(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

blackbatz

Yes, they too smart for their own good lah. =P I kinda wish that I should have intro FM to him earlier. Really didn't know how complicating things will be. But then again, if I were to intro FM to him earlier, it means he will take less EBM. So guess at the end of the day, I just have to try harder now to get him used to FM. =) Bo bian...

prata_queen

I intend to give my son rice ceral when he hits 6 months old. My mum is taking care of my son.
For the first month of solid, think he will not eat a lot. Too troublesome to cook since he eats so little solid at this time. Will ask my mum to cook porridge when solid is properly introduced to him. Maybe 7months or 8 months old..

violetlce

My mil (mum in law) also like yours. Asked me when I want to intro solid. She asked me what did the doc say. I told her doc said 6 months old and after that, no more asked me about when to intro solid. =)

Anyway, pear with rock sugar is definately a 101% no no for such a young baby lor. =( No sugar and salt at such a young age.

Hello! Been offline for since the KinderMusik Trial class that Mei so kindly organised for us. (Thanks again!) Yes...Me is the fat fat gal in green cardi...heh heh heh...

Jeannie:
Hello hello hello!

Aquaducks Trial and Gymboree Trial:
Mei, please count me in for the trial sessions ok? I'll pm you in a while.

Cereals:
My Claudia's only 4.5 months but I intro cereal already, cos my MIL's very keen to start her and she's on the Eu Yan Sang brown rice "si shen" powder. I tasted it - quite fragrant lah. I mix 2 little teaspoons with hot water then boil for 5 minutes. Then mix with some formula (diluted with water) to give my BB for her final feed every evening. She sleeps more after drinking it and so far she's ok, but I know there're many different opinions on when to start solids and all that. Bo pian, MIL kan cheong, I just go with the flow. My fren gives her son steamed pear puree and other fresh fruits cos she said if can use fresh fruit, why feed out of a jar? But the baby jar foods are so convenient hor? I'm also looking at Healthy Times, especially the Brown Rice Cereal.

Work:
Going back to work soon...sianz.

Check out my bb flying inside e Singapore Flyers!

1464855.jpg

More thoughts on solids:
After discussing with my hubby, we've decided to cut the cereal... better play safe. Sigh... now I'm worried. But thanks, mummies, for your wisdom!

How should i start introducing cereals to my son?? Which brand is good?? My mom suggested grinding brown rice into powder to feed my son. Any advice??

Maureen,
How did you manage to sustain the BM supply? I express 4 times a day but SS dipping everyday. Tomorrow, got to activate all the frozen EBM liao.

Ahcapp,
My mum mixed half frozen EBM and half FM while I was away to feed my son. So that was how he was introduced to FM. Then she will gently wake my son up around 11 plus or 12 to feed him. (I believe my mum does not know such thing as dream feed). BB will sleep till 6 am before he screams for breakfast. Like that, my mum does not have to wake up in the middle of the night.

Mei,
Would like to join the aquaducks trial too. have PM you the details.

Breast Pump n BM
My medala pump spoilt on last friday. have to use manual avent pump till i send it for repair on Monday. spent $75 dollars for the repair (service + buy spare parts) ... ex ... my SS also dropping, not sure isit becos pump spoil n feel stress... practically squeezing out every drop of milk to meet target.

Mandy:
I think cereal's ok, but it's still a type of solid, so some babies may not be ready for it at 4 months, since some PD advise to let the digestive system be fully developed b4 introducing foods other than milk. Anyway, every baby is different, so if your darling displays symptoms of readiness, you can start solids liao, but better to be cautious and start at 6 months, I guess.

My baby is curious about what we eat at the dinner table and she takes to spoon-feeding quite enthusiastically, so that was why I gave her a cereal feed by the bottle b4 she sleeps. However, now that I've heard some many opinions from you gals and from my frens, I a bit scared... so decided to maybe "reverse" a bit and "restart" at 6 months.

Hiya... 1st-time-mum, lotsa trial-and-error.

Mixing EBM and FM:
I think that's ok. Have read somewhere that it's better, cos the enzymes in the BM will help baby digest FM more easily.

Fifth month
My boy completed his 3rd dose of 5-in-1 jab on Monday. His weight is just 6.5kg. hmmm... i complain to bb that he is not drinking enuff... will be introducing cereal to him when he reaches 6 mth... hopefully his weight gain can catch up by then.

