(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Tofu

Gave baby tofu (those "water tofu" from wet market) yesterday. He gave me "what's that" kind of look intially. Then he slowly used his tougue and lips to explore those white little pieces. He accepted it, and finished all (about half a bowl!). I only mashed the tofu with fork, and he can swallow very well. Those big pieces he used his tougue to "reject". Very funny experience for me (and hopefully baby?)

Jan BB/kitsune,

Think their classes are very full on Sunday. I only manage to get a slot for trial cos one of the babies cannot make it.

Any mummies started making flash cards for their babies??

MagMag Sippy Cup
I have been giving my gal the sippy cup since 2 weeks ago but so far, she only likes to gnaw on it, using it as a teether I suppose. Still dunno how to sip from it. My MIL ask me try to stage 3 straw, I was thinking so young know how to suck from straw meh?

JanBB
I read from your blog that Jayden has the leapfrog caterpillar toy. That's my gal's first and favourite toy too! she likes to suck on the washing labels and the velcro strap.. hehe... Today I discovered that one of the control button is spoilt so she can't learn her 'colours' any more. So sad. Do you know if there's any warranty for this toy huh? I doubt so right...

I'm back fr Rome yest, beautiful country and they r really animal lovers.. Went in to LV boutique, there r a few doggies inside..

Sad ting, i went over to my parents place to see my bb, he's having flu for few days already. Do u kw of any gd PD in e east area?

I need help!!!!

I know I need to be patient when it comes to feeding, but my girl seems to dislike eating
. She only likes juices which I intro today, other than that, cereal she does not seem to like it, carrot is out, apple is out, sweet potato is also out. She has learn to spit them out when I feed her. Initially I thought maybe she is still having difficulties eating, but I gave her a teething biscuit, she could chew chew and chew. I am so worried that she would be a fussy eater

Should I continue to just keep giving her and if she closes her mouth I should just stop?

Anglesky,

You BB is not the only one like this. My boy also mil called and and say today he refused to drink milk. Spit out the milk once its in his mouth. porriage also eat not much, cereal also... But he like to drink soup and water!!! Sometimes really dun understand them...Not to worry they won't be starved. As long as feeding time reach just feed lor.

Mandy, the 6 panel for the bumper mat that cos about 190...can't remember the dimension liow.

my gal likes the toufu too....
going to try the pea puree tomorrow....must sieve it after blend ah? Also bought baby yoghurt from cold storage...prob will let them try this weekend with meshed banana, yummy! if they dun like it...i can finish it for them!

angelsky

dun worry, my gal also like tat. At first she enjoy porridge but nw she dun like anymore, only eat a few spoon she shut her mouth. Cereal is a no for her, no matter wat favour i try she also dun wan, always give me e yucky face. Tried thrice but still fail. Biscuit - will pick those she likes.

Maybe wait for 1 or 2 more months they will start to accept.. Hopefully... *Cross fingers.

(i'm very picky when comes to food, maybe she got my genes.. :S)

jacelyn, bebe yan, thanks
. Glad to hear that, will just have to keep trying. I dont want to make her cry when she eat and then next time develop phobia. Guess she is like my hubbie, slow and fussy eater, and like me, loves to eat junk food. Guess I need to be more creative.

Jacelyn, you boy can drink soup already?

Bebe yan, I already bought a lot of different types of cereal. Even those sweet sweet ones, but she still not interested. Sometimes I feed her, she will scream at me.

Recently, she has been very cheeky, she starts to make sounds like cow, until my dad chided her. Then next she started to make sounds of dog. Sometimes I bring her out and she make all the sounds in the stroller, all the passer by will look at her and then look at me. Maybe its all the sounds of the animals from the story book. Then today, she started to make the ng ng sound, I was thinking what sound was that for, then I realised thats the poo poo sound that my mum will make to get her poo in the morning.

angelsky,
Have to be really patient when introducing solids. Some babies take more time than others to accept solids and they may reject if the texture is not right or if the food is unfamiliar to them. If they reject after a few mouthfuls, stop feeding and give them milk if they are still hungry. Try again the next day. Sometimes they may also reject food if they're teething. It can take up to a dozen attempts before they accept the food so patience is the key. Don't get angry with them or pressurise them to finish becos it's going to backfire and they will reject solids even more.

