(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mei

when and where is the motherhood fair huh? thinking of buying walker for gisele.

step

my girl also drinking friso 1, but i already bought heinz rice cereals for her. dunwan her to kana sweet tooth!heard nestle also quite sweet. healthy times should be good too ... but more expensive. i intend to start once my girl hit 4 mths, so tht she can go fully semi solids by 6 mths...haha

blender: have one but very much underutilised. only use it to grind ikan bilis. heehee. i lazy mummy. all buy instant off the shelf cereals and puree. even fruit juice i also buy off the shelf.

beanie
if u not sure, try borrow, or buy 2nd hand.
I used my handheld blender quite often with #1.. mostly to blend fruit for him
eg apple, peach etc
my fren's girl was fussy eater & would spit out if the food was textured, so she had to blend everything like porridge, even after her girl turned 2! So her blender very well used.

i guess i will borrow from friends first cos hubby complained i bought so many stuff and all became white elephant now...

actually i look at those off the shelf type and the pictures make the food so yummy yummy...

Any mummy has the free NAME BOOK, given by similac, to give away? I am asking for my friend. I had requested for my own before, but i misplaced mine.

jus now my gal poo very forceful, then opened up diaper very gooey kind...and got streaks of blood!! Any mommies know if this is common?? So scared and worried now...babies got blood in stools one meh??

Mylife

My mum said if you see blood-stained poo, it's not a normal sign, but may not be something serious, better consult PD asap. Most likely constipation if you gal hasn't been pooing well for the last few days? Don't worry, just bring her to see PD, she will be fine!

RE: Travelling

Just came back from a 5 day road-travel to KL to visit families and friends. Luckily my baby adapted to the change of environment very well, except for the first day, he went "milk-less" from 11pm to 2pm the next day afternoon, total a record of 15 HOURS!!! But he was playing and laughing all the times, so I was not worried, just picked his clue whenever he wanted to drink. Had been a great trip to let my prince. Not difficult on the road also, only need to feed once during the whole journey, and only need to stop once to bring baby out for some fresh air and for adults to rest. Maybe can go further north next time.

RE: Exersaucer

My baby loves it! Now I put him to the exersaucer a few time a day. Each time max 30 min, as I don't want him to be too tired. I can just simply let him play in the exersaucer alone. But when I played with him, he is happier

RE: starting solid

I will ask my PD if my baby is ready for solid before starting. My PD mentioned that when I brought Hao Re for jab last month. His next jab is on the 3rd June, so will consult my PD to see if baby Hao Re is ready. I think he is all ready as I noticed the following: head can be hold up steadily, he knows to reject milk when he is full, he can use his tongue to pull in and out the spoon (try with empty spoon), he is very interested to see us eating, he keeps swolling saliva and moves his mouth when he sees us eat. So excited and really looking forward to feed him his first spoon of rice cereal - a sign to see that my boy has grown up!

Hi VioletIce,
I hope your baby is getting better already.

Colic at 4mths?
For the past 2 days, my baby started to wail really really loudly and uncontrollably since evening like 7 pm plus. Can babies develop colic at 4mths plus?

For now, I am the only one that can bearly console her. What's worse is my hubby is frustrated with the bb cos he thinks she doesn't like him and also with me when I try to suggest things to help like asking him to pat the baby etc....

So now I just leave the baby with my hubby, go to seperate room and close the door so that I won't hear her cry. On one hand, i'm very heartache when my bb cries till tears rolling down her cheek. On the other hand, I feel my hubby needs to learn how to console her and my bb to get used to him. *help!* have to deal with 2 babies in the house. Sorry just need to rant.

shannonbaby

I have a super baby food but still havent read it yet. hhaah

mummies, do you know where to buy organic fruits? thinking of introducing mashed banana to my gal. ;o))

Hi Hi blessedbaby,

I read that u have found a Exersaucer for your darling. Is it worth getting? How much did u pay for yours? Pls advise. Thank u!

Exersaucer or walker
My son loves it when we let him stand up. Was wondering if it's worth getting/ renting an Exersaucer. Very tiring for my mum if she has to hold onto him to let him exercise. Someone passes us a net kind of bouncer. Not sure it's the same kind and safe to use or not.

My mum thinks that a walker is better since it allows him to move about. But I r'ber someone say that walker is not good.

