(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Blessed Baby
Appreciate if you could share with me your contacts for the evenflo distributor. I am interested to get one. THere is a BP on but the goods only arrive in end Jun or sth like that. Too long!

yen
yes, tbf... coz i found that the FM does nothing to prolong my boy's sleeping time. So i hv 2 half-tins of FM still standing on my counter, dunno what to do with them.

angelsky
yes, b4 my #1, my menses always cause my lower body numb, no strength to walk. I asked GP any solution, he said "get pregnant & hv a child". After my #1, no more problms with cramps liao. But i quite sianz to hv menses ley... 1 year no menses liao. hee hee hee. This time last year discovered i was pregnant with #2 =)))

My girl can flip over today. Just back from work, and I feel so touch when seeing her trying all her best just now. Yet she wants to crawl already. ;o-)

Precious moment: later I pm you the contact.
Serence Ng: wanna to let your bb try the exersaucer? You can come to my play on weekend. Wanna to try 1st b4 making decision? Let me know.

wendyg, I got the same issue too last time. Numb numb, pain, wanna vomit also.
. Doc also say get pregnant then the pain will be better. Then my gf say try eat bai foong wan, can help pain, so I ate, quite good, then next month pregnant already. Now slowly time to build up body constitution again. Hopefully next month also a breeze.

I bought toys for my girl, but she prefers remote control, her hanky and my handphone strap. sigh. generally toys does not interest her.

precious moments
You are most welcomed. Well, it was tough for us, cos we were abroad, no helper, only me and hb coping with my fussy girl. She was so fussy, we tot she was ill, see PD. V siong lor, and so I needed hb's help. WEll, good tat your hb wants to calm your girl down. Slowly lah, not easy to handle a child. At first hb wanted a boy, but #1 is a girl... end up he thinks girl cuter. Tell me want #3, hopefully girl... Tor long ah!!!

hihi mommies, i long time no post. Been so busy with work. Everyday come home rush to nurse baby to sleep so that I can have dinner and then wash and sterilise bottles for the next day.

Re exersaucer
I saw from the link that someone posted that the Fisher Price jumperoo costs $239. That is the same price as the Isetan Pte Sale last Thursday. In fact with the Isetan credit card there is additional 3% or 5% discount. So the babytown price is not actually the lowest.

My baby is 4 mths 11 days old today. She's been trying hard to flip but has not yet managed to.

My MIL also keep broaching the subject of introducing solids + keep saying want to buy my gal a walker. I said NO NO to both. She has eczema so doc recommends TBF up till 6 mths at least.

TBF mummies,
so most of ur mense are coming soon? i still thought as long as TBF then mense wont come until start solid.

blessedbaby

Pls kindly PM the contacts for the exersaucer too. Will only consider Evenflo as it seem to be a bit exp. Me only intend to have 2 kids, so will try to budget a bit here. =P

exasaucer

Thank u for the feedback! I will skip the walker and consider this instead. My mum was telling how tired she is today after carrying my all the time as he kept on wanting to be carried upright. =(

Wonder if this toy will help...

Hi blessedbaby,

I won't mind to let my boy play at ur place but where do u stay ar? Paiseh to disturb u also le.

Anyway I intend to buy 1 and put at the nanny's place and stop using the walker. After so many mummies here saying no no to walker i scare scare so wanted to get 1 fast.

wendyg

Is the safety first exersaucer still available? Where?

$99 is cheap. But now still can buy at this price?

garfield
thanks for the milk diet reference

flipping
i've only saw my gal flipped from tummy to back twice. Now she doesnt even try to flip anymore. Most of the time she very funny, attempt to sit up! Everytime place her lie on her back, she'll lift her head up like we do sit-ups exercise. LOL PD joked that next time she will have very good abdomen muscles.

babe;
i use running water to rinse the flaps of the milkbag, and then use my fingers to flick off the water (of course with clean hands) - as though like you use your fingers to flick "tan2" someone; one of those stupid things you do when you were a kid LOL. then i pour. i also thinking the flaps "flapping in the air in the fridge" kinda theory.

Blessed Baby, could u PM me the contacts for the exersaucer too? thanks!

Anyone using the yao lan? I was told it's dangerous but my MIL kept insisting that i go get one... for the sake of my bb's flat head. She kept blaming me for not making an effort to keep his head from becoming flat. sob sob.. I have tried so many ways, but my boy is just too stubborn.
Babe & Icy, btw I recently bought a Secure Sleeper Head & Body support system, which is designed to help prevent flat head syndrome. It uses memory foam at the part where the baby's head is suppose to go.. wonder if it's too late. Anyway. it's worth a try.

Mylife, ur gal already attempting to sit up, so fast! My boy doesn't flip much unless i put him on the play gym. He has this tendency to turn and look at the mirror, such a vain pot!!! ha..

I cant tell whether my girl has got flat head le. Hmmm, she does not like to sleep on her tummy anymore either. I put her on the pillow with a hole in the center, but supposedly that also will make the baby have flat head rit?

Shooting star, what is the secure sleeper head and body system about? So "shen qi". Is it expensive?

