(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

i have the caterpillar too! my gf got it when my girl was one month old.....she love to play with it, even brought it over to HK with her to entertain her..haha

hello mummies;

just came back from the tangs bazaar sale.
some strollers/baby car seat from lucky baby, some training cups from lucky baby at $5, wipes, clothes, a lot of clothes set, some toys here and there...

for mummies, lancome, biotherm, shu uemura (pitiful selection), helena rubinstein, clothes, shoes.

worth taking a look tho...my "look" costs $74.50

pixiepixel,

u are refering to these Tangs sale at suntec ah.. me also tempted to go, juz received email today ;) Got fisherprice Toys?? how cheap?

1640868.jpg

<font color="ff0000">Hi, Mummies, Gaya bag is featured in Robinsons ad on pg 5, Straits Times main section today. 15% off regular items at Robinsons Centrepoint. Get 30% off new arrivals at our blog, www.bagfan.blogspot.com. Please help share the good deal with your friends and colleagues.

janBB, ernmum;

i meant the bazaar sale at suntec, sorry, was not very clear in my previous post...

fisherprice, very little, almost none. i did not explore much on the toys as my trained (think shopping *LOL*)eyes did not pick out anything i liked. I was tempted to buy the teachalot box 14.90 or 16.90, alphabet puzzle cards. those kind where each puzzle piece is an alphabet and you make up words to correspond with the printed picture puzzle pieces.
i know its too early for now but 14.90 is worth it....can keep mah...auntie mentality heehee

ok toddlers shoes some nice ones, i think suitable for gals more than boys...pink pink everywhere

just to share what i bought:-

lancome makeup base-$35
helena rubinstein mascara-$20
shoe-$16.90
astroyboy toy-$3

all for myself, nothing for my baby

, a sense of slight victory. Gave gwyneth rock melon today, she seems to take it slightly better. There were some spitting every now and then, but at least she took a few mouthful. I am thinking that she still does not handle the spoon very well as compared to finger biscuits. Will just keep trying.

baby monitors

I am thinking of getting a baby monitor, what would you mummies recommend? Is it necessary to get one that has video? Is it expensive?

angelsky
Ay, too early to handle spoon lah!!! They still young, later they stuff the whole spoon into the mouth ah!

MoMme
Yes it is a KS qn.
MY boy oso can't sit unsupported. My girl can't do tat until 9 months old... no big deal, dun worry.

MomMe,
My boy can sit very well on his own. But he only managed to flip after 6 months. So no need to worry lah, every baby is different and they develop different skills at different speeds. Sometimes if you relax and "bochap" a bit, they will surprise you. I thought my boy was never going to flip but he surprised me and flipped at the most unexpected time and place.

blackbatz
Kidly check your email. Are you still selling me the milk bags? Cos I need to reply another seller if you can't sell to me. Tks!

MOm2Nat
Do u need it urgently? Cos i have a few boxes and i'm not using it...can sell to u. But will only be back in Sept.

Leapfrog caterpillar
Wah so many of us have the same toy. I will ask my hubby to go 'dismantle' the toy this weekend and hopefully we can fix it. Hug &amp; learn globe? Hmm, I shall go check it out!

Blog
Heh I too lazy to blog ;P But I enjoy reading other mommies' blog. So cute all the babies

re: baby rejects solids
>> now u know why i say i wish baby can just drink milk forever... and some of u were so eager to intro solids @ 4m! Oh ho... not meeee

mom2nat
hey, my #1 also wanted to eat his didi's yucky cereal. I made a small cup for him and he bolted!
I know what u mean abt the feeling of wasted time/ effort after carefully preparing porridge etc, then the fella just dowan to open the mouth. Now they still relatively immobile. wait until they hit 2yo... been there, done that... so sometimes i also think, why bother to prepare until so cham. Just use jar food so convenient. Time vs $$. Of cos if he dun like the jar food, i also feel wasteful &amp; try to make him eat la. kekeke.
How much ebm do u add to Nat's milk? chilled or thawed? I'm adding chilled 140ml to Iz's 240ml feed every nightly. If thawed, got smell, so i think must try to increase fr 20ml again. My pumping caters to both of them... fwah I'm so power.

angelsky
my friend's girl used to spit her food at her. Do u recall me posting this? She still patiently try to feed the girl, but got food in her hair, clothes, all over the floor etc. Once i witnessed for myself when she brought her girl to my home &amp; had dinner. oh wow she could spit over 2meters. The rest of us were amused, but my fren was FURIOUS &amp; she said "IT'S NOT FUNNY".