Any suggestions anyone? Thank u!

i realised a lot of mummies here also experiencing the low intake of milk for their babies. mine too.
asked the PD yesterday and was told that as long as the baby is gaining weight properly and not losing any weight, a drop in milk intake is normal at this stage. at this stage, some babies are already ready for solids like cereal so that's why they might reject taking liquids...
i heard an example that a baby doesnt want any milk at all and only wants solid coz they can chomp chomp on something...so PD says if completetely reject milk, then can start on solid liao...if never reject all, just keep it because it that way as it is the body's way of regulating their milk intake

hth

Mylife, my gal also had streaks of blood in poo before. Read from another mummy who consulted that there are 2 possibilities, anal fissures or allergy to milk (that mummy drank). For mine, it may be milk allergy cos there was no constipation. After I abstain from milk for one day, the blood streak became lesser and clear after 2-3 poos. You want to try?

Ah Capp, I'm thinking of renting Exersaucer too cos hubby don't want me to buy. He said I bought too many things for BB liao. :p

Kam, my bb gal also moves her mouth when she sees us eat. Worse, sometimes will cry when we eat in front of her. I plan to TBF for 6 months leh and she's only 4 months tomorrow. But if that's really a sign then I'll try with an empty spoon soon. Thanks for the tip.

Ahcapp,
Long time ago, folks like to keep babies in walker. Keeps them occupied. My mum kept me in a walker too.

Now, PDs strongly discourage the use of walker as bb tend to "speed" in the walker (accident prone). Walker does not help in the process of learning to walk. It does not do a good job of strengthening muscles in the upper legs and hips (which are used in walking). That's why toy manufacturer invented "Exersaucer" which is stationery and has many "learning centers" to keep bb occupied.

He may not like the netted bouncer now (more useful for newborn) mths now, prefer to sit upright (better field of vision for them).

precious moments
actually, I dun see the point to pass a fussing baby to a frustrated daddy to handle. I think you should pass bb when bb is calm, ask daddy to play and smile with bb... so bb recognise his face... like him, then later talk abt taking care of bb.
My #1 recognised pple at 2nd month. It was tough for me to handle her alone, but she see hb, she cry like dunno wat. Then hb was hurt... we tried many mtds, then later realise, carrying her facing front helped. so she din see him. He will sing to her, talk to her, carry her ard.. then soon, they played tog... now, he can look after my girl himself when I not in sg. And she is so sticky to him, daddy's girl.

But it is my opinion lah... I think no point forcing daddy to handle bb. Let hb enjoy the bond with bb. You think throw him a crying and screaming bb, he can do anything?? I oso feel helpless liao, dun talk abt a daddy.

Icy
Aiyo, dun smack Xavier when he suck fingers lah. It is a natural phase. My boy will suck until the saliva can drip! Not as if he can control it. Maybe his gums really itch or it is nature mah.

maureen, what does the white spot looked like? My girl also has at the side of the gum, I tot it was ulcer le. Hmm, does the white spot looks like some small bubble? But white white one? I tried to put my fingers in le, but she gets irritated when I do that, so I cant determine what is was. I tot was ulcer, but already 1 week still there le.

Kam, my girl also will reject milk or water, she will push her head up and then scream very loudly. Now she also wants to be carried upright, she gets very upset when we try to put her lying down when we carry her. She will also swallow her saliva and stare at us when we eat, the other day my dad ate bao in front of her, she gaze from the bao to my dad's mouth as he was eating it. Her expression like many days never eat like that. kekeke. Hmmm. But she not even 4 months le.

Mei, those ready made ones, hmmm good to be consume all the time? Not too sweet? Coz some actually say 4 months onwards, I very tempted to give her try when she reach 4 months.

kitsune
thanks...I called the PD and he oso said likely anal fissure but when I asked him TBF babies no constipation can get fissures meh, he said sometimes too much gas will make an explosive bowel movement...I'm so worried now, will bring her down to chk but as a 1st time mommy, seeing the blood sent me into shock lo! I've been drinking milk since Day1 leh and so far its ok..u mean TOO much milk can cause them to bleed??

Ahcapp
I second blckbatz words. I read that walkers are not recommended becos babies in walkers use a diff set of muscles to walk compared to actual walking. So it actually prevent/delay them from learning to walk properly and some like to tiptoe when they walk evntually. Also, walkers are now deemed dangerous becos ur actually giving mobility to an infant that has no control over their legs yet so they may move too fast and sometimes even topple over due to imbalance. Personally I hv witnessed my cousin's bb topple before and I've seen some people walk with a legs facing out like a 八子形way of walking cos put in walkers too long during babies time. Big no-no.

