(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Icy

My baby Hao Re has just done a studio photography session when we were at KL. A very simple one, only 4 posts. But baby this age really can't post so much, so we decided on the simplest one. Only cost RM29.9, good deal right.

http://geneseng.multiply.com/photos/album/99/Baby_Hao_Res_1st_studio_photography_session
1445553.jpg

Mei - website for monitoring baby growth

I followed this week-by-week guide http://www.parentingweekly.com/baby/baby_information/development/index.asp. It's just a guideline though, sometime my baby may not be reaching the milestone, but at least I know what to expect and what to let him try on. I found the info very useful :) For example, there was a week when I read baby this week would like to try standing up. So I tried with my baby, and true enough, he loved standing up, and gave me a big smile!

angelsky
ur hubby very cute hor! hehe. Eh, post some pic of ur gal leh...think i never see before. U got blog or not?

my hubby also same, Rylee cries, he also carry here and there dunno wat to do. My mom, who cudnt stand bb cries one, will step in to takeover. End up he still dunno lo. But my gal very funny, morning she will play with Daddy, evening only wants me, my mom says it's normal, evening witching hour, babies will only look for mommies. Dunno how true it is.

Here's a pic of Rylee in her Bumbo Seat.

1445587.jpg

Yvonne and Angelsky

My hubby involvement is quite different from yours. From Sunday to Thursday, he sleeps alone in a different room, so that he gets enough sleep for tomorrow. I am also working, but my hubby's job is much more tasking and demanding than mine. So I let him have enough sleep so that he will be in good mood everyday (he gets very bad temper when not enough sleep). On Friday and Saturday, he sleeps with us as he doesn't have to work the next day. But I am the ONLY ONE who does all the night duties, my hubby never done any since day 1, he only be there to gives moral support. So far I am coping all right, thankfully!

What my hubby "pay back" to me in return is I can sleep until very late, as late as I want on Saturday and Sunday mornings, and he will take care of baby until I wake up. And I love having late mornings on weekend, so to me this is a very good "deal". And it's good for dad and son to bond, since baby usually in very good mood in the morning, and if I let him alone with baby, he has to do everything, cannot turn to me for help, only doing this, he learns everything and cannot refuse to do anything. Pretty good "training" for him :)

We will continue to do this until baby doesn't have to wake up for night feed anymore. Hope will be soon.

Yvonne and Angelsky,
You are not alone. With #1, hubby still do night feeding and make baby sleep. Come No.2, work very busy, must have 100% good sleep or else cannot work..

I was coaching #1 when BB cried. Hubby came and said BB wants to "smell" my body. Then #1 says mummy must teach me. Machiam wished that I was David Copperfield..

Seems like Brightstart is a worthwhile investment. Throw BB inside there. My #2 wants to sit upright. Lie on playgym for too long will cry.

Icy,
Can PM me your photo as well? Was wondering who to choose. I need someone who is patient with hyperactive toddler, aka my #1.

When I took my Bloom shots last year, photographer was very impatient with my #1, who was throwing a tantrum and didn't want to smile in front of the camera.

aquaDucks Free Trial Class
How many? 4 babies per class (1-parent-1-child)
Where? Heated pool at Tanglin Village (so baby only need a swimming diaper)
When? Tues 9am-12pm or Tue-Fri 2.30pm-3pm. .
How long? Each session is 30 mins max
Age? 6 months onwards

01. mei
02. Shooting_star
03. Luvv
04. babe (babyship) - pls pm me details.
05. shorty_gal
06. kitsune_sg
07. pm_babe
08. shannonbaby - pls pm me details.
09. LynnnChong
10. mandygoh
11. mom2nat
12. Tansy
13. Tansy
14. yen2007
15. sg_audrey
16. becky_cat
17. Elmo_78
18. Lj2
19. Godsent
20.QQ

Mei u forget me i posted before

aquaDucks Free Trial Class
How many? 4 babies per class (1-parent-1-child)
Where? Heated pool at Tanglin Village (so baby only need a swimming diaper)
When? Tues 9am-12pm or Tue-Fri 2.30pm-3pm. .
How long? Each session is 30 mins max
Age? 6 months onwards