Re: Pneumococcal Jabs & 6 in 1 Jabs

My baby hasn't take any pneumococcal jabs yet. Am seriously considering letting him take the jab. The GP advised to bring him when he's 5 and a half months for pneumococcal jab but at 6 months, he'll need to take the last 6 in 1 jabs. Will it be too much for him to handle? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

VioletIce, not sure how 'strong' pneumococcal jab is so can't really advise but I'm thinking of letting her take it only when she turns two of before she attends playgroup whichever is later so that there'll be less jabs to take.

Kitsune,
Thing is, his babysitter is also currently looking after a 2 years old girl, thus I am concerned. Initially, I let the babysitter looked after baby was bec the 2 years old girl is going to childcare already but now with HFMD, her parents is dragging the time...

Chermaine, my girl just turn 4 months, only started first dose of 5 in 1, she was 5.5kg
I guess they will catch up with time. I plan to keep her on milk for a while till about 6 months too then intro some puree stuff. Now she is already very slow in drinking her milk, I think after intro solid, lagi worse.

Angela, my girl too is very curious about what we eat, saw her swallowing her saliva when my dad was eating bao the other day, sometimes the young ones come by to visit, they also tease her with tidbits and stuff.

Violetlce, what did the PD advice? I personally feel if they are too young, then may not be good to give them too many vacines, but then on the other hand, if dont give and they come into interaction with some virus and they catch it, the recovery process is very more jialat. But the thing is, the advice is usually if they dont attend child care or play group then they dont get exposed, but we bring them out and also if relatives have young children, they are also exposed.

Re: milk drinking, whole afternoon my girl only wants to play and look at mirror, suck her thumb and sing. End up so distracted, refused to drink her milk. Barely completed 125 ml from 11 am to about 6pm. After that frantically drink and drink and drink, just put her off to sleep, so tired now. Hopefully she can dong until next morning, give me some peace and a good night sleep.

mcfluffy
my baby will take pacifier and when he goes into deep sleep he will spit out the pacifier. during the night he seldom change his postion and he most of the time sleep in a 'dai zi xing'

lynn
flyer in a flyer? he must have enjoyed his ride. his smile is so charming...

book fair
anybody been there yet? any good buy? can share here? cos dun want to squueze with everyone and realised nothing to see or buy

motherhood exhibition
anyone gg on sat or sun?

Violetlce - My boy had the 5 in 1, pneumo and rotavirus together when he was 3 mths old. I was concerned as well on giving the baby so much jab at one go. I ask the PD with concern and she replied me that is it ok as UK already started giving all these jabs years ago.

I rather play safe to give the jab as my boy will be in sunday school (nursery)when I attend service.

Cereal
So far feeding my boy with rice cereal and he is sleeping soundly at night. No dip in his milk intake. I think each baby is different so the best is to check with your PD on when is the best time to introduce to your baby.

Motherhood exhibition
I am going on Thur. Anything mummies wld like me to look out you. Let me know.

beanie: yap! my bb Rayden was 5mths old yest so we bring him for a swim, then evening to tak a ride at e Singapore flyers.. he enjoyed e flyers so much than swimming.. e half hr ride inside e flyer, he keep laughing and smiling. heheheee!
thot he was too young to enjoy but not.

Mom2nat: my bb cant stand e heat, so most of e time we will on e aircon for him.. 25-26 in his room. ur hubby really v nice to u, must tell my hb abt it.. wahhaahaha!

Janbb: actually i also got e same thot as u redg SAHM. as for mi, i dont think i can really catch up wif e workin lifestyle if i stays at hom for few yrs.. After my 3mths maternity leaves, i can sense dat i was a bit slow wen back to work.. aft abt 2wks then back to e same.

Blessedbaby: nice meeting u last nitz..

wow
i realised here we have quite a few SAHM hor... but a lot of frds encourage me to keep working or if not switch to part time...
actually i agree with Lynn, after my ML my mind seems to work slower... cannot imagine myself stop working for a few yrs then rejoin the work force again
my frds all said their children 24 hrs facing them so dun appreaciate the mummies anymore... not sure true or not

\Angelsky,}

Exactly, same thing, if not in infant care, normally the doc will say wait till he's exposed to other children but then again, my babysitter is taking care of another girl and like what you've mentioned, our family also has babies and whenever we meet, will also get exposed.

beanie,

My baby is taking 6 in 1 when he reached 6 months. He's 5 months + now.

