(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

janbb
United Sq nearest MRT is Novena. When u emerge fr gantry, turn right, keep left. U will see signboard "UNITED SQUARE" & walk along the underpass. Take escalator up & walk a bit more against the flow of traffic & u can see the mall liao. If in doubt, ask the folks around u..

i go quite often coz dat's the nearest Toys R Us =)

Gathering! (Welcoming mylife back to SG)

Venue: United Square, Globetrotters
Time: 3pm - 12th Sept 2008, Friday

Activity: Hug and Kiss each other babies, photography session and shopping if possible.

1) mylife and Baby Rylee
2) Violetlce and Baby Ian (anything)
3) JanBB alone (violetice, ONZ u, to stop u fr spending $$, haha!) (Shopping in the afternoon)
4) Icy and Baby Xavier (lunch/tea & shopping)
5) Angelsky?
6) Mom2Nat?
7) Babe?
8) Lynn and Baby Rayden
9) Amy and Baby Ashton
10)Baby26 and baby Savion and baby Sylvia.
11) Mandy and Baby Jayden (if possible)

Not sure if i can handle my baby alone,heheh, never tried before:p

Tampines meetup is when??? Maybe i can join too

wendyg,
oic! oki then stick to United Square ba since got MRT ; )

mandy,
me too !! Never handle baby alone outside. A bit scare too..but if i dun bring baby, i go there like so extra (Can be your free maid there) haha ;)

How to have picture sliding in the blog??? one mommies told me before but cant remember. Was it picture slide or something??

FISH

Salmon and other deep-sea fish have high level of mercury. That's why no suitable for young baby, as they body may not be matured enough to clear out mercury.

But on the other hand, salmon is very good with the omega-3 etc.

Nowadays, there are "pond-fed" salmon on the market, which doens't have the mercury "pollution". But I don't know how to differiate between deep-sea and pond-fed salmon. So to play safe, I only gave my baby ikan kurau so far. Other fresh-water fishes should be suitable for baby.

mandy
ohhhhh, NE Line change @ Dhoby Gaut.
when i said "nearest Toys R Us", i meant nearest to my workplace. I go during lunchtime. I hv to run all my errands during lunchtimes coz after work & weekends i'm with my kids

kitsune,

me too...keep losing weight...but now managed to maintain liao...so worried till i go do a body checkup.....i eat a lot but still lose...now underweight liao.

my boy still dun like solid...but eat biscuits he ok...sigh

Wah, so envy those mummy who can lose weight after delivery. I continue to gain and gain and gain...... Maybe because I am not bf??????? But my hubby said don't bother since we will have #2 in a year time, so only do weight management after officially close shop :) Next time round, I will definitely put more effort in making bf a success, after gaining experience from #1.

when i bf no 1 that time, i maintain my pre-preg weight..

this time round, i think it due to my hectic lifestyle with 2 kids....

morning mummies

mandy, i just pm-ed you

my company is shifting as i was saying and they are now allocating a big room for expressing mothers. we have now 3 expressing mother, 2 more to come. we are suggesting to management to partitioned the place but this room may be shared by people who needs to rest i.e. guys...
any feedback on how to partitioned this? i have suggested multifold doors but management not so eager about this...
if 5 mothers share 1 room, 1 at a time, can pengsan...our pumping schedule sure fighting one...

ernmum,
i agree...once u hv 2 kids... yr lifestyle will b hectic... i ate alot, more den b4 i was preg with #1. yet i can maintain my pre-preg wt. i believe if i eat lesser, i mite b able to slim down more.

pixie
pumping moms strip nvrmind, all hv a common goal, and can chitchat sommore. Hang a sign outside "Sorry ladies only" when mummies are pumping.

How many power sockets? Some using electric pump may fight to use the socket, if multi-plug means they gotto watch each other express?!?!

May want to consider using nursing shawl if shy.

i've ever shared room with colleague when pumping. We sat facing away fr each other but could still chitchat. We were using manual pumps so can still get up to lock/unlock the door etc.

Hi mommies. Sorry to interrupt, have some extra Lucas Papaw 25g ($10 inclu normal postage)& 75g ($19 inclu normal postage) available. Pls PM me if interested. Tks!!

aqua:

*shake hand*

I put on 5kg compared to pre-preggie weight, but because I am short, and all those 5kg piled up at my tummy, so I do really look like preggie now :)

wendy;

this room is more than for expressing mummies. also meant for ppl who needs to rest. so that includes guys. so cannot express openly...we mummies dont mind sharing room to pump but cannot be expressing infront of guys mah, so right now planning how to partition the room so that each cubicle has privacy...

pixie
my dept room also open to all, but they will "zi dong" exit when they see i need to express. U may want to consider hang a sign outside "Sorry ladies only" when mummies are pumping. The guys so cheeky want to come to peep meh?