01. mei
02. Shooting_star
03. Luvv
04. babe (babyship) - pls pm me details.
05. shorty_gal
06. kitsune_sg
07. pm_babe
08. shannonbaby - pls pm me details.
09. LynnnChong
10. mandygoh
11. mom2nat
12. Tansy
13. Tansy
14. yen2007
15. sg_audrey
16. becky_cat
17. Elmo_78
18. Lj2
19. Godsent
20.QQ
21. blessed serene

Kam,
Talking about night feedings...dunno how come my boy started to wake up earlier and earlier. He used to get his last feed around 10pm and will sleep all the way until 4 plus 5am for his feed. He will then go back to sleep until around 7plus 8am. But for the past 2 weeks, he has been waking up around 2plus 3am for his feed and again at 6am for next feed...so it's as good as waking up twice at night...'yawn'...dunno when will he really sleep through the night.

Zao An Mummies,

Can I ask any babies here wakie abt 4plus or 5plus crying but not asking for feeding. These few days my boy wakie crying and sleepy. Need to rock him or pat him to bed. He wasnt like that before until he knows how to flip and now he flip but cant flip but so making noise and I think irrated. Any advise?

Hi serene,

Sometime my boy also wake up at 4+ or 5+ & juz making some noises... Dun tink he wants to drink too cos' last feed was at 12+ or 1+. What i did was to give him a pacifier & he will suck & cont' to sleep until 6+ or 7+ for milk.
Give it a try?

Janbb,

My boy dont take Pacifer so far and also I scare later need to wean him off is tough. Btw, any mummies going to motherhood exhibition on friday?

Yvonne,

That's exactly what happened to my boy since 2-3 weeks ago. He used to kind of "sleep through" the nights, ie from 10pm to 6am. But since 3 weeks ago, he wanted to sleep at 8pm, then wake up at 1-2am for 1st feed, 5-6 for 2nd feed. If I am lucky enough, his 1st feed will be at 3-4am, then only 1 feed. Don't think he will sleep through with milk being the only food.

That's is one of the reasons why I think he is ready for solid. I will consult his PD next week and will keep you update.

Kam,
But my PD say to introduce solids only after 6 months which is also what I intend to do. Not sure if his change in "pattern" is due to his jab 2 weeks ago...or perhaps going through another growth sprut?? I tired to increase the milk intake but he will stop drinking after he has reach his "usual quota" of 150ml-170ml.

Yvonne,

My baby boy's milk quota similar to yours - 150-180ml, 5-6 feeds per day. Sometime drop to 120ml, but never increase more than 180ml. The only concern with introducing solid before 6 months is food allergy, since we don't have this running in both families, most likely I will give it a try with the approval from the PD.

mylife
, I posted before her picture, kekeke only 1, coz I dont know how to resize her photo.

kam, initially my hubbie did have to idea of sleeping in another room to get enough rest for work, but then when baby came along, he "se bu de", so when he comes back he will help look after baby. But since he is hardly back long enough, guess he still gets plenty of rest. hehehe. Anyway, although he helps to feed baby at night, I will also kaypo and wake up lo. So funny right.

Serene, my girl woke up last night at 4am, drink only 20ml just to suckle I think, then she konk out till 11am today and at 11am, we must disturb her to get her to wake up, she also not very keen to drink at 1130, not really hungry. Actually with the exception that she sleeps very late, about 12 plus, she wakes up only once and then she can sleep till about 11 plus. But during the day, she hardly sleeps long enough, only wants to play.

Intro food: I may wanna try add juice when she is about 5 months and hold on solids till 6 months. Now drink milk, she already can drink 1 hour, cannot imagine when she is on food. Pengs. I totally lose count of how much she takes sometimes in terms of frequency becoz supposedly she drinks at 10, then finishes at 11, then after that 1 plus wanna drink and then it ends at 2.

angelsky
actually Gwyneth can last quite long and sleep thru the night liao...perhaps u want to "tweak" her bedtime earlier? Slowly put her bedtime routine to 11pm, 10pm, 9pm? Seems to me she's still on European time sleep until 11am!! kekeke. She's so cute in her Bumbo, still got space, my gal's thigh fill up the Bumbo liao...soon enough, cannot sit oredi.

