(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

hi all, good morning

prata queen, i always sterilise my mag mag for my number 1 using the pigeon steriliser

anyone brought baby to swim at harbourfront during the weekend.

i brought my number 2 there....but i didnt sign up....he was a bit sleepy when he reached there so swim for abt 20 mins only. i think it is not abt learning to swim...but basically just enjoy the warm deep water.

but one pt to note is that....the hygience there not perfect....the place where they conduct then massage....never change the towel leh...so my boy lie down on a towel used by other ppl before leh

btw, another thing to share....for those who wanted to buy feeding bowl...dun buy those with pictures one...cos if you sterilise, the picture will pop up one....buy the simple type......and make sure can sterilise, unless you feel dun need to la

Morning mummies!!

I got 2 question, please help!

1. How do your mix the cereal with milk powder? How much to put and what about the water? Need to put how much??

2. Anyone bb still on pacifier? If teething then how to stop out of e sudden? (Stop to aviod the teeth later not nice) Cos i always give bb pacifier when she go slp, so i think very hard to stop ler..

Baby_yan,

You make the milk as usual (formula + warm water), pour the milk into the bowl, then add the right amount of cereal and stir.

My boy weaned off his pacifier about a month ago, happened "naturally" as I didn't anything to my boy. So can't help you on this. Maybe you try to distract his attention to something else, like toys, talking etc, when he looks for his pacifier. When times go on, he might forget that he needs a pacifier for comfort. Good luck!

Kam

Let say i put 1 scoop of FM and water(?)30ml? + how much cereal?

Hope i can do it. haha. i scare later Teeth not striaght and neat.

Bebe yan,

My experience told me that for 30ml of milk (1 scoop FM), 2 teaspoon of cereal (I use Nestle) is just nice. But you may want to adjust to amount of cereal based on your baby's liking. For example, for the 1st few week, add less cereal so the cereal is a bit runny and easy for baby to take in. Later, you can add a little bit more cereal to make the cereal thicker so his stomach cab be filled up.

I read from somewhere as long as your son wean off pacifier before the age of 4, he should have a nice set of teeth. My younger brother only weaned off pacifier when he was 4, and he now has a very straight and neat set of teeth. But of course, the sooner they can wean off, the better, less 1 worry :)

Can also call Baby Hyperstore at Shun Li Industrial cos they are the authorised agent.

New model 20% discount. If older design like (07), more discount like 30%.
Find out the model that you like and call them.

Hi ernmum,

Glad to know that Mag Mag can be sterilized.

The Tommy Tippee feeding set from Mothercare has clear instructions to state that it can be sterilised and that's why I chose to buy this brand.

My 4.5mth old baby has rashes around neck area. Most prob due to heat and perspiration. Is there any recommended cream i can get?
I come across somewhere mentioning the goods of CB caledula cream.. any mummy tried before? where can i get it?

re baby hyperstore
Yep I agree the discounts on older designs are substantial.

I got my maxi cosi priori car seat at 398 less 40% cos (1) its a old model (2) color not popular (deep purple)

<font color="aa00aa">aquaDucks Free Trial</font> - <font color="ff0000">CANCELLED</font>
just been informed by aquaDucks that trial is cancelled as the coach is not available. I've emailed to all and also attached below the email from aquaDucks. Sorry.

Hi Meihua,
So sorry to disappoint you. At the moment my coach he's not able to commit to those trial class as mentioned because my coach's schedule is
pretty tight for the whole month of July. Also he's also not going to be permanent on Saturdays as well.

Could I hold on untill I get a permanent coach then I'll conduct the trial class for you. You have my words that's for sure.

Will keep you posted somewhere in mid of July.
So sorry for the inconvenient caused. :-[

Sleeping:

Can I check if any of your bb sleep on tummy @ night?
My boy started taking a preference to sleeping on his tummy. I tried to turn him over but he will keeep turning back. :eek:p

M baby started on Heinz rice cereal when she turned 5 months. She used to poo daily but after she had cereal, her bowel movements are not so regular anymore. Recently, she has constipation. I made her drink juice and also make apple puree for her. So far, she's still constipated.
Ayone can help me on this? How to make her poo poo?

Mum_to_Ashley,

I heard from my son's teacher at the infant care that there is this kid at the same class with my son. He is not able to poop at home (almost never poop at home), but when he comes to the infant care, with the help of the teacher, he poops everyday. What they mean by "help" is if they don't carry the baby and make the "er er" noice to "induce" him to poop, he will never poop. But once they do that, he poops all right, and the stool is not hard, it's soft, just only without the "help", he doesn't poop. Funny right?

Maybe you want to try to carry him and see if that helps?

My son is on Nestle cereal since 5 months also. His poop-poop habit never changed, still poop 1 or 2 times a day, hard+soft stool.

Mei,

Thanks for the update on AquaDucks. Think hubby will be quite disappointed. Haha. Maybe we really need to arrange at someone's condo's function room with a pool in front.

baby ian so cute...

Mei, thanks...hope they revert soon..meanwhile we wait for float to try bb in water.