My girl also attempting to do sit up, she likes to be carried upright, even when drinking milk, must get the right position, else she will be very angry. Apart from the time she sleeps, or play in the exersaucer, she demands to be carried all the time. Now my arms so tired. Sometimes she will also turn and look at the mirror and babble, haha, thats the only time she will try and turn her body sideways.

She is very attention seeking le, she will pretend to cry and puff up her face, the minute we look at her, she will smile.

QQ, good question. Gwyneth takes 120ml every 4 hours during the day. At night she takes 120 every 3 hours. But her drinking patten never change much.

Angelsky, does the pillow with a hole in the center really make the baby have flat head? I haven't heard about this before. Uh-oh.. I use that sometimes, but he doesn't seem to like it much anyway.

I bought the Dex secure sleeper head and body system from The First Few Years at Paragon, it costs about $50 - $60 (there's 2 types, one's elevated). Most importantly, it has a thin layer of memory foam where the head is. Found a picture of it on the net...
http://www.shop.com/Secure_Sleeper_Head_and_Body_Support_System_by_Dex_Products_-3409042-o!.shtml?trk=15

Ya, my son is very attention seeking also... nowadays he keeps squealing..

shooting star, I cant tell, but I very blur one. Last time some aunt came to visit and she say my girl one side flatter than the other, ask me to put her sleep on 1 side to even out. My hubbie also say true, but I simply cant tell. :p

maybe she from born, I already put her on the pillow, so she somewhat used to it.

I give her the bean pillow to hug now, but sometimes she will wake up sucking the pillow and fiddling it with it. my mum was saying she starting to cultivate the bad habit already, so she wanted to take the pillow away. but I still give her, coz without it she will cry.

These few days, my girl and me like join to the hips. She either screams or hit the bed with her feet and hands.

eh TT is drinking 125ml 3 hrs daily at night she finish her last bottle ard 9+ and all the way till 6+ then wake up for milk ..... my mil told me jus now that she still want more after her fed hinting me to change my bottle

hmmm, seems like my girl is the only late sleeper. she finishes her last bottle ard 1230. Then she will sing herself to sleep. haha. Usually she will also want more after that, but typical of her not to finish. So my mum will just pour some water into the bottle for her to suck. Usually she will suck a few sips and go to sleep. But the next time she wakes up, not very fix. Sometimes 5am, sometimes 7 am, sometimes even 11am. Tried to give her a bigger bottle with more milk, but also wasted in the end.

Can I ask where has the biggest selection of exersaucers to choose from? Will like to check it out in town.

Thank you all!

blessedbaby,

thanks for the contact. wonder if the supplier got the 3 in 1 exersaucer that can be used thro 24 mths hehe ...

QQ, wow ... yr gal can z thro 9 hrs ...very good leh ..mine max is 6 hrs ... but cos i make him z early ..ard 7+ 8+ he z liao .. so his 6 hrs will be 2am!! weekends worse... he will wake up every 1-2 hrs (as if he knows his gor gor in the same room too.. so wana sleep with his gor gor on my bed)

my son still taking ard 100-125ml, every 3-3.5hrly feed. sometimes he can drink 150ml, but those are the rare chances. Only thing that kinda worry me is his poo poo frequency. seems like he only poo once a week. PD says not to worry if he is solely on BM but i still cant help but worry lor. so on the 8th day if he dun poo, i will go kar jiao his anus n make some fresh apple juice for him to take.

Hi All, Anyone interested on purchasing Huggies Dry Comfort M Size (M66) @$14.90? Self-pickup at Red Hill MRT. Payment method: COD or transfer to POSB Acc 2 days in advance.

Mom2Nat,
Your hb must really dote on your #1. So sweet. My gal so fussy that I don't even dare to plan for the next bb so soon ah!

blessedbaby,
Thanks for the contact. I'm going to check it out. Hopefully can order by this week!

Angelsky,
Haha, I laughed when you said your bb and you are like joined at the hips. Never thought of it that way but yah my gal is like yours - likes to be upright and carried. That's why i'm intending to get her the exersaucer, hopefully it can relieve me for a while.

mylvera,
wah, your bb v smart leh. Know how to differentiate weekends already

I got this email today.. true story.. read on.. a mother's love.. is very sad..

<font color="aa00aa">There were so many touching stories from the Wen Chuan earthquake. I
cried so many times watching the news coverage in the past week. But this
forward from a friend has to rank as one of the most touching. As a
salute to this mom, I have translated the original into English, so my
non-Chinese-speaking friends could read it, and pass it around, too. It's
a story that should not stay only within the Chinese community.

抢救人员发现她的时候,她已经死了,是被垮塌下来的房子压死的,透过那一堆废墟
的的间隙可以看到她死亡的姿势,
When rescuers found her, she was already dead, crushed by the collapsed
house. Through gaps in the rubbles, they could see her posture.
双膝跪着,整个上身向前匍匐着,双手扶着地支撑着身体,有些象古人行跪拜礼,只
是身体被压的变形了,看上去有些诡异。
Kneeling on both knees, her entire upper body bent forward, held up by her
two hands pressed against the ground, as if performing the ceremonial bow in an ancient ritual.
Except, her body had been compressed out of shape and looked somewhat eerie.