Mommies
Dont think jus becos your baby waking more thru the night = they're ready for solids. I read that babies who learn a new skill or on the verge of learning one developmental milestones sometimes will wake more often. U jus dont see their brain "working" but they are. This is also the reason why some of their milk intake decreases, take lesser naps, be more clingy to mommy and more fussy. Anyone interested can read The Wonder Weeks. Quite interesting! Babies in Week 19 (or from week 16-18) is especially fussy for weeks, which is presumably what most of our babies are in right now.

Mylife

Thanks for sharing. I don't mean to say baby waking through the night would mean he is ready for solid. I think it might be one of the reasons, and I will consult PD first before making the decision.

What you said is true, they are learning all the times. Like my boy, he likes to flip and likes to sleep on the side, so sometimes he cannot flip to the side during the night, he will make noise.

I am the lucky one out - my baby is now 21 week, he seldom fuss, only has 1 difficult week so far, when he was around 3 months old.

Actually I don't mind waking up at night. As long as my baby grows well and happy and healthy, 1 or 2 feeds don't bother me much :)

michelle
now my gal take 2 naps in the day, 1 hour in the mid morning and then 2hours (if lucky) in the late aftnoon. Yours?

Kam
tat's the spirit and congrats on a cooperative baby!

mylife, I am hoping the bumbo can last her for a while. hehehe. my dad gets all freaked out whenever I put her in it, he will be watching her every move and wondering if she is okay in it. maybe its our family's habit, coz we tend to sleep quite late and then everyone is home only after 7 and then the house gets quite action pack, can tell she also likes all the attention on her. The thing about her is that she sleeps at 8pm, for about 30 minutes then she will wake up and wanna play and take her milk. Even though we put her to sleep at 11, she will be babbling and trying to get our attention to play and talk to her. I think I am a bad mama, because I will give in to her. :p

Re: baby shampoo

Can I ask besides California baby, what else is a good option? I used california baby, but then I realised that with the recent hot weather, she perspire easily, so wanna get something that smells nicer. Gentle on baby skin and scalp as well.

angelsky
my family also hv same habit..sleep late, wakeup late also (for those not workg) but hubby says better let her learn and cultivate earlier sleeping habit cos based on the advices of his well meaning colleagues:
1) we can still hv some "me" time aft bb sleeps
2) we won't hv such a hard time getting her to sleep earlier next time when she starts going to playgroups, nursery, preschool etc which are mostly in the early mornings!

mylife, I agree about the "we time", but thats also the time that daddy gets to play with baby too when he comes back from work. My girl now sleeps till like 11am, I really wonder about preschools next time at 830.

angelsky/mylife, my boy is totally different fm your babies. He would want to zzz by 9pm so I need to rush like mad sometimes. Pick him fm nanny place around 7 plus reach home 8 or 8 plus and by 9pm he needs to get ready to latch on and zzz. If not he will cry and cry :D

Good side of it is that after he zzz we can prepare for tomorrow and a bit of me time. Before I sleep I will latch him on for 10-15mins and he will probably sleep till 4plus/5plus before making noises due to flipping or I don't know why :p
Down side is that I don't get to bond with him for long as the time goes by very fast at night.

angelsky,
my girl also sleeps late, earliest 10.30, but mostly ard 11-12 mn, i think she knows that's the time daddy is around to play with her. and she'll sleep till 6-8am for milk and will fall back to sleep again. Then she'll only wake up at around 10 plus though sometimes earlier like 9 plus.

school next time? i think next time then see how ba..haha

serene,
wah really no time for bonding like that, sees daddy and mummy for such short hours only!

My boy sleeps at 8pm, wakes up between 6-7am, most of the days, he is my "alarm clock", I can retire my alarm clock already :) Only have 2 hours to bond with him before he zzzz, and 1 hour in the morning before sending him to child care. But on weekends, it's 24 hours a day, so not too bad still.

