(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

hi verene

i intro jar food to danelle first, for abt 2 weeks already. will it be too late if i intro the rice cereal now? should i intro via putiing it in her milk?

Sorry to kpo a bit ah. Intro solid is suggested to be at 6mths. Dont rush to it. In fact, the later, the "better". Introduction too early might cause allergy to the rest of their life. And first food should be stuff like rice cereal (healty times organic brown rice cereal would be good if you compared to nestle which got all the sugar thingy). Cos, smoother in texture. Or fruit pureen??!!?? Of cos intro one at a time and for couples of days. Otherwise, got any reaction, you wouldnt know what cuases it. Also, to add on. Isnt it better to give "fresh" food rather than giving those on the shelf?? Just my opinion.

For me I introduced to my 2 elder kids at 5 mths old. Organic food? I don't want to give to them. I don't believe in giving organic food. Allergy? When bf, it is better to avoid peanut as it may cause allergy. But I am still eating it.

What do you mean by fresh food?

maureen

I am still eating nuts and is expressing milk for my son. Wonder if the eczema which comes back on and off is the result of peanuts... hmmm...

growth spurt

My son is currently having growth spurt. He has been drinking like (7 feeds x 180ml) or (5 to 6 feeds x 200ml + extra 80ml for bedtime).

I have started to thaw my EBM so that I can catch up with his demand. Feel like a dried up prune now. =( Pump till backache man.. *sigh*

Did anyone catch the news today about feeding babies under 6 months water? I just heard the last part. Does that mean we should not give water? Hmmm, then how to make FM? Chim.

My boy is 4mths 2 weeks, I just started to let him have a taste of rice cereal and he loves it. Think I will let him start with rice cereal and puree later. Is that ideal?

He is taking 160ml per feed. I am now feeding him 5 feed plus last feed usually very short as I would latch him on.

My boy likes to make a lot of noises like he is talking just that we dont understand and when he gets excited he will scream. Any babies are like mine? Cos today he sounds like soar throat after all the talking and screaming

serene, yes my girl is like that, she will go aaaahhh, baaaaaaaaa, ehhhhhhhhhh, all kinds of noise. Then after lying on the bed for a long time, she gets angry, she will scream very loudly.

Diarrhoea??
Dunno is my boy having diarrhoea. He poos at every feed recently, even at night. MUcus like. Sometimes a little green. Shold I bring him to see doc leh... Or just tat breastfed babies poos are like tat? But 8 to 10 times for this age a bit too much hor??

Intro food
I think many parents are too eager to intro food to their babies. Always feed FM or BM so sian mah... but I oso think after 6 months is better. I tried to drag for my #1, but her weight gain was not good(stagnant for more than 1 month). So I intro at 5th month. But I somehow think milk shold come first since they are so young. Can delay solids, then delay a bit.

Ah Capp, I think you stop nuts for the time being. See how it goes.

Water, For me I feed a bit. After bath I will give him a bit of water and after every feed I will also let him drink a bit of water to wash the milk residue in his mouth.

angelbaby,
I saw the article abt baby cannot drink water in the Pasir Ris Mum thread.. just sharing here as well:

ST - 23 May (Friday) World p36

Babies under siz months 'should not drink water' - New York

Babies younger than six months should not be given water to drink, doctors in the US have warned.

Consuming too much water can put babies at risk of a potentially life-threatening condition known as water intoxication, physicians at Johns Hopkins Children's Centre in Baltimore hav reminded parents.

"Even when they're very tiny, they have an intact thirst reflex or a drive to drink" Dr Jennifer Anders, a paediatric emergency physician at the centre, told Reuters Health recently.

"When they have that thirst and they wants to drink, the fluid they need to drink more of is breast milk or formula"

As babies' kidneys are not yet mature, giving them too much water causes their bodies to release sodium along with excess water, Dr Anders said.

Losing sodium can affect brain activity, so early symptoms of water intoxication can include irritability, drowsiness and other mental changes.

Other symptoms include low body temperature (generally 36.1 deg C or less), puffiness or swelling in the face as well as seizures.

"It's a sneaky kind of a condition," Dr Anders said. Early symptoms are subtle, so seizures may be the first symptom a parent notices. But if a child gets prompt medical attention, the seizures will probably not have lasting consequences, she added.

