(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Just to share with you pple.

My elias weighs 6.3 kg at 2 months 29 days

Ped said his weights is good infact doubled and just nice.. Healthy weight. He took his 5 in one jab and also his took his oral rotavirus vacine
So proud of him.. he didnt cry at all for this jab.. WOuld put up the video clip in my bloggie soon.. Look out for it;) Hehe!

Will take the pnemonia jab when he is 6 mths cos the ped said since he is not in infant care.. 6 months is fine.. also will take less jabs compared to taking it now.. But definatley need to take once he attends nursery.. etc... as once contact with kids will be very prone.. hence i took his advise as anyway I dun want him to take so much jabs and drugs into his body at this age

Fern

icy,

it could be reflux, my bb is 3 mths old also still can get reflux.....after 5 days on the reflux meds her appetite seems to have picked up a bit and she doesn't throw up anymore...

maybe u want to consult yr PD?

Maureen,
Milkbags
Can check with Pixel, think she has spare milk bags. Your boy is still resisting bottle ah? My boy is fine with bottle during the day. Come 8 pm, he would sniff around for my breast..Sigh

Mom2nat,
That shop at Bras Basah is cheap. Prices on the label still got further discount of 30%.

Icy,
Drink already will make skin firm or not? Now old liao, skin elasticity is not there any more.

Blackbatz
Ah yes, I forgot all abt the 30%!! Hee... I bought some, cos so cheap! But still like to shop at Kino and wonderbox.

Maureen
MIne oso totally dun wan bottle leh!! My boy oso waited until I come home then drink, mah chiam fasting!

Mei
For the wet suit isit thermal ones? So it is 40% off the price in the webby?

Mom2nat,
Then how? My boy also like that...I wonder how is Wendyg doing. Here boy also have the same problem.

I'm going for a holiday in 2 weeks time. Not bringing him along. Feeding time would be a headache for my mum. My #1 was asking me what di di would drink. I was thinking maybe air (cry and cry). Cannot be fasting for 5 days till I'm back!!@??

hi lynn,
sorry to intrude. i am from the feb thread.
interested to share the wipes. do include me if u all r ordering.

thanks in advance!

Blackbatz
Wah you hero!! Gg tour when your boy dun take bottle. Mine hor is really dun wan a single drop,. I called my Cl to come and help.. SOS... hahaha... sigh... but she prob can't help much.
But wendy's bb drink a little leh, every few hours i think, mine will yell until face and head all red, then rather zzz then drink.

Lynn
Ay, this photo doesn't show Rayden's michellin tyres!!! Show one with him wearing wat he wore just now!! Yummy thighs.

Mom2nat,
My boy shares similar trait as yours. Cry until whole face red..then zzz. Your CL is so nice, still can come back and help you. My mum is very worried now cos #2 taken care of by me most of the time, so I know what he wants. My boy only take 1 bottle feed a day, which is during the day time.

Mine really depends on mood. Recently start drinking again. When feeling him, he really talks alot. The handkerchief can get wet.

Below are my kids pic.

1366155.jpg

Lynn
I'm interested in the pigeon bb wipes too... Do count me in. Btw, u lost all ur pregn weight n back to norm. Cos u look so slim n young. My hubby says u look v young n slim like nvr give birth!!!

lynn

im interested in the pigeon bb wipes too but the website says OOS. are u gonna place orders with them direct??? as im working now, i cant log on as often. i PM u my contact, you sms me ok? TIA

using Avent teat no.3

Any one already using teat no.3 for your darlings? Roughly how long does it take for your darling to finish 1 feed (exclude burping time).

My son been trying avent teat no. 3 these few days. No more leaking milk from his mouth, but he can finish his 160ml of milk very fast. If I don't burp him, he can finish his feed non-stop in 5min! But I found that burping him is still a must or else he will throw up a little later.

For teat no. 2, the whole feeding session will take about 45min (including about 5 to 10min of burping) N sometimes, he will lose interest and reject the bottle even though there is still milk. A bit of a headache.

