hubby and I don't have the energy too. With my daughter still waking 2-3 times every night for night feeds, we only want to sleep. If not that I'm trying to shun qi zi ran for no. 2, our hit rate will be zero. haha.

hehe, hubby also joke about feeding our bb durian. but joking only lar. Also don't know can let her eat or not. :p

Just tried cooking porridge for my boy's dinner. I use a small ceramic (think that's what it's called) bowl which comes with a cover and double boil for about 2 hrs. Also add in a cube of broccoli &amp; potato puree which I made earlier. Texture turned out very soft but I still put it through a seive before feeding him...he finished the whole bowl
So I can start buying fish to add into his porridge. Actually wanted to buy but didn't want to waste time &amp; $$ in case he didn't want to eat.

yvonne
good la, u save on contraceptives..

ask your husband to help out with chores &amp; things get done in half the time &amp; can spend some time on the ECA lor. kekeke.

my husband knows that he gotto get things in order if he wants to ****
well trained in this aspect haha

just now my baby merlioned big time.. 1.5hr after he had his cereal. 2 possibilities in my mind: he keeps sticking his index finger into his mouth recently, so he may hv induced his own puke. Or... after i gave him the cereal &amp; water, MIL wanted to carry him, so i said "Pls burp him" &amp; went to kitchen to wash up. Dunno whether he burped anot.

luvv

i didn't check with the pd if eating durians is ok. imo, i feel tat durian is alittle too "BU" for our baby at such a young age.

Been MIA for a while. Spent so time readign the thread. Ahcapp's posts were hilarious. Mylife, looking forward to seeing you. Hopefully, can make it to United Square to meet with the mummies. If bring No.2, No.1 will want to tag along. Then it's all hell break loose..Will see how it goes.

The Guess outlets and Pumpkin Patch stores at Untied Square are my favourite shops cos they are perpetually on sale. Sometimes, if lucky, can find stuff at 70% off.

hi mylife,
thanks for checking. S'pore selling $1770. HK is still cheaper ;) Think my friend will get it for me there, paiseh to trouble u.

hi blackbatz
yay...u coming too? Can lah, can lah!

JanBB
no problem. Jus let me know if u need me to buy for u by next week.

mylife, gonna miss u this time u come to sg....work too busy liao..can't take off..

Btw, now HK sale izzit? Oct still have?

Everyone starting porridge..mine too..gave him some pigeon biscuits but he sometimes dun like ..biscuit like too dry n get stuck to his lips..

Sleeping thru the night
Any bb still not sleeping thru the night? Mine still wake up. Sometimes from 1+am start to wake up 2hly...so tiring..dunno izzit I too lazy at night n latch..

Babe, hi five! Mine still not sleeping through the night either.

Violetice, that's what my mum said, even now when I'm BF, she still nags when I take cold drinks. :p

Went for trial at Baby Jumper Gym at Bukit Batok today. Posted my experience and pics at http://anewpiggy.blogspot.com/.

hi kitsune
read your blog, why does MIL want to give FM. U can always use the excuse that bm is FOC. FM prices increase like mad. They only increase, never decrease! Eg, 1.8kg tin of Friso 3, which my #1 took. I could buy it at S$30 from a forum mummy who bought in bulk. Nowadays, supermarkets sell at S$38 when ON OFFER. 1 tin lasts 2 weeks!!

anyways, i tried giving my #2 FM when he was younger, but that didn't make him fuller to sleep longer. So my colleague scolded me &amp; said "if enuf breastmilk, why need to give FM". So i got lazy &amp; just latched him on la. Dun need to scramble to prepare FM &amp; sterilise bottles... &amp; saves me some $$$ to buy more clothes for his HK trip *wink*

always remember that FM doesn't contain the all impt anti-bodies. As you fight this cough, your girl will also get the antibodies. Just hv to b careful not to spread it to her. And remember that in western countries, most babies transit from breastmilk to cows milk, without taking FM. Why does Sgp hv to be "gey kiang" to insist that babies must take FM??

One of the FM companies called me up &amp; asked the qstn "Which FM is your baby taking now?" &amp; she sounded surprised when i said he's still on breastmilk. "Oh! Still on breastmilk?!" I'm proud to say my baby is STILL ON BREASTMILK (heck, my 3yo is also mostly on ebm, altho he doesn't know it). Even if free FM given to me, i'd still choose to breastfeed. I'll just sell the FM &amp; earn some diaper $$.

violetlce,

i also drink a lot of cold drinks when i'm preggy, my girl ok leh..don't care about what they say la..

QQ> when? organised by? I wanna bring my gal!
btw, saw you with TT...keke..
I saw baby hao re and mummy too... sorry, i forgot your nick.. but can recognise you all coz of the photos in your blogs.