Parents should also avoid using over-diluted formula or paediatric drinks containing electrolytes.

For older babies, Dr Anders said it may be appropriate in some cases to give them a small amount of water; for example to help with constipation or in very hot weater, but parents should always check with their paediatrician before doing so, and should only give the baby an ounce or two of water at a time.

If parents think their child may be water intoxicated, or if an infant has a seizure, they should seek medical attention.

REUTERS

Hi Sassy,

my mum mix the rice cereal in the milk, just that need to change the teats to a bigger hole if not the milk cant flow thro smoothly. dont think it is too late to start cereal...since it is from 4 mths. but PD alwys recommend to start at 6 mths. think it depends on individual bb bah. i only introduce abit of the rice cereal, not the nestle brown rice or mix cereal cos i think those kind may nt be suitable for my bb now. scared his digestive system not too matured yet. if to introduce cereal nw, try not to mix (meaning...just use 1 kind of cereal, dont get those mix ones), this is wat a mummy friend told me. slowly till 6 mths then use mixed ones.

BTW, how's ur work?

how come u all so eager to give bb smthg else to eat. u think they may get bored with just milk issit? From baby give then barley, leng yang,, jin feng san, blah blah... haven't touch 6 months yet already give cereal.. or issit u all hv maid to clean up the mess after feeding semi-solids? i'm dreading the day when i hv to put bb in high chair, tie bib, wipe hands, wipe tray, aim the fan... all this preparation work even BEFORE he begins his meal! During the meal all the boo boo boo, food ending up on my hair, his clothes, his hands then he will rub his whole face... absolutely messy. Flinging hands drop the spoon, topple the bowl, not to mention they may poo during the meal?!?! Then after that guess who's gotto wash up?!?! Now i just lift up my shift & latch him on... bliss!!!

yen
maybe u compare the ingredients list on the tetrapack, vs those on the apple juice jar food by Heinz or Gerber.

Hi Wendyg

Hhahah... agree with you. I dont like my baby to start food early. kekekee. My mum and my aunties, they are all against me....
I know when bb starts solid food, mean you will become buzy up with just preparation alone. I dun trust my maid to do this... Sorry if I am so strong on this, but truly, maid can only help to clear up but not involve in preration bb food. I myself caught many times, my maid and other people' maid just not clean at all.
Everybody in my family is so eager to give my bb something to eat as they all want to take over my bb from me. They think that as long as my bb on TBF, they cant bring my bb with them. They all love to take care an easy baby. HAHAAHHAAAAHHHAAA
I keep telling them that PEA dont allow my bb has solid food. I just push back to DR. "LOL"

Just want to BF her totally. heheheh

u know.. reading about all these intro to solid food blah blah thing...

i cant help but notice its the 2nd (or 3rd!) time mommies who are dreading the day we hv to start our babies on solids hee hee - i'm no exception! wish my girl can go on drinking milk forever :p

but i remember with #1, i was very eager to intro solids to him too. i did it after he was 6 mths tho

mylife
yes definitely they WILL learn to sleep on their own.. but WHEN is the question. can u tong until they r 2 or 3 yrs old? what if u wanna try for another baby? it will be super siong if your #1 still keeps waking up at nite or needs to sleep with u on the same bed! anyway i'm starting tonite to let my girl sleep in her own cot... oredi prepared for a sleepless nite. i just hope it wont take too many days :p

so your girl fell asleep on her own last nite on your bed? tat's great! let me know if it happens again tonite. hee hee

the way you say your girl's hands still in the air then suddenly fall asleep.. my girl does that too sometimes! cos cry cry until so tired then suddenly just zzzzz rite? haha :D

Water

Would like to check what should we do with the article abt the water?
I usually just feed him a bit because it help him to clear his bowels. sometimes in the afternoon when it gets real hot i also feed him a little.
Think abt max 50ml in a day. But now with the article I dunno what to do le. Can con't giving water?
Scared if stop boy may get constipation.
Also some tell me that must feed a bit of water or else next time kid wont wanna drink plain water...

re: water
since day 1 the PD which i paid $200+ already told me the maximum amt water i shld give is ZERO. so i just bf him more often since recently quite hot. just as tho he needs to drink more water.