Does it mean that my son can take teat no. 3 but just that he is a fast drinker?

blackbatz, mom2nat
guess i'm in the same baby-wont-drink-from-bottle club as u all... i've been trying to give my girl bottle during the day for the last 2 days she will cry so loudly like we're torturin her! then in the end, maybe drink about 50ml then dont want liao. rather sleep or suck her fingers -_-

what r u all gonna do ah? does that mean they will starve during the day when we go to work??

michelle

my CL once told me to get Tommee Tippee teats from mothercare to transit from breastfeeding to bottle feeding. The teats are supposedly made so that it resembles a mummy's nipples. I don't direct latch on since week 1 (I feed EBM with bottles), so I am not sure if it works or not. Perhaps u all can take a look at mothercare when u next go out? I saw the teats and bottles at mothercare when I last went out.

Here is the site:

http://www.tommeetippee.co.uk/

ahcapp
thks for the tip but i've tried so many different bottles n teats oredi n none of them work, so i doubt the tommee tippee one will work leh... pple hv told me to try avent, pigeon, nuk, etc... i tried all - even have a heinz one! - but still like that

michelle / blackbatz
Aiya, for my #1, same thing... I have so many kinds of teats, bottles, blah blah... even if she drank it was like 50ml kind. So troublesome, cos dunno when she hungry when she drank so little. Then ah, during confinement, my #2 ok... so after CL left, I latch more often... end up he dun wan bottle liao.

So ah, I can hardly go out for long lor. Dun talk abt working. Like tat how to work?

hihi mommies, long time nvr log in

Fern
sorry u were askg me abt HK hor? Why don't u email me or give me ur email? When u planng to come?

Mom2nat, blackbatz, michelle
Sigh..me too, member of the "babies don't want bottles" club. I hv since resigned to it since I'm a SAHM but dread to think when it comes to weaning...my fren said her daughter went on 24hr hunger strike!! My gal oso will cry until red faced like we torture her, really heartpain so I more or less gave up. I tried every bottles and teats too, pigeon,avent,nuk, adiri, etc.spent do much money buying also! She got reflux so cannot let her cry so much else will vomit..sigh

Mom2nat/Mylife/Michelle,
Ya lor..Spent so much on teats. At least my boy likes 2 brand, Pigeon (Y size) and Nuk Large hole. Actually, my mum adds the "Si Shen Rice Cereal" to my breast milk and she feeds him with Nuk Large hole latex teat. He can finish 5 oz to 6 oz. Heng..

As for bottle feeding BM, I will use Pigeon Y size. If he is happy, he will finish all 5 oz. Otherwise, drink only 2 oz then cry.

Come 8 pm, only want to latch. All teats reject. Every night, my mum will nag and say that I should have bottled fed my boy at night during confinement period.

Then I also research on the internet for hlep..Worst case scenario is from latch to drinking from cup (skip bottle). However, it's not feasible for working mum. So die liao...
My friend told me to be patient and keep trying until my supply almost dried up.

Somehow, mummies from other threads doesn't seem to have this problem.

Sorry to intrude.
I have 2 brand new packs of Huggies Ultra diapers (size L) going at $10 per pack.

Interested parties please PM me.

Michelle/Blackbatz/Mom2nat/Mylife,

Mine at first using avent, now ended changing to normal bottle and teats. Sometimes will drink, sometimes not. One time, he didn't drink from 11am until 6pm I bottle feed him. Feel so stress that he doesn't want to drink. Scare that he will be very hungry. If he refused to drink, the whole handkerchief and shirt will be all wet. Keep on pushing out the teat and scream. Actually I have this problem too when bf my elder son. Guess they really prefer our breasts.

Hi AhCapp,

How old is your baby?

I'm in the same situation as you. My boy is going to be 11 weeks old. He will push away his bottle, arch his back, make a lot of noise when he's only halfway through his feed. He used Avent teat no. 2 and took 45 - 60 mins for each feed ( include 5 - 10 mins burping ).

This morning, I changed the teat to no. 3, he finished his 160ml of milk in 15 mins ( exclude burping ).