When initial move-in to new office, ask your boss to make an announcement that pumping mummies are to be given priority to use the room. Hey, the guys can relax anywhere, but where should the pumping mummies go wor?

wendy;
our company is open policy/door kind, too democratic liao, here is everyone has equal rights, freedom of speech etc
so if this room is also meant for ppl who needs to rest, pray etc, we have to give due consideration to them too...cannot just chop the room and say only for expressing mummies...
so it all boils down to how the room is being partitioned in such a way that everyone benefits

not "only" for expressing moms
but priority lor.

anyways, u know your company best, and u're also figuring out your transport arrangements all over the island, so see if u'll hang around long enuf to enjoy the room...

i got free transport...yahoo!
not fantastic but still can move me from point A to B can liao...
i oso agree priority but management dont agree mah. got room like no room like that sometimes...

meetup on 11th Sept, Tampines, mylife's house
Hey, mommies coming for the east side gathering, ru all also going for the 12th Sept at United Square? Or u all either or one?

JanBB
alamak, i think i'd prefer going to United Square cos never been there before mah... suaku, violetice say got a lot of kids shops! kekeke Ay, bring Jayden lah...no need to worry lah, u shud get the hang of it mah. For LV, yes, some bags can be cheaper than Sg due to the exchange rate. But must catch them fast before they adjust the pricing. For eg, last time Steph came to HK, she asked me to check Galleria GM and PM. Back then HK cheaper. I think GM is about HK$10800 and PM was HK$9k plus, that was about $200-$300 cheaper than Sg i think. Then last month my sis went to buy, HK LV increased pricing to i think GM HK$11k plus and PM is HK$10k liao. Ok, will check for u this weekend on the model u mentioned, is it a new bag?

mylvera
come lah! join us if u can!

mandy
i jus realised 2 Jayden's mommy scared of handling bb alone outside ah? Practice makes perfect! Initially i also scared, but then i realised if i dont and always wait for hubby to be around, i will feel confined and trapped at home.

kitsune
it's ok la. I dont mind hosting.

Luvv
AY, was it your bb or was it Lynn's that was born same day as Rylee ah? I always get the 2 of u mixed up (nick start with L) Paiseh. If u're the one, then wah, stay so near me some more. No wonder, tat time during confinement, the confinement nanny told me, some blocks away also got newborn baby cries. Btw, which block ru? Mine is 369.

eRnMum, *shake hand*, my girl also dont really like the stuff I have been giving her, she loves the biscuits too, she will try to move forward very fast to grab the biscuits, the rest when she sees, she will go AHHHHHHHHH very loudly.
. Keep trying k

march mrch, WELCOME !!!! sure you can join in.

Mandy, JanBB, so many of us around can boost your confidence ma, at least when they cry when we are with other mummies, at least got confidence booster. I learn to be more thick skin when I bring my girl out, else stuck at home, she look at me, I look at her whole day, I think can pull hair.

Yah haha. I saw this Tshirt and want to buy "Yes, my Baby is loud, No, we're not moving!" kekeke. I second angelsky's saying, if baby acted up, got so many of us there, no worries. Have to learn to be thick skin. And usually, babies wont act up if among babies, at least initially lah...cos they're curious see so many babies around them. Rylee is the queen of crybabies hor. But when she sees other babies, she'll stop crying and stare with mouth open, same concept as when they stare in mirrors lo.

my baby will be quiet & observe his surroundings when we go out. He will forget to cry, forget he's hungry, forget he's sleepy.. but he will still remember to pull my hair...

mylife,
my girl born 1 day apart from yours and i just moved to tampines only..baby cry during confinement definitely not mine..lol mine cried the most in her 2nd month...

wendy,
^5, my girl will also be the same! forget she's hungry, forget she's sleepy when she's outside!

My baby will only be quiet outside, forget cry/hungry etc ONLY if I sling or carry her. Put her in the stroller and she will scream. There was once we were in the supermart, I have carry her in one hand, push the stroller in another... then bend up and down to pick up my items, pay up etc. Wah very xiong and good excercise.

Fish and porridge
I tried cooking porridge with carrot and sweet potato for my gal but she spat it out. My MIL ask me to add in Cod fish cos she say if not no taste. All the same, she still spat it out. Then she told my gal, baby you don't like Cod fish ah... expensive leh good for you... Wah, I din't know about the mercury issue leh.