Shannonbaby, pm u regarding collection tmr. thanks

Hi Kam

Thanks for advice. My gal gal finally pooped!It was such a relief. Actually, everytime, I make the 'ng ng' sound she will poo, but this time round her stools were so hard she had difficulty pushing them out! She cried a bit just now. Must be very painful.. so heart pained.

Hopefully, when she eats cereal again, she won't be constipated. I've bought the HT brown rice cereal and will let her try next wk. I heard Nestle is sweet that's y I didn't get for her.

My boy on and off keep on refuse to drink milk . Coming to feed him so sian. Just now cry until no sound too.

Tomorrow he is going for the injection.

hi babyship,

tomolo should be no prob unless my gal is still not well n not able to go infant care. i email u my hp no already. oh yes, also email u some tips in helping yr gal to settle in new childcare after reading yr blog, hope it helps..

MomMe, my girl does not really like to sleep on tummy, only day time we need to pat her to sleep on her tummy, but if she wakes up on her tummy and we not around her, she gets very angry. will cry very LOUD.

Relatives visiting - Realised that my girl hates loud noises, and pple who criticized her. If you tell her "mei mei", she will laugh and smile at you. If you say she naughty, she will pout and cry very loudly. Brought her to some family gathering, usually she is very friendly towards even stranger, but yesterday, all the aunties want to carry her and talk very loudly, she pout and cry for almost an hour. Hard to pacify her, worse then stop already, they say she very naughty, she pout again and starting crying. Whole night the same, until we took over then she calm down. She has never cried so much before, yesterday was the first time. Siong for me man.

Milk intake - drop big time. Cranky also when you wan to feed her.

Mum_to_Ashley,

Glad to know your baby finally pooped!!! Hurray!

Thought brown rice will make your baby more prone to constipation?

Have you tried the cereal? I tried a bit, it doesn't taste nice :-( But I don't think it's that sweet, the milk taste is the dominant taste, so it's more like eating "solid milk" :-( I didn't get the HT one for comparison, as Nestle is an "old" brand that I can put my trust on, and I think I had that when I was baby too!

My personal choice will be only giving my baby rice cereal until he is 6 months. Only after he is >6 months, I will introduce other grains, and vege and fruits at the same time (so that the vege and fruits will help minimizing the constipation).

We are recruiting!!!

<font size="+2">Job Offer</font>
<font color="ff0000">Female Permanent part time bag promoter at Isetan Scotts Wanted
Tues and Thurs 12-8pm, Sun 4-8pm
To start work in July.
Pay: $5 per hour + commission
-$20 monthly allowance (aft 3 mths of service)
-Staff discount for GAYA products.
Interested, please email resume and experience details (if any) to [email protected]</font>

mum to Ashley,
I have been puting my boy on the potty since he was 2 months old. Always sit with him and "eh..eh.eh" with him till it comes. Now, everytime he wants to poo poo, will make the "eh..eh..ehh" sound and we will bring him to the potty. He will continue to "eh..eh..eh.." till he is done with his business.

Seems like I have to start Zach on solid soon. Too lazy to bring his high chair out..

healthy times cereal for how many months onwards?

I start baby javier on heinz rice cereal. my mum mix the cereal with hot water first. mix till into thick consistency then add FM then add warm water (agar amount depend on how many scoops of FM) till the cereal reaches the right consistency in her opinion. think it is subjective on the mix bah. she uses the FM spoon to measure the cereal.

Sleeping on tummy:
So its ok to sleep on tummy?
My boy used to dislike even rolling to him tummy. But now suddenly wanna turn and sleep

MomMe
why not ok to sleep on tummy? My boy's been doing that since he was discharged fr hosp.

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+2">Desitin Creamy 4oz, $9 each</font></font>
i ordered in bulk again.. the shipment fr Drugstore just arrived. Expires Jan 2010, that's when our babies hit 2YO. I hv 20+ tubes available, if anyone wants. Collect Punggol (most times) or Braddell MRT (weekdays lunchtime). Pls PM me to arrange, coz as u know, i seldom appear here liaoz. Where got time... busy shopping. kekekeke

hi mummies, me new to this thread. had been too bz adjusting to be SAHM to my 2 kids. any cream advice for my #2's heat rash on his neck?

evening,
Johnson &amp; Johnson diaper rash cream ever better...works wonders but hard to find now. Wonder if they stop production for this???

Yvonne,

Agree with you. I like the J&amp;J cream. Works wonder for my son too. Was looking everywhere in Singapore, couldn't get hold of one. The staff at TMC pharmacy shop told me they stopped production, but not sure temporary or long term.

Looked for it at JB, also couldn't get. Finally get a few at KL. So happy :)

Hey Mei,

No apologies needed
Looking forward to hearing from Aquaducks on the new trial dates. BTW, have you heard of the Marsden Swim School and do you know if they provide trial classes?

Kitsune, the red bag can it be carried on the shoulder? Is it quite big? If I go isetan, still can see those bags and get discount?

can i check something regarding bumbu seat... can i place him when he still cannot sit up with support? or just simply put him to learn to sit in the seat?