Thank u ladies about the walker/ exersaucer feedback =)

So are u ladies getting any exersaucer for your darling? I am also thinking of renting. But it's about $50 to $65 per month. Wonder if it's worth to rent or to buy second hand.

Any good brands to recommend? Looks like evenflo is very good and popular, but expensive.

angelsky
if it's a tooth, it'll feel like a tooth.. the same feeling as when u touch your tooth =) but first u gotto touch it first. normally the lower front teeth sprout first. Side of gum?? i dun think it's a tooth.

oh yeah my baby loves to watch me eat. esp burger. aiyo cham ah.

if u hv enuf budget & lazy to prepare, u can give her jar food, no problem. Look at the ingredients.. only the fruit and water. But i prepared my own coz cheaper & sense of satisfaction =)

re: walkers
btw, walkers are BANNED in Canada coz many accidents happen eg baby in walker tumble down a flight of stairs (they live in houses la... not flats). Even in our single level homes, there might be small steps eg into the bathroom, which cause the walker to tilt.

blessedbaby
btw, dun give too much banana... it causes poo to harden & bb hv to push harder to get it out. Pear is a good fruit to introduce. U can google organic fruit, i'm sure there'll be more than enuf for u to select.

re: exersaucer
what happened to safety first exersaucer? Those were the rage 2 yrs ago. I had one, my friend had one, even the people living in the opposite block had one.. $99 only.
just go for the cheapest, i think they all serve the same purpose.

hi mylife,
i'm a feb08 mummy and happened to read your post on streaks of blood in your baby's poo. wanted to share my experience cos my baby also had such symptoms when she was about 4 to 5 weeks old.

scared the hell out of me and i rushed her to the PD immediately. it was a suspected milk allergy (and same as you, i had been drinking milk since she was born, but the symptoms only showed up later).

there is a slight difference between blood caused by milk allergy vs anal fissure. the former is like bloody mucous (streaky, colour is usually darkish red and not like fresh blood kind of colour) whereas the latter is bright red cos it's blood from a fresh wound. know what i mean? you can also do a stool culture to make sure that it's not due to other causes.

i was also sceptical, but took PD's advice to abstain from ALL milk products. it's very ley chey though, cos a lot of things have milk including bread and biscuits. i had to abstain completely for the symptoms to go away.

after a few weeks of strict dieting, my PD said i could slowly slowly introduce milk into my diet again. i started off with milo and then progressed to chocolate and then cheese (very very gradually, like milo only for one week, then milo + chocolate another week and so on). so far bb is still ok *fingers crossed*

hope your baby is fine =)

Ahhcapp

I managed to get a brand new one. hehhe. After posted for 2nd hand but there was only 1 reply over 1 or 2 weeks. then discussed with hubby, he said go for a new one as bb wouldsaliva on the toys... so new one is safter for our baby.

I bought Evenflo Megasaucer from a distributor in S'pore, and was so blessed that it was on promotion. heheh. Paid S$199 for it. Including delivery and assemble at our house.

Its a worth investment as my bb loves it very much. We just leave her alone in the exersaucer, and she slowly reach her hand out, hold the toys, and learn how to make it making noise by herself, spinning her around with saucer. We love to see her discovering exersaucer by herself. Her motor skills have been picking up. She can holt tighter, etc..

Since I am planning to have few kids (may be 3. hahahaha) so i think its ok to pay s$$$.

Rem sometime ago, someone shared the prices of the diapers and milk powder.

Is there such price comparsion list for M/L-Size diapers and stage 2 milk powder???

mommies using lansinoh milk bags, can I ask a stupid question. When pour out, juz open the ziplock and pour? Erm...but that end is all open to anything in the freezer, won't it be unhygienic especially if freezer stores raw meat? OR do we have to wipe the opening first? or cut away?

babe, me using gerber.
i just open the ziplock and pour. alternatively, enclsoed the milk bags inside a box first before putting in freezer.

Blackbatz

Well said about the walker! It's accident prone and not helping in developing baby's walking skills.

All mummies, please note, walker is definitely a no-no. I read from a few different and independent sources that stressing walker is a no-buy for sure. I shall type in the sentences here for your reference when I go back home today.