I tried second time giving her porridge with pumpkin she also spat it out. Strange cos she likes her pumpkin puree. Now my MIL keep asking me to add salt to her porridge, which I am trying to avoid. Hiaz dunno how long I can "dong" her also.

Issit possible that my gal just doesn't like porridge? I will try again to cook her porridge but this time round I won't make it so gluey (ie. instead of cantonese porridge style, I will try more like teochew porridge style). Hopefully it will work!

my son also dun like his oat porriage from ballamy... he alway eat half way will start to cry.. if i give him the rabbit brand si sen brown rice he will finish every bit leh.... weird leh...

TGIF!!!

Today not very productive at work, a lot of waiting time. So I took the time to browse through your previous posts (I had not joined in this forum then), esp those in Dec/Jan/Feb. So excited reading about your stories on closing to delivery, finally delivered, etc. Missed the preggie time very much...... Many of you already joined this forum for >1 year, no wonder you all knew each other so well.

Any good website to recommend that I can read now? Since I still have to wait for something, can't do my work effectively.

A lot of posts for me to catch up even though it was just a morning. =) My son didn't take his morning nap till after lunch. So I was kinda tied-up. He seem to be very attached to me. Everywhere I go, he will crawls towards me, crying to get me to carry him. Aiyo...

stopping milk supply

A few mummies asked me how I did it. Ok, when I first started to stop my milk supply, I thought it was going to be difficult. But I am glad it was ok.

Anyway, I was pumping 4 times a day when I was back to work after my maternity leave. To kick things off, I dropped 1 session, to 3 times a day by pumping at about 6:30am, 2:30pm and 10pm. I tried not to clear out all the milk. As soon as I feel my boobs are soft, and not lumpy, I stop pumping. For first 2 days, my boobs were a bit er.. heavy or lumpy, but after that, my boobs kinda adjusted to the decrease in pumping frequency.

After a week or so of 3 sessions, I droppped to 2 times per day (i.e. once every 12hours). So I only pumped once in the morning and once at evening. Then after a few more days, I dragged to pumping only once every 18 hours.

Then I went off to France for my business trip. I pumped only after a few days when I feel my boobs get lumpy or have some milk.

The point is slowly slowly drop the no. of times u pump per day, and don't empty fully. As soon as u feel your boobs are soft, then stop pumping.

I was really surprised that I have no engorgement actually. That was my greatest worry.

My boobs are back to their original size of A or B cup. Hooray! No more heavy boobs when I go out. =P I must be mad to be happy with smaller boobs!

mylife

I really admire u for BFing your darling for so long. =) Pei Fu ah! I think expressing milk is really time consuming, compared to direct latch on. So I am happy to be FREE from my pump! *LOL*

What kind of fish do u feed your darling in HK? Salmon not ok ah? It really is a good fish wor.

bebe_yan,

What is your current size?

I hate wearing my T-shirts when I was still expressing milk. All i can see in the mirror is BIG boobs! *LOL* Now, I can kinda squeeze back into my pre-pregancy T-shirts, but I am still a bit chubby lah.

I am going to keep away my C and D cup bras for now, till no. 2 comes along. *LOL* Will start to dig out all my A and B cup bras soon. ;P

AhCapp

Am B cup now.
i miss my D cup. haha.. When i have #3 i will do my best to BF as long as i can. I really regret giving up after 2 months. Wasted.. I kinda surprise i still have quite a lot of supply cos i'm underweight kind of girl. Even nw. :S

Bebe_yan,

Ok, I admit that I miss my C or D cup when I wear my sexy lingerie for my hubby. ;) But not when I wear normal clothings.

Aiya, don't worry. =) Your sisters will be back to their D cup size when u have no. 3. No worry.

I can I still remembered that night when I woke up as Pamela Anderson II. My boobs were rock hard when my milk first arrived. *sigh*

AhCapp,
did your baby take to FM easily after you stopped pumping? that's my greatest worry, coz Isaac does not know how to drink from the bottle, and does not like FM...! I can only spoon feed him FM, max 30ml at any one time!...

icy,

I kinda lost track of how much my son eats for his solid. He is eating 3 solid feeds per day. I just feed him as long as he still wants it. But I still try to make sure he drinks minimum 600ml of milk per day, as what the baby books say.

I think babies are very smart. Once they have enough, they will push the spoon away. Don't think they will really over-eat, I guess.