I suppose it has got to do with the teat and will continue to monitor his behaviour while using teat no. 3.

Please keep me update on your baby

Hi Nobertina,

My son is 3 months old already. I noticed that with no. 3, he fussed yday. More efficient with his feeding. When burped, less air comes out. Our conclusion is he sucked less, so less air went in. Also, perhaps he needs to use less effort to suck, so less cranky lor.

But this morning, he still to fuss again. =( Don't know if it's because I am using thawed frozen EBM (80% mix with 20% fresh EBM), so the smell turns him off. =( Will continue to train him today.

1 thing I note is since the hole is bigger, the milk temp needs to be cooler. I noticed that my son rejected his bottles a few times and 'rolled' his mouth into an O shape. Taking note that the temp is roughly same as the one I give him when using no. 2.

I also noticed that when he is not concentrating, he will start to cough (due to the excess milk).

Yes, let's monitor n see how. =)

Thank you for your feedback! ^_^

Any of you using the Lindam milk bottle... I just bought yesterday and realised that the teet is Stage 1- S size still.. Elias turning 3 months soon.. Can I still use that teet or should I change to size 2 as recommended?

Just switched to this bottle cos I read up its is gd and prevents coloicky baabies.. But one bad thing is that only Lindm teets can fit the bottle and no other teet brands fits? Is if really the case for those of you who are using the same??

Hi AhCapp,

No worries. We are in the same boat

I've heard frozen BM has a metallic smell ( I don't have excess to store, so I don't know personally ) but most babies still drink them. Continue to monitor to see if smell is the reason for fussing.. heard it shouldn't be...

I used no. 3 to feed him just now, but he's choking... so switch to no.2 again and he took nearly an hour to finish. Really headache.

Baffled why this morning, he's able to drink his milk with teat no. 3 swiftly and no problem.

Maybe I should call PD tom morning and see if he knows what's going on..

Hi moms
I wanna give away 35 glass bottles and caps. Good for storing ebm. Pls PM me if keen, otherwise, will throw away liao.

Hi Fern,

My girl is using the Lindam milk bottle number 2 teats, since she reject all bottles after vaccination.

Gotta press the valve to clear the air in it, furthermore the teats softer compare to avent.

oh dear.. does this mean i am the only mommy here with bb that doesnt wanna drink fr bottle who is goin back to work?!? the rest of u r SAHM? how ah? i getting very worried.

blackbatz
i did think about giving her the sippy cup when she is 5 mths old, ie skip bottle, but wonder if it can be done? will they be too young to use sippy cup at 5 mths?

Blackbatz
I think our babies too young to take those cereal leh. Last time my girl din drink much milk.. can be 350ml for the whole day and night. So started off yogurt at 5th month following PD's instructions. I think our babies' stomaches too immature to take cereal now, better check with PD.
The NUK large hole teat is too big lah, like pouring milk for him! Heee.. My girl now coming to 4, only take med hole, but I cut slits on the hole to make it bigger. but when she lie down and drink the milk doesn't spray onto her face like the L hole.

Michelle/Blackbatz/Maureen/Mylife
Today "my heart not die" (bu shi xing)... I bought another teats to try. This time NUK premium latex... gonna try again! hahah... I think the teats doesn't really matter, but somehow deep inside me I hope to find something tat works.

Confinement time I use bottle, avent and NUK, both he dun mind. took abt 100ml... Then CL left, I din feed with bottle tat often... then come oneday, I gave him pacifier... he suck suck suck then spit out... from then refuse bottle and pacifier!!! Sigh...

MIchelle
I think blackbatz and Maureen working... right?

AhCapp...using Teat 3 already??? Gosh...then does my boy sound ok...i'm still using teat 1 from AVENT for him. He takes about 15-20 min to finish about 170ml of milk...I thought that's quite ok leh. I thought maybe another month of so then introduce teat 2 to him. Hmmmm....

