(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Yvonne ,

maybe i am a bit kiasu but i heard have to register early for Nanyang Kinder .
i am planning to let my baby enrol the pre nursery class there , it's already 100 over ppl under waiting list ....

steph
the trial price $25.47 is what i was given when I called just now. only 1 theme will be introduced during the trial. wah if all themes, then very long leh. haha...

mei

normally trial class is ard wat time? i prefer weekends. sat i will work till 1pm but my work place is oni 10mins fr Tanglin Mall.

can advise me on timing 1st?

beanie
normally there is a theme for each term. so the teacher will sing some songs, play some music, play some instruments and the parent will guide the baby along. read more from the url:
http://www.kindermusik.com.sg/curricula_village.htm

I haven attended the Our Village trial before but I'm attending Our Time (18 mths and above) currently.

Timing wise, can't confirm now cos' have to see Kindermusik's schedule. If most mummies want wkends, then I can ask for a tentative timing first.

sigh. me also envy those mommies whose bb ar sleeping thro the nite liao. my girl used to hv last feed at 8pm then wake up 3 or 4am for next feed. but now, dunno y it seems she wakes up at 12am , then 3am, then 6am then 8am!

blackbatz
my girl oso make eh eh sound in the middle of the nite n i ignore than become wah wah too! hahaha :D then after that she super wide awake, feed oredi oso dun wanna sleep
then to get her back to sleep, i have to pace up and down the room and bounce n rock her back to sleep. takes more than 1 hr, then 1 hr later she wake up again. i feel like i'm back in my confinement days!!

michelle
is she going thru a growth spurt??

Today I brought rylee out from 4pm to 7-ish jus now...aiyoh, dunno why come home only she cries and cries those LOUD LOUD wailing type!! She can't seem to stop...wail until i fear tom her throat will be painful, she was screaming with all her strength fr her lungs, so scary!!! Dunno wats wrong leh...nvr c her like this before! Anyone hb similar experience or have any idea? She was so well behaved outside that I was thinking next time can bring her out like this and hang out at the mall cos got alot of kids shop and nice nursery room to chg diapers and bf...

kitsune
my gal was born on 3Jan..yours end of Jan rite? Mine same with Lynn

Flash cards
actually our babies r too young for flash cards tricks. I bought them jus to hv some fun..I nvr show any rubber bands watsoever, jus let her look at the pics and read to her the names. The fanciful flashing tricks can wait till she's at least 1-2yr old bah...even now when I was reading the cards to her and she gt bored with it (ie look away) I will put them away...my mom even say "aiyoh..give her back some of the childhood innocence!" haha

Mylife
It sounds bad, but when cry too much, I stuff the breast and he stops, tats on demand! He can cry so much, we dunno wat to do with him, then bcos he is overly tired, he suck 5 min sleep, so cry again, we oso dunno isit hungry... i hate this cos this is exactly wat I faced for #1.

kitsune
Mine inconsistent leh, as long as not startle or awoken then it's ok. But ah, 5am wake up, to poo and smile at me, then it is every 30min to 1 hours wake up from then... you tell me how to tahan...

mcfluffy
Ay, v siong hor. My hb din know I so siong. He only see the evening part, got my mom come home help, mil ard... but he din see the rocking all day, put down wake up, pick up rock again... then feed, change.. blah blah... I wan to nap oso can't, cos he v fast wake up liao. And I have #1 to handle, she quite poor thing, always alone now.