Pixie
what do u do with astroboy toy??

wow, i was pumping for 2.5hr... clearing lumps.
today only pumped 9am &amp; 6pm. now i still hv to wash &amp; sterilise... *yawn*

Wow, wendyG, 2.5 hours, yours manual punp somemore leh, siong! When I pump very long 1+hours, I actually fall asleep sometimes. How's the lump now?

I also slept at 2+am cos was watching the Beijing olympic highlights, missed it twice because of baby. :p

wendyg
I read your posts and laughing by myself. -)))hahahaha.

Nowsaday, my girl also the same, one day she likes this food, next day i try to feed her again but oh no, she just closes her mouth and take her time to finish. Agree, feeding bb needs a lot of patience.

What I have to do now, feeding her few spoons of solid food and 1 spoon of pear juice (she loves to drink pear juice).. by doing that, she can finish her solid food.

wendy;
astroboy toy put in the office lor. new job, new office. they allow more 'creativity' so you can spruce up your desk as you like...the body, arms, legs are rubbery, and you can twist into any position you wanted. pity no astrogirl...or else i can twist into various positions

btw, i need a pre-loved sterilizer for my office use.
let me tell you the dumbest thing ever happened yesterday.
my company is pro breastfeeding but i have the management telling me that i cannot use the microwave to sterilize my pump parts (i am using avent microwave sterilizer). the reason? equipment and food cannot mix; microwave solely to be used for food.
huh?! wtf?! i havent even started on how *your* food can contaminate my pump...
i tell myself they dont know the whole process of this steaming part that is why they are saying no. but this reason is incredibly stupid. i was laughing than angry at that time...

ok so anyone wants to let go a medium size (think bigger than the pigeon's compact sterilizer but smaller than avent's IQ sterilizer), pm me!! i am putting below my desk so cannot be too big or too flashy...
i think i should just make some grafitti over the whole sterilizer so that they will not know the real mccoy, or else another new rule will spring up again: no sterilizer below desks!

haHA.... Thanks for the 'feedback'
Ya la... I think I am the 'anxious'type.... so tend to wonder 'why this, why that' Haha
Oso coz I bringing boy overseas in 2 weeks time... initially I was thinking by 7 mth he more steady so easier - but now he still so floppy so I think going to be xiong for me when I bring him overseas.

Chaye,
I saw the Perth thread. You going perth also izit??

I have 10 Jars of Heinz and Earth's best organic baby puree to give away. They all in good condition. My baby not eating. abit wasteful to throw away.

Please sms me 94366 475, self collect at hougang.

Lynn

Any mummies here notice your baby using a certain hand? think my gal seems to prefer her left hand. She sucks her left thumb to sleep, takes thinkgs with her left, hits the ground with the left, reaches out for things with her left.

both my hubby and i are right handed, dunno why she's a lefty. hmmm....

mcfluffy, my boy is a lefty too...
he prefers his left hand over his right hand, and uses his left hand all the time

same - me and my hubby both right handed...

Babe_yan,

You don't accept PM?

Anyway, want to tell you the price (that I promised a loooong time ago):

Nan2 - RM50.9 at Jaya Jusco, RM48.9 at The Store

Mammy Poko, L size, jumbo pack, 56 pieces - RM51.9 (sale price) at Jaya Jusco.

You may get lower price at Giant, but I didn't go Giant today.

Angelsky,

can try pear (those green one). Kind of watery puree and very fragance. Maybe your baby will accept it also? Peel off skin, remove the seed, cut into small/medium size, steam for 5-10 min until soft, blend, and ready to give to baby.

hi Kam,

u using malaysia FM?

my hubby dragged a carton of mammy poko M66 back to SG from KL on wednesday. but only paid for the price of 1 pack for 3 packets. the cashier scan the barcode meant for 1 pack. using jusco card got further discount,=.

Today I attend the Breastfeeding Week at The Central. I also joined to be the member of BMSG.