My boy so far still ok, very greedy...eat whatever I give him except for the broccoli & potato puree I made him last week. He didn't like the lumpy texture so he make a fuss after every mouthful but still managed to finish half of it before he finally got angry...haha. He also gave me a face when I gave him yogurt...haha...too cold. But I continued to give and he started to enjoy it after a few more mouthfuls...in the end he wanted more after finishing.

Angelsky,

Read from wholesomebabyfood website that you can try to scoop out the food with your (cleaned) finger and let your baby eat your food from your finger. It says it works for some fussy eater. You want to try?

Also, if she likes juices, spoon-fed her the juice, will be more messy than drinking from bottle, but helps to let her understand eat food from spoon, not from bottle.

maybe try some fruit? Rock melon puree is pretty watery and has a nice fragance. Try to feed her with spoon. Avocado not bad. Papaya? Banana? Fruit is softer than the vege.

If you try and baby still refuse to eat, then try again a few days later. Continue milk feeds will give baby enough carbo and vit and mineral, but solid food will give her lots of protein which is important for growth.

Good luck!!!

Angelsky,
You can try to give her a variety. Try other foods, maybe she really dun like apples and cereal. My bb hates apples and papayas. But she likes porridge very much, but she doesnt eat alot. Just about 3-4 chinese spoonfuls of cooked porridge. If my bb has enuff, she will give me the "i want to vomit look" and if i stuff anymore into her mouth, she will really do the wanna vomit action. Thats when i know i should stop.

Don't be dishearten. Jia you.

angelsky

my gal won't scream but will shut her mouth real tight and move away from e spoon. I tried sweet ones too n they smell so nice somemore but still, she refuse to eat.

Those biscuits she dun wan, end up i've to eat if not throw away waste $..

ur gal is growing very well ma, i think she will start talking very fast.. =D

what's ur bb last weight taken?

eh PM maybe they know how to suck from straw leh cos I ever drink bubble tea hor TT kept on wanting to get my straw cos is colorful mah ..... so i bluff bluff her put straw in her mouth she suck my tea!!! lucky no suck up the pearl so scary loh

angelsky
ditto with what the rest has said. I've heard from a mommy here in HK that her #1 only started solids when he was slightly >1yr old leh. Before 12mths, solids are NOT meant to replace milk feeds (be it BM of FM) as the source of nutrition for babies. Solids are strictly just for fun & experiment to let them taste different taste and texture only. So dont worry. This may or may not mean Gwyneth dislikes all the food u mentioned, it cud prob jus mean she's not ready for solids.
There's no fixed timing for babies to do certain things. Most often, it is us, as parents or rather the society that "pre-determined" when babies shud do wat ie flip at 3mths, sit at 6mths, crawl at 8mths, walk at 12mths, and well, eat solids at 6mths. All babies operate on their individual "programmed" mode. They, themselves will determined when they wan to sit, stand, walk or eat solids. We just need to see their cues and respond. Just continue to try in small amounts for her, u'll be surprise one day, she will suddenly open mouth big-big to accept ur spoon. Likewise, today she likes carrot, tom she might dislike it. Babies change all the time, jus like us, yah? Jus continue to feed her usual milk feed and she'll be alright! The mommy i told u about, her boy survived on milk until 14mth! And he's a big strong boy now...in fact, the mommy told me, her son skipped all the purees stuffs, upgrade straight to adult table food! Spared her all the troubles!

Taken from http://www.tinytums.com/content/baby_4_to_6_months/feeding_your_baby/key_nutrients_explained.aspx

What does my baby need?

As your baby grows, milk alone will not be enough to maintain the rapid growth and development that needs to continue beyond the first 6 months. That’s why food needs to be introduced to give the nutrients your baby needs in a more concentrated form.

Energy
Babies are growing fast and need foods that are a good source of calories (energy). Advice for older children and adults to eat a low-fat diet doesn’t apply to babies. That’s why low-fat versions of foods are not suitable for weaning, eg.low fat yogurt.

Protein
Lots of protein is needed for babies to grow as they should. The best sources of good quality protein are meat, fish, eggs, and cheese. Vegetable protein is not as complete and if you don’t feed meat, care needs to be taken to combine foods to give the right blend of protein. See Special Diets.