MIchelle
Mine goes 9pm, 11pm, 2am, 5am, 6am, 7am, 8am!!! And this is considered nto too bad. Or it can go, 8pm, 9pm, 11pm, 130am, 4am, 5am, 530am, 630am, 7am....

hi all mummies, my boy is born end of Jan, so now is 2mths+2wks.

i wonder how much nap he should have? he likes to play and talk during the day and seldom nap wor.

and at night he can zz but i can see him moving his head, hand and legs while sleeping. like cant sleep very peaceful like that. so after pat pat him he can zz back, but after a while, he is back to moving here and there with eyes closed. wonder what's wrong with him? too playful during the day so he coudlnt zz well at nigth??

mylife,
Maybe Rylee got over-stimulated when she was outside...so much things to see and hear...so she gets cranky when you reach home. Spent too much energy looking and exploring so become over-tired lor.

been reading all the feeding schedules for your little bbs. ENVY.

my girl's schedule

0930 wake up her to birth then feed her
1030 she will konk out after drinking maybe 50 ml (or 5 minutes if i latch her)
................ sleep until
1300+- then wake her up latch her for 5 minutes or maybe 50 ml
................ sleep until
1600 wake up feed, play with her, watch TV
1730 sleep
1800 wake up bath again, feed
1900 sleep
2100 wake up, talk and talk, then nap on and off.
2300 - 0200 NIGHTMARE starts for me, refuse to sleep, will talk and want to drink
0700 wake up

I injured my left leg, so doc say will take a long time to recover, complicated
. He put me on medication for 3 days and ask me to stop BF, so that 3 days I just pump and throw the milk away, heartpain. Now just started to resume BF again, damn siong becoz I think I also tired and my body quite weak so supply seems to be dropping.
. My hubbie ask me to stop BF, so I can rest and recuperate. Sigh. Its such a major decision making dilemma.

Hi, I'm ordering babylegs through Mcfluffy (Feb MTB) who is helping to place orders. We already have 9 orders, just need a few more orders before we can order. Anyone else who is interested, please email [email protected]. http://www.mom4life.com/catalog.php?item=174

Mylife, my gal also keep crying from 5+ - 7+pm, refuse to drink milk, though last feed is 2.15pm. Latch then cry, latch and cry, finally gave up and make her sleep. Finally fell asleep, gave her the bottle at 9+pm.

Poor angelsky, how did you injure your leg? I had to pump and throw for 2-3 days when I had hives attack too. Super heartpain. My SS was also low but as I continue to pump after I recovered, slowly back to normal. I think you can persevere to increase SS (can take fenugreek, goat's rue etc) if you want to but if it's really too tiring for you then stop BF. It's ok no need to feel bad or guilty. FM fed babies are equally loved by their mummies. Just make sure it's what you want so that you don't regret next time.

angelsky
*hugz* it is never easy...but do what u deem fit. If u're all stressed up, then maybe consider taking a few days off, but pump to keep the supply. Dont stress. But if pumping also too tiring, then maybe u can listen to ur hubby...u have been giving her the BM nutrients for 3months liao...if can persevere, of cos can try to wait 3more months...but we dunno the extent of your injury and tiredness so only u can feel. Try not to take things too hard, cos it will interfere with tis moment where u are supp to be enjoying motherhood and every single moment with ur gal...rem she is only a baby for this long, soon, before we know it, she'll be a toddler liao. Well, tis is the advice given to me from experiences mommies lo...me too everyday battling with my own sanity and weariness. But EVERYDAY i remind myself to be patient and cherish the moments with her.

mom2nat
usually i can also offer my breast to soothe rylee, but today, after crying like 20mins, i offer, she suckle, then barely 5mins, even the breast cant soothe her! She broke off and cry loudly again! Really heartpain...her cries like in pain like dat...

Still in shock of what happened. Finally, amidst her cries, we rub her down (sponge bath) and swaddle her then i latched her again and finally she calmed down and slept. Dunno if it's going to disturb her sleep tonite.

My fren thinks she got over-stimulated outside. Hubby thinks she loves it so much outside and dont want to come home. My mom thinks becos we stay on the 70th floor, the lift off may have hurt her ear drums....ME? I dont know what to think...i am jus wondering if her throat is going to hurt tom....sigh.

Yvonne
like dat how? cannot keep her inside the house all the time also rite? Later become like suaku baby.

tongtong
why dont u try swaddling ur bb at night, helps them sleep more calmly and longer. Cos now, their hands are not coordinated, still flailing about, sometimes it hits them and they awaken themselves. Initially, when u swaddle, be prepare he's not going to like it and fight with u...but persevere. Mine now, when i swaddle, she "kinda knows" it's bedtime, and she sometimes even smile at me.