wendy
Same same.. I ask PD if drink medicine need water... he say no need. But chinese always feel they heaty and blah blah... My #1 I oso no feed water until she started solids... and no such prob like she dun like to drink water. They like water or not we can't train from birth, anyway their appetitie changes

Michelle / wendyg
Hahaha... yes it is the 2nd time mommies who dread solids... I was telling hb... pple in the jan thread feeding solids liao!! While I am so contented this young fella just taking milk! hahahah...

michelle
No lah..my gal has never slept on my bed lah, i meant i put her back into her cot and she slept. Anyway, yday (sat night) my gal slept on her own again. But this happened during the mid-night feed. As usual she woke up around 4-ish, actually she didnt really wake up yet, she was turning her head left and right, and making some noise. So instead of letting her wake up fully like the previous nights, i quickly picked her up and nurse her. True enough her eyes didnt open at all and she jus latched on. Aft nursing, she seems to be in deep sleep liao, all limped. So i slowly put her back into her cot, and she opened her eyes. Miraculously, she didnt cry though. Jus play her own hands, babble..i jus sat and watched her. Then i lie down on my bed, all the while observing her. After about 1hour, close to 6am, she fell asleep on her own. I am not sure if i'm doing the right thing or shud i at least pat her to sleep since it took her so long to fall asleep. Part of the reason why i'm against letting baby cry it out is becos i read babies will do self-soothe and convince themselves no one cares and no one will come, hence they will fall asleep aft crying. But my this one, didnt cry, so i dunno if i shud pat her or not leh. Not crying also can think i dont come to her one right? *confused* But daytime, she still needs yaolan and going to sleep at 7pm, she still needs to nurse.

About the water issue again, but say baby is on FM, we also dont give water? FM is all water. Hmmm, FM supposedly heaty right? Confused.

question:

anyone knows where to get those round the neck float for babies in Spore? Would like to get one and ask my fren to bring over, then i can bring rylee go swimming!

My gal outgrown her M size pampers
Anyone interested to get it from me??
Self collection in Sengkang or Bedok
I got 1 pack of PetPet M size and 1 pack of Pamper Dry M size
Both selling at $10 only,
Do sms me or email me @ [email protected] or 90990650

michelle
u know why? We celebrated #1's milestones, then after some months i looked back and wished...
- that he did not hv to graduate to solids - easier to feed him milk!
- that he did not know how to flip coz he'd roll right off the bed
- that he did not know how to crawl/ walk/ run coz we'd hv to chase after him, keep the house spanking clean etc
- that he could be on diapers forever coz we'd hv to clean up his "accidents"
- that he'll just hv milk teeth to replace his existing milk teeth coz toothbrushing is another thing to do at bedtime..
- that he didn't know how to talk coz now he knows how to protest

when he starts his formal schooling, i'll definitely pine for these days when he's in pre-nursery, enjoying his song & dance without any stress of exams, peer pressure etc.

growing pains. dunno if my son feels it more, or if i do.

angelsky
i also asked the same PD how much water shld i feed bb if i give him FM. He said ZERO. coz the FM is already very watery as compared to our grandmothers' days when FM is v thick & hard to dissolve. bbs that time had to drink water after FM to clear their throat. And maybe that time FM was so expensive, our mothers/ grandmothers gave water as in-between feed.

mylife
babies can naturally float. u can bring your girl for swim even without float. u've seen how people do it on the websites right..

Violetice,
Great to hear that Ian is recovering ; )You muz have a hard time taking care of him!! *Sayang Sayang mummy & baby*

Jayden is also 5mth+ & i hv juz brought a tin of brown rice from Eu Yan Sang @ $13.00. You can take a look here :
http://www.euyansang.com.sg/webapp/commerce/command/ProductDisplay?prrfnbr=5762&prmenbr=5225&lang=en_US&cgrfnbr=5491

My mum said 5mth+ can let them start learning how to swallow food. Then when 6 mths come, they can cope with their porridge better.

Icy,
Xavier is cute with his botak head ;p
Can pm me & share with me your photoshoot.. wanna see (",) Me also interested to bring my boy for a shoot! Thks.