Tomorrow I shall cook some porridge for my boy since he doesn't like to eat cereals. But I still add cereals into his milk.

After BF for 7 mths plus, my menses finally came on Tue nite. Really so sian. Why came back so early.

blackbatz
I just replied. Funny how come you din receive my previous email I sent on Tue.

WEndyg
I give nat abt 100ml, added into her 200-250ml, depending. I dun give her everyday, depends if I have extra, sometimes I freeze oso. Both my kids haven't tried my frozen milk leh, cos the previous batch I froze I gave to my fren who din have enough ss.

re: right/left hand
>> When he was younger, my elder boy used his left hand for most things. I wanted to "train" him, but someone told me to leave him alone.. only need to "train" when he starts writing or using crockery. Now, he's 3yo, he uses spoon with right hand. Pencils also, chopsticks also. No worries there.

mom2nat
once my mom gave baby 1 feed of thawed ebm, aiyo he rejected. But that was when he was only 3-4 months old i think, still not used to bottle yet. Now he has accepted bottle, wonder if he will still reject the thawed ebm. Same for Iz.. thawed ebm cannot mix same amt as chilled. Strong smell. Actually Iz didn't mind the smell when he was a baby... he just drank &amp; drank. How fortunate i was...

verene,

Yes, my son has been drinking FM (Enfa) from Malaysia since day one. But I didn't get diaper, cos my baby using pet-pet, difficult to find in Malaysia and it's already cheap enough in Singapore :)

pixelpixel and wendyg,
my gal using left hand so dominantly I'm afraid she's going to be a lefty. Not that i'm biased over lefties or what, but there's so much stigma over lefties. my mum was like saying must beat her hand next time when she uses her left hand. bah, so poor thing! anyway, i also read that when they're 2-3yo then will show correctly right? so hopefully, my gal will use right hand when she's older! i think the society doesn't think about lefties. everythign is made of the right handed people!

wendyg, kidding me, i really hope it will not come to that, it sounds really messy. I tried to use my fingers today, she took it once and swallow, the second time she spit it out again. she has even learned to take off her bib, coz when I take it off, I will tell her finish. Now she also tug of her bib.

kam, i tried honey dew over the weekend, she dont really like. I am trying to trial and error, she just loves her milk and baby bites, even baby puffs are fine with her. I will keep trying till she reaches 7 months, then I will intro porridge and see if she likes savory stuff instead.

I not panicking, just wanna let off some steam, kekeke. I know this kind of thing cannot be force. As long as she is still healthy and happy, even if fussy eater eventually I will still take it. Getting angry will not help anyway. My mum even say I spoil my girl. I bought her a new dress and wave in front her her, before I gave her food. Hahaha, not a very good precedent to set, but I cant it help. :p

Mummies: sorry to intrude. I still have 12 units of Desitin Creamy and 1 unit for original. Per tube is $10.20 (4 Oz) Interested pls PM me. Thanks

hi mcflurry,

my hb left handed,i m right handed,so whenever we go to wedding dinner,he will sit next to me to "fight" with me rather than "fight" with others,my mum was left handed,my grandpa manage to use "beating" to train her to be right handed,so now she can use both

Re: Right / Left Hand
I think most babies tend to use their left hands more so it's still too early to determine whether they're right or left-handed. Usually by 2-3 years old then their right/left hand will become more dominant. My boy also uses his left hand more than his right. I'm right-handed but my hubby is left-handed. I would prefer my boy to be right-handed...easier to teach him writing in future. My hubby say cannot force so I told him if our boy turns out to be left-handed, he will have to teach him how to write becos I don't know how to teach a left-hander...haha.

mcfluffy/pixiepixel
dont worry lah. I read in the "what to expect" series that babies will not show whether they're truly lefty or righty so soon, not at least until they're about 1-2yrs old. So that means, even if they show preference for their left hands now, doesnt mean they're a lefty.

mcfluffy
i also read it's not good to try and change a lefty to a righty by beating or forcing or even coaxing. Becos left or right handed is controlled by the brain, u dunno what harm is done by forcing them to change to the other hand. Something like psychological effect or damage to certain parts of the brain. Scary. Do some research and u will find out more. In another words, no good lah.

Maureen
Is the BMSG = La Leche? Cos me too member of La Leche HK.

