(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Shermaine,

Didn't know premium flats got so many stuff other than toilet bowls, sinks and flooring for all as well as kitchen wall tiles. Mine only got both toilets done but dont have shower screen & towel bar and kitchen wall tiles. Think if u want to keep everything else simple, shld be able to meet the budget. the tiles nice?

wah so many getting condo. good. then maybe next year if got gathering for our babies 1st birthday, we can hold in condo function rm!! yeh!!

Mommies

This is quite interesting. The book quoted is the one i read. The Wonder Weeks mentioned earlier.

SLEEP REGRESSION
I think "regression" is just the term people use so that parents know that the blow-up of sleep is pretty universal at certain times and isn't just something that's affecting one child.

I actually think regression is a complete misnomer for several reasons. First, it implies that babies' sleep progresses in a linear fashion, with better sleep each week until the fateful day at which they sleep all the way through every single night. To put it mildly, that isn't true. Secondly, it indicates that it's a negative trend, when in reality it's just a reaction to things cooking on other levels. Kind of the way you shouldn't run right after you eat a big meal, since your body is busy digesting the food and can't spare the energy for running.

Babies have a whole lot going on with them in general. On one level we have the physical milestones. Rachael at SparkPlugDance.org has done this amazing breakdown of the physical milestones from birth through walking and how they affect neural pathways. (She also has a great article up about how to make tummy time fun for even the biggest resisters.) On another level we have the whole feeding thing, which is quite a bit to get coordinated. First they have to get down the sucking part, then they all seem to go through that nasty "does my baby have colic or is it a GI problem?" phase at 6 weeks, then they have the growth spurts (at 3, 6, and 12 weeks and again at 6 months). They're learning to trust you and love you. Then there's teething, which kids can start as early as 6 weeks (mine did) and can last on and off for months before one pops through.

All of these things can affect sleep. But all of these things are kind of obvious, so if your baby's up all night grabbing her ears and drooling, you know it's teething. If he can't sleep because he keeps waking up on his hands and knees rocking back and forth, you know it's because his body is learning to crawl. Since you can see it and label it you can understand it.

Your baby is also going through enormous developmental spurts that you can't see, because they're dealing with cognitive processes. They work through these spurts the same way they work through the physical spurts, but when your baby is practicing recognizing patterns, you can't see that. Leading up to the actual new skill the baby is going to go through several weeks of intense brain work and prep that you can't necessarily see (unless you know specifically what to look for). One of the side effects of this brain work is that they don't sleep as well as they do during times in which they're not about to master a new skill. They may seem restless in the night (like they do sometimes when mastering a physical skill) but it's just nothing you can see and label. So we call it a sleep regression.

Once a baby has learned the new skill, s/he will often sleep through the entire night for 1-3 nights after mastering the skill. Which is freaky from the parents' perspective, because you go from waking 10 times one night to sleeping 12 hours the next. But it makes complete sense if you know that the baby was working on this really tough challenge and couldn't help but wake up so often (in fact it's probably a miracle that the baby could even fall asleep in the first place with so much going on in the noggin), and then once they've got it they relax and sleep it off for a couple of days, like sleeping off a crazy party. Then they'll most likely go back to sleeping the way they were before they started working on the new developmental skill.

Everything I know about when and what the actual developmental spurts are I learned from the book The Wonder Weeks by the Dutch researchers Hetty Vanderijt and Frans Plooij. They tell you when the spurts happen (based on a 40-week baby, so if your baby was born early s/he'll hit the spurts a little later and if s/he was born later than 40 weeks s/he'll hit them earlier), what kinds of symptoms the baby will show while working on the new skill, how you'll feel when the spurt is happening, how to recognize what's going on, and what kinds of games you can play with your baby to help develop or practice the new skill. One of the things I love about this book is that they don't tell you what to do (aside from suggesting games to play) they just tell you what's going on. I have a definite bias against books that tell you how to raise your kids, and I love that this book is just a roadmap of what's going on when.

According to Vanderijt and Plooij, the spurts happen at weeks 5, 8, 12, 19, 26, 37, 46, and 55 (that's as far as they studied).

