(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mei, thanks for organizing again

Actually between Gymboree and Kindermusik wats the difference?

For this Sunday class, daddies can come right?

Hi icy,

Got it!! Thks for sharing.
Wow Xavier is having great fun with the photoshoot.. Nice shot!! He like tummy time ah??

My boy will make a lot of noise if i put him at that position. Will be a challenging job for the photographer...heehee

angelsky,
daddies can come. but cos' we already have 12 parents + 12 babies + 1 teacher inside the room, it would be quite crowded/squeezy for the other parents to go inside the room. plus it would be quite distracting for the babies too.

so kindermusik suggested the other parent wait outside and can take over from the first parent during breaktime.

mylife
hey if your girl can fall asleep on her own, its great! so long as she's not crying, u dun have to pat pat her until she sleep lah! the thing that we dont want them to learn is that if cry n cry nobody come n attend to them. but if they r not crying, n are just contented to talk /play by themself n then fall asleep, that is THE BEST situation liao lor! instead of worrying so much, u shd be enjoying this new development of rylee!

wendy
hee hee.. yeah... the grass will always be greener on the other side huh? ;)

violetice
glad your boy is doing better now. take care yah! *hugs*

Kaili, how did ur gal fall? she climbed out or the yaolan gave way? that is really scary!

which brand of exersaucer is good? ;) is it really a worthwhile investment har?

Hi all mummies..
I got 1 Almost BN BUMBO seat Purple with box for sale @ only $40/-
condition 9.99/10
Used only once to let my gal test. Her legs are too tight for the BUMBO seat. So letting go eal cheap. Call or sms or email me @ [email protected] or 90990650
self collection @ Sengkang or Bedok

Serene

Wish read this post before buying the Bright Starts exersaucer :-( I pay close to $160.

Hi Dawn

My boy boy loves to play in the exersaucer as he can stand up to see the world like we are. I can put him there for a long time. He never complained that he is bored, only me worrying he might get too tired standing up for so long, so I only let him play for max 30min at one time. To me, it's worth the money! One of the best things I bought for my little boy.

michelle
thks for the reassurances...whew..I worry lah cos she took 1hr to fall asleep! Today I got new headache, Rylee on some sort of a nursing strike. Put her to breast latch on 5-10mins and she will unlatch and cry fiercefully if I attempt to put her back! 5min cannot be full rite?? I hv tried bringing her to quiet room, draw the curtains, but she jus refused! Sigh

Wendy
tats wat some website says lah but I'm still very chicken to jus throw her in water cos wat if she doesn't float or oredi loses her natural float ability??

Angelsky
thks for the link!

Hi Dawn,

Ya..quite scary... I don't know how she fall...My mil and I heard her screaming like shouting for help as her tummy laying on the cushion....My baby likes to waggle her body like a snake so mayb this is the reason that she fall over...

Janbb,
Xavier dun automatic smile, photographer have to coax him to smile and then quickly snap pix. Xavier also dun like tummy time, perhaps he likes only when the fur tickle him haha.

mylife
well as they grow older they become more efficient so maybe she really finish in 5 min? my girl all along has been 5-min eater anyway. these days, sometimes 3 min then she stop liao. more intersted and kaypoh to look around and see wats happening.. haha :D

Which brand or rather which type of high chair is good? The price range is so wide leh...from below $100 all the way to $300 plus!! What else should I look out for besides a sturdy/stable chair?

mylife
alamak, dun let go of her in the water la. No need float, but dun just throw her in the pool either. U can hold her in the water and enjoy together.

Icy,

From mei's email, i realised we share the same name.. heehee ; ) Both also give birth to boy boy.. Both boy also not much hair... So coincidental

I intend to bring my boy for a shave next mth. Can see your boy has a clean & neat shave. Can I ask did u shave your boy's hair yourself or bring him out? Where did u do it?
A bit scare to do it myself but worry outside is not very clean..

JanBB,
I just brought my boy for hair cut yesterday. It's on the 3rd level at Suntec City (near Toys R Us) and cost $20. I can't remember the name of the place but they only cut children's hair. My boy has lots of hair but weather so hot, so I had the stylist cut it real short for him but not botak lah...he sat on my lap while she was cutting...hehe.