Now i have a big problem! My son dun wan me to feed him milk only want the maid. Yesterday maid was on off day so i feed him he reject milk and water the whole day. He didn't even cry for milk at all. As per normal he smile and play and sleep. At ard 5.30 i try to give him water he drink 70ml tat all. For the whole day only 70ml water. Wen i reached hm at 7pm faster ask the maid to feed him and he gulp down 150ml of milk immediately! HOW??? My boy dun wan me to feed him already.

Dumex delivered a tin of 400g Mamil Gold 2 to my house on sat. Anyone interested? Either self-collect from my place in Hougang or I can pass it to you in Raffles Place during weekdays?

By the way, did anyone get Friso Gold 2 samples from them? How to ask them to give samples ah?? Other brands give me samples which I don't need and "pian pian" Friso never give me leh...I'm such a die-hard supporter...hehe.

hi ladies...
I am a MTB. I would like to have recommendation for a good confinement Lady. Anyone can share any contacts? Can PM me. Thanks alot.

Yen,
Sure, no problem. My office is in Raffles place and I stay in Hougang Ave 3. I can also pass it to you at Hougang Mall or Heartland Mall. Let me know where is more convenient for you.

<font color="aa00aa">Kindermusik Our Village Trial Class - THIS SUN!!</font>
Sent a reminder email to the mummies. pls rem to bring socks.
Theme for trial class would most likely be on DewDrops:
DewDrops takes Baby into a colourful flower garden. See dew drops glistening in the morning sun and feel the cool breeze blow in this extraordinary, multi-sensory experience!

Nid 6 more mummies before can organise another pte trial class:
1. AngelaYong
2. Steph77
3. LynnnChong
4. Bbdear
5. Shooting_star
6. mandygoh

<font color="aa00aa">Formula Milk Samples</font>
hee. if other mummies no need Dumex, I want too. tks in advance!
any mummy wan Nestle or Promil gold? if you want, we can do an exchange. pm me! hee.

<font color="aa00aa">aquaDucks Free Trial Class</font>
How many? 4 babies per class (1-parent-1-child)
Where? Heated pool at Tanglin Village (so baby only need a swimming diaper)
When? Tues 9am-12pm or Tue-Fri 2.30pm-3pm. .
How long? Each session is 30 mins max
Age? 6 months onwards

01. mei
02. Shooting_star
03. Luvv
04. babe (babyship) - pls pm me details.
05. shorty_gal
06. kitsune_sg
07. pm_babe
08. shannonbaby - pls pm me details.
09. LynnnChong
10. mandygoh
11. mom2nat
12. Tansy
13. Tansy
14. yen2007
15. sg_audrey
16. becky_cat
17. Elmo_78
18. Lj2
19. Godsent

blessedbaby
I took up a promotion package from Foto-U thread in this forum

$120, all images return in CD. no make up provided, 60mins, free 3 8R if taken on weekday. Max 5 pax.

Seemed like they having another round of this promotion soon.Oh ya, David took the shots for me. Xavier have red rashes on his face but maybe flashlight is strong so also cant see. lol No touch up done and images all return on the same day.

JanBB,
I had pm u.

Icy

Thanks for sharing on the news - baby under 6 months shouldn't be given water!!!

I was searching high and low for this info. Thanks for posting!

My baby is on TFM so I give him water, as what my mum suggested. I think with this news, the important take-home-note is not to give too much, <1 ouce at a time. My baby loves water, especially in this hot weather. Sometimes when he refused milk, he would drink a lot of water. So far, he has been in good health. But I will surely keep a close eye on his water intake from now on. And will consult his PD next week.

Now with the article on water, can I ask what about barley water? Shld we continue to give our baby or just purely BM?

blessedbaby, thanks for the contact. I just bought the bright starts bounce bounce baby for my boy. If there are mummies interested in buying, please get from BHG (former seiyu) cos it is selling at $119 now. I went there on sat and there is only 2 sets available.

It has been a long time since I posted in the forum as I am busy with my work and taking care of my baby. For those mummies let their babies sleep in the yao lan have to be careful. This morning, my baby , Rainie, 4mths plus, sleep in the yao lan and fall onto the floor, with her tummy on it. Luckily there is a small cushion underneath or else don't what will happen to her. So scary....