However having said this, there are babies who manage to walk at very early stage even using a walker. Still go back to the rule of thumb - every baby is different, so you choose what you feel best for your baby.

I myself was an early-walking baby. I started to walk when I was 9-10 months old :)

wow.. so many no no for walker. I started to let my boy sit on walker as he no longer likes boucer/rocker.

Think I must go and get the exersaucer liao.

hi Garfield
thanks for sharing ur experiences. Went to the PD today..unfotunately its not fissure so had to send in her stools samples for lab test to make sure its not some viral infection. Also asked to abstain from dairy pdts but PD said usually babies get allergy reaction max 2-3mths and my gal oredi 4mths+ liao...so worried now

Mylife

Don't worry too much. The body itself has it own defending system. If your gal managed to poo, means that the body is reacting and fighting with whatever is in her body, just like fever. Look at it positively, and your gal would appreciate you smiling and calm face rather than a worrying face. Be extra careful these few days, make sure your gal don't put dirty things/hands into her mouth. My best wishes to you and your darling, sure she will do well.

Hi my life,
You're welcome. Hope it's not a viral infection. If it's a dairy product allergy, the babies will usually outgrow it over time. I'm not sure if babies usually only get these reactions when they are 2 to 3 months though.

Just in case I forget, here's a list of foods to avoid if the diagnosis is indeed diary allergy. it's a bit painful initially, but i managed to survive one month abstaining from these.

Take care and try not to worry too much meanwhile.

MILK FREE DIET
Avoid foods that contain any of the following ingredients:

artificial butter flavor
butter, butter fat, buttermilk
casein
caseinates (ammonia, calcium, magnesium, potassium, sodium)
cheese
cottage cheese
curds
custard
half and half
hydrolysates (casein, milk protein, protein, whey, whey protein)
lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate
lactoglobulin
lactose
milk (derivative, protein, solids, malted, condensed, evaporated, dry, whole, low fat, non fat, skim)
nougat
pudding
rennet casein
sour cream, sour cream solids
sour milk solids
whey (delactosed, demineralized, protein concentrate)
yogurt

Ingredients that MAY indicate the presence of milk protein:

brown sugar flavoring
caramel flavoring
chocolate
high protein flour
margarine
natural flavoring
Simplesse A "D" on a product label next to a "K" or circled "U" may indicate the presence of milk protein.

I guess its mother's nature
. Before my girl came, I always tell my friends to not over pamper their kid, when they fuss, just let them cry, they will learn to be independent instead of clingy. Guess after my girl came along, its different. I too joined them in being over loving and I guess instead of them being clingy, I am the one being clingy to my girl.

Mylife, hang in there, its difficult not to worry, but hopefully after seeing the PD, you will get some advice and help. Rylee will be okay in no time. You get enough rest too, else when she gets better, you may end up overtiring yourself.

angelsky
dat's why i always say, those who dun hv kids will hv 1001 theories on how to raise kids. When the kids come, all the theories fly out the window

wendyg, totally agree with you. LOL.

Yen and wendyg, I used to TBF, after I stopped, within days my menses come. Cross my fingers though, I used to have very bad cramps, now its a breeze.

Kelly,
I wud love to join u guys, but unfortunately I’m in Sg. I moved from Perth to Sg, but I do go back once in awhile. Thinking of moving back there in the future but dunno when, that’s why we’re not sure if we should enrol my boy in the schools there as there’s a hefty deposit. Are u thinking of migrating over there too? There’s someone in Feb thread from Perth?

U guys talking about giving food already? So soon! My MIL has been bugging me about it ever since my son turned 4 mths, but I am reluctant… I wanna BF exclusively for at least 6 months. Yet, my supply seems to be dwindling...  Yes, I’ve heard that after giving birth that u won’t get bad cramps while having menses any more. Yippee!!!

Violetice, hang in there… hope ur bb has a speedy recovery.

Hi Mom2Nat,

My hb got ego leh. When the bb is crying in his arms, he doesn't like me to interfere and take her away from his arms. He feels that if I keep doing that, he will never have the chance to get close to the bb. But what you say is true, it's makes more sense for him to hold her and bond with her when she's calm. I am going to talk to him about this tonight and tell him about your hb's experience with you #1. Hopefully he will get inspired and not give up. I, for one, is encouraged. Thanks for your sharing.