Yvonne,
Thks for sharing ; )
Think i know where.. Maybe will bring my boy there since they only cut children's hair. Shld be more safe rite..

Do you feel like "killing" your hubby once in a while? Sometimes they very "buay zhi dong"...yesterday brought my boy for haircut and he kept sucking his hands which is full of hair. I have to hold him while the stylist is cutting his hair so i don't have "extra hands" to stop him...and this hubby of mine is standing there talking to his friend while I'm screaming at him to come help me...arrrgh! Cannot "automatic" come and help but must wait until I "press button then got action".

And last night he slept through as usual while I was feeding my boy. But he vomitted some milk after I put him down in his cot so have to carry him up again to clean up the mess...then die lor...his eyes big big smile at me so I spent the next 30mins trying to rock him back to sleep...and hubby still never offer to take over even though he's on leave today!! He can sleep all day long (bb is with in-laws) also never "zhi dong" take over. If really must wait until I "press the button" then too late liao...blood already boiling...haha!!

Aiyo...sometimes really wished I was an octopus...can do more things at the same time and no need to ask them for help...hehe.

Hi Serene / Kam,

which model of the bright starts exersaucer did u get?

Mylife,
I browse through Toy Rus website for HK, apparently FP baby toys are slightly cheaper except if SG has sale bah.

I managed to get a contact in HK which do sells bright starts bb stuff.

Address:
Kids II Far East Limited
805-6, 8th floor, Tower 6, The Gateway,
9 Canton Road
Tsimshatsui
Kowloon, Hong Kong
Tel: (852) 3106 6888

If u are interested, u can call them.

I am interested to get this:
http://www.brightstarts.com/BSSub14x53x1x6797.aspx
or this:
http://www.brightstarts.com/BSSub14x53x1x6798.aspx

Yvonne

i want to bring my girl cut hair but scare she will get cranky cos if we sit down too long she will make noise one.. agree that weather hot tats y feel like bringing her for hair cut but scare she get cranky cos she very fierce one will cry non-stop if she really angry. :S

Bebe yan,
My boy also get cranky easily so I was prepared for him to scream his lungs out while getting his hair cut...haha. But surprisingly, he sat happily looking at the TV for the first 5mins and only started to get cranky during the last few mins, and it's not because of the hair cut but because we stopped him from sucking his hands...hehe. But it overall it was very quick since boys' hair easier to cut.

But not sure about girls though...can't possibly use the shaver on them so may take a longer time to trim?? Aiya, if she does get cranky also nevermind since the people there are used to handling babies/children.

Yvonne

no ler, it's not that i'm afraid they can't handle my girl. It's that if she gets really angry she will cry and scream and cry non-stop. Very kua zhang one, very very hard to calm her down and might take 30mins or so. She too fierce to handle. haha..

janbb
Oh.. same name heehee. Xavier have quite a lot of hair in front. haha behind the empty patch become mroe and more obvious so I bring him to those neighbourhood salon to shave him. $6. heehee

He is quite well behave, keep staring at mirror, no fuss. so perhaps it was easy for them to shave him. Then when he is back then I bathe him.. quite okie lah.. nearby easier, else the journey back home, will be hair all over. Let pro do it better, DIY scare later cut his head then more dangerous..

Yesterday I cut his nails too deep, then his last finger bleed.. so heartpain.

Yvonne
I understand that feeling.. it is like If u never say it, Hb pretend never see it or assume that u can handle everything.. Now i made hb handle early morning feed during weekends, cos I also need to rest! Sometimes I so angry with hb, then he also say, "u never say, how I know"

aquaDucks Free Trial Class
How many? 4 babies per class (1-parent-1-child)
Where? Heated pool at Tanglin Village (so baby only need a swimming diaper)
When? Tues 9am-12pm or Tue-Fri 2.30pm-3pm. .
How long? Each session is 30 mins max
Age? 6 months onwards

01. mei
02. Shooting_star
03. Luvv
04. babe (babyship) - pls pm me details.
05. shorty_gal
06. kitsune_sg
07. pm_babe
08. shannonbaby - pls pm me details.
09. LynnnChong
10. mandygoh
11. mom2nat
12. Tansy
13. Tansy
14. yen2007
15. sg_audrey
16. becky_cat
17. Elmo_78
18. Lj2
19. Godsent
20.Violetlce

my hb also, he tot i can handle everything. Ask him handle baby he will say he can't handle. I'm not born as a mother also ma. So angry sometimes.