Lynn Chong,

Re: tomy mobile
shld be same price at kiddy palace. i saw it at compass point branch.

mcfluffy,
Re: fire drill
lucky thing, I brought my slippers along. the first day of work, wear high heels, super taxing on my feet. went home and beg for foot massage from hubby. He complained saying that is the price of vanity

thanks for all the encouragement, really need it man :/. I slipped off the stairs in feb, then all was ok till march when my ankle started to swell. orthopedic says i injured the joints, so now inflammation has set it
. I also dont know what to do, but now going for physio twice weekly to prevent stiffness, so now i walk machiam bai ka like that lo. Not been sleeping well to, because whole body systems feel weird.

Glad that my parents and sis is around to help me look after her, but I have not been having enough energy to play with her for long. So worried, she will not want me when I get well (if I ever get well).

But after venting out here, makes me more determined to get out of the house and stop mopping about and feeling sorrie for myself :p.

First thing I will do is go Taka or kiddy palace and get the toy for her stroller. kekeke.

Hmmm, actually no, I think I should rest these 2 days and then monday go for baby class, which I missed last week. :D

Thanks lots le

My boy just had his 2nd dose of 6 in 1 jab today also too the rotarvirus today. after the jab, we brought him out as I have yoga lesson in the evening. after we came home, baby also fuss alot and wail at the top of his voice.

Mylife,
seems like the way javier was behaving is the same as Rylee just nw. we are all scared cos he never behaves like tat before.

Can't believe it's Fri and I will be going back to work on Mon! Goosh, I am missing my son already when I went out today. =(

cut hair

Anyone cut her hair short because of hair drop? i cut mine short yday. Can't stand the hair drop. Will take a break from long hair for the meanwhile.

tongtong

i second Mylife. i also swaddle my son, but only his body and 1 arm. I leave the other arm as he likes to suckle to fall asleep sometimes. After i swaddled my son (be it daytime nap or at night), he will slowly slow down his movement and stare blankly at his 'friends' (aka the soft toys of his musical mobile). After a short while, he will fall asleep on his own.

kitsune

Are u still taking fenugreek or goat's rue? Is goat's rue good? Don't know if it's because I didn't drink enough water or what. My supply not very consistent these few days. Wonder if it's because I kept on going out instead of staying at home and guai guai pump milk... hmm..

Anyway, I want to keep my supply consistent. So will like to check what else I can eat besides fenugreek.

blackbatz

I read that u are 'addicted' to overseas spree! *LOL* Me too! *malu*

Any good sprees lately? ;)

lynn

Any good buys from Robinsons? I only went to John Little and got 3 long pants for $10. =P Still got 30% off in rebate vouchers after i combined with other adult stuff. Not bad leh.

Can we stop pumping after intro solids

I have been wondering.. when I intro solids to my son when he is 6 months old, does it mean I can stop expressing milk for him? Do I give FM as supplement or do I have to continue? My next milestone for pumping is 6 months.

Anyone has any idea??

Angelsky, ya, that's the spirit.

AhCapp, I started taking goat's rue for close to 1 week but not much effect yet. But since I'm pumping every 4-4.5hrs now instead of 3hrly, and I get about 125ml should be considered at least maintaining my SS bah. I read that WHO's recommendation is to TBF for first 6 months, but some mummies still partial Bf after 6 mths when babies start on solids. Depends on you I guess.

ahcapp
i intend to BF Rylee till she's at least 1 yr old. After introducing solids, u can still BF baby...cos intake of milk will be lesser, but i read between 6-8months, your baby's MAIN nutrients is still derived from milk, so it IS still good to give BM if u can. Kitsune is right, depends on u.

p/s : i imagine ur son one hand out very cute leh...kekeke

Kitsune
i hope u not suffering from any plugged ducts anymore? everything normalised liao?

angelsky
Jiayou!