Serene,

Wow, you gave baby so many jabs at one go? Was he slightly feverish after? So you think I should give?

violetlce,

yeah, the PD advise was ok to give so I trust her lor since she is seeing so many babies everyday. He was hving slight feverish at nite but was ok the next day. Whether to give a not depends on your comfort level. For me I feel I should since I always expose him to shopping malls, nursery.

motherhood exhibition
mummies going, can help me check prices, if got time:
1. Pampers M and L size
2. Dumex Mamil Gold step 2 and 3
tks.

blackbatz,
tks for the link!

<font color="aa00aa">aquaDucks Free Trial</font>
mummies, there is a change in the timeslot so I got to re-allocate and email you again. sorry for confusion caused.

<font color="aa00aa">Kindermusik Village Trial Class - 8 June</font>
have sent an sms asking for your confirmation. please check and reply soonest. tks.
1 icy
2 Steph77
3 LynnnChong
4 Bbdear
5 Shooting_star
6 mandygoh
7 gintonic
8 mcfluffy
9 anbrasia
10 babynikkiong
11 shorty_gal
12 godsent

valencia,reginalee,ahcapp, u did not pm me ur details thus i cant sms u. pls pm me ur details. else I nid to give up ur seats to the next mummy in waiting.
13 mom2nat
14 tracy_lazy
15 Angelsky

angelsky,
no email. sms. tks for giving ur seat to the mummies who have not attended before. if got place again, then i put u back. tks so much.

mei, thanks for all the hardwork in coordinating!
really appreciate it.

gals, just bought from this mummy a collection of 26 baby Einstein dvds for only $80 with foc registered post. tot quite a good buy. :)
www.mummiescare.blogspot.com

i going to motherhood fair this fri too! any good buys to look out for? i heard Pampers going to be there....wonder what kind of offer they will have.

Am planning to go to motherhood on thurs too.

Just bought a highchair but i think he still cant sit upright yet.

Thinking of buying a bumbo for baby. Do u think it is worthwhile? How long can he sit in it till??

What kind of blender do i use to grind brown rice into powder??

mandy,
tks for ur email and replied liao. and tks for the smses. haha. so many forms of communication.

highchair - buy those kind can adjust level of recline. then not so upright.

bumbo - not very worthwhile to get a new one cos' 1. dun know bb wan sit or not. or 2. sit ard x mths or until bb thighs too big for the bumbo seat. u may want to consider buy 2nd hand or rent.

blender - me use braun one. but seldom use cos' i lazy. all buy ready-made one. why not try nestle brown rice??

Shermaine/Verene,
My new house is also undergoing reno, the cost of reno now has really gone up a lot! Money is really small now...hiaz...

beanie,
really ah, your friends' children don't appreciate their 24 hrs at home mum? how old are their kids now? teenage yrs?

mcfluffy,
my girl doesn't suck her fingers when she sleeps, i think probably yours is hungry?

yes mei, got the mail liow. i m fine with saturdays tentatively but must check with hubby.
how deep is the pool we bringing the babies to? we also must be in swim suit ah?

luvv
one of them is coming 3 this yr. my frd quit her job when she was preg. then she struggle with this boy alone. no maid, no MIL or mum to help. my frd is tt type everything 100% she want to do herself. now her boy more delighten when he see his ah ma or daddy. when ah ma or daddy around, he will take his mum like transparent. dun want her to bath or feed him.

dawn,
haha. how come ALL mummies asking me nid to wear swim suit or not. haha. k will check with aquaducks when i call them again. i think YES! haha. u check with ur hubby first then let me know. tks.!

mei, aiyah...cos figure still v bad mah...dun think can get back into prepregnancy swimsuit....like that means must buy new one lor. buy new one still never mind, but figure go haywire liow mah!

dawn,
haha. same mah. so i shld split mummies with back-to-pre-pregnancy figure in 1 slot and mummies-with-still-in-bad-figure in another slot? haha. i am for the 2nd slot. haha.

k i go ask aquaducks. and put mummies at east. else ask the daddies to be in the pool! haha.

Blackbatz, partly also because my boy intake is quite low too. He only drinks 2 or 3 times when I am at work using 7 oz of BM.

Every morning I will express about 7 oz plus latch on before going to work. During work I express 3 times about 5-6 oz each session. Once I reached home I will express again at 6.30pm about 6 oz. After that onwards, is fully latch on till next morning. I am very scare of supply drop. So I will try to avoid my session.