<font color="aa00aa">Mei, my cousin attended Kindermusik with her Forum Mummies also. Both parents can be inside. They also have a full class.</font>

Icy, can pm me your photoshoot? Thks!
I want to bring my boy for a shoot too. Xavier looks good. How did u get the promotion price?

Re:Water
When I last visited my PD, I was asking him why my baby had only put on minimal weight and he asked me if I had given my baby water and I said yes. He said that we need not give water, coz it will hinder the baby’s growth, as water may make them full and not want to take more milk. He also said that even for FM, u don’t have to give extra water, as the FM of today is more similar to BM than our mother’s generation.

Yvonne, my hubby and his friends were joking the other day that because we are the “experts”, they’d rather just let us do the job (of being a mother) than interfere. I heard that comment and was a bit annoyed. Having said that, my hubby is actually quite helpful except for night times, when he doesn’t seem to be able to hear it when the baby cries. I sometimes wonder how that can be.

Yvonne, u should talk to ur hubby about it and let him know that at times u need help and can't possibly do everything by urself. He should understand it's not easy being a mother.

icy,
my boy is "Di Zhong Hai" plus "standing" hairstyle...hahaha.. Lesser hair in the middle but reasonable hair at both side.

U can see him here : http://myprincejayden.blogspot.com/

Re: Cut nail
I used pigeon scissor (specially for baby nails) to cut his nails. Prefer this than nail cutter. Is more easy to handle.. special design for a clumsy mum like me here..

shooting_star
I pm u. I also pm u foto-u thread. Just go there and wait for the next promotion.. should be coming soon.

RE: water
I told my pil abt water.. kanna "shoot to death" by fil.. sigh.. He dun believe what the US experts say, cos they always have lots to say. I just have to close 1 eye since they are not feeding a lot.

JanBB
Jayden have lots of hair ah.. but good to shave it lah.. after getting use to it.. it seemed very cute.. only ard this age then can shave, when older then have to wait for army already hahha.

I also use pigeon scissor, panic becos fil insist me to cut for Xavier there and then when he was so active.. when I prefer to cut when he was sleeping.

Like what Bebeyen said, we are also not born mothers or experts...it's "on-the-job training" for us. Our learning curve is super steep! I've talked to him before but I think all men are the same...one ear in one ear out liao...haha! Sometimes I just need him to help without being asked...not very unreasonable right? Of course he's not totally so useless lah...I also make him do the early morning feeds on weekends so I can sleep a while longer...hehe...but sometimes still can hear my boy making noise in the living room and I know he cannot handle him already...so it's my turn to act blur and continue sleeping! Evil laugh...haaa haaa...we cannot always be the ones stuck with a cranky baby right??

icy,
aiyo, why must die die cut there and then?? My fil also the kan cheong type, he cut my boy's fingers, 2 fingers some more, when i specifically told them not to since I will trim when he's sleeping. So my fil kana "shoot to death" by me...hehe...so bad hor. But imgaine how angry and heartpain I was when I saw his 2 bloody and swollen fingers?! Next time must insist you will do it later...cannot give in to their request all the time. I'm always the "bad guy" in front of my in-laws...always saying no to this and that.

Verene

I got the same one as Serene.