Vitamins
Foods that are a good source of Vitamin C should be included. Vitamin D is made by the body when the skin is exposed to sunlight. Your health visitor or GP will advise you about vitamin supplements.

Minerals
Iron and Calcium are particularly important at this stage of your baby’s development.

By 6 months your baby’s natural store of iron will have been used up and so an important part of weaning is to introduce iron-rich foods such as meat and fortified baby foods. Vitamin C containing drinks or food given at the same meal as iron containing foods will help with the absorption of iron.

i give chrysanthemum tea leh hehehe .... hmmm in fact coffee / tea all these i tab tab abit for her lah not give in ml

re: milk
Milk hor, is not so impt after 1 yr old. Kids in Europe, america, dun drink tat much milk. Oso they dun take formula, they take liquid kind. Only in sg, companies know how to make us pay, wat dha, blah blah... actually, after 1 yr old, food is more impt than milk liao. Try finding FM in Europe, not much choices. Look Their supermkt shelves are filled with jar foods!

angelsky
My boy oso dun really like solids leh. End up my #1 eyeing on the jar foods! HAHAHAAH....

yvonne, kam, wildchillies, bebe yan, mylife, eRnMum,Mom2nat, thanks
. you are right, we should just let our babies grow at their own pace. will have to just keep trying. Maybe she is experimenting with different tastes, true some days she seems to like carrots, then other days she dont like.

Mom2nat, kam, I really think she likes juices and barley, the minute I wave the bottle at her, even if I am standing very far away, her eyes just goes "ding". LOL.

kam, I will try using my fingers and see if it works better tomo. I got the baby food book that have you have, so I was going through the veges and fruits one at a time, guess now it calls for desperate measures, I will prob give rock melon a try.

wildchilles, my girl dont do the vomit action, she now literally spits out the food.

bebe yan, my girl likes to eat the baby bites, if she drop the baby bites while she is munching on it, she will actually search left and right for it, if she cant find it, she will kick up a big fuss. But I dont give her alot, maybe half a piece each time she wants, max half a piece a day also. The ones that pigeon has. The last time I check was when she was 6 months, so that was about 2 weeks ago, she was 6.2kg

mylife, I was wondering if the cereal and puree is too mashy thats why she dont like, or maybe the texture is not suitable for her? Was reading somewhere, that some babies actually skip all these purees and go straight to porridge etc. But well, I will just keep trying
. You know initially I was thinking how come she drinks her milk so slowly and she takes so little, end up I realised it was the teats fault, she needs a faster flow teat, now she can finish 180ml each time very quickly.

Thanks mummies, everyday is a learning day for us *-^

angelsky
I think my son SMELLS his food. Cos when I put a particular food near his mouth, he will be v quiet. Look as if he is intensely smelling it. Water and plain rice cereal he will open his mouth!! Stuffs like peach and apple, he keeps his mouth shut! Weird leh, cos he hasn't even tried, how he knows it's nice or not, so I think ah, he smells it! haha...

Mom2nat, you know what, I smell my food too. Though sometimes when I am outside, I try not too, especially breads :p I think you have a very clever boy there, he learns fast, if he knows whether he likes his food by smelling them.

Kam
alamak, why u go and do that for...it will only serves to set angelsky on more panic mode.
Haha, to counter ur information, here's what i found to confirm my theory on why between 6mths to 1yr old, solids is NOT meant to be the main source of nutrition for babies. Hence, solids are introduced to complement, for fun, taste and texture rather than for the nutrients.

http://www.babycenter.com/404_when-a-child-starts-solids-how-much-breast-milk-does-he-need_8865.bc
http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/solids/solids-how.html

Ok, they may be talking about BM but generally, it applies to FM too.

I agree with Mom2Nat, by 1yr old, then solids are more important than milk.

Angelsky
This line stood out when i was reading kellymom.com Maybe Gwyneth is like this?

What if my baby refuses all or most solids?
A lot of babies are slow to take to solids. It's not uncommon for some babies to take several months once solids have been introduced before they really take to them well. Babies who are slow to teethe and babies who have food sensitivities are often the ones who are slower to begin eating solids. This "slowness" may be their bodies' way of protecting them until the digestive system is more ready to accept new foods.

angelsky
Haha... I notice he smells, cos he takes 2 kinds of medicine. Then strangely, when I put the syringe near him, he will refuse to open his lips at all for motillium(bitter taste). The other one, he eagerly open! My maid says he recognise the colour, but I dun think so, cos he wasn't looking.