WendyG, how come so bad this time, your hubby didn't help you clear cos of his slipped disc? How is he by the way?

mcflurry, heard that a lot of left handed people are very smart and creative cos they tap into the right side of their brain. My hubby is ambidextrous can use both sides, definitely more creative than me. haha.

Weekend was bad for me as I think baby Ian has caught flu from me and cough from hubby. The entire family is down. Sighz.

Also, he's sprouting 2 upper teeth, 1 of the tooth is out already, very visible. My cousin was saying when they are teething, it could lead to feverish and flu too. Anyway, it was a difficult weekend and I'm beginning to think he's getting harder and harder to take care of. Sighz.

anglesky,
You were saying baby bites... what's that?

Pigeon Teats:
Anyone one of you using pigeon? What size teats are you using? I just bought 2 PES bottles to let my boy try. He's a NUK user.
Let him try to L size teat... but he seems to choke le... but the M size indicates 2-3mths???? Hmmm...Anyone know why? Is it my boy or did I somehow not fix the teat properly?

Just brought Jayden to the BJG on Sunday. Think he kind of like it. So thinking of signing up for the remaining 4 lessons for the term. But kinda far for me.

Can i check what baby bisuits do u feed ur babies?? I brought the nestle , those that look like honey star shape, but he dont really like it leh.

Mandy,
I bought the Healthy Times Maple teething biscuits which my boy loves munching on but can be very messy lor. I also gave him a japanese brand of biscuits, cannot remember what it's called but the biscuits come in a smiling face. He loves it too! It's suitable for 7 mths and above, can get it from NTUC, Cold Storage and Kiddy Palace.

yvonne
the jap biscuits are Manna right? Red box with a child's face in front.

MomMe
my boy uses Pigeon M teat to drink water. For milk, he's on NUK Large. Both brands wide neck. He doesn't choke on Pigeon teat coz his NUK is faster flow &amp; he manages very well.

kitsune
husband's slipped disc was existing condition even b4 we married. Not a recent thing. Nowadays he only wants to watch Olympics. I massage myself better la.

MomMe
go NTUC baby food section and look at biscuits meant for babies.

angelsky
huh u think i'm kidding u. Want me to put u in touch with the mother who went thru it? Ya i think her girl didn't like bib either.
Turns out that she's a lightweight.. 25th percentile i think... 3yo, 12kg. My boy is 15kg. My another fren's boy is 18kg. But actually it's ok la. Girls lighter is fine i guess
1646061.jpg

chubbier when baby, only drinking milk. The one wearing dress on the left.

Violetlce, speedy recovering, dont sound so down, they are growing up day by day and some days may be bad, but there are also good days, its always encouraging to see them healthy and their smiles and laughter always makes our worries go away.

MomMe, I got the ones from the supermarket, pigeon has them, that goes by months, 6 months etc, 7 months, 9 months, I got the 6 months currently for my girl. I also bought the puffs that comes in a long plastic container that looks like honey stars, but actually they are not. When you go to the baby section selling Milk powder and stuff in the super markets, you look at the baby section.

Yvonne I wanted to try the Healthy times one, but they never state months le?

wendyg, no la, I know you are telling the truth
, I meant "you kidding". Babies are really intelligent, I was telling you, previously my girl will go aaaaahhhhh when she has enough, then she went on to spitting on when I feed her, she will eat it but she will not swallow, when I not looking she just spit it, now she simply takes out the bib to let me know she has enough. So when she does that I just acknowledged her. I think its also okay for girls to be lighter, even if they are underweight and healthy, just dont want them to be very very underweight and unhealthy ba?

angelsky
those that look at Honey Stars are fr Gerber. They're called Puffs or smthg.

from experience, i'd rather have chubby babies, coz once they get sick or teething, they sometimes dowan to eat. Another fren's boy lost 2kg with every bout of fever.. and also, when they start growing tall, they will look slimmer. So i take the chubby baby fats as a reserve. I'm struggling hard to have my #2 maintain 50th percentile!! Thankfully, he gains weight a bit faster after i intro solids. #1 was at 75th or 90th all the time, until now!!

Kam

=) thanks so much.. i received PM before, anyway thanks for e help. But i think only the FM is cheap. Diapers about the same price unless can get Verene kinds of deals.. haha

Thanks for the help!