I think the reason the "4-month sleep regression" is such a big deal is that babies wake up a lot in the few weeks it takes while they're working on the 19-week spurt, and then once they've gone through that spurt they only have a week or two (if that) of respite before they start prepping for the 26-week spurt. So it's kind of one long stretch of bad sleep and cranky moods during that stage of your baby's life.

The "8-month sleep regression" (which for some babies is closer to a 9-month sleep regression) is related to the 37-week spurt. For some reason that one just seems to cause more waking, too, than some of the other spurts do. It might also be particularly hard because many babies are smack in the middle of working on crawling or walking, and also teething. (At Casa Moxie we've had probably 8 weeks of crappy sleep between teething, the 37-week spurt, crawling, teething, and now pulling up. Every now and then he'll have an easy night, but boy is it rough being a 9-month-old.)

Bear in mind that individual kids have different reactions to all kind of spurts (physical, developmental, etc.). Some teeth painfully for months, while others just pop a tooth with no symptoms. Some will wake in the night practicing crawling for weeks, while others never do and just take off one day with no warning to you. The developmental spurts are the same, so you might have a kid who has 3-4 nights of wacky sleep and then learns a new skill, or you could have one that spends 3-4 weeks waking up before every spurt.

If you want to be really prepared for the "regressions," I'd say borrow or buy the Wonder Weeks book, read it, and pay attention to the signals your baby is giving you. Once you know what's going on it becomes fasciating and annoying instead of worrisome and torturous.

wa mylife, you have been very busy.

My girl semi flipped just now. I turned around, I think my expression shocked her more than she shocked me, she gave me the stunned expression and look at me. Her sleep patterns a bit strange these 2 days, and she flipped today, maybe that is what is happening?

mom2nat
HUGZ. I stopped swaddling my gal only recently cos she always break free from it anyway. So now we "promoted" her to the sleeping bag.

Janbb
So how? Have u decide to join our SAHM group? kekeke. Seriously speaking, it's not all fun and play being a SAHM. I reckon maybe the grass is always greener on the other side? The other day my hubby on MC, then he woke up late morning and felt better, so he said he wants to spend the day taking care of my gal. He does all my chores and by mid afternoon he's already saying "i wan to go back to work liao" Hahahaha. Mom2Nat is right, sometimes i also wish i could glam up myself and go out to work. But i dont deny, our job satisfaction is seeing our kids grow and give us all the smiles and laughter. Downside is long working hours (actually make that 24/7) and no annual leave. Just last night, dunno why my gal nurse, nurse then as she was falling asleep, suddenly jus unlatched and cried cried cried. Aiyoh, dunno what she wans, took me a loooong time to soothe her back. By the time i'm done it's almost 9pm and i havent even eat my dinner. My hubby says "poor u", i jus try to take it as part of my "job challenges" jus like when i was in the corporate world! kekeke. But of cos if finance permits, it IS rewarding to be a SAHM for your baby now. Like myself, altho got helper also i told her to jus manage the housework, and i take care of baby myself. STILL find it xiong. Hats off to SAHMs without helpers.

angelsky
so ru going back to work? how? u going to join hubby to Jakarta soon or still undecided?

<font color="aa00aa">aquaDucks Free Trial</font>
ok. the answer to the very impt question - YES swimming costume are required inside the pool for the parent. if not comfortable, you could wear a t-shirt over it.

hi!

wow! mummies hav consider buying place so dat their bb gg to certain sch.. As for my case, we didnt even thot of it wen we bought e place few yrs ago.. heheheee!

angelsky: we had a few ID quote fr 5 different firm. we also had a quote of 60k for my place of 3rms.. mi and hb was so shocked becos we already told them our budget is 30k... in e end, of cse e ID is not shortlist.

Shermaine,
we r neighbours
&amp; Janbb also staying nearby too! Next time we could meet up together with bb

re:tiles by HDB
my living rm floor tiles is terrazzo, kitchen is ceramic &amp; bedrooms is parquet flooring. Yours same?

ya 300K very high but gd price to sell. Somemore my neighbour's hse not much renovation. Anyway i hate HDB premium flats. My tiles POP UP before in 2005 &amp; i appeared on national TV!!Arghhh...

<font color="ff6000">mei,</font> i stayed 13th floor. oh btw, rec'd yr email on the kindermusik, will transfer $ by Thurs. Thks!

steph
hehe , yea , can meet up together with bb
i don't know the name of the tiles for living and kitchen area but my rooms are parquet flooring .