The cute thing is when my boy moves his legs and touches the pad, it will make funny sound. My boy just laughs and laughs, and get very excited when he hears the sound. Really fun!

icy,
Not much hair actually... maybe the side of the hair is long to cover.. Haiz, didn't actually feel like shaving him but want him to have more hair in future ; )

verene
thanks for the reference. Do they have a retail outlet?

michelle
5mins can finish meh?? If dats true then funny leh, cos she sometimes can eat 20mins still. Today she fed 930am, 1plus, 3plus, 5plus. Skipped aftnoon nap some more.

yes, sometimes I also get annoyed when hubbie say you never say how i know, but sometimes i see the way my hubby handle my girl, she always bully him and then he will look so "ga lang ga bo", then my mum see will quickly carry my girl over so guess he also dont feel so confident since no chance to try pacify. but i also got to give him some credit coz when he does come back from overseas, when baby cries, he will wake up and feed her and pacifiy her. but the first thing he does when my girl cry, he will quickly get up and then turn on the night light and then look at baby and then ask baby "why? dont be scared, daddy here okay", then he will smile and coo at my girl, pengs. End up, my girl will think daddy wanna play and then she dont wanna sleep already.

re: water, well the old folks will always say FM is very heaty, you need to give some water. When my girl takes FM, she gets a lot of sounds in her chest, brought her to normal GP, GP sure say nothing, but the chesty sound will still remain, then when relatives come over, they will ask if she has phelgm.

re: cutting nails, I also bought some baby nail cutter, but the first time my mum cut her nails, accidently cut her flesh, my girl wailed out so loudly, I also heart pain. Now we use some cheaper nail cutter, very small type and only dare to cut when she is sleeping. So far okay. But her nails grow very fast, we need to cut every 2 or 3 days.

michelle, serious 5 minutes can finish? my girl takes 1 hour to finish and its like 20 ml take a break, then another 20 ml take a break. FM like that, BM last time lagi worse.

verene, me tried number 3 teats for my twins, but still leaks when they drink, so i will hold on another week bah! ;) anyway, they still drinking happily with teat 2. both can finish their 120ml in 10mins if they r hungry.

Kam, thanks, have discussed with hubby liow....we will get the exersaucer. yeh!!!!!
my fren will sell me her rainforest jumperoo prob next month when her kid turns one yrs old and i will get another 2nd one...haha...so that both twins can jump together!

Kaili, u scaring me leh....i din put cushions below! i think i better go and put liow! ur yaolan sarong cloth got those extra part sewn near the head? or those that need safety pin to pin it?

I also want to complain. My hb will wake me up in the night and said 'boy boy crying' PENGZ I refuse to wake up and he got no choice but to go and see his son. I was like why tell me? Cannot automatic go and take a look meh.... haiz I think our hb are used to it. Everytime the baby cry will ask the mummy to handle.

angelsky - my boy also like that, chesty sound and when ppl carry him will ask he got phelgm issit. I check with his PD everytime I visit her she said is ok too.

serene, at least ur hubby will wake u up to tell u boy boy crying....mine will sleep like a dead log....will be oblivious to all cryings one. if disturbed, he will pull the pillow to cover his ears....pengz!

silly question about the beansprout pillow:

how long can we let them use before we have got to throw the pillow away? Coz its beans will moudy inside? Or if we sun it regularly they they use till quite big?

serene, yup that day I so fed up, so I brought my girl to see the doc, the doc looked at me like I crazy
. Plus Q super long for my turn, less than 5 minutes we are out of the room.

thank god, I believe my hubby quite pro here liao. He handles bb most of the time during weekend when we will out. At home, the only time, I take care of bb is when hubby takes his usual naps.

Hi dawn,
which exersaucer u intending to get?

icy,
My in-laws also say bb will scratch himself...so I ask them "Better to have 2 holes on his fingers or a few minor scratches on his face??"...kekeke...it is a fact right.

verene, hee hee...sourcing the marketplace at SMO for any good buys....have not decided yet, checking out the websites for the reviews on diff brands.

btw, i called CHang Choon, they selling rainforest jumperoo at $225 and the Leapfrog exersaucer at $185. inclusive of delivery.

re:scratches
my boy every day will have a few scratch one....as if telling us no scratches/scars on his face not cool. yvonne i agree with u, rather have few scratches on faces than have the fingers bleeding. my MIL kept telling me , must trim boy boy's nail. i told her i did but he still will scatch his face, my face and haha...MIL 's face!!!!