救援人员从废墟的空隙伸手进去确认了她已经死亡,又在冲着废墟喊了几声,用撬棍
在在砖头上敲了几下,里面没有任何回应。
A rescuer extended his hand through a gap and confirmed her death. He
called out to her, and tapped on the bricks with his shaft, but received
no response.

当人群走到下一个建筑物的时候,救援队长忽然往回跑,边跑变喊"快过来"。他又来
到她的尸体前,费力的把手伸进女人的身子底下摸索,
As the team walked toward next building, the squad leader suddenly turned back, yelling as he ran,
"Come quick!" He came to her remain, labored to maneuver his hand under her body, searching.

他摸了几下高声的喊"有人,有个孩子 ,还活着"。
He called out following some rummaging, "There's someone, a child, still alive."

经过一番努力,人们小心的把挡着她的废墟清理开,在她的身体下面躺着她的孩
子,包在一个红色带黄花的小被子里,大概有3、4个月大, With some effort,
rescuers carefully removed the debris burying her, found her child lying
beneath her, bundled in a little red blanket decorated with yellow flower
prints. He was about 3-4 months old.

因为母亲身体庇护着,他毫发未伤,抱出来的时候,他还安静的睡着,他熟睡的脸让
所有在场的人感到很温暖。
Shielded by his mother's body , he was totally unharmed, sleeping
peacefully as he was brought out. His soundly asleep face warmed the
hearts of all rescuers on the scene.

随行的医生过来解开被子准备做些检查,发现有一部手机塞在被子里,医生下意
识的看了下手机屏幕,发现屏幕上是一条已经写好的短信
As the rescue team's doctor unbundled the blanket to examine the baby, he
discovered a mobile phone tucked into the blanket. He subconsciously
looked at the display, found there was a SMS message.

"亲爱的宝贝,如果你能活着,一定要记住我爱你",看惯了生离死别的医生却在这一
刻落泪了,手机传递着,每个看到短信的人都落泪了。
"My Dear Baby, If you were to stay alive, you must remember that I love
you." No stranger to the pain and sorrow brought by death, the doctor
nonetheless wept at this moment. The cell phone was passed around, every
person who read the message wept.</font>

It has been a long time since I posted in the forum but I had been reading through. I am interested in the exersaucer too. psycho my hubby to buy for Javier.

Mei, I am the one who did up the diaper price list but did not manage to update it as I kinda of stick to particular brands of diapers liao. So far, using goo.n &amp; mamy poko for outdoor and night use, and pet pet for day use.

hi mei

yah..we bought 4 packs, tink too many for my ger fatty bum, so i decide to sell 2 packs away. quality nt bad, can last tru the nite.CHEAP N GD!

its been a long time since i logged in. been so busy at work since i returned. so busy that i am sick now... missing my son so much..

do i really have to stay away from him so as not to spread to him?

RE: Milk intake

My son is drinking (on TFM) 150-180ml every feed, for 5-6 feeds (average 4 hourly) a day. He becomes chubbier and chubbier day by day. Now my hubby calls him "xiao bang zhi".

RE: Flipping

My son can flip very well since 4months (now 4.75 months), either from tummy down or tummy up, but only 1 direction, that is to the right hand side only. He even prefers to sleep side-way now. During the night, he will turn and sleep sideway, and then try very hard to turn back, but he can't, guess he is in deep sleep and don't have the energy to turn. Then he will try and try and try, just like "bu dao ong", very cute.

Sharing...for mummies who want to try #2, #3, #4....

PARIS - WOMEN are more likely to give birth to boys if they have a high-calorie diet in the run-up to becoming pregnant, according to a new study released this week.
The research by scientists at Oxford and Exeter universities points to a natural way for women to boost, if only slightly, their chances of having a boy or a girl, depending on whether they consume more bananas and cereals, or have a more restricted diet.

The study, which appeared in the Royal Society's journal on biological sciences, showed that 59 per cent women who ate nutrients including potassium, calcium and vitamins had greater odds of an XY, or male outcome to pregnancy, compared with only 43 per cent of women who rarely or never ate a hearty breakfast.

'The mother seems to be able to influence the survival of either the sperm or the fertilised egg in its very early stages, probably before it has even implanted in the womb,' said Ms Fiona Mathews of the University of Exeter, one of the authors of the study.

These surprising findings are consistent with a very gradual shift in favour of girls over the last four decades in the sex ratio of newborns, according to the researchers.

'This research may help to explain why in developed countries, where many young women choose low-calorie diets, the proportion of boys is falling,' Ms Mathews said.

The study's findings, she added, could point to a 'natural mechanism' for gender selection.

Females are more likely to be born when food is scarce, since they are more likely to produce some babies to ensure survival of the species.

But if conditions are not favourable, poor- quality male specimens may fail to breed at all.

'If a mother has plentiful resources, then it can make sense to invest in producing a son because he is likely to produce more grandchildren than would a daughter', thus contributing to the survival of the species, explains Ms Mathews.