Kam,
My boy also sleep around 8 plus latest 9pm...so I get hubby to play with him and put him to sleep while i get on with my chores. Usually play for a while then put him in his cot, pat pat a bit and turn on musical mobile and he's off to dreamland. I think he sleeps early becos he has to wake up early at 7am when my in-laws come and fetch him over.

My gal also sleep by 8pm, latest 9pm, but if we went out, she will sleep ard 10pm and usually she will wake up ard 7am.
can i check with u gals when should we increase the milk intake for babies? My gal currently drink 130ml every 3hrs, last feed at 11pm. sometimes when i pulled the teat out from her mouth after she finished the milk, she will cry awhile but will stop after i pacify her. does that means she wants more milk? but the strange thing is that she dont cry for milk when 3hr is up lei. I also dunno whether should i increase or not.

serene
haha no la. My bb is not like angelsky's, I think my bb sleeps the earliest here! She sleeps around 7ish sometimes even 630pm must start her bedtime routine liao! I'm SAHM so its ok but hubby always got to rush back from work jus so he cud do the evening wipe down for her and spend extra times with her on weekends.

Hi, this is joyce. my old acc have been suspended.

i would like to check any mummies using pigeon Universal Steam Sterilizer? can email me the using instuction and cleaning instruction. i have a passed down one.. but i found that inner metal plate have rust. i need to know how to clean. if anyone of u have, pls send me an email to [email protected]

mylife,
Usually he will be tired from the playing and he knows after wipe down and changing into his pjs, it's bedtime liao...so pat pat and give pacifier and he will go to sleep...not exactly sleep on his own lah. Of course once in a while will be cranky so need to carry and rock him to sleep. But i realised those are the times when he over tired so we try to put him to bed when we see he's starting to get sleepy.

Joyce,
Just squeeze the juice from half a lemon and leave it in there for 30 mins...rinse and wipe dry as usual and the base will be sparkling clean.

Itz nitzmare wenever comes to my bb bedtime...

Need to carry him and walk ard e hse for half an hr then he fall asleep.. sometimes i'm tired juz sit down awhile on e sofa then he will open his eyes and stare at mi. oops! gotta start all over again and carry him.. nitz stroll...

Morning Mummies,

Lynn I dont hv problem putting my boy to bed but recently he has this issue of waking up at 4/5 plus and cry. Pat or rock him sometimes don't work as I need to carry him and pat. Haiz.

But thank God I haven't fully utulised my 3rd mth maternity so still can take leave if I am super tired
I am thinking of working 4 days per week till end of the year since I have outstanding maternity leave/childcare leave and annual leave is enough to cover till end of the year.

Btw, any mummies here use sleeping bag for their bb.? I am currently using that for my bb but in time to come I will need to convert him to use blanket. My concern is that when they kick and flip the blanket will be flying off to elsewhere or cover their face. Any advise?

Mylife,
I just saw the BP thread on the new designs for Carters rompers selling at $13 each. I actually bought those at the wholesale place (opposite H&M) in Central for HKD39.90 (sleeveless romper) and HKD49.90 (short sleeve romper)...that's about S$7 and S$9 each. I think they have the girls designs as well...you definitely want to go there and have a look, same for those mummies who are visiting HK.

how i envy those mommies with babies who can drift off to sleep on their own

mylife
emma sleeps early too - 7pm+ -so rylee n emma can shake hands! but my girl wakes up early. usually 6am+ she will wake up liao but i very lazy just let her lie there n play by herself unless she cries lah. n of course, she will be on our bed with us. i tried putting her in her cot n she keeps waking up. end up i got no sleep myself
will they ever outgrow this???

hi serene!

work 4days/wk sounds gd. too bad i used up all my maternity leave. almost forgot abt childcare leave.. how many childcare leave do we hav?

btw, whr can i get swimming diaper?

zhao mummies.
we shld have 2 paid child care leave. hee. some companies only give child care leave to staff with kids. some companies give to ALL staff, and for those who have no kids, it will be treated like their "Family Leave".

which mummy has received Dumex Step 2 formula milk but not intending to let your baby try? can give/exchange to me?

aiyo so sorry to some mummies if i missed out ur post on the aquaducks hor. i will add back into the list.