Ahcapp,
Don't dare to say..I think I joined at least 5 sprees. Buy wash cloths from Carters, Gymboree and Gerber (but they are really soft, even my mom said so). GAP, OTC, Gymboree, umbrella, POLO..Better don't say liao.. Really malu. This month "chop hand" cos my no pay leave starts liao.

Your boy so solid, lie on the bed, talk to mobile can sleep.

As for BFing, will try for as long as I can. By the time I come back from HK, think no milk liao. When it comes to shopping in HK, I think I can put up with the engorgement and shop till I drop dead.

mylife, still got a lump lor but the LC who did home visit said it's not a lump caused by blocked duct so I trust her lor. Worse come to worse after stop BF, if lump still there then go and see a breast dr to confirm. Sigh.

Verene, check that your boy has no fever since he had 2nd jab today. My gal's had fever the night after her 6-in-1 jab in the afternoon. My gal's cry not her usual loud screaming though, like engine no power, quite pitiful type.

VioletIce, only intend to introduce soft food after 6 mths. There was a report that below 6 mths, will stress BB's digestive system if we give semi-solids. Can't remember whether it was Straits Times or KK baby book.

That one I really don't know. When I asked the PD, she said some babies absorb so well, they can poo once in 7 days even if TBF. But when my gal pooed 8-10 times a day, she said it's normal for BF babies too. I think more importantly is the colour and texture of the poo, if soft and yellow should be fine.

Schedule
My baby has no schedule too! I BF her at intervals of 1.5hr - 3 hr. I can't really tell when is the "demand" as well. Sometimes I will try to stretch her drinking interval. And when I can't pacify her, I will bf her. Dunno if I'm doing the right thing. Sometimes I'm scared I deprive her of her milk milk, while at other times I am worried that I'm overfeeding her, or permitting her to comfort suck. Haha, if only babies can have a LED sign on their forehead to flash words like "Milk!" "Sleep" "Poo POO". what to do, this mommy is not very good at reading her baby's signs.

Cut Hair

I wanna cut my hair too, I feel a need to refresh my looks. But my hair is difficult 2 maintain so must rebond. Dunno if I should do it cos must endure engorgement due to the long hours..more importantly, I'm not sure if the chemicals will do my baby any harm.

Solids
I plan to TBF till 6mths and then continue to BF even after intro of solids till 1 yr hopefully. Thereafter, I will think about whether I want to continue to pump a few feeds or to give FM. But of cos I will have to see how things go e.g if supply cannot meet demand.

Flash Cards and Books
I bought a box of alphabets flash cards from Popular last weekend to test test. Was a bit hesitant at first cos I don't wanna overload my baby but to my suprise, she does enjoys it! She can sit with me for at least half an hour with full concentration.

I intend to start reading books to her regularly. Going to borrow from the library. Any mommies know which branch (preferably somewhere central or in the North) has a good selection of baby books and that are not too worn out?

Biting Nipple
My baby is starting the habit of biting down on my nipple, usually near the end of the feed. Ouch! I tried to lightly smack his bum and tell him it's paintful for mommy, try not to do that again but not much use

I'm a Jan mummy too and have been reading the thread. I would like to join in the Kindermusik Trial Class.

Mei Lu

Pls check if it is possible to arrange Shuana or Doreen to teach the class. Good feedbacks from friends who sent their kids to Kindermusik. Thanks alot.