Janbb
u stay at st24 too ?

steph,
wow appeared on national TV!! wow. next time it's a good selling pt for u house. haha.

verene,
only ONE parent per baby in pool. not both parents in the pool at 1 time. not sure trunks or board shorts leh. haha. i no ask.

Mei,

Can you PM me ur account no so i can transfer the money (Kindermusik class) to you.

Aquaducks trials

Aiyo got to wear swim wear arh? Got to show my sagging, buldging tum tum liao. But luck thing is still can cover with a t shirt our side still not so bad.

blackbatz,
yap thanks for the thread.
yap the aquaducks free trial is now on a sat. wkday is still available but most mummies wan wkend.

angelsky
huh? Wat do u mean?

Steph
I sent the LV bags pricing to ur email liao

Mommies
my gal 5in1 jabs are due on 3rd of the month, but last month I did it only on 5thMay so the nurses told me cannot go back to 3rd June cos need at least 30days between the jabs. Is it true? So I need to do her jab on 5thjune, my question is then can I delay further to 8thjune? Will this be too far off her original jab date which is 3rd? Pls help, thanks!

Hi Mei,

My hubby got concerns wearing trunks loh..Ha Ha. Ai yo, I cant fit in my swim suit liao. Any idea, whether is the pool with chlorine. My hubby super skin sensitive..he will turn into a lobster if he jump in swimming pool. If he cant go in, I will go get a swim suit and go with baby.

verene,
haha. tell ur hb dun be paiseh. my hb also have concerns wearing trunks. but on that day, no one will see lah. all eyes on babies. haha.

Shermaine
U looking for someone to reno ur place? Ai Mai me intro my bro-in-law to u (another option to consider?) My place was renovated by him in 06 but my hb &amp; I are the main designers for the plc. He jus helped us to find the cheap &amp; gd contractors of individual trade n do up my place. If u r keen, den PM me. I'll gif u his contact.

Jus like Lynn, when we bot our place, nvr tot of buying a place near to gd schs... heehee. jus find one dat we r comfy wif.

Mei
we transfer the $ to u or pay when we go to Kindermusik on Sun?

mylife: Got nurses tell me ist better to jab 30 days or more after.in yr case u can also do it on the 8th no prob. my gal suppose to take her 3rd 5 in 1 jab last wk (5 months old). but i decide to gv her a 6 in 1 for the last one . so pd suggest delay to 6 mth then do assessment at the same time.

re: aquaducks

I will be sending my hubby into the pool too. My tummy is too ugly and big, dont think can find any swimwear for myself.

Bebe yan, no more brown line, but flabby tummy now :p

Mylife, I really thought you wrote it
. I planning to go back end of the year, not working yet , after some thoughts, dont quite justify the pay, I think the allowance when I go back and join my hubbie slightly more than my part time pay le.

Lynn, well before we signed up they told us ok will stick within our budget, then along the way they keep changing the quote and keep adding and taking out things. Blame us for being young and inexperience.

re: kindermusik, mummies who attend and going to attend and keen to form a weekday class, let me know
. I keen to form a weekday class with doreen. She has a new class on weekday.

Icy, how much you pay for Waterfront Waves if you don't mind sharing, I'm very tempted. Even went to see baywater when they launched but now haven't stay 5 years at my flat so cannot sell. Also, with ILs staying so nearby, think cannot move house until my baby is bigger. :p

I'm also doing minor renovation at my house, only install windows, grilles, change curtain for master bedroom etc costs $2k+. Faint!

godsent,
trf to me. i will pay kindermusik first.

bebeyan,
aquaducks is in july after bb turned 6 mths old and has 6mths vaccination. i've the slots allocated to the mummies and waiting for their replies. can wear t-shirt over it.

what things not expensive now? sigh. now already so expensive. what happenes in future when our kids grow up. can they survive?

My baby is going for his 3rd jab of his 6 in 1 this 23 june (which shld be on 13 june, but I postpone the appt). he will be 5 and a half months old. is this consider the 6 month jab? I bit blur liao.

re: aqua ducks
oh no, looks like i need to get a new swim suit liao! how to fit into former swim suit? still so flabby. sigh. and i still have the ugly looking brown line.