My girl's PD told me, feeding gotta be a happy thing. So dun be pressured if bb dun like or dun eat, cos if you try too hard, bb might have a negative feeling towards solids. I know the feeling, when you put in so much effort to prepare and cook for bb, then he refuses to eat! Some days like some days dun like... but hor, it is like tat lor, even until now, my 4 yr old is like tat. So take your time. And let bb take his time too.

mandy
yes, sign up multiply & u can link all blogs together. but sometimes the update haywired.

lyn
if u dun mind attitude. go for dr sim at elias mall, cheap and no Q.

mylife, Mom2nat, going to remind myself constantly, yes feeding must be happy.

Just now, I feed her milk, she actually made a "errrrr" sound and vomit the milk, she has never done that before. Hopefully its becoz she is teething and not because of the fall she had the other day, nor is it becoz she has food phobia now.

mom2nat
then your 4yo still drinking milk or those packet ones liao?

angelsky
jiayou... joyessness during feeding... more positive feelings may help. babies very sensitive wan. try not to exhibit anxiety too =) btw your baby looking for dropped biscuit means learnt about object permanence liao... another milestone cheer up =)

babe
first time i didn't bring pram. quite siong esp changing. that time he only going 2 months. i bring him bathe first then pass him to daddy then bathe myself later. bring extra towel between our bodies cos my body wet den can nurse him after his shower. he normally sleeps after dat in the pram. sometimes the water pressure from the shower head can be quite high so either use hanky or back towards the showerhead. else simply like other mummies dry bb up and go home bathe.

anglesky / mylife:

No lah, not to make Anglesky panic. Angelsky, hope you didn't, I want to give you to correct information. I am soooo sorry if my previous post made you more worry.

My intention is to let Anglesky continues to try, not to give up. True that solid is not the main source for baby <1year, but it's certainly is important as supplementary (e.g., iron and protein). We can't stop trying introducing solid because baby doesn't like. Sure every baby reacts differently, but still mummy have to keep trying. If lacks of time, can get jar food, etc. Yes you need a lot of patient, don't mind the mess baby makes, don't force baby to eat, don't think oh no the food is so wasted when baby doesn't take, make it a fun thing for baby to do, like fly the spoon from far away accompanied with funny sounds then reach to her mouth etc, and put her on high chair (if she can sit well already) and let her know that once it's on high chair, it's time to eat. We all want our baby does well. We have to face the problem and not run away from it. Angelsky, good luck with that.

<font color="ff0000">NTUC Vouchers at a discount</font>
mummies, if u shop at ntuc frequent for yr grocery, esp Milk and Diapers like what I do, me selling NTUC vouchers at a small discount. pm me if you want and let me know how much you getting.

I just called up the BJG initially tot of going for the trial on this sat but all full already. The only slots left will be on 6 Sept 2.30pm. Any mummies interested to go with me? Call up this no and register: 6563 0716 look for Adeline or Han.

evening
My 4yr old still taking FM. Sometimes I give her packet ones when we are out, but depends on brand, she gets diarrhoea at times.
Oh, she wants my Bm to be added to her FM hor... So sometimes I have to prepare some for her to add.

I know this is a very KS qns. But are all your bbs sitting well already?

My boy 4 days short of 7 mths. But he still very wobbly le. Can't sit without support :eek:p

about cereals and porridge, when you say you stop giving when baby rejects, do u supplement with milk thereafter? Sometimes, i use jar food to entice her to eat cos she loves to eat jar food!

MomMe,
my girl only started to sit well after she turn 7 months, but sometimes, she'll tend to fall sideways or backways..

precious moments,

Re: Leapfrop caterpillar
Me also saw in other mummies' blog like shannonbaby &amp; mylife..they also bot it..heehee.. Quite interesting &amp; safe toy ;)
Dun think got warranty for the toy leh. Why not u "strip" the caterpillar, see the button got struck inside or not??

u also got blog? share wif us oki ; )

Hee.. thanks.

I guess I jus over anxious la. Haha...
Coz see so many of babies in this thread sitting so well - some even standing. And I'm like wondering how come my boy still not sitting.