Hammies,

Like you, I was also using Avent Teat 1 for my baby but then this weekend, we introduced him to Avent Teat 2, can finished milk faster also. Not much dripping so I think can start already.

hi, how's everyone coping wif yr prince & princess?

Finally done my lasik & i can see things clearly the way i did when i put on my contact lenses

re:avent teat
i started intro teat #3 to Zander 2 wks ago, finish his milk (120ml) in 15mins.

Hi Wendyg,
How's life back at work?

Mom2nat,
Ha..ha..I also bought the NUK premium teats standby. If plan A fail, Plan B...

I find Nuk Medium teat hole is too small. My boy can suckle for 15 minute and drink only 20 ml of BM. However, with pigeon Y teat, I can see the milk decreasing.

Sometimes, when I'm desperate, I will change to another teats in the middle of a feed, hoping that he will finish his milk and not struggle with me.

Re: cereal
I know..not suppose to introduce till 6 mth. Too a certain extent, I gave in to my mum la..Enuff of her nagging. I add a bit to the milk and for 1 feed. It says "for 3 mths and above" on the packaging. Since it appears thicker, I use Nuk large hole. My boy would drink it without any struggle and all 5 oz within 15 minutes. Quite contrasting compared to the 8 pm feed.

Just now, he was "ow..ow..ow" for me (or rather begging for my breasts) when I bottle fed him at 7 plus. Until 8 plus still bu shi xing, cried and howled. My hubby refused to believe that BB was looking for me and even tried to pacify him. But BB cried even louder..The minute I carreid him, he stopped crying but he was sniffing around. Sigh...

Michelle,
I will be going back to work in June. Took no pay leave to breast feed..ha..ha..

Re : Avent Teat
I don't seem to be able to find No. 3 teat but I can find No.3 variable teat. What's the difference? Can someone enlighten me? Thanks.

work is the usual...
but come back home is the real battle!!!
after long tiring mental day... come back to start 2nd shift - the physical chasing #1 and getting #2 to zzzzz while squeezing in time for my own 10min dinner and 5min shower. I become crazy woman liao. Energy zapped.. both husband and i. my eyes perpetually half open.
but i do look fwd to weekends.. 2 solid days of family time. Chasing and coaxing and feeding and packing and unpacking and etc etc etc.

tmr is another day... *yawn*

how come no one post pix of Saturday's gathering? Come to think of it, i was at Marine Parade on Sat.. abt 4pm until after dinner. But we went East Coast instd of Pkway.

Wendyg,
I'm also very scared..still got to coach #1 with his school work and take care of #2. My #1 can drive me up the wall on some days. Crazy and delirious !! I told my hubby don't even think about #3.

I find that I'm the last one to be ready whenever it comes to family outing. Change #1 and then #2. Don't even have time to put on decent makeup before I step out of the house.

blackbatz
i thought your #2 will be at your mom's place when u start work?

moms are lidat one la.. take care of everything in the house except themselves. i bring my makeup along.. if my hands are free, i'll makeup in the car. if not then no makeup la. Only apply during working days coz the boss quite particular abt grooming.

the day b4 go out, will pack the "diaper bag". In the morning when husband and #1 are having bfast, i will be getting #2 ready to go out. I gobble up my smaller portion bfast when i can put down #2. Needless to say, i'm awake when #1 wakes me up, and typically the last to sleep, after pumping, washing, sterilising etc.

like now la.. where got time to post forum....

gdnite!

Hi, all.

I'm starting work tomorrow...
Really can't wait for 5.30pm comes & I can rush back to fetch my girl home from my inlaws' place.

But I really "peifu" those with 2 & more kids... With so little time after work, you still need to focus & spend time with each of your kids.

Re: Avent teat No.3

I tried to intro No.3 to my girl but not successfully. Right now, she is using No.2. It is ok but recently she seems to start losing interest in drinking her milk & keeps turning her head. Also she used to finish milk in 7 mins but now like 14 mins.. Wonder if she feels tired to suck so hard on No.2.

But when I tried No.3 on her, it drips so bad... No choice but to use back No.2 teat on her again.