Re: Kindermusik Our Village Trial Class (45mins, $25.47, Tanglin Mall) http://www.kindermusik.com.sg/curricula_village.htm
1. mei (wkday/wkend)
2. JanBB (wkend)
3. Shannonbaby
4. LynnnChong (wkend)
5. VioletIce
6. Steph77 (wkend)
7. Angelsky
8. icy
9. beanie (wkend, after 1pm)
10. Manuka_Chan (weekend)

precious moments, regarding biting, u can try pinch the cheeks. My fren did that and was effective. Ur bb does the 1.5-3hly feeding only in the day or night also? when did u give birth?

michelle, mine never had the long hrs like urs but was able to sleep 4h previously at night before feed. Now like urs, waking up at about those hrs. Now I so lazy and juz leave him beside me on bed. Last night I bf till I dunno feed him how many times or even feed him coz I juz latch him lying down and zz myself. Now he has the habit to sleep long in the morning. Wonder if I'm causing more problems myself by doing so. Daytime he can go even 4h for feed but night is shorter. Can't be day night reversal at this stage liao right? or bad habit wanna drink at the wrong time.

precious moments

The other day my friend was BFing her daughter (5 months old) in the taxi. Her darling kept on biting her. I saw her patting her darling on the bum (gentlely) and told her "NO". But she still continued to bite lor. Her darling has teeth already.

Pei fu u ladies who still latch on ah. ^_^ I will never let my son latch on again (I am doing exclusive pumping now). If he does, he sure will bite me so bad that 1 of my 2 'production lines' will shutdown for sure! *LOL*

blackbatz

I am now looking around for jshoppers spree leh. Want to get 1 big size top for work. Nowadays, my boobs so big (38C!! la senza) size that it's difficult to find fitting tops.

Gerber got clothings? I didn't know. What umbrella? brand or real umbrellas ah? =)

I am now waiting for my freeze-to-go, facial scrub from drugstore and actually, can't r'ber what else liao... *LOL* The other day, I managed to get a set of Thomas the engine aquadoodle set from the WTS thread. Looks pretty cool leh. But goodness, my son only 3 months, the set will have to collect dust for a while!

btw, u can bring your pump to HK to pump if required. Will u be bringing your darling along? Oh yes, HK is very good for shopping. My fav hangout is "huan yuen jia" (花園街). It's between Prince MTR station and Mongkok MTR stations. Lots of ladies clothings, handbags, accessories and wholesalers. They have babies stuff too. U should check it out.

kitsune,

so far, baby no fever. but i always notice a drop in his appetite after the jab. he simply don't want his milk though it is like so many hours apart form his last feed.

Re:Growth
Measurement at 3mth and 2 days...at 6.9kg and 61cm. my boy's weight is slightly above average.

Hi babe,

Thanks for the tip on biting. I will try it out later.

My baby will be 3 mths in a wk's time. Her 1.5-3 hrly are mostly in the day. For the past week, she has maintained ~3 hr interval at nights, sometimes 4hr. I am hoping she is finally adjusting day/nite schedule on her own and will stretch her nite feed further. Keeping my fingers crossed cos from past experience, she will suddenly change her pattern just when I find that she is having some sort of routine.

Ahcapp,
Boobs will take some time to reduce size. They do get in the way when we work. Sigh..

Gerber wash cloths, not clothings ah..Small hanky to wash baby face. I also bought the wash cloths from Carter and Gymboree. All very soft and good quality.

Umbrella= suppose to be able to fold until very small and compact. Still waiting for it to come from Korea. Sigh.

Burt's Bee = I thought it was a honey brand. Was wondering why people buy honey from overseas. My galfriend told me it was mineral cosmetics, supposed to be good wor. So suaku hor!!

Yep, will bring my pump along. Maybe bring both Avent and electric one. I'm only bringing #1 cos can eat, run, walk, talk. Cannot imagine how my holiday will be like if I bring #2. Very "chan ren"..Will probably bring #2 for a holiday at the end of the year or next year.

Does 6 in 1 injection cause fever? My boy is taking the injection on Tue.

My boy doesn't sleep well in the afternoon nap. Often wake up. He is sleeping in the yao lan. But when I sling him when I go out. He can sleep for long time but once I put him in the pram he sure wake up.

Mcfluffy, paiseh, I check and post at both forums so often, blur liao. Oh that's great, got one of the designs that I wanted. I order cloth books from kidzcottage before, but never noticed they sell babylegs. Hee. :p